Curbside pickup and returns now available at 26 locations. View updated hours of operations here.

Salt, fat, acid, heat: mastering the elements of good cooking
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(5)
4 star
 
(2)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(2)
1 star
 
(0)
Published:
New York : Simon & Schuster, 2017.
Physical Desc:
469 pages : illustrations (chiefly color) ; 24 cm
Status:
Belle Cooledge has 2
641.5 N897 2017
Carmichael
641.5 N897 2017
Franklin
641.5 N897 2017
Description
Now a Netflix series! New York Times Bestseller and Winner of the 2018 James Beard Award for Best General Cookbook and multiple ICAP Cookbook Awards Named one of the Best Books of 2017 by: NPR, BuzzFeed, The Atlantic, The Washington Post, Chicago Tribune, Rachel Ray Every Day, San Francisco Chronicle, Vice Munchies, Elle.com, Glamour, Eater, Newsday, Minneapolis Star Tribune, The Seattle Times, Tampa Bay Times, Tasting Table, Modern Farmer, Publishers Weekly, and more. A visionary new master class in cooking that distills decades of professional experience into just four simple elements, from the woman declared "America's next great cooking teacher" by Alice Waters.In the tradition of The Joy of Cooking and How to Cook Everything comes Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat, an ambitious new approach to cooking by a major new culinary voice. Chef and writer Samin Nosrat has taught everyone from professional chefs to middle school kids to author Michael Pollan to cook using her revolutionary, yet simple, philosophy. Master the use of just four elements—Salt, which enhances flavor; Fat, which delivers flavor and generates texture; Acid, which balances flavor; and Heat, which ultimately determines the texture of food—and anything you cook will be delicious. By explaining the hows and whys of good cooking, Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat will teach and inspire a new generation of cooks how to confidently make better decisions in the kitchen and cook delicious meals with any ingredients, anywhere, at any time. Echoing Samin's own journey from culinary novice to award-winning chef, Salt, Fat Acid, Heat immediately bridges the gap between home and professional kitchens. With charming narrative, illustrated walkthroughs, and a lighthearted approach to kitchen science, Samin demystifies the four elements of good cooking for everyone. Refer to the canon of 100 essential recipes—and dozens of variations—to put the lessons into practice and make bright, balanced vinaigrettes, perfectly caramelized roast vegetables, tender braised meats, and light, flaky pastry doughs. Featuring 150 illustrations and infographics that reveal an atlas to the world of flavor by renowned illustrator Wendy MacNaughton, Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat will be your compass in the kitchen. Destined to be a classic, it just might be the last cookbook you'll ever need. With a foreword by Michael Pollan.
Also in This Series
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
Arden-Dimick
641.5 N897 2017
Due Apr 3, 2021
Belle Cooledge
641.5 N897 2017
Due Apr 13, 2021
Belle Cooledge
641.5 N897 2017
Due May 13, 2021
Belle Cooledge
641.5 N897 2017
On Shelf
Belle Cooledge
641.5 N897 2017
Due May 18, 2021
Belle Cooledge
641.5 N897 2017
On Shelf
Carmichael
641.5 N897 2017
On Shelf
Carmichael
641.5 N897 2017
Due Apr 17, 2021
Central New Books - 1st Floor
641.5 N897 2017
Due May 1, 2021
Colonial Heights
641.5 N897 2017
Due Apr 23, 2021
Colonial Heights
641.5 N897 2017
Due Apr 13, 2021
Colonial Heights
641.5 N897 2017
Due May 11, 2021
Fair Oaks
641.5 N897 2017
On Holdshelf
Fair Oaks
641.5 N897 2017
Due Apr 20, 2021
Franklin
641.5 N897 2017
On Shelf
McKinley
641.5 N897 2017
Due Apr 27, 2021
McKinley
641.5 N897 2017
On Shelf
McKinley
641.5 N897 2017
Due Apr 14, 2021
North Highlands-Antelope
641.5 N897 2017
On Holdshelf
North Natomas
641.5 N897 2017
On Shelf
Rancho Cordova
641.5 N897 2017
Due May 15, 2021
Sylvan Oaks
641.5 N897 2017
Due Apr 20, 2021
Location
Call Number
Status
Colusa Main Branch Adult Collection
641.5 N
Due Oct 31, 2020
Folsom Adult
641.5 NOS 2017
On Shelf
Folsom Adult
641.5 NOS 2017
Due Oct 31, 2020
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
Subjects
LC Subjects
Other Subjects
More Details
Format:
Book
Edition:
First Simon & Schuster hardcover edition.
Language:
English
ISBN:
9781476753836

Notes

Bibliography
Includes bibliographical references (pages 441-444) and index.
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Nosrat, S. (2017). Salt, fat, acid, heat: mastering the elements of good cooking. First Simon & Schuster hardcover edition. New York: Simon & Schuster.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Nosrat, Samin. 2017. Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat: Mastering the Elements of Good Cooking. New York: Simon & Schuster.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Nosrat, Samin, Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat: Mastering the Elements of Good Cooking. New York: Simon & Schuster, 2017.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Nosrat, Samin. Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat: Mastering the Elements of Good Cooking. First Simon & Schuster hardcover edition. New York: Simon & Schuster, 2017. Print.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
89a70486-7c04-fb07-eadf-2243b704b4ea
Go To GroupedWork

Record Information

Last Sierra Extract TimeApr 10, 2021 05:22:38 AM
Last File Modification TimeApr 10, 2021 05:28:25 AM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeApr 10, 2021 05:22:46 AM

MARC Record

LEADER03691cam 2200661 i 4500
001  2016040649
00520170619071848.0
003DLC
008160913s2017    nyua     b    001 0 eng  
1001 |a Nosrat, Samin,|e author.
099 |a 641.5 N897 2017
650 0|a Cooking.
655 7|a Cookbooks.|2 lcgft
250 |a First Simon & Schuster hardcover edition.
020 |a 9781476753836
010 |a 2016040649
504 |a Includes bibliographical references (pages 441-444) and index.
264 1|a New York :|b Simon & Schuster,|c 2017.
300 |a 469 pages :|b illustrations (chiefly color) ;|c 24 cm
336 |a text|b txt|2 rdacontent
337 |a unmediated|b n|2 rdamedia
338 |a volume|b nc|2 rdacarrier
24510|a Salt, fat, acid, heat :|b mastering the elements of good cooking /|c by Samin Nosrat and art by Wendy MacNaughton ; with a foreword by Michael Pollan.
042 |a pcc
049 |a JRSA
05000|a TX651|b .N66 2017
040 |a DLC|b eng|e rda|c DLC|d GCmBT|d NjBwBT
08200|a 641.5|2 23
998 |e -|d a |f eng|a ard|a car|a cen|a chs|a col|a coo|a fai|a fol|a fra|a mck|a nhi|a nnt|a ran|a syl
907 |a .b24732205
945 |y .i75958739|i 33029102650256|l cenad|s -|k 05-01-21|u 29|x 4|w 3|v 13|t 3|z 05-15-17|o -
945 |y .i76183002|i 33029103262705|l ardag|s -|k 04-03-21|u 28|x 4|w 4|v 22|t 3|z 06-16-17|o -
945 |y .i76183014|i 33029103262713|l ranag|s -|k 05-15-21|u 32|x 6|w 4|v 17|t 3|z 06-16-17|o -
945 |y .i76183026|i 33029103262721|l cooag|s -|k 04-13-21|u 32|x 5|w 3|v 28|t 3|z 06-16-17|o -
945 |y .i76183038|i 33029103262739|l mckag|s -|k 04-14-21|u 28|x 3|w 3|v 28|t 3|z 06-16-17|o -
945 |y .i7618304x|i 33029103262747|l cooag|s -|k |u 28|x 3|w 4|v 17|t 3|z 06-16-17|o -
945 |y .i76183051|i 33029103262754|l sylag|s $|k |u 25|x 0|w 0|v 5|t 3|z 06-16-17|o -
945 |y .i76250520|i 33029103332854|l fraag|s -|k |u 31|x 3|w 5|v 19|t 3|z 06-29-17|o -
945 |y .i76250532|i 33029103332862|l sylag|s -|k 04-20-21|u 33|x 7|w 4|v 15|t 3|z 06-29-17|o -
945 |y .i76250544|i 33029103332870|l nntag|s -|k |u 32|x 8|w 5|v 20|t 3|z 06-29-17|o -
945 |y .i76250556|i 33029103332888|l cooag|s $|k |u 11|x 0|w 0|v 6|t 3|z 06-29-17|o -
945 |y .i76250568|i 33029103332896|l chsag|s -|k 05-11-21|u 23|x 4|w 3|v 18|t 3|z 06-29-17|o -
945 |y .i76326652|i 33029066681438|l cenag|s m|k |u 31|x 6|w 1|v 3|t 3|z 07-18-17|o -
945 |y .i7632669x|i 33029066681479|l faiag|s !|k |u 35|x 5|w 4|v 11|t 3|z 07-18-17|o -
945 |y .i76326706|i 33029066681487|l chsag|s -|k 04-13-21|u 34|x 5|w 2|v 10|t 3|z 07-18-17|o -
945 |y .i76326718|i 33029066681495|l cooag|s -|k 05-13-21|u 38|x 9|w 4|v 11|t 3|z 07-18-17|o -
945 |y .i7632672x|i 33029066681503|l carag|s -|k 04-17-21|u 28|x 3|w 3|v 10|t 3|z 07-18-17|o -
945 |y .i76326743|i 33029066681529|l mckag|s -|k 04-27-21|u 27|x 4|w 2|v 11|t 3|z 07-18-17|o -
945 |y .i76326767|i 33029066681545|l nhiag|s !|k |u 12|x 0|w 0|v 1|t 3|z 07-18-17|o -
945 |y .i76326779|i 33029066681552|l faiag|s -|k 04-20-21|u 28|x 3|w 2|v 15|t 3|z 07-18-17|o -
945 |y .i76326780|i 33029066681560|l cooag|s -|k |u 21|x 3|w 4|v 21|t 3|z 07-18-17|o -
945 |y .i76326792|i 33029066681578|l cooag|s -|k 05-18-21|u 31|x 6|w 4|v 5|t 3|z 07-18-17|o -
945 |y .i76326809|i 33029066681586|l carag|s -|k |u 20|x 5|w 3|v 11|t 3|z 07-18-17|o -
945 |y .i76326834|i 33029066681610|l chsag|s -|k 04-23-21|u 39|x 6|w 6|v 11|t 3|z 07-18-17|o -
945 |y .i76326871|i 33029066681651|l mckag|s -|k |u 30|x 3|w 4|v 12|t 3|z 07-18-17|o -
945 |y .i76411564|i 36796021719183|l fola|s -|k 10-31-20|u 37|x 5|w 0|v 12|t 3|z 08-03-17|o l|a 641.5 NOS 2017
945 |y .i76411576|i 36796021719191|l fola|s -|k |u 31|x 5|w 4|v 12|t 3|z 08-03-17|o l|a 641.5 NOS 2017
945 |y .i81651454|i 30738001697696|l cola|s -|k 10-31-20|u 4|x 4|w 0|v 6|t 3|z 08-08-19|o l|a 641.5 N