We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

The children's home: a novel
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Published:
New York : Scribner, 2016.
Physical Desc:
210 pages ; 22 cm
Status:
Arden-Dimick
FICTION Lambert, C.
Belle Cooledge
FICTION Lambert, C.
Central
FICTION Lambert, C.
Description

"For fans of Shirley Jackson, Neil Gaiman, Roald Dahl, and Edward Gorey, a beguiling and disarming debut novel from an award-winning British author about a mysterious group of children who appear to a disfigured recluse and his country doctor--and the startling revelations their behavior evokes. In a sprawling estate, willfully secluded, lives Morgan Fletcher, the disfigured heir to a fortune of mysterious origins. Morgan spends his days in quiet study, avoiding his reflection in mirrors and the lake at the end of his garden. One day, two children, Moira and David, appear. Morgan takes them in, giving them free reign of the mansion he shares with his housekeeper Engel. Then more children begin to show up. Dr. Crane, the town physician and Morgan's lone tether to the outside world, is as taken with the children as Morgan, and begins to spend more time in Morgan's library. But the children behave strangely. They show a prescient understanding of Morgan's past, and their bizarre discoveries in the mansion attics grow increasingly disturbing. Every day the children seem to disappear into the hidden rooms of the estate, and perhaps, into the hidden corners of Morgan's mind. The Children's Home is a genre-defying, utterly bewitching masterwork, an inversion of modern fairy tales like The Chronicles of Narnia and The Golden Compass, in which children visit faraway lands to accomplish elusive tasks. Lambert writes from the perspective of the visited, weaving elements of psychological suspense, Jamesian stream of consciousness, and neo-gothic horror, to reveal the inescapable effects of abandonment, isolation, and the grotesque--as well as the glimmers of goodness--buried deep within the soul"--

Also in This Series
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
Arden-Dimick
FICTION Lambert, C.
On Shelf
Belle Cooledge
FICTION Lambert, C.
On Shelf
Central
FICTION Lambert, C.
On Shelf
Orangevale
FICTION Lambert, C.
On Shelf
Rancho Cordova
FICTION Lambert, C.
Due Jul 9, 2022
Valley Hi-North Laguna
FICTION Lambert, C.
Due Jul 12, 2022
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
Format:
Book
Edition:
First Scribner hardcover edition.
Language:
English
ISBN:
9781501117398, 1501117394

Notes

Description
"For fans of Shirley Jackson, Neil Gaiman, Roald Dahl, and Edward Gorey, a beguiling and disarming debut novel from an award-winning British author about a mysterious group of children who appear to a disfigured recluse and his country doctor--and the startling revelations their behavior evokes. In a sprawling estate, willfully secluded, lives Morgan Fletcher, the disfigured heir to a fortune of mysterious origins. Morgan spends his days in quiet study, avoiding his reflection in mirrors and the lake at the end of his garden. One day, two children, Moira and David, appear. Morgan takes them in, giving them free reign of the mansion he shares with his housekeeper Engel. Then more children begin to show up. Dr. Crane, the town physician and Morgan's lone tether to the outside world, is as taken with the children as Morgan, and begins to spend more time in Morgan's library. But the children behave strangely. They show a prescient understanding of Morgan's past, and their bizarre discoveries in the mansion attics grow increasingly disturbing. Every day the children seem to disappear into the hidden rooms of the estate, and perhaps, into the hidden corners of Morgan's mind. The Children's Home is a genre-defying, utterly bewitching masterwork, an inversion of modern fairy tales like The Chronicles of Narnia and The Golden Compass, in which children visit faraway lands to accomplish elusive tasks. Lambert writes from the perspective of the visited, weaving elements of psychological suspense, Jamesian stream of consciousness, and neo-gothic horror, to reveal the inescapable effects of abandonment, isolation, and the grotesque--as well as the glimmers of goodness--buried deep within the soul"--,Provided by publisher.
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Lambert, C. (2016). The children's home: a novel. First Scribner hardcover edition. New York: Scribner.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Lambert, Charles, 1953-. 2016. The Children's Home: A Novel. New York: Scribner.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Lambert, Charles, 1953-, The Children's Home: A Novel. New York: Scribner, 2016.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Lambert, Charles. The Children's Home: A Novel. First Scribner hardcover edition. New York: Scribner, 2016. Print.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
db854ca3-a8e4-414e-f65a-5d2c3e5e58f2
Go To GroupedWork

Record Information

Last Sierra Extract TimeJun 21, 2022 12:43:22 PM
Last File Modification TimeJun 21, 2022 12:45:24 PM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeJun 25, 2022 02:08:27 AM

MARC Record

LEADER03240pam 2200409 i 4500
001  2015027042
003DLC
00520151229120815.0
008150714s2016    nyu           000 1 eng  
010 |a 2015027042
020 |a 9781501117398
020 |a 1501117394
040 |a DLC|b eng|e rda|c DLC|d NjBwBT
042 |a pcc
049 |a JRSA
05000|a PR6112.A5225|b C48 2016
08200|a 823/.92|2 23
1001 |a Lambert, Charles,|d 1953-|e author.
24514|a The children's home :|b a novel /|c Charles Lambert.
250 |a First Scribner hardcover edition.
264 1|a New York :|b Scribner,|c 2016.
300 |a 210 pages ;|c 22 cm
336 |a text|2 rdacontent
337 |a unmediated|2 rdamedia
338 |a volume|2 rdacarrier
520 |a "For fans of Shirley Jackson, Neil Gaiman, Roald Dahl, and Edward Gorey, a beguiling and disarming debut novel from an award-winning British author about a mysterious group of children who appear to a disfigured recluse and his country doctor--and the startling revelations their behavior evokes. In a sprawling estate, willfully secluded, lives Morgan Fletcher, the disfigured heir to a fortune of mysterious origins. Morgan spends his days in quiet study, avoiding his reflection in mirrors and the lake at the end of his garden. One day, two children, Moira and David, appear. Morgan takes them in, giving them free reign of the mansion he shares with his housekeeper Engel. Then more children begin to show up. Dr. Crane, the town physician and Morgan's lone tether to the outside world, is as taken with the children as Morgan, and begins to spend more time in Morgan's library. But the children behave strangely. They show a prescient understanding of Morgan's past, and their bizarre discoveries in the mansion attics grow increasingly disturbing. Every day the children seem to disappear into the hidden rooms of the estate, and perhaps, into the hidden corners of Morgan's mind. The Children's Home is a genre-defying, utterly bewitching masterwork, an inversion of modern fairy tales like The Chronicles of Narnia and The Golden Compass, in which children visit faraway lands to accomplish elusive tasks. Lambert writes from the perspective of the visited, weaving elements of psychological suspense, Jamesian stream of consciousness, and neo-gothic horror, to reveal the inescapable effects of abandonment, isolation, and the grotesque--as well as the glimmers of goodness--buried deep within the soul"--|c Provided by publisher.
655 7|a Mystery fiction.|2 gsafd
907 |a .b23892857
932 |a FICTION Lambert, C.
945 |y .i73159785|i 33029062438742|l ranag|s -|k 07-09-22|u 11|x 0|w 1|v 21|t 0|z 01-07-16|o -|a FICTION Lambert, C.
945 |y .i73169250|i 33029100640606|l cenag|s -|k |u 13|x 1|w 1|v 17|t 0|z 01-11-16|o -
945 |y .i73169262|i 33029100640614|l oraag|s -|k |u 16|x 0|w 1|v 12|t 0|z 01-11-16|o -
945 |y .i73169274|i 33029100640622|l cooag|s -|k |u 14|x 0|w 0|v 11|t 0|z 01-11-16|o -
945 |y .i73169286|i 33029100640630|l valag|s -|k 07-12-22|u 14|x 1|w 2|v 5|t 0|z 01-11-16|o -
945 |y .i73169298|i 33029100640648|l ardag|s -|k |u 9|x 1|w 1|v 8|t 0|z 01-11-16|o -
948 |a WDP Featured List 03/16
998 |e -|d a |f eng|a ard|a cen|a coo|a ora|a ran|a val