Curbside pickup and returns now available at 26 locations. View updated hours of operations here.

The diplomat's daughter: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(3)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2017.
Language:
English
Description
"For fans of All the Light We Cannot See and Orphan Train, the author of the "thought-provoking" (Library Journal, starred review) and "must-read" (PopSugar) novel The Gilded Years crafts a captivating tale of three young people divided by the horrors of World War II and their journey back to one another. During the turbulent months following the 1941 bombing of Pearl Harbor, twenty-one-year-old Emi Kato, the daughter of a Japanese diplomat, is locked behind barbed wire in a Texas interment camp, the victim of misfortune and America's new policies of fear. Plagued by fence sickness, her world changes when she meets Christian Lange, whose German-born parents were wrongfully arrested for un-American activities. Together, they live as prisoners with thousands of other German and Japanese families, but discover that young love can triumph over even the most unjust circumstances. When Emi and her mother are abruptly sent back to Japan, Christian enlists in the US Army, with his sights set on the Pacific front--and a reunion with Emi. Sent away for her safety, Emi lives out the war in a Japanese resort town where many in the foreign community have fled, including both Jews and Nazis. When she overhears a German officer boasting of the men he has murdered in Asia, fate brings Emi back to Leo Hartmann, the son of prominent Austrian Jews, now a refugee in Shanghai--her oldest friend and her first love. Fearing for his life, Emi is determined to find Leo. But will Christian's devotion be strong enough to stop her? Hurtled together by war, passion, and extraordinary acts of selflessness, the paths of these three remarkable young people collide as the fighting on the Pacific front crescendos. With her "elegant and extremely gratifying" storytelling, Tanabe paints a stunning portrait of a turning point in history"--
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9781501110474
9781508239925
9781508239949
9781501110481
9781432841126
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID35780c06-250e-8206-cac0-2f236311554a
Grouping Titlediplomats daughter
Grouping Authorkarin tanabe
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2020-09-25 02:36:32AM
Last Indexed2020-09-25 02:58:37AM
Novelist Primary ISBNnone

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
auth_author2Brill, Corey,
Osmanski, Joy, 1975-
Roy, Jacques,
authorTanabe, Karin,
author2-roleBrill, Corey,narrator.
Osmanski, Joy,1975-narrator.
Roy, Jacques,narrator.
hoopla digital.
author_displayTanabe, Karin
available_at_catalogArcade
Arden-Dimick
Carmichael
Colonial Heights
Del Paso Heights
Elk Grove
Franklin
Martin Luther King Jr.
South Natomas
Southgate
Sylvan Oaks
detailed_location_catalogArcade
Arden-Dimick
Carmichael
Colonial Heights
Del Paso Heights
Elk Grove
Franklin
Martin Luther King, Jr.
South Natomas
Southgate
Sylvan Oaks
display_description"For fans of All the Light We Cannot See and Orphan Train, the author of the "thought-provoking" (Library Journal, starred review) and "must-read" (PopSugar) novel The Gilded Years crafts a captivating tale of three young people divided by the horrors of World War II and their journey back to one another. During the turbulent months following the 1941 bombing of Pearl Harbor, twenty-one-year-old Emi Kato, the daughter of a Japanese diplomat, is locked behind barbed wire in a Texas interment camp, the victim of misfortune and America's new policies of fear. Plagued by fence sickness, her world changes when she meets Christian Lange, whose German-born parents were wrongfully arrested for un-American activities. Together, they live as prisoners with thousands of other German and Japanese families, but discover that young love can triumph over even the most unjust circumstances. When Emi and her mother are abruptly sent back to Japan, Christian enlists in the US Army, with his sights set on the Pacific front--and a reunion with Emi. Sent away for her safety, Emi lives out the war in a Japanese resort town where many in the foreign community have fled, including both Jews and Nazis. When she overhears a German officer boasting of the men he has murdered in Asia, fate brings Emi back to Leo Hartmann, the son of prominent Austrian Jews, now a refugee in Shanghai--her oldest friend and her first love. Fearing for his life, Emi is determined to find Leo. But will Christian's devotion be strong enough to stop her? Hurtled together by war, passion, and extraordinary acts of selflessness, the paths of these three remarkable young people collide as the fighting on the Pacific front crescendos. With her "elegant and extremely gratifying" storytelling, Tanabe paints a stunning portrait of a turning point in history"--
format_catalogBook
Large Print
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_catalogAudio Books
Books
eBook
id35780c06-250e-8206-cac0-2f236311554a
isbn9781432841126
9781501110474
9781501110481
9781508239925
9781508239949
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:4bd7e752-1eef-4d57-849c-2f7cd2385a11-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books2falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
ils:.b24921750.i76414061South NatomasFICTION Tanabe, K.1falsefalseOn Shelfnatag
ils:.b24921750.i76313840Colonial HeightsFICTION Tanabe, K.1falsefalseOn Shelfchsag
ils:.b24921750.i76414073FranklinFICTION Tanabe, K.1falsefalseOn Shelffraag
ils:.b25492433.i78712981CarmichaelLARGE PRINT FICTION Tanabe, K.1falsefalseOn Shelfcarag
ils:.b25492433.i78480127Elk GroveLARGE PRINT FICTION Tanabe, K.1falsefalseOn Shelfelkag
ils:.b25492433.i78673185Martin Luther King, Jr.LARGE PRINT FICTION Tanabe, K.1falsefalseOn Shelfkinag
ils:.b25492433.i77987354ArcadeLARGE PRINT FICTION Tanabe, K.1falsefalseOn Shelfarcag
ils:.b25492433.i78712993Arden-DimickLARGE PRINT FICTION Tanabe, K.1falsefalseOn Shelfardag
ils:.b25492433.i77987366Del Paso HeightsLARGE PRINT FICTION Tanabe, K.1falsefalseOn Shelfdelag
ils:.b25492433.i78673197SouthgateLARGE PRINT FICTION Tanabe, K.1falsefalseOn Shelfsouag
ils:.b25492433.i78480115Sylvan OaksLARGE PRINT FICTION Tanabe, K.1falsefalseOn Shelfsylag
hoopla:MWT13470984Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetruehooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/13470984?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online
overdrive:f8ab1d11-4cee-42a7-a219-38a38779100d-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
itype_catalogAdu Large Print
Adult Fiction
last_indexed2020-09-25T09:58:37.286Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_catalogFICTION Tanabe, K.
LARGE PRINT FICTION Tanabe, K.
owning_library_catalogSacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalogArcade
Arden-Dimick
Carmichael
Colonial Heights
Del Paso Heights
Elk Grove
Franklin
Martin Luther King Jr.
South Natomas
Southgate
Sylvan Oaks
primary_isbn9781501110474
publishDate2017
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
overdrive:4bd7e752-1eef-4d57-849c-2f7cd2385a11eAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishSimon & Schuster Audio2017
ils:.b24921750BookBooksFirst Washington Square Press trade paperback edition.EnglishWashington Square Press, 2017.451 pages ; 21 cm.
ils:.b25492433Large PrintBooksLarge print edition.EnglishThorndike Press, a part of Gale, a Cengage Company, 2017.665 pages (large print) ; 23 cm.
hoopla:MWT13470984eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridged.EnglishSimon & Schuster Audio, 2017.1 online resource (1 audio file (13hr., 01 min.)) : digital.
overdrive:f8ab1d11-4cee-42a7-a219-38a38779100deBookeBookEnglishWashington Square Press2017
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:4bd7e752-1eef-4d57-849c-2f7cd2385a11-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b24921750.i76414061On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b24921750.i76313840On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b24921750.i76414073On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b25492433.i78712981On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b25492433.i78480127On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b25492433.i78673185On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b25492433.i77987354On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b25492433.i78712993On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b25492433.i77987366On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b25492433.i78673197On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b25492433.i78480115On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
hoopla:MWT13470984Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:f8ab1d11-4cee-42a7-a219-38a38779100d-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
subject_facetHistorical fiction
Large type books
Love stories
Man-woman relationships -- Fiction
Romance fiction
Romantic suspense fiction
War fiction
World War, 1939-1945 -- Fiction
title_displayThe diplomat's daughter : a novel
title_fullThe Diplomat's Daughter A Novel
The diplomat's daughter : a novel / Karin Tanabe
The diplomat's daughter : a novel [electronic resource] / Karin Tanabe
The diplomat's daughter [text (large print)] / Karin Tanabe
title_shortThe diplomat's daughter
title_suba novel
topic_facetFiction
Historical Fiction
Literature
Man-woman relationships
Romance
World War, 1939-1945