We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

The pursuit of pearls: a novel
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Series:
Published:
New York : Ballantine Books, [2016].
Physical Desc:
xvii, 485 pages ; 21 cm.
Status:
Galt
FICTION Thynne, J.
Description

"Perfect for fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Charles Todd, Robert Harris, and Susan Elia MacNeal, here is the next thrilling historical novel featuring Clara Vine, the British actress and special agent who glides through the upper echelons of Nazi society, covertly gathering key intelligence--and placing herself in mortal peril. In the spring of 1939, the drums of war beat throughout Europe, but nowhere more ferociously than in Berlin. The film studio where Clara Vine works is churning out movies, but each day that she stays in Germany is more dangerous than the last. Spying on the private life of the Third Reich, passing secrets to contacts in British intelligence, falling into a passionate affair--any of these risky moves could get Clara shot. So she is wholly shaken when someone close to her is murdered instead. The victim is Lottie Franke, an aspiring costume designer and student at the prestigious Faith and Beauty finishing school that trains young women to become the wives of the Nazi elite. While the press considers Lottie's death in the Grunewald forest the act of a lone madman, Clara uncovers deeper threads, tangled lines that seem to reach into the darkest depths of the Reich--and to a precious discovery that Hitler and his ruthless cohorts would kill for. Previously published in the U.K. as Faith and Beauty Praise for Jane Thynne's first Clara Vine novel, The Scent of Secrets "A brilliant tale of spies and secrets, of intense psychological drama, of edgy climax and one extraordinary heroine."--Beatriz Williams, New York Times bestselling author of A Hundred Summers "A compelling story of love and betrayal in Hitler's Berlin. Peppered with real-life characters, this series offers a fascinating glimpse of the extraordinary world of the Nazi wives."--Daisy Goodwin, author of The American Heiress "An alluring blend of thrills, suspense, historic detail, and seduction."--Susan Elia MacNeal, author of the Maggie Hope series "An extraordinary, absorbing read with an array of characters so real you're there with them as war looms, and a pace that sweeps you from page to page. This is indeed a winner!"--Charles Todd, author of Inspector Ian Rutledge Mysteries"--

Also in This Series
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
Galt
FICTION Thynne, J.
On Shelf
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
Format:
Book
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780553393866, 0553393863

Notes

General Note
Sequel to: The scent of secrets.
Description
"Perfect for fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Charles Todd, Robert Harris, and Susan Elia MacNeal, here is the next thrilling historical novel featuring Clara Vine, the British actress and special agent who glides through the upper echelons of Nazi society, covertly gathering key intelligence--and placing herself in mortal peril. In the spring of 1939, the drums of war beat throughout Europe, but nowhere more ferociously than in Berlin. The film studio where Clara Vine works is churning out movies, but each day that she stays in Germany is more dangerous than the last. Spying on the private life of the Third Reich, passing secrets to contacts in British intelligence, falling into a passionate affair--any of these risky moves could get Clara shot. So she is wholly shaken when someone close to her is murdered instead. The victim is Lottie Franke, an aspiring costume designer and student at the prestigious Faith and Beauty finishing school that trains young women to become the wives of the Nazi elite. While the press considers Lottie's death in the Grunewald forest the act of a lone madman, Clara uncovers deeper threads, tangled lines that seem to reach into the darkest depths of the Reich--and to a precious discovery that Hitler and his ruthless cohorts would kill for. Previously published in the U.K. as Faith and Beauty Praise for Jane Thynne's first Clara Vine novel, The Scent of Secrets "A brilliant tale of spies and secrets, of intense psychological drama, of edgy climax and one extraordinary heroine."--Beatriz Williams, New York Times bestselling author of A Hundred Summers "A compelling story of love and betrayal in Hitler's Berlin. Peppered with real-life characters, this series offers a fascinating glimpse of the extraordinary world of the Nazi wives."--Daisy Goodwin, author of The American Heiress "An alluring blend of thrills, suspense, historic detail, and seduction."--Susan Elia MacNeal, author of the Maggie Hope series "An extraordinary, absorbing read with an array of characters so real you're there with them as war looms, and a pace that sweeps you from page to page. This is indeed a winner!"--Charles Todd, author of Inspector Ian Rutledge Mysteries"--,Provided by publisher.
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Thynne, J. (2016). The pursuit of pearls: a novel. New York: Ballantine Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Thynne, Jane. 2016. The Pursuit of Pearls: A Novel. New York: Ballantine Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Thynne, Jane, The Pursuit of Pearls: A Novel. New York: Ballantine Books, 2016.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Thynne, Jane. The Pursuit of Pearls: A Novel. New York: Ballantine Books, 2016. Print.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
9c4ba411-6a8b-fd70-66a5-990f6dcc328c
Go To GroupedWork

Record Information

Last Sierra Extract TimeAug 03, 2022 07:21:19 PM
Last File Modification TimeAug 03, 2022 07:21:54 PM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeAug 03, 2022 07:21:24 PM

MARC Record

LEADER03985cam 2200493 i 4500
001ocn918282224
003OCoLC
00520160613065342.0
008160129s2016    nyu           000 f eng  
010 |a 2016000590
020 |a 9780553393866
020 |a 0553393863
040 |a DLC|b eng|e rda|c DLC|d YDX|d YDXCP|d BTCTA|d BDX|d OCLCF|d ORX|d APL|d CDX|d OCLCQ|d OCLCO
042 |a pcc
043 |a e-uk---|a e-gx---
049 |a JRSA
05000|a PR6070.H96|b P87 2016
08200|a 823/.914|2 23
1001 |a Thynne, Jane,|e author.
24514|a The pursuit of pearls :|b a novel /|c Jane Thynne.
264 1|a New York :|b Ballantine Books,|c [2016]
300 |a xvii, 485 pages ;|c 21 cm.
336 |a text|b txt|2 rdacontent
337 |a unmediated|b n|2 rdamedia
338 |a volume|b nc|2 rdacarrier
4901 |a Random House reader's circle
500 |a Sequel to: The scent of secrets.
520 |a "Perfect for fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Charles Todd, Robert Harris, and Susan Elia MacNeal, here is the next thrilling historical novel featuring Clara Vine, the British actress and special agent who glides through the upper echelons of Nazi society, covertly gathering key intelligence--and placing herself in mortal peril. In the spring of 1939, the drums of war beat throughout Europe, but nowhere more ferociously than in Berlin. The film studio where Clara Vine works is churning out movies, but each day that she stays in Germany is more dangerous than the last. Spying on the private life of the Third Reich, passing secrets to contacts in British intelligence, falling into a passionate affair--any of these risky moves could get Clara shot. So she is wholly shaken when someone close to her is murdered instead. The victim is Lottie Franke, an aspiring costume designer and student at the prestigious Faith and Beauty finishing school that trains young women to become the wives of the Nazi elite. While the press considers Lottie's death in the Grunewald forest the act of a lone madman, Clara uncovers deeper threads, tangled lines that seem to reach into the darkest depths of the Reich--and to a precious discovery that Hitler and his ruthless cohorts would kill for. Previously published in the U.K. as Faith and Beauty Praise for Jane Thynne's first Clara Vine novel, The Scent of Secrets "A brilliant tale of spies and secrets, of intense psychological drama, of edgy climax and one extraordinary heroine."--Beatriz Williams, New York Times bestselling author of A Hundred Summers "A compelling story of love and betrayal in Hitler's Berlin. Peppered with real-life characters, this series offers a fascinating glimpse of the extraordinary world of the Nazi wives."--Daisy Goodwin, author of The American Heiress "An alluring blend of thrills, suspense, historic detail, and seduction."--Susan Elia MacNeal, author of the Maggie Hope series "An extraordinary, absorbing read with an array of characters so real you're there with them as war looms, and a pace that sweeps you from page to page. This is indeed a winner!"--Charles Todd, author of Inspector Ian Rutledge Mysteries"--|c Provided by publisher.
650 0|a Actresses|v Fiction.
650 0|a Intelligence officers|z Great Britain|v Fiction.
650 0|a Espionage|z Great Britain|x History|y 20th century|v Fiction.
650 0|a Murder|x Investigation|v Fiction.
651 0|a Germany|x History|y 1933-1945|v Fiction.
655 7|a Historical fiction.|2 gsafd
655 7|a Mystery fiction.|2 gsafd
655 7|a Spy stories.|2 gsafd
655 7|a Historical fiction.|2 lcgft
655 7|a Spy fiction.|2 lcgft
77608|i Online version:|a Thynne, Jane.|t Pursuit of pearls.|d New York : Ballantine Books, [2016]|z 9780553393927|w (DLC) 2016004835|w (OCoLC)936433523
830 0|a Reader's circle (Random House (Firm))
907 |a .b24167915
932 |a FICTION Thynne, J.
945 |y .i74224293|i 33029101743201|l galag|s -|k |u 16|x 0|w 0|v 8|t 0|z 06-23-16|o -
998 |e -|d a |f eng|a gal