Curbside pickup and returns now available at 26 locations. View updated hours of operations here.

This is paradise: stories
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published:
New York : Hogarth, [2013], ©2013.
Physical Desc:
238 pages ; 21 cm
Status:
Central
FICTION Kahakauwila, K.
Description

"A visceral, poignant, and elegantly gritty work of debut fiction set in Hawaii, in the vein of Junot Diaz's Drown and Danielle Evans's Before You Suffocate Your Own Fool Self This is the real Hawai'i: life is not the paradisical adventure that honeymooners or movie-goers see. Danger lurks on beautiful beaches, violence bubbles under the smooth surf, and characters come face to face with the inevitability of change and the need to define who they are against the forces of tradition and expectation. In these stories, a young woman decides to take revenge on the man who had her father murdered - only to find that her father wasn't who she thought he was. Three different groups of Hawaiian women observe and comment on the progress of an American tourist through one day and one night in Honolulu. And a young couple have an encounter with a stray dog that shakes their relationship to the core. Intimately tied to the Hawaiian Islands, This is Paradise explores the relationships among native Hawaiians, local citizens, and emigrants from (and to) the contiguous forty-eight states. There is tension between locals and tourists, between locals and the military men that populate their communities, between local Hawaiian girls who never leave, and those who do so for higher education and then return. Kahakauwila is a careful observer of her protagonists' actions - and, sometimes, their inaction. Her portrayal of people whose lives have lost their centre of gravity is acute, often heartbreaking, and suffused with a deeply felt empathy. With a contemporary edginess, a mature style, and a sense of history reverberating into the present, This is Paradise is an incredible debut"--

Also in This Series
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
Central
FICTION Kahakauwila, K.
On Shelf
Sylvan Oaks
FICTION Kahakauwila, K.
Due Apr 23, 2021
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
Format:
Book
Edition:
First edition.
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780770436254, 0770436250

Notes

Description
"A visceral, poignant, and elegantly gritty work of debut fiction set in Hawaii, in the vein of Junot Diaz's Drown and Danielle Evans's Before You Suffocate Your Own Fool Self This is the real Hawai'i: life is not the paradisical adventure that honeymooners or movie-goers see. Danger lurks on beautiful beaches, violence bubbles under the smooth surf, and characters come face to face with the inevitability of change and the need to define who they are against the forces of tradition and expectation. In these stories, a young woman decides to take revenge on the man who had her father murdered - only to find that her father wasn't who she thought he was. Three different groups of Hawaiian women observe and comment on the progress of an American tourist through one day and one night in Honolulu. And a young couple have an encounter with a stray dog that shakes their relationship to the core. Intimately tied to the Hawaiian Islands, This is Paradise explores the relationships among native Hawaiians, local citizens, and emigrants from (and to) the contiguous forty-eight states. There is tension between locals and tourists, between locals and the military men that populate their communities, between local Hawaiian girls who never leave, and those who do so for higher education and then return. Kahakauwila is a careful observer of her protagonists' actions - and, sometimes, their inaction. Her portrayal of people whose lives have lost their centre of gravity is acute, often heartbreaking, and suffused with a deeply felt empathy. With a contemporary edginess, a mature style, and a sense of history reverberating into the present, This is Paradise is an incredible debut"--,Provided by publisher.
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Kahakauwila, K. (20132013). This is paradise: stories. First edition. New York: Hogarth.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Kahakauwila, Kristiana. 20132013. This Is Paradise: Stories. New York: Hogarth.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Kahakauwila, Kristiana, This Is Paradise: Stories. New York: Hogarth, 20132013.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Kahakauwila, Kristiana. This Is Paradise: Stories. First edition. New York: Hogarth, 20132013. Print.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
ad45656b-ba8c-1599-22c1-5b8fb222f47f
Go To GroupedWork

Record Information

Last Sierra Extract TimeApr 02, 2021 01:55:57 PM
Last File Modification TimeApr 02, 2021 01:56:28 PM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeApr 11, 2021 03:18:09 AM

MARC Record

LEADER03080cam 2200385 i 4500
001sky252815621
00520130704000000.0
003SKY
008121106t20132013nyu           000 j eng  
1001 |a Kahakauwila, Kristiana.
932 |a FICTION Kahakauwila, K.
651 0|a Hawaii|x Social life and customs|y 21st century|v Fiction.
655 0|a Short stories.
250 |a First edition.
020 |a 9780770436254
020 |a 0770436250
5050 |a This is paradise -- Wanle -- The road to Hana -- Thirty-nine rules for making a Hawaiian funeral into a drinking game -- Portrait of a good father -- The old Paniolo way.
010 |a 2012040063
520 |a "A visceral, poignant, and elegantly gritty work of debut fiction set in Hawaii, in the vein of Junot Diaz's Drown and Danielle Evans's Before You Suffocate Your Own Fool Self This is the real Hawai'i: life is not the paradisical adventure that honeymooners or movie-goers see. Danger lurks on beautiful beaches, violence bubbles under the smooth surf, and characters come face to face with the inevitability of change and the need to define who they are against the forces of tradition and expectation. In these stories, a young woman decides to take revenge on the man who had her father murdered - only to find that her father wasn't who she thought he was. Three different groups of Hawaiian women observe and comment on the progress of an American tourist through one day and one night in Honolulu. And a young couple have an encounter with a stray dog that shakes their relationship to the core. Intimately tied to the Hawaiian Islands, This is Paradise explores the relationships among native Hawaiians, local citizens, and emigrants from (and to) the contiguous forty-eight states. There is tension between locals and tourists, between locals and the military men that populate their communities, between local Hawaiian girls who never leave, and those who do so for higher education and then return. Kahakauwila is a careful observer of her protagonists' actions - and, sometimes, their inaction. Her portrayal of people whose lives have lost their centre of gravity is acute, often heartbreaking, and suffused with a deeply felt empathy. With a contemporary edginess, a mature style, and a sense of history reverberating into the present, This is Paradise is an incredible debut"--|c Provided by publisher.
264 1|a New York :|b Hogarth,|c [2013], ©2013.
300 |a 238 pages ;|c 21 cm
336 |a text|b txt|2 rdacontent.
337 |a unmediated|b n|2 rdamedia.
338 |a volume|b nc|2 rdacarrier.
24510|a This is paradise :|b stories /|c Kristiana Kahakauwila.
042 |a pcc
043 |a n-us-hi
049 |a JRSA
05000|a PS3611.A3455|b T48 2013
040 |a DLC|b eng|e rda|c DLC|d YDXCP|d BTCTA|d BDX|d OCLCQ|d SKYRV
08200|a 813/.6
998 |e -|d a |f eng|a cen|a syl
907 |a .b22183814
945 |y .i68134290|i 33029097450183|l cenag|s -|k |u 9|x 2|w 0|v 2|t 0|z 07-23-13|o -
945 |y .i68134307|i 33029097450191|l sylag|s -|k 04-23-21|u 11|x 2|w 2|v 9|t 0|z 07-23-13|o -