Curbside pickup and returns now available at 26 locations. View updated hours of operations here.

A natural: a novel
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published:
New York : Random House, [2017].
Physical Desc:
386 pages ; 25 cm.
Status:
Central
FICTION Raisin, R.
McKinley
FICTION Raisin, R.
Sylvan Oaks has 2
FICTION Raisin, R.
Description
From dreams of soccer glory to the realities of the minor leagues, the high-stakes world of English football comes to life in this vivid coming-of-age novel for fans of Nick Hornby and The Art of Fielding. After his unceremonious release from a Premier League academy at nineteen, Tom feels his bright future slipping away. The only contract offer he receives is from a lower-level club. Away from home for the first time, Tom struggles on and off the field, anxious to avoid the cruel pranks and hazing rituals of his teammates. Then a taboo encounter upends what little stability he has, forcing Tom to reconcile his suppressed desires with his drive to succeed. Meanwhile, the team's popular captain, Chris, is in denial about the state of his marriage. His wife, Leah, has almost forgotten the dreams she once held for her career. As her husband is transferred from club to club, and raising their first child practically on her own, she is lost, disillusioned with where life has taken her. A Natural delves into the heart of a professional soccer club: the pressure, the loneliness, the threat of scandal, the fragility of the body, and the struggle of conforming to the person everybody else expects you to be.Praise for A Natural"This is a bold novel. [Raisin has a] deep and unwavering empathy for others, and an ability to find flashes of beauty in life's unforgiving ugliness. His language might be spare, but his turn of phrase is strikingly elegant. . . . The way is lit by his keen perceptions; the novel suggests the frustrations that arise when lived experience fails to align with what was imagined, and analyzes the gap between spectatorship and participation. . . . If Raisin has chosen to focus on that which stifles rather than frees us, he has done so to demonstrate precisely why we need all the things that society and circumstance suppress. . . . The confidence and skill with which he pursues his vision is not just persuasive, it's powerful."The New York Times Book Review "Raisin's transporting and acutely observed novel speaks to us all. First-rate."Booklist (starred review) "An intimate picture of life in the lower reaches of professional British football . . . a bold theme . . . is rendered with restraint and sympathy. . . . [A Natural] is a sensitive treatment of very different kinds of solitude and pain."Kirkus Reviews
Also in This Series
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
Central
FICTION Raisin, R.
On Shelf
McKinley
FICTION Raisin, R.
On Shelf
Sylvan Oaks
FICTION Raisin, R.
On Shelf
Sylvan Oaks
FICTION Raisin, R.
On Shelf
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
Format:
Book
Edition:
First U.S. edition.
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780525508779
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Raisin, R. (2017). A natural: a novel. First U.S. edition. New York: Random House.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Raisin, Ross, 1979-. 2017. A Natural: A Novel. New York: Random House.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Raisin, Ross, 1979-, A Natural: A Novel. New York: Random House, 2017.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Raisin, Ross. A Natural: A Novel. First U.S. edition. New York: Random House, 2017. Print.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
3dc9d6b2-b2eb-c72f-2b60-90e69514d356
Go To GroupedWork

Record Information

Last Sierra Extract TimeJul 29, 2020 04:25:14 PM
Last File Modification TimeSep 01, 2020 10:57:18 PM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeMar 03, 2021 02:27:12 AM

MARC Record

LEADER01506cam a2200337 i 4500
001  2017012177
003DLC
00520171011143500.0
008170403r20172017nyu           000 1 eng  
010 |a 2017012177
020 |a 9780525508779
040 |a DLC|b eng|e rda|c DLC|d GCmBT|d NjBwBT
042 |a pcc
049 |a JRSA
05000|a PR6118.A36|b N38 2017
08200|a 823/.92|2 23
1001 |a Raisin, Ross,|d 1979-|e author.
24512|a A natural :|b a novel /|c Ross Raisin.
250 |a First U.S. edition.
264 1|a New York :|b Random House,|c [2017]
300 |a 386 pages ;|c 25 cm.
336 |a text|b txt|2 rdacontent.
337 |a unmediated|b n|2 rdamedia.
338 |a volume|b nc|2 rdacarrier.
907 |a .b25059683|b 07-10-20|c 07-24-17
998 |a cen|a mck|a (2)syl|b 10-31-17|c m|d a |e -|f eng|g nyu|h 2|i 4
932 |a FICTION Raisin, R.
945 |d  - - |e 04-06-2018 16:45|3 0|g 0|h 06-19-18|i 33029103653804|j 3|k  - - |l cenag|o -|p $27.00|q  |r 2|s - |t 0|u 2|v 5|w 0|x 0|0 99|1 16|y .i76941036|z 10-31-17
945 |d  - - |e 12-20-2017 15:04|3 0|g 0|h 12-27-17|i 33029103653846|j 3|k  - - |l mckag|o -|p $27.00|q  |r -|s - |t 0|u 2|v 1|w 0|x 0|0 217|1 17|y .i76941073|z 10-31-17
945 |d  - - |e 03-12-2020 12:32|3 0|g 0|h 07-09-20|i 33029103653820|j 3|k  - - |l sylag|o -|p $27.00|q  |r -|s - |t 0|u 3|v 0|w 0|x 1|0 212|1 26|y .i7694105x|z 10-31-17
945 |d  - - |e 09-22-2018 15:46|3 0|g 0|h 10-03-18|i 33029103653838|j 3|k  - - |l sylag|o -|p $27.00|q  |r -|s - |t 0|u 3|v 1|w 0|x 0|0 226|1 26|y .i76941061|z 10-31-17