Curbside pickup and returns now available at 26 locations. View updated hours of operations here.

The stolen child: a novel
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(1)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Author:
Published:
New York : Harper Perennial, [2017].
Physical Desc:
373, 15 pages ; 21 cm
Status:
Martin Luther King, Jr.
FICTION Carey, L.
North Highlands-Antelope
FICTION Carey, L.
Description

"From the author of the critically acclaimed The Mermaids Singing comes a haunting, luminous novel set on an enchanted island off the west coast of Ireland where magic, faith, and superstition pervade the inhabitants' lives and tangled relationships--perfect for fans of Eowyn Ivey, Sarah Waters, and Angela Carter. May 1959. From one side of St. Brigid's Island, the mountains of Connemara can be glimpsed on the distant mainland; from the other, the Atlantic stretches as far as the eye can see. This remote settlement, without electricity or even a harbor, has scarcely altered since its namesake saint set up a convent of stone huts centuries ago. Those who live there, including sisters Rose and Emer, are hardy and resourceful, dependent on the sea and each other for survival. Despite the island's natural beauty, it is a place that people move away from, not to--until an outspoken American, also named Brigid, arrives to claim her late uncle's cottage. Brigid has come for more than an inheritance. She's seeking a secret holy well that's rumored to grant miracles. Emer, as scarred and wary as Rose is friendly and beautiful, has good reason to believe in inexplicable powers. Despite her own strange abilities--or perhaps because of them--Emer fears that she won't be able to save her young son, Niall, from a growing threat. Yet Brigid has a gift too, even more remarkable than Emer's. As months pass and Brigid carves out a place on the island and in the sisters' lives, a complicated web of betrayal, fear, and desire culminates in one shocking night that will change the island, and its inhabitants, forever. Steeped in Irish history and lore, The Stolen Child is a mesmerizing descent into old world beliefs, and a captivating exploration of desire, myth, motherhood, and love in all its forms." --

Also in This Series
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
Martin Luther King, Jr.
FICTION Carey, L.
On Shelf
North Highlands-Antelope
FICTION Carey, L.
On Shelf
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
Format:
Book
Edition:
First edition.
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780062492180, 0062492187

Notes

Description
"From the author of the critically acclaimed The Mermaids Singing comes a haunting, luminous novel set on an enchanted island off the west coast of Ireland where magic, faith, and superstition pervade the inhabitants' lives and tangled relationships--perfect for fans of Eowyn Ivey, Sarah Waters, and Angela Carter. May 1959. From one side of St. Brigid's Island, the mountains of Connemara can be glimpsed on the distant mainland; from the other, the Atlantic stretches as far as the eye can see. This remote settlement, without electricity or even a harbor, has scarcely altered since its namesake saint set up a convent of stone huts centuries ago. Those who live there, including sisters Rose and Emer, are hardy and resourceful, dependent on the sea and each other for survival. Despite the island's natural beauty, it is a place that people move away from, not to--until an outspoken American, also named Brigid, arrives to claim her late uncle's cottage. Brigid has come for more than an inheritance. She's seeking a secret holy well that's rumored to grant miracles. Emer, as scarred and wary as Rose is friendly and beautiful, has good reason to believe in inexplicable powers. Despite her own strange abilities--or perhaps because of them--Emer fears that she won't be able to save her young son, Niall, from a growing threat. Yet Brigid has a gift too, even more remarkable than Emer's. As months pass and Brigid carves out a place on the island and in the sisters' lives, a complicated web of betrayal, fear, and desire culminates in one shocking night that will change the island, and its inhabitants, forever. Steeped in Irish history and lore, The Stolen Child is a mesmerizing descent into old world beliefs, and a captivating exploration of desire, myth, motherhood, and love in all its forms." --,Provided by publisher.
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Carey, L. (2017). The stolen child: a novel. First edition. New York: Harper Perennial.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Carey, Lisa. 2017. The Stolen Child: A Novel. New York: Harper Perennial.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Carey, Lisa, The Stolen Child: A Novel. New York: Harper Perennial, 2017.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Carey, Lisa. The Stolen Child: A Novel. First edition. New York: Harper Perennial, 2017. Print.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
953e8afc-fe97-2a01-a611-954e0f03cd82
Go To GroupedWork

Record Information

Last Sierra Extract TimeOct 20, 2020 10:18:06 AM
Last File Modification TimeOct 20, 2020 10:27:16 AM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeMar 07, 2021 03:12:14 AM

MARC Record

LEADER03313cam 2200457 i 4500
001ocn950447500
00520170413132018.0
003OCoLC
008160823t20172017nyua          000 1 eng  
1001 |a Carey, Lisa,|e author.
932 |a FICTION Carey, L.
650 0|a Americans|z Ireland|v Fiction.
650 0|a Inheritance and succession|v Fiction.
650 0|a Sisters|v Fiction.
650 0|a Superstition|v Fiction.
650 0|a Magic|v Fiction.
650 0|a Islands|v Fiction.
651 0|a Ireland|x Social life and customs|y 20th century|v Fiction.
655 7|a Historical fiction.|2 lcgft
250 |a First edition.
020 |a 9780062492180
020 |a 0062492187
010 |a 2016032315
520 |a "From the author of the critically acclaimed The Mermaids Singing comes a haunting, luminous novel set on an enchanted island off the west coast of Ireland where magic, faith, and superstition pervade the inhabitants' lives and tangled relationships--perfect for fans of Eowyn Ivey, Sarah Waters, and Angela Carter. May 1959. From one side of St. Brigid's Island, the mountains of Connemara can be glimpsed on the distant mainland; from the other, the Atlantic stretches as far as the eye can see. This remote settlement, without electricity or even a harbor, has scarcely altered since its namesake saint set up a convent of stone huts centuries ago. Those who live there, including sisters Rose and Emer, are hardy and resourceful, dependent on the sea and each other for survival. Despite the island's natural beauty, it is a place that people move away from, not to--until an outspoken American, also named Brigid, arrives to claim her late uncle's cottage. Brigid has come for more than an inheritance. She's seeking a secret holy well that's rumored to grant miracles. Emer, as scarred and wary as Rose is friendly and beautiful, has good reason to believe in inexplicable powers. Despite her own strange abilities--or perhaps because of them--Emer fears that she won't be able to save her young son, Niall, from a growing threat. Yet Brigid has a gift too, even more remarkable than Emer's. As months pass and Brigid carves out a place on the island and in the sisters' lives, a complicated web of betrayal, fear, and desire culminates in one shocking night that will change the island, and its inhabitants, forever. Steeped in Irish history and lore, The Stolen Child is a mesmerizing descent into old world beliefs, and a captivating exploration of desire, myth, motherhood, and love in all its forms." --|c Provided by publisher.
264 1|a New York :|b Harper Perennial,|c [2017]
264 4|c ©2017
300 |a 373, 15 pages ;|c 21 cm
336 |a text|b txt|2 rdacontent
337 |a unmediated|b n|2 rdamedia
338 |a volume|b nc|2 rdacarrier
24514|a The stolen child :|b a novel /|c Lisa Carey.
040 |a DLC|b eng|e rda|c DLC|d BTCTA|d BDX|d YDXCP|d LAP|d VTL|d OCLCO|d NPC|d IHX|d T2D|d YDX|d OCLCO|d OCLCF|d ILC
042 |a pcc
043 |a e-ie---
049 |a JRSA
05000|a PS3553.A66876|b S76 2017
08200|a 813/.6|2 23
998 |e -|d a |f eng|a kin|a nhi
907 |a .b24840889
945 |y .i75833244|i 33029102581907|l nhiag|s -|k |u 10|x 2|w 0|v 2|t 0|z 04-28-17|o -
945 |y .i75833256|i 33029102581915|l kinag|s -|k |u 11|x 0|w 1|v 0|t 0|z 04-28-17|o -