Curbside pickup and returns now available at 26 locations. View updated hours of operations here.

Stolen beauty: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2017.
Language:
English
Description
"A powerful and important tale of love and war, art and family...I was transported." —Allison Pataki, New York Times bestselling author

"Albanese artfully weaves Adele's story with Maria's harrowing life under the Nazis, but it's hard to read Stolen Beauty without seeing ugly echoes in today's headlines. Seven decades after World War II, have we learned nothing?" —USA TODAY

From the dawn of the twentieth century to the devastation of World War II, this exhilarating novel of love, war, art, and family gives voice to two extraordinary women and brings to life the true story behind the creation and near destruction of Gustav Klimt's most remarkable paintings.
In the dazzling glitter of 1903 Vienna, Adele Bloch-Bauer—young, beautiful, brilliant, and Jewish—meets painter Gustav Klimt. Wealthy in everything but freedom, Adele embraces Klimt's renegade genius as the two awaken to the erotic possibilities on the canvas and beyond. Though they enjoy a life where sex and art are just beginning to break through the façade of conventional society, the city is also troubled by a disturbing increase in anti-Semitism as political hatred simmers in the shadows of Adele's coffeehouse afternoons and cultural salons.

Nearly forty years later, Adele's niece Maria Altmann is a newlywed when the Nazis invade Austria—and overnight, her beloved Vienna becomes a war zone. When her husband is arrested and her family is forced out of their stately home, Maria must summon the courage and resilience that is her aunt's legacy if she is to survive and keep her loved ones—and their history—alive.

Will Maria and her family escape the grip of Nazi rule? And what will become of the paintings for which her aunt sacrificed nearly everything?

Impeccably researched and a "must-read for fans of Kristin Hannah's The Nightingale and Paula McLain's Circling the Sun" (Christina Baker Kline, #1 New York Times bestselling author), Stolen Beauty juxtaposes passion and discovery against hatred and despair, and shines a light on our ability to love, to destroy, and above all, to endure.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9781501167041
9781501132001
9781501131981
9781508230397
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID112d0fc3-2de8-d348-a006-cb4f55504cb4
Grouping Titlestolen beauty
Grouping Authorlaurie lico albanese
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2021-08-01 03:21:13AM
Last Indexed2021-08-01 03:54:06AM
Novelist Primary ISBNnone

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
auth_author2Maby, Madeleine.
Zackman, Gabra.
authorLaurie Lico Albanese
author2-roleMaby, Madeleine.
Zackman, Gabra.
hoopla digital.
author_displayLico Albanese, Laurie
available_at_catalogFranklin
detailed_location_catalogFranklin
display_description"A powerful and important tale of love and war, art and family...I was transported." —Allison Pataki, New York Times bestselling author

"Albanese artfully weaves Adele's story with Maria's harrowing life under the Nazis, but it's hard to read Stolen Beauty without seeing ugly echoes in today's headlines. Seven decades after World War II, have we learned nothing?" —USA TODAY

From the dawn of the twentieth century to the devastation of World War II, this exhilarating novel of love, war, art, and family gives voice to two extraordinary women and brings to life the true story behind the creation and near destruction of Gustav Klimt's most remarkable paintings.
In the dazzling glitter of 1903 Vienna, Adele Bloch-Bauer—young, beautiful, brilliant, and Jewish—meets painter Gustav Klimt. Wealthy in everything but freedom, Adele embraces Klimt's renegade genius as the two awaken to the erotic possibilities on the canvas and beyond. Though they enjoy a life where sex and art are just beginning to break through the façade of conventional society, the city is also troubled by a disturbing increase in anti-Semitism as political hatred simmers in the shadows of Adele's coffeehouse afternoons and cultural salons.

Nearly forty years later, Adele's niece Maria Altmann is a newlywed when the Nazis invade Austria—and overnight, her beloved Vienna becomes a war zone. When her husband is arrested and her family is forced out of their stately home, Maria must summon the courage and resilience that is her aunt's legacy if she is to survive and keep her loved ones—and their history—alive.

Will Maria and her family escape the grip of Nazi rule? And what will become of the paintings for which her aunt sacrificed nearly everything?

Impeccably researched and a "must-read for fans of Kristin Hannah's The Nightingale and Paula McLain's Circling the Sun" (Christina Baker Kline, #1 New York Times bestselling author), Stolen Beauty juxtaposes passion and discovery against hatred and despair, and shines a light on our ability to love, to destroy, and above all, to endure.
format_catalogBook
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_catalogAudio Books
Books
eBook
id112d0fc3-2de8-d348-a006-cb4f55504cb4
isbn9781501131981
9781501132001
9781501167041
9781508230397
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:9e1f85ae-4e8e-4f25-8446-73fa8ba6714c-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
ils:.b24518608.i75340513FranklinFICTION Lico Albanese, L.1falsefalseOn Shelffraag
hoopla:MWT12395835Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/12395835?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online
itype_catalogAdult Fiction
last_indexed2021-08-01T10:54:06.251Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_catalogFICTION Lico Albanese, L.
owning_library_catalogSacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalogFranklin
primary_isbn9781501167041
publishDate2017
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
overdrive:9e1f85ae-4e8e-4f25-8446-73fa8ba6714ceBookeBookEnglishAtria Books2017
ils:.b24518608BookBooksFirst Atria Books hardcover edition.EnglishAtria Books, 2017.306 pages ; 24 cm.
hoopla:MWT12395835eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridged.EnglishSimon & Schuster Audio, 2017.1 online resource (1 audio file (9hr., 24 min.)) : digital.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:9e1f85ae-4e8e-4f25-8446-73fa8ba6714c-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b24518608.i75340513On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
hoopla:MWT12395835Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
subject_facetAltmann, Maria, -- 1916-2011 -- Fiction
Antisemitism -- Fiction
Biographical fiction
Bloch-Bauer, Adele, -- 1881-1925 -- Fiction
Historical fiction
Klimt, Gustav, -- 1862-1918 -- Fiction
Nazis -- Fiction
Vienna (Austria) -- Fiction
Vienna (Austria) -- History -- 20th century -- Fiction
World War, 1939-1945 -- Austria -- Vienna -- Fiction
title_displayStolen beauty : a novel
title_fullStolen Beauty A Novel
Stolen beauty : a novel / Laurie Lico Albanese
Stolen beauty : a novel [electronic resource] / Laurie Lico Albanese
title_shortStolen beauty
title_suba novel
topic_facetAltmann, Maria
Antisemitism
Bloch-Bauer, Adele
Fiction
Historical Fiction
History
Klimt, Gustav
Literature
Nazis
World War, 1939-1945