Curbside pickup and returns now available at 26 locations. View updated hours of operations here.

The un-discovered islands: an archipelago of myths and mysteries, phantoms and fakes
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Contributors:
Scott, Katie, illustrator.
Published:
New York : Picador, 2017., ©2016.
Physical Desc:
143 pages : color illustrations ; 23 cm
Status:
Central
911 T147 2017
Isleton
911 T147 2017
North Highlands-Antelope
911 T147 2017
Description

In The Un-Discovered Islands, critically acclaimed author Malachy Tallack takes the reader on fascinating adventures to the mysterious and forgotten corners of the map.

Be prepared to be captivated by the astounding tales of two dozen islands once believed to be real but no longer on the map. These are the products of the imagination, deception, and human error: an archipelago of ex-islands and forgotten lands. From the well-known story of Atlantis and the mysteries of frozen Thule to more obscure tales from around the globe, and from ancient history right up to the present day, this is an atlas of legend and wonder, with glorious illustrations by Katie Scott.

  • For readers of Judith Schalansky's The Atlas of Remote Islands and Atlas Obscura
  • Finished book will include full-color illustrations throughout

  • Also in This Series
    Copies
    Location
    Call Number
    Status
    Central
    911 T147 2017
    On Shelf
    Isleton
    911 T147 2017
    On Shelf
    North Highlands-Antelope
    911 T147 2017
    On Shelf
    North Sacramento-Hagginwood
    911 T147 2017
    On Shelf
    Southgate
    911 T147 2017
    On Shelf
    More Like This
    Other Editions and Formats
    More Copies In LINK+
    Loading LINK+ Copies...
    More Details
    Format:
    Book
    Edition:
    First U.S. edition.
    Language:
    English
    ISBN:
    9781250148445

    Notes

    General Note
    Originally published: Edinburgh : Polygon, 2016.
    Bibliography
    Includes bibliographical references.
    Reviews from GoodReads
    Loading GoodReads Reviews.
    Citations
    APA Citation (style guide)

    Tallack, M., & Scott, K. (2017). The un-discovered islands: an archipelago of myths and mysteries, phantoms and fakes. First U.S. edition. New York: Picador.

    Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

    Tallack, Malachy and Katie, Scott. 2017. The Un-discovered Islands: An Archipelago of Myths and Mysteries, Phantoms and Fakes. New York: Picador.

    Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

    Tallack, Malachy and Katie, Scott, The Un-discovered Islands: An Archipelago of Myths and Mysteries, Phantoms and Fakes. New York: Picador, 2017.

    MLA Citation (style guide)

    Tallack, Malachy,, and Katie Scott. The Un-discovered Islands: An Archipelago of Myths and Mysteries, Phantoms and Fakes. First U.S. edition. New York: Picador, 2017. Print.

    Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
    Staff View
    Grouped Work ID:
    eb525dab-297e-f241-5b6c-8d3d0febedce
    Go To GroupedWork

    Record Information

    Last Sierra Extract TimeOct 15, 2021 02:27:30 PM
    Last File Modification TimeOct 15, 2021 02:28:32 PM
    Last Grouped Work Modification TimeOct 26, 2021 02:08:55 AM

    MARC Record

    LEADER01569pam 2200421 i 4500
    001  2017027141
    003DLC
    00520180502134136.0
    008171017t20172016nyu      b    000 0 eng  
    010 |a 2017027141
    020 |a 9781250148445
    040 |a DLC|b eng|e rda|c DLC|d NjBwBT
    042 |a pcc
    049 |a JRSA
    05000|a G500|b .T35 2017
    08200|a 910|2 23
    099 |a 911 T147 2017
    1001 |a Tallack, Malachy,|e author.
    24514|a The un-discovered islands :|b an archipelago of myths and mysteries, phantoms and fakes /|c Malachy Tallack ; illustrated by Katie Scott.
    250 |a First U.S. edition.
    264 1|a New York :|b Picador,|c 2017.
    264 4|a ©2016.
    300 |a 143 pages :|b color illustrations ;|c 23 cm
    336 |a text|b txt|2 rdacontent
    337 |a unmediated|b n|2 rdamedia
    338 |a volume|b nc|2 rdacarrier
    500 |a Originally published: Edinburgh : Polygon, 2016.
    504 |a Includes bibliographical references.
    650 0|a Islands.
    650 0|a Islands|x Mythology.
    7001 |a Scott, Katie,|e illustrator.
    907 |a .b25126076
    945 |y .i77084950|i 33029103727756|l cenag|s -|k |u 8|x 1|w 0|v 14|t 3|z 12-01-17|o -
    945 |y .i78076912|i 33029105424923|l nhiag|s -|k |u 3|x 0|w 0|v 9|t 3|z 05-10-18|o -
    945 |y .i78365934|i 33029105400238|l souag|s -|k |u 2|x 0|w 0|v 4|t 3|z 06-01-18|o -
    945 |y .i78529463|i 33029105350615|l nsaag|s -|k |u 2|x 0|w 0|v 1|t 3|z 06-12-18|o -
    945 |y .i78707778|i 33029105365019|l islag|s -|k |u 1|x 0|w 0|v 2|t 3|z 06-20-18|o -
    998 |e -|d a |f eng|a cen|a isl|a nhi|a nsa|a sou