Curbside pickup and returns now available at 26 locations. View updated hours of operations here.

The dragonbone chair

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
New York : DAW Books, 2005, c1988.
Physical Desc:
ix, 654 pages : maps ; 23 cm.
1 copy, 2 people are on the wait list.
“One of my favorite fantasy series.” —George R. R. Martin “Groundbreaking.” —Patrick Rothfuss “One of the great fantasy epics of all time.” —Christopher PaoliniNew York Times-bestselling Tad Williams’ landmark epic fantasy saga of Osten Ard begins an exciting new cycle with THE WITCHWOOD CROWN, on sale now!  With The Dragonbone Chair, Tad Williams introduced readers to the incredible fantasy world of Osten Ard. His beloved, internationally bestselling series Memory, Sorrow, and Thorn inspired a generation of modern fantasy writers, including George R.R. Martin, Patrick Rothfuss, and Christopher Paolini, and defined Tad Williams as one of the most important fantasy writers of our time. This edition features a brand-new introduction from Tad Williams' editor as well as the original introduction from Williams himself!  BOOK ONE: THE DRAGONBONE CHAIR   A war fueled by the powers of dark sorcery is about to engulf the peaceful land of Osten Ard—for Prester John, the High King, lies dying. And with his death, the Storm King, the undead ruler of the elf-like Sithi, seizes the chance to regain his lost realm through a pact with the newly ascended king. Knowing the consequences of this bargain, the king’s younger brother joins with a small, scattered group of scholars, the League of the Scroll, to confront the true danger threatening Osten Ard.   Simon, a kitchen boy from the royal castle unknowingly apprenticed to a member of this League, will be sent on a quest that offers the only hope of salvation, a deadly riddle concerning long-lost swords of power. Compelled by fate and perilous magics, he must leave the only home he’s ever known and face enemies more terrifying than Osten Ard has ever seen, even as the land itself begins to die.   After the landmark Memory, Sorrow, and Thorn trilogy, the epic saga of Osten Ard continues with the brand-new novel, The Heart of What Was Lost. Then don’t miss the upcoming trilogy, The Last King of Osten Ard, beginning with The Witchwood Crown!   Praise for Osten Ard:   “Inspired me to write my own seven-book trilogy.... It’s one of my favorite fantasy series.” —George R. R. Martin, New York Times-bestselling author of A Game of Thrones   “Groundbreaking...changed how people thought of the genre, and paved the way for so much modern fantasy. Including mine.” —Patrick Rothfuss, New York Times-bestselling author of The Name of the Wind   "Tad Williams is a master storyteller, and the Osten Ard books are his masterpiece." —Brandon Sanderson, New York Times-bestselling author of Mistborn“Memory, Sorrow, and Thorn is one of the great fantasy epics of all time.” —Christopher Paolini, New York Times-bestselling author of Eragon
Also in This Series
Call Number
Fair Oaks
On Holdshelf
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
9780756402693 :, 0756402697 :
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
APA Citation (style guide)

Williams, T. (20051988). The dragonbone chair. New York: DAW Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Williams, Tad. 20051988. The Dragonbone Chair. New York: DAW Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Williams, Tad, The Dragonbone Chair. New York: DAW Books, 20051988.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Williams, Tad. The Dragonbone Chair. New York: DAW Books, 20051988. Print.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
Go To GroupedWork

Record Information

Last Sierra Extract TimeJan 24, 2021 05:48:25 AM
Last File Modification TimeJan 24, 2021 05:59:38 AM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeJan 26, 2021 02:27:14 AM

MARC Record

LEADER00858cam 2200265Ia 4500
008050329r20051988nyub          000 1 eng d
1001 |a Williams, Tad.
932 |a SCIENCE FICTION Williams, T.
655 0|a Fantasy fiction.
020 |a 9780756402693 :|c $15.95
020 |a 0756402697 :|c $15.95
260 |a New York :|b DAW Books,|c 2005, c1988.
300 |a ix, 654 p. :|b maps ;|c 23 cm.
4901 |a Memory, sorrow and thorn ;|v bk. 1
8001 |a Williams, Tad.|t Memory, sorrow, and thorn ; v Bk. 1.
24514|a The dragonbone chair /|c Tad Williams.
040 |a IW3|c IW3|d BAKER|d OCLCQ|d BTCTA|d YDXCP|d JRS
049 |a JRSA
994 |a C0|b JRS
998 |e -|d a |f eng|a fai
907 |a .b18388887
945 |y .i7684500x|i 33029066619271|l faiag|s !|k |u 16|x 4|w 2|v 10|t 0|z 10-17-17|o -