Curbside pickup and returns now available at 26 locations. View updated hours of operations here.

Nobody's son: a memoir
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published:
New York : W.W. Norton & Company, [2016].
Physical Desc:
274 pages : illustrations ; 22 cm.
Status:
Central
813.54 S634 2016
Description

"For readers of W. G. Sebald and Daniel Mendelsohn, by a writer whose storytelling is 'devastatingly agile' (New York Times Book Review). Born in Czechoslovakia, Mark Slouka's parents survived the Nazis only to be forced to then escape the Communist purges after the war. Smuggled out of their own country, the newlyweds joined a tide of refugees moving from Innsbruck to Sydney to New York, dragging with them a history of blood and betrayal that their son would be born into. From World War I to the present, Slouka pieces together a remarkable story of refugees and war, displacement and denial, admitting into evidence memories, dreams, stories, the lies we inherit and the lies we tell -- in an attempt to reach his mother, the figure at the center of the labyrinth. Her story -- the revelation of her life-long burden and the forty-year love affair that might have saved her -- shows the way out of the maze" --

Also in This Series
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
Central
813.54 S634 2016
On Shelf
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
Format:
Book
Edition:
First edition.
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780393292305

Notes

Description
"For readers of W. G. Sebald and Daniel Mendelsohn, by a writer whose storytelling is 'devastatingly agile' (New York Times Book Review). Born in Czechoslovakia, Mark Slouka's parents survived the Nazis only to be forced to then escape the Communist purges after the war. Smuggled out of their own country, the newlyweds joined a tide of refugees moving from Innsbruck to Sydney to New York, dragging with them a history of blood and betrayal that their son would be born into. From World War I to the present, Slouka pieces together a remarkable story of refugees and war, displacement and denial, admitting into evidence memories, dreams, stories, the lies we inherit and the lies we tell -- in an attempt to reach his mother, the figure at the center of the labyrinth. Her story -- the revelation of her life-long burden and the forty-year love affair that might have saved her -- shows the way out of the maze" --,Provided by publisher.
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Slouka, M. (2016). Nobody's son: a memoir. First edition. New York: W.W. Norton & Company.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Slouka, Mark. 2016. Nobody's Son: A Memoir. New York: W.W. Norton & Company.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Slouka, Mark, Nobody's Son: A Memoir. New York: W.W. Norton & Company, 2016.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Slouka, Mark. Nobody's Son: A Memoir. First edition. New York: W.W. Norton & Company, 2016. Print.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
f79bc7de-b33b-81f3-b0b1-6f3e01292d68
Go To GroupedWork

Record Information

Last Sierra Extract TimeJul 29, 2020 04:47:34 PM
Last File Modification TimeSep 01, 2020 10:53:02 PM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeApr 16, 2021 02:34:47 AM

MARC Record

LEADER02335pam a2200409 i 4500
001  2016018257
003DLC
00520161017121643.0
008160620s2016    nyua          000 0aeng  
010 |a 2016018257
020 |a 9780393292305
040 |a DLC|b eng|e rda|c DLC|d NjBwBT
042 |a pcc
043 |a n-us-ny
049 |a JRSA
05000|a PS3569.L697|b Z46 2016
08200|a 813/.54|a B|2 23
099 |a 813.54 S634 2016
1001 |a Slouka, Mark,|e author.
24510|a Nobody's son :|b a memoir /|c Mark Slouka.
250 |a First edition.
264 1|a New York :|b W.W. Norton & Company,|c [2016]
300 |a 274 pages :|b illustrations ;|c 22 cm.
336 |a text|b txt|2 rdacontent.
337 |a unmediated|b n|2 rdamedia.
338 |a volume|b nc|2 rdacarrier.
520 |a "For readers of W. G. Sebald and Daniel Mendelsohn, by a writer whose storytelling is 'devastatingly agile' (New York Times Book Review). Born in Czechoslovakia, Mark Slouka's parents survived the Nazis only to be forced to then escape the Communist purges after the war. Smuggled out of their own country, the newlyweds joined a tide of refugees moving from Innsbruck to Sydney to New York, dragging with them a history of blood and betrayal that their son would be born into. From World War I to the present, Slouka pieces together a remarkable story of refugees and war, displacement and denial, admitting into evidence memories, dreams, stories, the lies we inherit and the lies we tell -- in an attempt to reach his mother, the figure at the center of the labyrinth. Her story -- the revelation of her life-long burden and the forty-year love affair that might have saved her -- shows the way out of the maze" --|c Provided by publisher.
60010|a Slouka, Mark|x Family.
60010|a Slouka, Mark|x Childhood and youth.
650 0|a Czech Americans|v Biography.
650 0|a Authors, American|v Biography.
650 0|a Mothers and sons|z New York (State)|v Biography.
650 0|a Family secrets|z New York (State)
651 0|a New York (State)|v Biography.
907 |a .b24382048|b 08-19-19|c 09-07-16
998 |a cen|b 10-27-16|c m|d a |e -|f eng|g nyu|h 0|i 1
945 |d  - - |e 08-20-2019 16:44|3 0|g 0|h 10-12-19|i 33029102091790|j 3|k  - - |l cenag|o -|p $26.95|q  |r f|s - |t 3|u 8|v 4|w 0|x 1|0 99|1 39|y .i74849505|z 10-27-16