Curbside pickup and returns now available at 26 locations. View updated hours of operations here.

Recipe for Disaster
(Adobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive Read)

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Published:
Penguin Publishing Group 2015
Status:
Available from OverDrive
Description

Stacey Ballis cooks up a delicious broth of a novel about a woman whose perfect life falls apart in spectacular fashion—leaving her with a house to restore, an antique cookbook (but no cooking talent), and one very unhappy schnauzer. For fans of Jen Lancaster, Jennifer Weiner, and Emily Giffin.   To an outside observer, Anneke Stroudt is a mess—her shirts are stained, her fingernails stubby, her language colorful. But, despite her flaws, Anneke’s life is close to perfect. She has a beautiful historic house to restore and a loving fiancé who cooks like a dream. Until Anneke’s charmed existence falls apart when she loses both her job and her future husband in one terrible day. In need of a new start, she packs up her disgruntled schnauzer and moves into her half-finished home, where she throws her pent-up frustration—and what little savings she has—into finishing the renovation. But at the first step into the house’s overhaul, Anneke is sidetracked when she discovers a mysterious leather-bound book, long hidden away, filled with tempting recipes and steamy secrets from Gemma Ditmore-Smythe, the cook for the house’s original owners. Slowly, with the help of some delicious food and Emma’s life lessons, Anneke begins to realize that, just like a flawless recipe, she’s been waiting for the right ingredients to cook up a perfect life all along…“With the perfect blend of humor and heart, Ballis’s writing is powerfully honest and genuinely hilarious.”—Jen LancasterINCLUDES RECIPES

Also in This Series
Formats
Adobe EPUB eBook
Works on all eReaders (except Kindles), desktop computers and mobile devices with reading apps installed.
Kindle Book
Works on Kindles and devices with a Kindle app installed.
Need Help?
If you are having problem transferring a title to your device, please fill out this support form or visit the library so we can help you to use our eBooks and eAudio Books.
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
Format:
Adobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive Read
Street Date:
03/03/2015
Language:
English
ISBN:
9781101612583
ASIN:
B00L9B7Y0S
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Stacey Ballis. (2015). Recipe for Disaster. Penguin Publishing Group.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Stacey Ballis. 2015. Recipe for Disaster. Penguin Publishing Group.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Stacey Ballis, Recipe for Disaster. Penguin Publishing Group, 2015.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Stacey Ballis. Recipe for Disaster. Penguin Publishing Group, 2015. Web.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Copy Details
LibraryOwnedAvailable
Shared Digital Collection22
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
5b6a94e8-6566-e0a7-7486-855fb738563e
Go To Grouped Work
Needs Update?:
No
Date Added:
Jun 12, 2018 17:29:11
Date Updated:
Jun 12, 2018 17:29:11
Last Metadata Check:
Feb 28, 2021 09:09:47
Last Metadata Change:
Nov 13, 2020 16:50:54
Last Availability Check:
Feb 28, 2021 09:09:50
Last Availability Change:
Jan 27, 2021 14:35:36
Last Grouped Work Modification Time:
Mar 05, 2021 02:27:29

OverDrive Product Record

sortTitle
Recipe for Disaster
crossRefId
1778921
images
    • cover:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/1523-1/{F434F296-648B-4923-8630-6FAB85FF7F93}Img100.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • thumbnail:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/1523-1/{F434F296-648B-4923-8630-6FAB85FF7F93}Img200.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover150Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-150/1523-1/F43/4F2/96/{F434F296-648B-4923-8630-6FAB85FF7F93}Img150.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover300Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-400/1523-1/F43/4F2/96/{F434F296-648B-4923-8630-6FAB85FF7F93}Img400.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
formats
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9781101612583
      • name: Adobe EPUB eBook
      • id: ebook-epub-adobe
      • identifiers:
            • type: ASIN
            • value: B00L9B7Y0S
      • name: Kindle Book
      • id: ebook-kindle
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9781101612583
      • name: OverDrive Read
      • id: ebook-overdrive
mediaType
eBook
primaryCreator
    • role: Author
    • name: Stacey Ballis
id
f434f296-648b-4923-8630-6fab85ff7f93
title
Recipe for Disaster
starRating
3.7
dateAdded
2016-01-08T12:48:00-05:00
contentDetails
      • href: https://link.overdrive.com/?websiteID=141&titleID=1778921
      • type: text/html
      • account:
          • name: Sacramento Public Library (CA)
          • id: 1151

OverDrive MetaData

isPublicDomain
False
images
    • cover:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/1523-1/{F434F296-648B-4923-8630-6FAB85FF7F93}Img100.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • thumbnail:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/1523-1/{F434F296-648B-4923-8630-6FAB85FF7F93}Img200.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover150Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-150/1523-1/F43/4F2/96/{F434F296-648B-4923-8630-6FAB85FF7F93}Img150.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover300Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-400/1523-1/F43/4F2/96/{F434F296-648B-4923-8630-6FAB85FF7F93}Img400.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
isPublicPerformanceAllowed
False
formats
      • fileName: RecipeforDisaster9781101612583
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 890982
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9781101612583
      • rights:
            • type: Copying
            • value: 0
            • type: Printing
            • value: 0
            • type: Lending
            • value: 0
            • type: ReadAloud
            • value: 0
            • type: ExpirationRights
            • value: 0
      • name: Adobe EPUB eBook
      • id: ebook-epub-adobe
      • onSaleDate: 03/03/2015
      • samples:
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: ebook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/recipe-for-disaster-f434f2?.epub-sample.overdrive.com
      • fileName: RecipeforDisaster9781101612583
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 0
      • identifiers:
            • type: ASIN
            • value: B00L9B7Y0S
      • name: Kindle Book
      • id: ebook-kindle
      • onSaleDate: 03/03/2015
      • samples:
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: ebook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/recipe-for-disaster-f434f2?.epub-sample.overdrive.com
      • fileName: RecipeforDisaster9781101612583
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 0
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9781101612583
      • name: OverDrive Read
      • id: ebook-overdrive
      • onSaleDate: 03/03/2015
      • samples:
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: ebook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/recipe-for-disaster-f434f2?.epub-sample.overdrive.com
languages
      • code: en
      • name: English
keywords
      • value: family
      • value: house
      • value: Friendship
      • value: Food
      • value: relationship
      • value: thanksgiving
      • value: baking
      • value: romance
      • value: Contemporary Women's Fiction
      • value: Cooking
      • value: Humor
      • value: contemporary fiction
      • value: sister
      • value: marriage
      • value: love
      • value: satire
      • value: Comedy
      • value: Women's Fiction
      • value: breakup
      • value: dating
      • value: Contemporary Romance
      • value: recipe
      • value: Romance Novel
      • value: Humorous
      • value: Career
      • value: Chicklit
      • value: Chick Lit
      • value: romantic comedy
      • value: foodie
      • value: Bridget Jones
      • value: funny books
      • value: contemporary romance books
      • value: dating and relationships
      • value: breaking up
      • value: humorous books
      • value: family fiction
      • value: romance books
      • value: romance novels
      • value: polymath
      • value: kinsella
      • value: wendy wax
      • value: gifts for women
creators
      • role: Author
      • fileAs: Ballis, Stacey
      • name: Stacey Ballis
imprint
Berkley
subjects
      • value: Fiction
      • value: Literature
      • value: Romance
      • value: Humor (Fiction)
publishDate
2015-03-03T00:00:00-05:00
publishDateText
03/03/2015
mediaType
eBook
shortDescription
Stacey Ballis cooks up a delicious broth of a novel about a woman whose perfect life falls apart in spectacular fashion—leaving her with a house to restore, an antique cookbook (but no cooking talent), and one very unhappy schnauzer. For fans of Jen Lancaster, Jennifer Weiner, and Emily Giffin.
To an outside observer, Anneke Stroudt is a mess—her shirts are stained, her fingernails stubby, her language colorful. But, despite her flaws, Anneke's life is close to perfect. She has a beautiful historic house to restore and a loving fiancé who cooks like a dream.

Until Anneke's charmed existence falls apart when she loses both her job and her future husband in one terrible day. In need of a new start, she packs up her disgruntled schnauzer and moves into her half-finished home, where she throws her pent-up frustration—and what little savings she has—into finishing the renovation.

But at the first step into the house's overhaul,...
isOwnedByCollections
True
title
Recipe for Disaster
fullDescription

Stacey Ballis cooks up a delicious broth of a novel about a woman whose perfect life falls apart in spectacular fashion—leaving her with a house to restore, an antique cookbook (but no cooking talent), and one very unhappy schnauzer. For fans of Jen Lancaster, Jennifer Weiner, and Emily Giffin.   
To an outside observer, Anneke Stroudt is a mess—her shirts are stained, her fingernails stubby, her language colorful. But, despite her flaws, Anneke’s life is close to perfect. She has a beautiful historic house to restore and a loving fiancé who cooks like a dream.
 
Until Anneke’s charmed existence falls apart when she loses both her job and her future husband in one terrible day. In need of a new start, she packs up her disgruntled schnauzer and moves into her half-finished home, where she throws her pent-up frustration—and what little savings she has—into finishing the renovation.
 
But at the first step into the house’s overhaul, Anneke is sidetracked when she discovers a mysterious leather-bound book, long hidden away, filled with tempting recipes and steamy secrets from Gemma Ditmore-Smythe, the cook for the house’s original owners. Slowly, with the help of some delicious food and Emma’s life lessons, Anneke begins to realize that, just like a flawless recipe, she’s been waiting for the right ingredients to cook up a perfect life all along…
“With the perfect blend of humor and heart, Ballis’s writing is powerfully honest and genuinely hilarious.”—Jen Lancaster
INCLUDES RECIPES

sortTitle
Recipe for Disaster
crossRefId
1778921
popularity
201
publisher
Penguin Publishing Group
links
    • self:
        • href: https://api.overdrive.com/v1/collections/v1L1BWwAAAA2I/products/f434f296-648b-4923-8630-6fab85ff7f93/metadata
        • type: application/vnd.overdrive.api+json
id
f434f296-648b-4923-8630-6fab85ff7f93
starRating
3.8