Small blessings : a novel
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Published:
New York : St Martins Press, 2014.
Physical Desc:
310 pages ; 25 cm.
Status:
Arcade
FICTION Woodroof, M.
Belle Cooledge
FICTION Woodroof, M.
Carmichael
FICTION Woodroof, M.
Description

"Tom Putnam, an English professor at a Virginia women's college, has resigned himself to a quiet and half-fulfilled life. For more than ten years, his wife Marjory has been a shut-in, a fragile and frigid woman whose neuroses have left her fully dependent on Tom and his formidable mother-in-law, Agnes Tattle. Tom considers his unhappy condition self-inflicted, since Marjory's condition was exacerbated by her discovery of Tom's brief and misguided affair with a visiting poetess. But when Tom and Marjory meet Rose Callahan, the campus bookstore's charming new hire, and Marjory invites Rose to dinner, her first social interaction in a decade, Tom wonders if it's a sign that change is on the horizon. And when Tom returns home that evening to a letter from the poetess telling him that he'd fathered her son, Henry, and that Henry, now ten, will arrive by train in a few days, it's clear change is coming whether Tom's ready or not. For readers of Helen Simonson and Anna Quindlen, Small Blessings is funny, heart-warming and poignant, with a charmingly imperfect cast of cinema-ready characters. Readers will fall in love with the novel's wonderfully optimistic heart that reminds us that sometimes, when it feels like life is veering irrevocably off track, the track changes in ways we never could have imagined"--

Also in This Series
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
Arcade
FICTION Woodroof, M.
On Shelf
Belle Cooledge
FICTION Woodroof, M.
On Shelf
Carmichael
FICTION Woodroof, M.
On Shelf
Central
FICTION Woodroof, M.
On Shelf
Fair Oaks
FICTION Woodroof, M.
Due Aug 22, 2019
Franklin
FICTION Woodroof, M.
On Shelf
Location
Call Number
Status
Folsom Adult
FICTION Woodroof, M.
On Shelf
Woodland Public Library
FICTION Woodroof, M.
On Shelf
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
Format:
Book
Edition:
First Edition.
Language:
English
ISBN:
1250040523, 9781250040527

Notes

Description
"Tom Putnam, an English professor at a Virginia women's college, has resigned himself to a quiet and half-fulfilled life. For more than ten years, his wife Marjory has been a shut-in, a fragile and frigid woman whose neuroses have left her fully dependent on Tom and his formidable mother-in-law, Agnes Tattle. Tom considers his unhappy condition self-inflicted, since Marjory's condition was exacerbated by her discovery of Tom's brief and misguided affair with a visiting poetess. But when Tom and Marjory meet Rose Callahan, the campus bookstore's charming new hire, and Marjory invites Rose to dinner, her first social interaction in a decade, Tom wonders if it's a sign that change is on the horizon. And when Tom returns home that evening to a letter from the poetess telling him that he'd fathered her son, Henry, and that Henry, now ten, will arrive by train in a few days, it's clear change is coming whether Tom's ready or not. For readers of Helen Simonson and Anna Quindlen, Small Blessings is funny, heart-warming and poignant, with a charmingly imperfect cast of cinema-ready characters. Readers will fall in love with the novel's wonderfully optimistic heart that reminds us that sometimes, when it feels like life is veering irrevocably off track, the track changes in ways we never could have imagined"--,Provided by publisher.
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
66c8fda0-7b05-6361-bfe7-ebb1eaee6dcc
Go To Grouped Work
Last File Modification Time Aug 19, 2019 05:29:59 AM
Last Grouped Work Modification Time Aug 20, 2019 01:44:31 AM

MARC Record

LEADER03809cam a2200457 i 4500
001sky258799566
003SKY
00520140130103543.0
008140128s2014    nyu    e      000 1 eng d
010 |a 2014000134
020 |a 1250040523
020 |a 9781250040527
040 |a MvI |b eng |e rda |c MvI |d sm |d SKYRV
049 |a JRSA
05000 |a PS3623.O6685
08200 |a 813/.6
1001 |a Woodroof, Martha, |d 1947- |e author.
24510 |a Small blessings : |b a novel / |c Martha Woodroof.
250 |a First Edition.
264 1 |a New York : |b St Martins Press |c 2014.
300 |a 310 pages ; |c 25 cm.
336 |a text |2 rdacontent.
337 |a unmediated |2 rdamedia.
338 |a volume |2 rdacarrier.
520 |a "Tom Putnam, an English professor at a Virginia women's college, has resigned himself to a quiet and half-fulfilled life. For more than ten years, his wife Marjory has been a shut-in, a fragile and frigid woman whose neuroses have left her fully dependent on Tom and his formidable mother-in-law, Agnes Tattle. Tom considers his unhappy condition self-inflicted, since Marjory's condition was exacerbated by her discovery of Tom's brief and misguided affair with a visiting poetess. But when Tom and Marjory meet Rose Callahan, the campus bookstore's charming new hire, and Marjory invites Rose to dinner, her first social interaction in a decade, Tom wonders if it's a sign that change is on the horizon. And when Tom returns home that evening to a letter from the poetess telling him that he'd fathered her son, Henry, and that Henry, now ten, will arrive by train in a few days, it's clear change is coming whether Tom's ready or not. For readers of Helen Simonson and Anna Quindlen, Small Blessings is funny, heart-warming and poignant, with a charmingly imperfect cast of cinema-ready characters. Readers will fall in love with the novel's wonderfully optimistic heart that reminds us that sometimes, when it feels like life is veering irrevocably off track, the track changes in ways we never could have imagined"-- |c Provided by publisher.
650 0 |a Husband and wife |v Fiction.
650 0 |a Life change events |v Fiction.
650 0 |a Fathers and sons |v Fiction.
650 0 |a College teachers |v Fiction.
907 |a .b22930875 |b 06-19-19 |c 07-21-14
998 |a arc |a car |a cen |a coo |a fai |a fol |a fra |a wdp |b 08-18-14 |c m |d a |e - |f eng |g nyu |h 0 |i 8
932 |a FICTION Woodroof, M.
948 |a WDP Featured List (10/14)
945 |d  - - |e 09-16-2017 15:06 |3 0 |g 0 |h 10-17-17 |i 33029099016826 |j 3 |k  - - |l arca |o - |p $25.99 |q  |r - |s - |t 0 |u 27 |v 7 |w 0 |x 0 |0 4 |1 8 |y .i70314263 |z 08-18-14
945 |d  - - |e 11-16-2017 15:27 |3 0 |g 0 |h 12-01-17 |i 33029099016834 |j 3 |k  - - |l cooa |o - |p $25.99 |q  |r - |s - |t 0 |u 24 |v 14 |w 0 |x 0 |0 217 |1 322 |y .i70314275 |z 08-18-14
945 |d  - - |e 09-19-2018 13:41 |3 0 |g 0 |h 10-09-18 |i 33029099016859 |j 3 |k  - - |l cara |o - |p $25.99 |q  |r - |s - |t 0 |u 19 |v 7 |w 0 |x 1 |0 5 |1 5 |y .i70314299 |z 08-18-14
945 |d  - - |e 12-19-2018 12:18 |3 0 |g 0 |h 12-26-18 |i 33029099016818 |j 3 |k  - - |l cena |o - |p $25.99 |q  |r 2 |s - |t 0 |u 12 |v 6 |w 0 |x 1 |0 42 |1 17 |y .i70314251 |z 08-18-14
945 |d 08-01-2019 14:51 |e 04-16-2019 10:22 |3 0 |g 0 |h 07-03-19 |i 33029099016867 |j 3 |k 08-22-19 |l faia |o - |p $25.99 |q  |r - |s - |t 0 |u 22 |v 13 |w 1 |x 4 |0 212 |1 12 |y .i70314305 |z 08-18-14
945 |a FICTION Woodroof, M. |d  - - |e 05-12-2019 11:54 |3 0 |g 0 |h 06-18-19 |i 36796021510921 |j 2 |k  - - |l fola |o l |p $25.99 |q  |r - |s - |t 0 |u 31 |v 9 |w 0 |x 3 |0 999 |1 39 |y .i70533210 |z 09-18-14
945 |d  - - |e 06-24-2019 11:26 |3 0 |g 0 |h 07-06-19 |i 33029099016842 |j 3 |k  - - |l fraa |o - |p $25.99 |q  |r - |s - |t 0 |u 19 |v 4 |w 0 |x 3 |0 285 |1 85 |y .i70314287 |z 08-18-14
945 |a FICTION Woodroof, M. |d  - - |e 04-06-2018 14:31 |3 0 |g 0 |h 04-24-18 |i 31652002868389 |j 5 |k  - - |l wdpa |n BTCLS |o - |p $26.00 |q  |r - |s - |t 0 |u 16 |v 1 |w 0 |x 0 |0 40 |1 40 |y .i70312539 |z 08-18-14