Curbside pickup and returns now available at 26 locations. View updated hours of operations here.

The diplomat's daughter: a novel
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(3)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Published:
New York : Washington Square Press, 2017.
Physical Desc:
451 pages ; 21 cm
Status:
Rancho Cordova
FICTION Tanabe, K.
Description

"For fans of All the Light We Cannot See and Orphan Train, the author of the "thought-provoking" (Library Journal, starred review) and "must-read" (PopSugar) novel The Gilded Years crafts a captivating tale of three young people divided by the horrors of World War II and their journey back to one another. During the turbulent months following the 1941 bombing of Pearl Harbor, twenty-one-year-old Emi Kato, the daughter of a Japanese diplomat, is locked behind barbed wire in a Texas interment camp, the victim of misfortune and America's new policies of fear. Plagued by fence sickness, her world changes when she meets Christian Lange, whose German-born parents were wrongfully arrested for un-American activities. Together, they live as prisoners with thousands of other German and Japanese families, but discover that young love can triumph over even the most unjust circumstances. When Emi and her mother are abruptly sent back to Japan, Christian enlists in the US Army, with his sights set on the Pacific front--and a reunion with Emi. Sent away for her safety, Emi lives out the war in a Japanese resort town where many in the foreign community have fled, including both Jews and Nazis. When she overhears a German officer boasting of the men he has murdered in Asia, fate brings Emi back to Leo Hartmann, the son of prominent Austrian Jews, now a refugee in Shanghai--her oldest friend and her first love. Fearing for his life, Emi is determined to find Leo. But will Christian's devotion be strong enough to stop her? Hurtled together by war, passion, and extraordinary acts of selflessness, the paths of these three remarkable young people collide as the fighting on the Pacific front crescendos. With her "elegant and extremely gratifying" storytelling, Tanabe paints a stunning portrait of a turning point in history"--

Also in This Series
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
Belle Cooledge
FICTION Tanabe, K.
Due Oct 1, 2021
Rancho Cordova
FICTION Tanabe, K.
On Shelf
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
Format:
Book
Edition:
First Washington Square Press trade paperback edition.
Language:
English
ISBN:
9781501110474

Notes

Description
"For fans of All the Light We Cannot See and Orphan Train, the author of the "thought-provoking" (Library Journal, starred review) and "must-read" (PopSugar) novel The Gilded Years crafts a captivating tale of three young people divided by the horrors of World War II and their journey back to one another. During the turbulent months following the 1941 bombing of Pearl Harbor, twenty-one-year-old Emi Kato, the daughter of a Japanese diplomat, is locked behind barbed wire in a Texas interment camp, the victim of misfortune and America's new policies of fear. Plagued by fence sickness, her world changes when she meets Christian Lange, whose German-born parents were wrongfully arrested for un-American activities. Together, they live as prisoners with thousands of other German and Japanese families, but discover that young love can triumph over even the most unjust circumstances. When Emi and her mother are abruptly sent back to Japan, Christian enlists in the US Army, with his sights set on the Pacific front--and a reunion with Emi. Sent away for her safety, Emi lives out the war in a Japanese resort town where many in the foreign community have fled, including both Jews and Nazis. When she overhears a German officer boasting of the men he has murdered in Asia, fate brings Emi back to Leo Hartmann, the son of prominent Austrian Jews, now a refugee in Shanghai--her oldest friend and her first love. Fearing for his life, Emi is determined to find Leo. But will Christian's devotion be strong enough to stop her? Hurtled together by war, passion, and extraordinary acts of selflessness, the paths of these three remarkable young people collide as the fighting on the Pacific front crescendos. With her "elegant and extremely gratifying" storytelling, Tanabe paints a stunning portrait of a turning point in history"--,Provided by publisher.
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Tanabe, K. (2017). The diplomat's daughter: a novel. First Washington Square Press trade paperback edition. New York: Washington Square Press.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Tanabe, Karin. 2017. The Diplomat's Daughter: A Novel. New York: Washington Square Press.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Tanabe, Karin, The Diplomat's Daughter: A Novel. New York: Washington Square Press, 2017.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Tanabe, Karin. The Diplomat's Daughter: A Novel. First Washington Square Press trade paperback edition. New York: Washington Square Press, 2017. Print.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
35780c06-250e-8206-cac0-2f236311554a
Go To GroupedWork

Record Information

Last Sierra Extract TimeSep 10, 2021 02:52:32 PM
Last File Modification TimeSep 10, 2021 02:53:12 PM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeSep 19, 2021 06:29:59 AM

MARC Record

LEADER03086pam 2200373 i 4500
001  2017006862
003DLC
00520170726114103.0
008170306s2017    nyu           000 1 eng  
010 |a 2017006862
020 |a 9781501110474
040 |a DLC|b eng|e rda|c DLC|d IMmBT
042 |a pcc
049 |a JRSA
05000|a PS3620.A6837|b D57 2017
08200|a 813/.6|2 23
1001 |a Tanabe, Karin,|e author.
24514|a The diplomat's daughter :|b a novel /|c Karin Tanabe.
250 |a First Washington Square Press trade paperback edition.
264 1|a New York :|b Washington Square Press,|c 2017.
300 |a 451 pages ;|c 21 cm
336 |a text|b txt|2 rdacontent
337 |a unmediated|b n|2 rdamedia
338 |a volume|b nc|2 rdacarrier
520 |a "For fans of All the Light We Cannot See and Orphan Train, the author of the "thought-provoking" (Library Journal, starred review) and "must-read" (PopSugar) novel The Gilded Years crafts a captivating tale of three young people divided by the horrors of World War II and their journey back to one another. During the turbulent months following the 1941 bombing of Pearl Harbor, twenty-one-year-old Emi Kato, the daughter of a Japanese diplomat, is locked behind barbed wire in a Texas interment camp, the victim of misfortune and America's new policies of fear. Plagued by fence sickness, her world changes when she meets Christian Lange, whose German-born parents were wrongfully arrested for un-American activities. Together, they live as prisoners with thousands of other German and Japanese families, but discover that young love can triumph over even the most unjust circumstances. When Emi and her mother are abruptly sent back to Japan, Christian enlists in the US Army, with his sights set on the Pacific front--and a reunion with Emi. Sent away for her safety, Emi lives out the war in a Japanese resort town where many in the foreign community have fled, including both Jews and Nazis. When she overhears a German officer boasting of the men he has murdered in Asia, fate brings Emi back to Leo Hartmann, the son of prominent Austrian Jews, now a refugee in Shanghai--her oldest friend and her first love. Fearing for his life, Emi is determined to find Leo. But will Christian's devotion be strong enough to stop her? Hurtled together by war, passion, and extraordinary acts of selflessness, the paths of these three remarkable young people collide as the fighting on the Pacific front crescendos. With her "elegant and extremely gratifying" storytelling, Tanabe paints a stunning portrait of a turning point in history"--|c Provided by publisher.
650 0|a World War, 1939-1945|v Fiction.
650 0|a Man-woman relationships|v Fiction.
655 7|a Romantic suspense fiction.|2 gsafd
655 7|a Love stories.|2 gsafd
907 |a .b24921750
932 |a FICTION Tanabe, K.
945 |y .i76414061|i 33029103424628|l ranag|s -|k |u 16|x 3|w 1|v 9|t 0|z 08-03-17|o -
945 |y .i76414073|i 33029103424636|l cooag|s -|k 10-01-21|u 15|x 1|w 2|v 3|t 0|z 08-03-17|o -
998 |e -|d a |f eng|a coo|a ran