We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

The poppy war
(Book)

Book Cover
Your Rating: 0 stars
Star rating for

Average user rating: 4.2 stars
User ratings:
5 star
 
(11)
4 star
 
(4)
3 star
 
(2)
2 star
 
(3)
1 star
 
(0)
Author:
NoveList Series:
Poppy war volume 1.
Published:
New York, N.Y. : Harper Voyager, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, [2018].
Physical Desc:
530 pages : illustrations ; 24 cm
Status:
8 copies, 3 people are on the wait list.

Description

"I have no doubt this will end up being the best fantasy debut of the year [...] I have absolutely no doubt that [Kuang's] name will be up there with the likes of Robin Hobb and N.K. Jemisin." — Booknest

A Library Journal, Paste Magazine, Vulture, BookBub, and ENTROPY Best Books pick!

Washington Post "5 Best Science Fiction and Fantasy Novel" pick!

A Bustle "30 Best Fiction Books" pick!

A brilliantly imaginative talent makes her exciting debut with this epic historical military fantasy, inspired by the bloody history of China's twentieth century and filled with treachery and magic, in the tradition of Ken Liu's Grace of Kings and N.K. Jemisin's Inheritance Trilogy.

When Rin aced the Keju—the Empire-wide test to find the most talented youth to learn at the Academies—it was a shock to everyone: to the test officials, who couldn't believe a war orphan from Rooster Province could pass without cheating; to Rin's guardians, who believed they'd finally be able to marry her off and further their criminal enterprise; and to Rin herself, who realized she was finally free of the servitude and despair that had made up her daily existence. That she got into Sinegard—the most elite military school in Nikan—was even more surprising.

But surprises aren't always good.

Because being a dark-skinned peasant girl from the south is not an easy thing at Sinegard. Targeted from the outset by rival classmates for her color, poverty, and gender, Rin discovers she possesses a lethal, unearthly power—an aptitude for the nearly-mythical art of shamanism. Exploring the depths of her gift with the help of a seemingly insane teacher and psychoactive substances, Rin learns that gods long thought dead are very much alive—and that mastering control over those powers could mean more than just surviving school.

For while the Nikara Empire is at peace, the Federation of Mugen still lurks across a narrow sea. The militarily advanced Federation occupied Nikan for decades after the First Poppy War, and only barely lost the continent in the Second. And while most of the people are complacent to go about their lives, a few are aware that a Third Poppy War is just a spark away . . .

Rin's shamanic powers may be the only way to save her people. But as she finds out more about the god that has chosen her, the vengeful Phoenix, she fears that winning the war may cost her humanity . . . and that it may already be too late.

Also in This Series

Copies

Location
Call Number
Status
Central
SCIENCE FICTION Kuang, R.
On Holdshelf
Martin Luther King, Jr.
SCIENCE FICTION Kuang, R.
Due Aug 9, 2024
McClatchy
SCIENCE FICTION Kuang, R.
On Holdshelf
North Natomas
SCIENCE FICTION Kuang, R.
On Holdshelf
Pocket-Greenhaven
SCIENCE FICTION Kuang, R.
Due Aug 3, 2024
Pocket-Greenhaven
SCIENCE FICTION Kuang, R.
Due Aug 7, 2024
Location
Call Number
Status
Folsom Adult
SCIENCE FICTION Kuang, R,
On Holdshelf
Woodland Public Library
FICTION Kuang, R.
Due Aug 13, 2024

More Like This

Other Editions and Formats

More Copies In LINK+

Loading LINK+ Copies...

More Details

Format:
Book
Edition:
First edition.
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780062662569, 9780062662583, 0062662589

Reviews from GoodReads

Loading GoodReads Reviews.

Citations

APA Citation (style guide)

Kuang, R. F. (2018). The poppy war. First edition. New York, N.Y., Harper Voyager, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Kuang, R. F. 2018. The Poppy War. New York, N.Y., Harper Voyager, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Kuang, R. F, The Poppy War. New York, N.Y., Harper Voyager, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, 2018.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Kuang, R. F. The Poppy War. First edition. New York, N.Y., Harper Voyager, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, 2018.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2022. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.

Staff View

Grouped Work ID:
45a0b20f-637a-4c8b-d2e5-c548bf01a143
Go To Grouped Work

Record Information

Last Sierra Extract TimeJul 23, 2024 10:51:40 AM
Last File Modification TimeJul 23, 2024 10:59:34 AM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeJul 24, 2024 02:10:16 AM

MARC Record

LEADER02173pam a2200505 i 4500
001bl2018052076
00520230503080704.6
008180323s2018    nyua          000 1 eng d
010 |a bl2018052076
020 |a 9780062662569
020 |a 9780062662583
020 |a 0062662589
040 |a NjBwBT |b eng |e rda |c NjBwBT |d NvReBT
049 |a JRSA
05014 |a PS3611.U17 |b P67 2018
08204 |a 813/.6 |2 23
1001 |a Kuang, R. F. |q (Rebecca F.), |e author.
24514 |a The poppy war / |c R.F. Kuang.
250 |a First edition.
2641 |a New York, N.Y. : |b Harper Voyager, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, |c [2018]
300 |a 530 pages : |b illustrations ; |c 24 cm
336 |a text |2 rdacontent
337 |a unmediated |2 rdamedia
338 |a volume |2 rdacarrier
6500 |a Imaginary wars and battles |v Fiction.
6500 |a Military education |v Fiction.
6500 |a Shamans |v Fiction.
6557 |a Fantasy fiction. |2 gsafd
6557 |a Science fiction. |2 lcgft
907 |a .b25415104
932 |a SCIENCE FICTION Kuang, R.
945 |y .i77976253 |i 33029105484117 |l pocag |s - |k 08-03-24 |u 45 |x 5 |w 1 |v 27 |t 0 |z 04-30-18 |o -
945 |y .i77976265 |i 33029105484125 |l kinag |s - |k 08-09-24 |u 46 |x 10 |w 1 |v 27 |t 0 |z 04-30-18 |o -
945 |y .i7797833x |i 31652003183788 |l wdpa |s - |k 08-13-24 |u 47 |x 6 |w 2 |v 12 |t 0 |z 05-01-18 |o - |a FICTION Kuang, R.
945 |y .i78057929 |i 36796021867701 |l fola |s ! |k  |u 40 |x 10 |w 0 |v 21 |t 0 |z 05-09-18 |o l |a SCIENCE FICTION Kuang, R,
945 |y .i87295167 |i 33029105484133 |l cenag |s ! |k  |u 19 |x 9 |w 0 |v 6 |t 0 |z 07-08-22 |o -
945 |y .i87889614 |i 33029113795058 |l mckag |s n |k 06-19-24 |u 14 |x 6 |w 0 |v 10 |t 0 |z 10-24-22 |o -
945 |y .i87889626 |i 33029113795066 |l pocag |s - |k 08-07-24 |u 16 |x 10 |w 1 |v 6 |t 0 |z 10-24-22 |o -
945 |y .i8788964x |i 33029113795082 |l mccag |s ! |k  |u 15 |x 9 |w 0 |v 3 |t 0 |z 10-24-22 |o -
945 |y .i89099606 |i 33029114469745 |l nntag |s ! |k  |u 8 |x 7 |w 0 |v 4 |t 0 |z 05-26-23 |o -
9950 |a Loaded with m2btab.marciveb 2023-05
9950 |a Loaded with m2btab.splbtbi 2023-05
9950 |a Loaded with m2btab.marciveb 2022-11
9950 |a Loaded with m2btab.splbtbi 2022-10
998 |e - |d a  |f eng |a cen |a fai |a fol |a kin |a mcc |a mck |a nnt |a poc |a wdp