We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

Have You Ever Seen a Flower?
(Kindle Book, OverDrive Read)

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(1)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Illustrator:
Published:
Chronicle Books LLC 2021
Lexile measure:
AD: Adult Directed 490L
Status:
Checked Out
Description
Have You Ever Seen a Flower? is an enchanting picture book exploring the relationship between childhood and nature. In this simple yet profound story, one child experiences a flower with all five senses—from its color to its fragrance to the entire universe it evokes—revealing how a single flower can expand one's perspective in incredible ways.
• Authorial debut of award-winning illustrator Shawn Harris
• Reminds readers to appreciate the beauty of the world
• Full of bright, stunning illustrations
Have You Ever Seen a Flower? is a beautiful exploration of perception, the environment, and humanity.
• Perfect read-aloud with thought-provoking questions
• Ideal for nature lovers
• For fans of The Little Prince, The Giving Tree, Not a Box, and The Very Hungry Caterpillar
Also in This Series
Formats
Kindle Book
Works on Kindles and devices with a Kindle app installed.
OverDrive Read
Need Help?
If you are having problem transferring a title to your device, please fill out this support form or visit the library so we can help you to use our eBooks and eAudio Books.
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
Format:
Kindle Book, OverDrive Read
Street Date:
05/04/2021
Language:
English
ISBN:
9781797201122
ASIN:
B08PNX994Z
Lexile code:
AD: Adult Directed
Lexile measure:
490
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Shawn Harris. (2021). Have You Ever Seen a Flower? Chronicle Books LLC.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Shawn Harris. 2021. Have You Ever Seen a Flower? Chronicle Books LLC.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Shawn Harris, Have You Ever Seen a Flower? Chronicle Books LLC, 2021.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Shawn Harris. Have You Ever Seen a Flower? Chronicle Books LLC, 2021. Web.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Copy Details
LibraryOwnedAvailable
Shared Digital Collection10
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
80bd9180-0e5c-9ee7-3057-04a46b6e16cc
Go To Grouped Work
Needs Update?:
No
Date Added:
Apr 28, 2021 17:10:24
Date Updated:
May 05, 2022 20:14:29
Last Metadata Check:
Jul 03, 2022 15:24:23
Last Metadata Change:
Jun 23, 2022 16:14:36
Last Availability Check:
Jul 03, 2022 15:24:25
Last Availability Change:
Jun 19, 2022 15:47:38
Last Grouped Work Modification Time:
Jul 06, 2022 02:08:36

OverDrive Product Record

sortTitle
Have You Ever Seen a Flower
crossRefId
5980946
images
    • cover:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/2034-1/{BC12C617-D3B2-40BA-BC5E-3FEB74B1609C}IMG100.JPG
    • thumbnail:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/2034-1/{BC12C617-D3B2-40BA-BC5E-3FEB74B1609C}IMG200.JPG
    • cover150Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-150/2034-1/{BC12C617-D3B2-40BA-BC5E-3FEB74B1609C}IMG150.JPG
    • cover300Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-400/2034-1/{BC12C617-D3B2-40BA-BC5E-3FEB74B1609C}IMG400.JPG
formats
      • identifiers:
            • type: ASIN
            • value: B08PNX994Z
      • name: Kindle Book
      • id: ebook-kindle
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9781797201122
      • name: OverDrive Read
      • id: ebook-overdrive
mediaType
eBook
primaryCreator
    • role: Illustrator
    • name: Shawn Harris
id
BC12C617-D3B2-40BA-BC5E-3FEB74B1609C
title
Have You Ever Seen a Flower?
starRating
3.9
dateAdded
2021-04-28T22:52:00Z
contentDetails
      • href: https://link.overdrive.com/?websiteID=141&titleID=5980946
      • type: text/html
      • account:
          • name: Sacramento Public Library (CA)
          • id: 1151

OverDrive MetaData

isPublicDomain
False
images
    • cover:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/2034-1/{BC12C617-D3B2-40BA-BC5E-3FEB74B1609C}IMG100.JPG
        • type: image/jpeg
    • thumbnail:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/2034-1/{BC12C617-D3B2-40BA-BC5E-3FEB74B1609C}IMG200.JPG
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover150Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-150/2034-1/{BC12C617-D3B2-40BA-BC5E-3FEB74B1609C}IMG150.JPG
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover300Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-400/2034-1/{BC12C617-D3B2-40BA-BC5E-3FEB74B1609C}IMG400.JPG
        • type: image/jpeg
isPublicPerformanceAllowed
False
formats
      • fileName: HaveYouEverSeenaFlower9781797201122
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 0
      • identifiers:
            • type: ASIN
            • value: B08PNX994Z
      • rights:
            • type: Kindle
            • value: 1
      • name: Kindle Book
      • id: ebook-kindle
      • onSaleDate: 05/04/2021
      • samples:
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: ebook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=bc12c617-d3b2-40ba-bc5e-3feb74b1609c&.epub-sample.overdrive.com
      • fileName: HaveYouEverSeenaFlower9781797201122
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 0
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9781797201122
      • name: OverDrive Read
      • id: ebook-overdrive
      • onSaleDate: 05/04/2021
      • samples:
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: ebook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=bc12c617-d3b2-40ba-bc5e-3feb74b1609c&.epub-sample.overdrive.com
languages
      • code: en
      • name: English
creators
      • role: Illustrator
      • fileAs: Harris, Shawn
      • name: Shawn Harris
subjects
      • value: Juvenile Fiction
      • value: Picture Book Fiction
publishDate
2021-05-04T00:00:00-04:00
publishDateText
05/04/2021
mediaType
eBook
shortDescription
Have You Ever Seen a Flower? is an enchanting picture book exploring the relationship between childhood and nature. In this simple yet profound story, one child experiences a flower with all five senses—from its color to its fragrance to the entire universe it evokes—revealing how a single flower can expand one's perspective in incredible ways.
• Authorial debut of award-winning illustrator Shawn Harris
• Reminds readers to appreciate the beauty of the world
• Full of bright, stunning illustrations
Have You Ever Seen a Flower? is a beautiful exploration of perception, the environment, and humanity.
• Perfect read-aloud with thought-provoking questions
• Ideal for nature lovers
• For fans of The Little Prince, The Giving Tree, Not a Box, and The Very Hungry Caterpillar
isOwnedByCollections
True
title
Have You Ever Seen a Flower?
fullDescription
Have You Ever Seen a Flower? is an enchanting picture book exploring the relationship between childhood and nature. In this simple yet profound story, one child experiences a flower with all five senses—from its color to its fragrance to the entire universe it evokes—revealing how a single flower can expand one's perspective in incredible ways.
• Authorial debut of award-winning illustrator Shawn Harris
• Reminds readers to appreciate the beauty of the world
• Full of bright, stunning illustrations
Have You Ever Seen a Flower? is a beautiful exploration of perception, the environment, and humanity.
• Perfect read-aloud with thought-provoking questions
• Ideal for nature lovers
• For fans of The Little Prince, The Giving Tree, Not a Box, and The Very Hungry Caterpillar
sortTitle
Have You Ever Seen a Flower
crossRefId
5980946
reviews
      • premium: True
      • source: Kirkus
      • content:

        April 1, 2021
        A young urbanite romps through floral fields and deep into a flower's anatomy, exploring humanity's connection to nature. A solo car travels away from the dense, gray cityscape. Mountains rise up, full of pattern and light, before revealing a fluorescent field of flowers. A child bursts from the car across the page, neon-rainbow hair streaming in the wind, as both child and place radiate joy and life. The brown-skinned, blue-eyed youngster breathes in the meadow and begins an adventure--part Jamberry, part "Thumbelina," and part existential journey as the child realizes the life force running through the veins of the flower is the same that runs through all of us, from the water that sustains to the sun that grows. Harris' colored-pencil illustrations are full of energy and spontaneity. His use of patterning and graphic symbology evoke Oaxacan design, yet the style is all his own. The text is equally enthusiastic: "Have you ever seen / a flower so deep / you had to shout / HELLO / and listen for an echo / just to know / how deep it goes?" The text shifts abruptly from metaphor to metaphor, in one spread the flower likened to a palace and a few pages later, to human anatomy. Nevertheless, like the protagonist and the natural environment, readers will feel themselves stretch and bloom. A visual feast teeming with life. (Picture book. 3-7)

        COPYRIGHT(2021) Kirkus Reviews, ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

      • premium: True
      • source: Booklist
      • content:

        May 1, 2021
        Preschool-Grade 2 A blue-eyed child, tan with flowing blond hair, escapes the dreary, black-and-gray city for a trip to the country, which bursts with blended layers of neon greens, pinks, yellows, and blues. As the child frolics in flower-laden fields, the reader is addressed with questions about their experience with nature, quickly turning abstract. "Have you ever seen a flower using nothing but your nose? . . . what do you see? Raindrops made of honey? The knees of bumblebees? A fancy lady?" The text takes readers on an imaginative journey inside flowers, activating all the senses and gradually thinning the distance between the human body and nature, until the two become one, prompting readers to imagine themselves as the flower, to feel themselves growing and stretching toward the sun. There's a deep intensity to all the proceedings, rooted in the astounding, dense colored-pencil illustrations and extending to the metaphoric text, which reaches for an odd sort of physical intimacy with the reader. Creative, dazzling, and fearless, Harris' authorial debut marks an auspicious new chapter to his picture-book career.

        COPYRIGHT(2021) Booklist, ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

awards
      • source: Association for Library Service to Children
      • value: Notable Children's Books
      • source: Association for Library Service to Children
      • value: Caldecott Honor Book
popularity
926
publisher
Chronicle Books LLC
links
    • self:
        • href: https://api.overdrive.com/v1/collections/v1L1BWwAAAA2I/products/bc12c617-d3b2-40ba-bc5e-3feb74b1609c/metadata
        • type: application/vnd.overdrive.api+json
id
bc12c617-d3b2-40ba-bc5e-3feb74b1609c
starRating
3.9