We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

Penance
(OverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive Listen)

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Author:
Published:
Hachette Book Group 2017
Status:
Available from OverDrive
Description

When they were children, Sae, Maki, Akiko and Yuko were tricked into separating from their friend Emili by a mysterious stranger. Then the unthinkable occurs: Emili is found murdered hours later. Sae, Maki, Akiko and Yuko weren't able to accurately describe the stranger's appearance to the police after the Emili's body was discovered. Asako, Emili's mother, curses the surviving girls, vowing that they will pay for her daughter's murder. Like Confessions, Kanae Minato's award-winning, internationally bestselling debut novel, Penance is a dark and voice-driven tale of revenge and psychological trauma that will leave listeners breathless.

Also in This Series
Formats
OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
Works on MP3 Players, PCs, and Macs. Some mobile devices may require an application to be installed.
OverDrive Listen
Need Help?
If you are having problem transferring a title to your device, please fill out this support form or visit the library so we can help you to use our eBooks and eAudio Books.
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
Format:
OverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive Listen
Edition:
Unabridged
Street Date:
04/11/2017
Language:
English
ISBN:
9781478973454
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Kanae Minato. (2017). Penance. Unabridged Hachette Book Group.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Kanae Minato. 2017. Penance. Hachette Book Group.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Kanae Minato, Penance. Hachette Book Group, 2017.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Kanae Minato. Penance. Unabridged Hachette Book Group, 2017.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Copy Details
LibraryOwnedAvailable
Shared Digital Collection11
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
1ff71fab-6f0d-262a-8ebf-bc249635d2c7
Go To Grouped Work
Needs Update?:
No
Date Added:
Jun 12, 2018 16:07:40
Date Updated:
Jun 12, 2018 16:07:40
Last Metadata Check:
Jan 21, 2022 18:58:07
Last Metadata Change:
Jan 21, 2022 18:58:07
Last Availability Check:
Jan 21, 2022 18:58:10
Last Availability Change:
Oct 19, 2021 11:33:29
Last Grouped Work Modification Time:
Jan 21, 2022 02:08:39

OverDrive Product Record

sortTitle
Penance
crossRefId
3007209
images
    • cover:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/0887-1/{D48CDC05-6EC2-42F1-9DAE-642AAE7A55F2}Img100.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • thumbnail:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/0887-1/{D48CDC05-6EC2-42F1-9DAE-642AAE7A55F2}Img200.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover150Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-150/0887-1/D48/CDC/05/{D48CDC05-6EC2-42F1-9DAE-642AAE7A55F2}Img150.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover300Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-400/0887-1/D48/CDC/05/{D48CDC05-6EC2-42F1-9DAE-642AAE7A55F2}Img400.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
formats
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9781478973454
      • name: OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
      • id: audiobook-mp3
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9781478973454
      • name: OverDrive Listen
      • id: audiobook-overdrive
mediaType
Audiobook
primaryCreator
    • role: Author
    • name: Kanae Minato
id
d48cdc05-6ec2-42f1-9dae-642aae7a55f2
title
Penance
starRating
4
dateAdded
2017-08-18T16:26:00-04:00
contentDetails
      • href: https://link.overdrive.com/?websiteID=141&titleID=3007209
      • type: text/html
      • account:
          • name: Sacramento Public Library (CA)
          • id: 1151

OverDrive MetaData

isPublicDomain
False
images
    • cover:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/0887-1/{D48CDC05-6EC2-42F1-9DAE-642AAE7A55F2}Img100.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • thumbnail:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/0887-1/{D48CDC05-6EC2-42F1-9DAE-642AAE7A55F2}Img200.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover150Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-150/0887-1/D48/CDC/05/{D48CDC05-6EC2-42F1-9DAE-642AAE7A55F2}Img150.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover300Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-400/0887-1/D48/CDC/05/{D48CDC05-6EC2-42F1-9DAE-642AAE7A55F2}Img400.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
isPublicPerformanceAllowed
False
formats
      • fileName: Penance-12856
      • partCount: 9
      • fileSize: 210719462
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9781478973454
      • rights:
            • type: PlayOnPC
            • value: 1
            • type: PlayOnPCCount
            • value: -1
            • type: BurnToCD
            • value: 1
            • type: BurnToCDCount
            • value: -1
            • type: PlayOnPM
            • value: 1
            • type: TransferToSDMI
            • value: 1
            • type: TransferToNonSDMI
            • value: 1
            • type: TransferCount
            • value: -1
            • type: CollaborativePlay
            • value: 0
            • type: PublicPerformance
            • value: 0
            • type: TranscodeToAAC
            • value: 1
      • name: OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
      • id: audiobook-mp3
      • onSaleDate: 04/12/2017
      • samples:
            • source: Part 1
            • formatType: audiobook-mp3
            • url: https://excerpts.cdn.overdrive.com/FormatType-425/0887-1/3007209-Penance.mp3
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: audiobook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=d48cdc05-6ec2-42f1-9dae-642aae7a55f2&.epub-sample.overdrive.com
      • fileName: Penance-12856
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 210694264
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9781478973454
      • name: OverDrive Listen
      • id: audiobook-overdrive
      • onSaleDate: 04/12/2017
      • samples:
            • source: Part 1
            • formatType: audiobook-mp3
            • url: https://excerpts.cdn.overdrive.com/FormatType-425/0887-1/3007209-Penance.mp3
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: audiobook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=d48cdc05-6ec2-42f1-9dae-642aae7a55f2&.epub-sample.overdrive.com
languages
      • code: en
      • name: English
creators
      • role: Author
      • fileAs: Minato, Kanae
      • bioText: Kanae Minato is an award-winning, internationally bestselling novelist and former home economics teacher and housewife who wrote her first novel between household chores. Minato lives in Japan.
      • name: Kanae Minato
      • role: Translator
      • fileAs: Philip, Gabriel,
      • bioText:

        Philip Gabriel has published translations of four novels, one short story collection, and two works of non-fiction by Haruki Murakami, as well as short stories of Murakami's in The New Yorker, Harper's, and elsewhere. His translation of Kuroi's novel Life in the Cul-de-sac won the 2001 Japan-US Friendship Commission Prize for the translation of Japanese Literature, and in 2006 he was awarded the PEN/Book-of-the-Month Club Translation Prize for his translation of Murakami's Kafka on the Shore, a book which was selected by The New York Times as one of the Ten Best Books of 2005. He has recently completed translations of a second novel by Yoshida Shuichi, Parade, and Murakami's latest novel, Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage.

      • name: Philip Gabriel
      • role: Narrator
      • fileAs: Vacker, Karissa
      • name: Karissa Vacker
imprint
Mulholland Books
subjects
      • value: Fiction
      • value: Mystery
      • value: Thriller
publishDate
2017-04-11T05:00:00+01:00
edition
Unabridged
publishDateText
04/11/2017
mediaType
Audiobook
shortDescription

When they were children, Sae, Maki, Akiko and Yuko were tricked into separating from their friend Emili by a mysterious stranger. Then the unthinkable occurs: Emili is found murdered hours later. Sae, Maki, Akiko and Yuko weren't able to accurately describe the stranger's appearance to the police after the Emili's body was discovered. Asako, Emili's mother, curses the surviving girls, vowing that they will pay for her daughter's murder. Like Confessions, Kanae Minato's award-winning, internationally bestselling debut novel, Penance is a dark and voice-driven tale of revenge and psychological trauma that will leave listeners breathless.

isOwnedByCollections
True
title
Penance
fullDescription

When they were children, Sae, Maki, Akiko and Yuko were tricked into separating from their friend Emili by a mysterious stranger. Then the unthinkable occurs: Emili is found murdered hours later. Sae, Maki, Akiko and Yuko weren't able to accurately describe the stranger's appearance to the police after the Emili's body was discovered. Asako, Emili's mother, curses the surviving girls, vowing that they will pay for her daughter's murder. Like Confessions, Kanae Minato's award-winning, internationally bestselling debut novel, Penance is a dark and voice-driven tale of revenge and psychological trauma that will leave listeners breathless.

sortTitle
Penance
crossRefId
3007209
reviews
      • premium: True
      • source: Publisher's Weekly
      • content:

        February 13, 2017
        Minato’s moving, tension-filled second novel charts the impact of a traumatic murder on four young women, Sae, Maki, Akiko, and Yuka, who were childhood friends of the victim, Emily. One summer day, when they’re all 10, a strange man approaches the girls while they’re playing ball by the swimming pool of their small, rural Japanese town’s elementary school. The stranger, claiming he has no ladder, says he needs someone to help him reach a ventilating fan in a pool changing room. Emily goes with him. When she doesn’t return, the other girls go looking for her only to discover her dead. Emily’s mother blames the girls and warns them to “atone for what you’ve done, in a way I’ll accept,” if they can’t find the murderer. Fifteen years later, with the statute of limitations running out, each survivor relates the consequences of that warning for herself. All these fully fleshed-out characters have suffered since Emily’s death, each in her own way. Minato (Confessions) has crafted an unnerving tale of tragedy, guilt, and penance.

      • premium: True
      • source: Kirkus
      • content:

        February 1, 2017
        A grieving parent and four guilt-stricken friends struggle to cope with the rape and strangulation of a 10-year-old girl.Japanese author Minato follows up her successful U.S. debut (Confessions, 2014) with a second twisted tale of retribution and regret. Sae, Maki, Yuka, Akiko, and Emily are playing ball when a stranger lures away Emily with a request for help. She fails to return to the game, and that evening, the girls discover her corpse. Incredibly, no one can remember the perpetrator's face, and he goes uncaught. Three years pass before Emily's imperious mother, Asako, summons the girls to her home. She faults them for what happened and demands that they either catch Emily's killer or perform an act of penance. If they do neither, she'll exact revenge. Twelve years later, as the statute of limitations for Emily's murder is about to expire, Sae, Maki, Yuka, and Akiko give their accounts of the tragedy and describe how Emily's death and Asako's threat have ruined their lives. While the tales take different forms--one is a letter, another a speech--and each contains a uniquely disturbing twist, they all retread much the same ground. Minato's characters are psychologically complex, but their rambling narrations lack immediacy, and though a note from Asako ties off several loose ends to devastating effect, a toothless epilogue undercuts the story's psychological impact. Despite an intriguing premise and some shocking reveals, Minato's latest ultimately succumbs to monotony and bloat.

        COPYRIGHT(2017) Kirkus Reviews, ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

      • premium: True
      • source: Library Journal
      • content:

        December 1, 2017

        Minato is two for two for twisted psychological Japanese noir. What she did with deadly milk cartons in Confessions made quite the debut splash. She goes back to school here as ten-year-old Emily is raped and murdered on school grounds. The four friends who find her corpse are expectedly traumatized--but three years later, any semblance of recovery is irreparably destroyed when Emily's mother invites the quartet for tea and fancy cakes, only to threaten the girls: find Emily's murderer before the 15-year-statute of limitations or risk revenge: "I'll make you suffer far worse than Emily ever did." Twelve years pass, the 15-year expiry looms, and the girls--now young women--reveal the horrifying penance they've each performed. From nightmare to nightmare, narrator Karissa Vacker aptly retains tight control throughout. Her youthful voice initially works well when the characters are still young but tends toward an immature pitch as they age. That she clearly doesn't speak Japanese further mars her presentation. VERDICT As Japanese thrillers in translation continue to gain international acclaim--led by Keigo Higashino, Fuminori Nakamura, and Natsuo Kirino--libraries will want to provide multiformat options.--Terry Hong, Smithsonian BookDragon, Washington, DC

        Copyright 2017 Library Journal, LLC Used with permission.

      • premium: True
      • source: Booklist
      • content:

        Starred review from March 1, 2017
        Celebrated Japanese novelist Minato revisits the themes of schoolyard murder and grief-fueled revenge that drove her Confessions (2014), which won Japan's National Booksellers' Award. Fifteen years ago, fourth-graders Sae, Maki, Akiko, Yuko, and Emili were playing ball in their deserted schoolyard when a man claiming to be a maintenance worker asked Emili to help him make a repair in the locker room. When Emili didn't return, the girls began searching and found her body. Years later, the murder remains unsolved and Emili's mother, Asako, blames the four surviving girls for her death. Asako vows revenge against the girls unless they either find Emili's killer before the crime's 15-year statute of limitations runs out, or make acceptable penance. In five tales narrated by the girls and Asako, Minato reveals the damage Emili's murder has wrought as the girls' efforts to appease Asako make them killers in their own right. Minato's simple, clear voice highlights the stories' psychological intensity, and themes of powerlessness evolving to strength, duty, and redemption create layers of interest that are perfect for book-group dissection. This haunting psychological thriller also offers an enlightening, absorbing visit to contemporary Japan. A perfect read-alike for Natsuo Kirino's Real World (2008).(Reprinted with permission of Booklist, copyright 2017, American Library Association.)

popularity
165
publisher
Hachette Book Group
links
    • self:
        • href: https://api.overdrive.com/v1/collections/v1L1BWwAAAA2I/products/d48cdc05-6ec2-42f1-9dae-642aae7a55f2/metadata
        • type: application/vnd.overdrive.api+json
id
d48cdc05-6ec2-42f1-9dae-642aae7a55f2
starRating
3.6