To Dwell in Darkness: Duncan Kincaid / Gemma James Series, Book 16
(Adobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive Read)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published:
HarperCollins 2014
Status:
Available from OverDrive
Description

In the tradition of Elizabeth George, Louise Penny, and P. D. James, New York Times bestselling author Deborah Crombie delivers a powerful tale of intrigue, betrayal, and lies that will plunge married London detectives Duncan Kincaid and Gemma James into the unspeakable darkness that lies at the heart of murder.

Recently transferred to the London borough of Camden from Scotland Yard headquarters, Superintendent Duncan Kincaid and his new murder investigation team are called to a deadly bombing at historic St. Pancras Station. By fortunate coincidence, Melody Talbot, Gemma's trusted colleague, witnesses the explosion. The victim was taking part in an organized protest, yet the other group members swear the young man only meant to set off a smoke bomb. As Kincaid begins to gather the facts, he finds every piece of the puzzle yields an unexpected pattern, including the disappearance of a mysterious bystander.

The bombing isn't the only mystery troubling Kincaid. He's still questioning the reasons behind his transfer, and when his former boss—who's been avoiding him—is attacked, those suspicions deepen. With the help of his former sergeant, Doug Cullen, Melody Talbot, and Gemma, Kincaid begins to untangle the truth. But what he discovers will leave him questioning his belief in the job that has shaped his life and his values—and remind him just how vulnerable his precious family is.

Also in This Series
Formats
Adobe EPUB eBook
Works on all eReaders (except Kindles), desktop computers and mobile devices with with reading apps installed.
Kindle Book
Works on Kindles and devices with a Kindle app installed.
Need Help?
If you are having problem transferring a title to your device, please fill out this support form or visit the library so we can help you to use our eBooks and eAudio Books.
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
Format:
Adobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive Read
Street Date:
09/23/2014
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780062271624
ASIN:
B00DB3A4B8
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Copy Details
LibraryOwnedAvailable
11
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
6582f121-fd60-05b8-73e9-b95f027def88
Go To Grouped Work
Needs Update?:
No
Date Added:
Jun 12, 2018 18:44:04
Date Updated:
Oct 13, 2019 02:13:51
Last Metadata Check:
Oct 13, 2019 18:34:32
Last Metadata Change:
Jul 29, 2019 17:30:30
Last Availability Check:
Oct 13, 2019 18:34:41
Last Availability Change:
Jun 30, 2019 19:30:12
Last Grouped Work Modification Time:
Oct 19, 2019 10:28:41

OverDrive Product Record

images
    • cover:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/0293-1/{D345870D-8D0F-41FF-A36D-7108BD91FD66}Img100.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • thumbnail:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/0293-1/{D345870D-8D0F-41FF-A36D-7108BD91FD66}Img200.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover150Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-150/0293-1/D34/587/0D/{D345870D-8D0F-41FF-A36D-7108BD91FD66}Img150.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover300Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-400/0293-1/D34/587/0D/{D345870D-8D0F-41FF-A36D-7108BD91FD66}Img400.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
formats
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780062271624
      • name: Adobe EPUB eBook
      • id: ebook-epub-adobe
      • identifiers:
            • type: ASIN
            • value: B00DB3A4B8
      • name: Kindle Book
      • id: ebook-kindle
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780062271624
      • name: OverDrive Read
      • id: ebook-overdrive
mediaType
eBook
primaryCreator
    • role: Author
    • name: Deborah Crombie
title
To Dwell in Darkness
dateAdded
2014-09-12T15:34:29.403-04:00
contentDetails
      • href: https://link.overdrive.com/?websiteID=569&titleID=1330654
      • type: text/html
      • account:
          • name: NorthNet Library System (CA)
          • id: 2323
sortTitle
To Dwell in Darkness Duncan Kincaid Gemma James Series Book 16
crossRefId
1330654
series
Duncan Kincaid / Gemma James
subtitle
Duncan Kincaid / Gemma James Series, Book 16
id
d345870d-8d0f-41ff-a36d-7108bd91fd66
starRating
4.1

OverDrive MetaData

isPublicDomain
False
formats
      • fileName: ToDwellinDarkness9780062271624
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 2173082
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780062271624
      • rights:
            • type: Copying
            • value: 34
            • type: Printing
            • value: 34
            • type: Lending
            • value: 0
            • type: ReadAloud
            • value: 1
            • type: ExpirationRights
            • value: 0
      • name: Adobe EPUB eBook
      • id: ebook-epub-adobe
      • onSaleDate: 09/23/2014
      • samples:
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: ebook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/to-dwell-in?.epub-sample.overdrive.com
      • fileName: ToDwellinDarkness9780062271624
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 0
      • identifiers:
            • type: ASIN
            • value: B00DB3A4B8
      • name: Kindle Book
      • id: ebook-kindle
      • onSaleDate: 09/23/2014
      • samples:
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: ebook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/to-dwell-in?.epub-sample.overdrive.com
      • fileName: ToDwellinDarkness9780062271624
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 0
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780062271624
      • name: OverDrive Read
      • id: ebook-overdrive
      • onSaleDate: 09/23/2014
      • samples:
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: ebook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/to-dwell-in?.epub-sample.overdrive.com
creators
      • role: Author
      • fileAs: Crombie, Deborah
      • bioText:

        Deborah Crombie is a New York Times bestselling author and a native Texan who has lived in both England and Scotland. She now lives in McKinney, Texas, sharing a house that is more than one hundred years old with her husband, three cats, and two German shepherds.

      • name: Deborah Crombie
imprint
William Morrow Paperbacks
publishDate
2014-09-23T00:00:00-04:00
isOwnedByCollections
True
title
To Dwell in Darkness
fullDescription

In the tradition of Elizabeth George, Louise Penny, and P. D. James, New York Times bestselling author Deborah Crombie delivers a powerful tale of intrigue, betrayal, and lies that will plunge married London detectives Duncan Kincaid and Gemma James into the unspeakable darkness that lies at the heart of murder.

Recently transferred to the London borough of Camden from Scotland Yard headquarters, Superintendent Duncan Kincaid and his new murder investigation team are called to a deadly bombing at historic St. Pancras Station. By fortunate coincidence, Melody Talbot, Gemma's trusted colleague, witnesses the explosion. The victim was taking part in an organized protest, yet the other group members swear the young man only meant to set off a smoke bomb. As Kincaid begins to gather the facts, he finds every piece of the puzzle yields an unexpected pattern, including the disappearance of a mysterious bystander.

The bombing isn't the only mystery troubling Kincaid. He's still questioning the reasons behind his transfer, and when his former boss—who's been avoiding him—is attacked, those suspicions deepen. With the help of his former sergeant, Doug Cullen, Melody Talbot, and Gemma, Kincaid begins to untangle the truth. But what he discovers will leave him questioning his belief in the job that has shaped his life and his values—and remind him just how vulnerable his precious family is.

popularity
875
links
    • self:
        • href: https://api.overdrive.com/v1/collections/v1L1B3gEAAA2d/products/d345870d-8d0f-41ff-a36d-7108bd91fd66/metadata
        • type: application/vnd.overdrive.api+json
id
d345870d-8d0f-41ff-a36d-7108bd91fd66
starRating
4.1
images
    • cover:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/0293-1/{D345870D-8D0F-41FF-A36D-7108BD91FD66}Img100.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • thumbnail:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/0293-1/{D345870D-8D0F-41FF-A36D-7108BD91FD66}Img200.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover150Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-150/0293-1/D34/587/0D/{D345870D-8D0F-41FF-A36D-7108BD91FD66}Img150.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover300Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-400/0293-1/D34/587/0D/{D345870D-8D0F-41FF-A36D-7108BD91FD66}Img400.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
isPublicPerformanceAllowed
False
languages
      • code: en
      • name: English
subjects
      • value: Fiction
      • value: Mystery
publishDateText
09/23/2014
mediaType
eBook
shortDescription

In the tradition of Elizabeth George, Louise Penny, and P. D. James, New York Times bestselling author Deborah Crombie delivers a powerful tale of intrigue, betrayal, and lies that will plunge married London detectives Duncan Kincaid and Gemma James into the unspeakable darkness that lies at the heart of murder.

Recently transferred to the London borough of Camden from Scotland Yard headquarters, detective superintendent Duncan Kincaid and his new murder investigation team are called to a deadly bombing at historic St. Pancras International Station. By fortunate coincidence, detective sergeant Melody Talbot, Gemma's trusted colleague, witnesses the explosion. The victim was taking part in an organized protest, yet the other group members swear the young man only meant to set off a smoke bomb. As Kincaid begins to gather the facts, he finds that every piece of the puzzle yields an unexpected pattern, including the disappearance of a mysterious bystander.

The bombing...

sortTitle
To Dwell in Darkness Duncan Kincaid Gemma James Series Book 16
crossRefId
1330654
series
Duncan Kincaid / Gemma James
awards
      • source: The New York Times
      • value: The New York Times Best Seller List
subtitle
Duncan Kincaid / Gemma James Series, Book 16
publisher
HarperCollins