Curbside pickup and returns now available at 26 locations. View updated hours of operations here.

The visitors: a novel
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published:
Brooklyn : Melville House, [2015].
Physical Desc:
357 pages ; 21 cm
Status:
Central
FICTION Sylvester, S.
Colonial Heights
FICTION Sylvester, S.
North Natomas
FICTION Sylvester, S.
Description
In the tradition of Neil Gaiman and Iain Banks, Simon Sylvester brings an ancient myth to life with this lush, atmospheric coming-of-age taleNobody comes to the remote Scottish island of Bancree, and seventeen-year-old Flora can't wait to move to the mainland when she finishes school. So when a mysterious man and his daughter move into isolated Dog Cottage, Flora is curious. What could have brought these strangers to the island? The man is seductive but radiates menace, while Flo finds a kindred spirit in his daughter, Ailsa. Meanwhile, several of the men on Bancree have disappeared, unnerving the community. When a body washes ashore, suspicion turns to the newcomers. But Flo suspects something else, even though it seems impossible: She asks local residents for anything they know about"selkies," the mythical women who can turn from seal to human and back again. Convinced of her new neighbors' innocence, Flo is fiercely determined to protect her friend Ailsa. Can the answer to the disappearances, and to the pull of her own heart, lie out there, beyond the waves?From the Trade Paperback edition.
Also in This Series
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
Central
FICTION Sylvester, S.
On Shelf
Colonial Heights
FICTION Sylvester, S.
On Shelf
North Natomas
FICTION Sylvester, S.
On Shelf
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
Format:
Book
Language:
English
ISBN:
9781612194639
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Sylvester, S. (2015). The visitors: a novel. Brooklyn: Melville House.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Sylvester, Simon, 1980-. 2015. The Visitors: A Novel. Brooklyn: Melville House.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Sylvester, Simon, 1980-, The Visitors: A Novel. Brooklyn: Melville House, 2015.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Sylvester, Simon. The Visitors: A Novel. Brooklyn: Melville House, 2015. Print.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
9363b655-0bdc-c16f-b3b0-b2eecff5aef2
Go To GroupedWork

Record Information

Last Sierra Extract TimeFeb 18, 2021 08:20:44 AM
Last File Modification TimeFeb 18, 2021 08:25:59 AM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeFeb 25, 2021 02:27:58 AM

MARC Record

LEADER01279nam 2200361 i 4500
001bl2015055520
00520151216145755.0
008151214r20152014nyu           000 1 eng d
1001 |a Sylvester, Simon,|d 1980-|e author.
932 |a FICTION Sylvester, S.
650 0|a Islands|z Scotland|v Fiction.
650 0|a Murder|v Fiction.
650 0|a Selkies|v Fiction.
651 0|a Scotland|v Fiction.
655 7|a Mystery fiction.|2 gsafd
020 |a 9781612194639
010 |a bl2015055520
264 1|a Brooklyn :|b Melville House,|c [2015]
77508|i Reproduction of (manifestation):|a Sylvester, Simon.|t Visitors|d London : Quercus, 2014|z 9781848663701
300 |a 357 pages ;|c 21 cm
336 |a text|2 rdacontent
337 |a unmediated|2 rdamedia
338 |a volume|2 rdacarrier
24514|a The visitors :|b a novel /|c Simon Sylvester.
040 |a IMmBT|b eng|e rda|c IMmBT
049 |a JRSA
05014|a PR6119.Y57|b V57 2015
08204|a 823/.92|2 23
998 |e -|d a |f eng|a cen|a chs|a nnt
907 |a .b23883182
945 |y .i73141173|i 33029100609916|l cenag|s -|k |u 5|x 0|w 0|v 5|t 0|z 01-05-16|o -
945 |y .i73141197|i 33029100609932|l chsag|s -|k |u 5|x 1|w 0|v 3|t 0|z 01-05-16|o -
945 |y .i73165888|i 33029070650130|l nntag|s -|k |u 8|x 0|w 0|v 4|t 0|z 01-08-16|o -