We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

Stolen beauty: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2017
Language:
English
Description
"A powerful and important tale of love and war, art and family...I was transported." —Allison Pataki, New York Times bestselling author

"Albanese artfully weaves Adele's story with Maria's harrowing life under the Nazis, but it's hard to read Stolen Beauty without seeing ugly echoes in today's headlines. Seven decades after World War II, have we learned nothing?" —USA TODAY

From the dawn of the twentieth century to the devastation of World War II, this exhilarating novel of love, war, art, and family gives voice to two extraordinary women and brings to life the true story behind the creation and near destruction of Gustav Klimt's most remarkable paintings.
In the dazzling glitter of 1903 Vienna, Adele Bloch-Bauer—young, beautiful, brilliant, and Jewish—meets painter Gustav Klimt. Wealthy in everything but freedom, Adele embraces Klimt's renegade genius as the two awaken to the erotic possibilities on the canvas and beyond. Though they enjoy a life where sex and art are just beginning to break through the façade of conventional society, the city is also troubled by a disturbing increase in anti-Semitism as political hatred simmers in the shadows of Adele's coffeehouse afternoons and cultural salons.

Nearly forty years later, Adele's niece Maria Altmann is a newlywed when the Nazis invade Austria—and overnight, her beloved Vienna becomes a war zone. When her husband is arrested and her family is forced out of their stately home, Maria must summon the courage and resilience that is her aunt's legacy if she is to survive and keep her loved ones—and their history—alive.

Will Maria and her family escape the grip of Nazi rule? And what will become of the paintings for which her aunt sacrificed nearly everything?

Impeccably researched and a "must-read for fans of Kristin Hannah's The Nightingale and Paula McLain's Circling the Sun" (Christina Baker Kline, #1 New York Times bestselling author), Stolen Beauty juxtaposes passion and discovery against hatred and despair, and shines a light on our ability to love, to destroy, and above all, to endure.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9781501167041
9781501132001
9781501131981
9781508230397
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID112d0fc3-2de8-d348-a006-cb4f55504cb4
Grouping Titlestolen beauty
Grouping Authorlaurie lico albanese
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2023-06-03 02:16:04AM
Last Indexed2023-06-03 03:14:59AM

Solr Fields

accelerated_reader_point_value
0
accelerated_reader_reading_level
0
auth_author2
Maby, Madeleine
Zackman, Gabra
author
Lico Albanese, Laurie, 1959-
author2-role
Maby, Madeleine
Zackman, Gabra
hoopla digital
author_display
Lico Albanese, Laurie
available_at_catalog
McKinley
detailed_location_catalog
McKinley
Sacramento Public Library
display_description
"A powerful and important tale of love and war, art and family...I was transported." —Allison Pataki, New York Times bestselling author

"Albanese artfully weaves Adele's story with Maria's harrowing life under the Nazis, but it's hard to read Stolen Beauty without seeing ugly echoes in today's headlines. Seven decades after World War II, have we learned nothing?" —USA TODAY

From the dawn of the twentieth century to the devastation of World War II, this exhilarating novel of love, war, art, and family gives voice to two extraordinary women and brings to life the true story behind the creation and near destruction of Gustav Klimt's most remarkable paintings.
In the dazzling glitter of 1903 Vienna, Adele Bloch-Bauer—young, beautiful, brilliant, and Jewish—meets painter Gustav Klimt. Wealthy in everything but freedom, Adele embraces Klimt's renegade genius as the two awaken to the erotic possibilities on the canvas and beyond. Though they enjoy a life where sex and art are just beginning to break through the façade of conventional society, the city is also troubled by a disturbing increase in anti-Semitism as political hatred simmers in the shadows of Adele's coffeehouse afternoons and cultural salons.

Nearly forty years later, Adele's niece Maria Altmann is a newlywed when the Nazis invade Austria—and overnight, her beloved Vienna becomes a war zone. When her husband is arrested and her family is forced out of their stately home, Maria must summon the courage and resilience that is her aunt's legacy if she is to survive and keep her loved ones—and their history—alive.

Will Maria and her family escape the grip of Nazi rule? And what will become of the paintings for which her aunt sacrificed nearly everything?

Impeccably researched and a "must-read for fans of Kristin Hannah's The Nightingale and Paula McLain's Circling the Sun" (Christina Baker Kline, #1 New York Times bestselling author), Stolen Beauty juxtaposes passion and discovery against hatred and despair, and shines a light on our ability to love, to destroy, and above all, to endure.
format_catalog
Book
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_catalog
Audio Books
Books
eBook
id
112d0fc3-2de8-d348-a006-cb4f55504cb4
isbn
9781501131981
9781501132001
9781501167041
9781508230397
itype_catalog
Adult Fiction
last_indexed
2023-06-03T10:14:59.347Z
lexile_score
-1
literary_form
Fiction
literary_form_full
Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog
FICTION Lico Albanese, L.
owning_library_catalog
Sacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalog
McKinley
primary_isbn
9781501167041
publishDate
2017
publisher
Atria Books
Simon & Schuster Audio
recordtype
grouped_work
subject_facet
Altmann, Maria, -- 1916-2011 -- Fiction
Antisemitism -- Fiction
Biographical fiction
Bloch-Bauer, Adele, -- 1881-1925 -- Fiction
Historical fiction
Klimt, Gustav, -- 1862-1918 -- Fiction
Nazis -- Fiction
Vienna (Austria) -- Fiction
Vienna (Austria) -- History -- 20th century -- Fiction
World War, 1939-1945 -- Austria -- Vienna -- Fiction
title_display
Stolen beauty : a novel
title_full
Stolen Beauty A Novel
Stolen beauty : a novel / Laurie Lico Albanese
Stolen beauty : a novel [electronic resource] / Laurie Lico Albanese
title_short
Stolen beauty
title_sub
a novel
topic_facet
Altmann, Maria
Antisemitism
Bloch-Bauer, Adele
Fiction
Historical Fiction
History
Klimt, Gustav
Literature
Nazis
World War, 1939-1945

Solr Details Tables

item_details

Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
overdrive:9e1f85ae-4e8e-4f25-8446-73fa8ba6714c-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveChecked Out
ils:.b24518608.i85628566Sacramento Public LibraryFICTION Lico Albanese, L.1falsefalseIn Processingsplag
ils:.b24518608.i85628554Sacramento Public LibraryFICTION Lico Albanese, L.1falsefalseIn Processingsplag
ils:.b24518608.i75340513McKinleyFICTION Lico Albanese, L.1falsefalseOn Shelfmckag
ils:.b24518608.i85628542Sacramento Public LibraryFICTION Lico Albanese, L.1falsefalseIn Processingsplag
hoopla:MWT12395835Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/12395835?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online

record_details

Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
overdrive:9e1f85ae-4e8e-4f25-8446-73fa8ba6714ceBookeBookEnglishAtria Books2017
ils:.b24518608BookBooksFirst Atria Books hardcover editionEnglishAtria Books2017306 pages ; 24 cm
hoopla:MWT12395835eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridgedEnglishSimon & Schuster Audio20171 online resource (1 audio file (9hr., 24 min.)) : digital.

scoping_details_catalog

Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:9e1f85ae-4e8e-4f25-8446-73fa8ba6714c-2Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b24518608.i85628566In ProcessingIn Processingfalsefalsetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011
ils:.b24518608.i85628554In ProcessingIn Processingfalsefalsetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011
ils:.b24518608.i75340513On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011
ils:.b24518608.i85628542In ProcessingIn Processingfalsefalsetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011
hoopla:MWT12395835Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse