We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

Penance
(Adobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive Read)

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Author:
Published:
Little, Brown and Company 2017
Status:
Available from OverDrive
Description
A chilling Japanese psychological thriller and Edgar Award finalist about four women, forever connected by one horrible day in their childhood — fifteen years later, someone wants to make sure they never forget.
When they were girls, Sae, Maki, Akiko and Yuko were tricked into leaving their friend Emily with a mysterious stranger. Then the unthinkable occurred: Emily was found murdered hours later.
The four friends were never able to describe the stranger to the police; the killer's trail went cold. Asako, the bereaved mother, curses the surviving girls, vowing that they will be the ones to pay for her daughter's murder . . .
Like Confessions, Kanae Minato's award-winning, internationally bestselling debut, Penance is a dark tale of revenge and psychological drama that will leave readers breathless.
Also in This Series
Formats
Adobe EPUB eBook
Works on all eReaders (except Kindles), desktop computers and mobile devices with reading apps installed.
Kindle Book
Works on Kindles and devices with a Kindle app installed.
OverDrive Read
Need Help?
If you are having problem transferring a title to your device, please fill out this support form or visit the library so we can help you to use our eBooks and eAudio Books.
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
Format:
Adobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive Read
Street Date:
04/11/2017
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780316269810
ASIN:
B01K3WN59C
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Kanae Minato. (2017). Penance. Little, Brown and Company.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Kanae Minato. 2017. Penance. Little, Brown and Company.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Kanae Minato, Penance. Little, Brown and Company, 2017.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Kanae Minato. Penance. Little, Brown and Company, 2017. Web.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Copy Details
LibraryOwnedAvailable
Shared Digital Collection11
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
1ff71fab-6f0d-262a-8ebf-bc249635d2c7
Go To Grouped Work
Needs Update?:
No
Date Added:
Jun 12, 2018 17:50:36
Date Updated:
Jun 12, 2018 17:50:36
Last Metadata Check:
Jan 16, 2022 08:33:06
Last Metadata Change:
Jan 16, 2022 08:33:06
Last Availability Check:
Jan 16, 2022 08:33:09
Last Availability Change:
Jan 03, 2022 00:24:18
Last Grouped Work Modification Time:
Jan 21, 2022 02:08:39

OverDrive Product Record

sortTitle
Penance
crossRefId
2904185
images
    • cover:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/0017-1/{7EA45BD9-BADC-4BF7-8C67-F5B9BEAE9ED6}Img100.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • thumbnail:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/0017-1/{7EA45BD9-BADC-4BF7-8C67-F5B9BEAE9ED6}Img200.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover150Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-150/0017-1/7EA/45B/D9/{7EA45BD9-BADC-4BF7-8C67-F5B9BEAE9ED6}Img150.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover300Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-400/0017-1/7EA/45B/D9/{7EA45BD9-BADC-4BF7-8C67-F5B9BEAE9ED6}Img400.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
formats
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780316269810
      • name: Adobe EPUB eBook
      • id: ebook-epub-adobe
      • identifiers:
            • type: ASIN
            • value: B01K3WN59C
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780316269810
      • name: Kindle Book
      • id: ebook-kindle
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780316269810
      • name: OverDrive Read
      • id: ebook-overdrive
mediaType
eBook
primaryCreator
    • role: Author
    • name: Kanae Minato
id
7ea45bd9-badc-4bf7-8c67-f5b9beae9ed6
title
Penance
starRating
3.6
dateAdded
2017-04-07T14:04:00-04:00
contentDetails
      • href: https://link.overdrive.com/?websiteID=141&titleID=2904185
      • type: text/html
      • account:
          • name: Sacramento Public Library (CA)
          • id: 1151

OverDrive MetaData

isPublicDomain
False
images
    • cover:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/0017-1/{7EA45BD9-BADC-4BF7-8C67-F5B9BEAE9ED6}Img100.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • thumbnail:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/0017-1/{7EA45BD9-BADC-4BF7-8C67-F5B9BEAE9ED6}Img200.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover150Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-150/0017-1/7EA/45B/D9/{7EA45BD9-BADC-4BF7-8C67-F5B9BEAE9ED6}Img150.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover300Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-400/0017-1/7EA/45B/D9/{7EA45BD9-BADC-4BF7-8C67-F5B9BEAE9ED6}Img400.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
isPublicPerformanceAllowed
False
formats
      • fileName: Penance9780316349161
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 334447
      • identifiers:
            • audience: library
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780316269810
      • rights:
            • type: Copying
            • value: 0
            • type: Printing
            • value: 0
            • type: Lending
            • value: 0
            • type: ReadAloud
            • value: 0
            • type: ExpirationRights
            • value: 0
      • name: Adobe EPUB eBook
      • id: ebook-epub-adobe
      • onSaleDate: 04/11/2017
      • samples:
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: ebook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=7ea45bd9-badc-4bf7-8c67-f5b9beae9ed6&.epub-sample.overdrive.com
      • fileName: Penance9780316349161
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 0
      • identifiers:
            • audience: retailer
            • type: ASIN
            • value: B01K3WN59C
            • audience: library
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780316269810
      • name: Kindle Book
      • id: ebook-kindle
      • onSaleDate: 04/11/2017
      • samples:
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: ebook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=7ea45bd9-badc-4bf7-8c67-f5b9beae9ed6&.epub-sample.overdrive.com
      • fileName: Penance9780316349161
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 334389
      • identifiers:
            • audience: library
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780316269810
      • name: OverDrive Read
      • id: ebook-overdrive
      • onSaleDate: 04/11/2017
      • samples:
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: ebook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=7ea45bd9-badc-4bf7-8c67-f5b9beae9ed6&.epub-sample.overdrive.com
languages
      • code: en
      • name: English
creators
      • role: Author
      • fileAs: Minato, Kanae
      • bioText: Kanae Minato is an award-winning, internationally bestselling novelist and former home economics teacher and housewife who wrote her first novel between household chores. Minato lives in Japan.
      • name: Kanae Minato
imprint
Mulholland Books
subjects
      • value: Fiction
      • value: Mystery
      • value: Thriller
publishDate
2017-04-11T05:00:00+01:00
publishDateText
04/11/2017
mediaType
eBook
shortDescription
A chilling Japanese psychological thriller and Edgar Award finalist about four women, forever connected by one horrible day in their childhood — fifteen years later, someone wants to make sure they never forget.
When they were girls, Sae, Maki, Akiko and Yuko were tricked into leaving their friend Emily with a mysterious stranger. Then the unthinkable occurred: Emily was found murdered hours later.
The four friends were never able to describe the stranger to the police; the killer's trail went cold. Asako, the bereaved mother, curses the surviving girls, vowing that they will be the ones to pay for her daughter's murder . . .
Like Confessions, Kanae Minato's award-winning, internationally bestselling debut, Penance is a dark tale of revenge and psychological drama that will leave readers breathless.
isOwnedByCollections
True
title
Penance
fullDescription
A chilling Japanese psychological thriller and Edgar Award finalist about four women, forever connected by one horrible day in their childhood — fifteen years later, someone wants to make sure they never forget.
When they were girls, Sae, Maki, Akiko and Yuko were tricked into leaving their friend Emily with a mysterious stranger. Then the unthinkable occurred: Emily was found murdered hours later.
The four friends were never able to describe the stranger to the police; the killer's trail went cold. Asako, the bereaved mother, curses the surviving girls, vowing that they will be the ones to pay for her daughter's murder . . .
Like Confessions, Kanae Minato's award-winning, internationally bestselling debut, Penance is a dark tale of revenge and psychological drama that will leave readers breathless.
sortTitle
Penance
crossRefId
2904185
reviews
      • premium: False
      • source: The Wall Street Journal
      • content: [A] suspenseful psychological melodrama. . . . Filled with strange entwinings of chance and effect, free will and manipulation, the mundane and the bizarre.
      • premium: False
      • source: Booklist (starred review)
      • content: Minato's simple, clear voice highlights the stories' psychological intensity, and themes of powerlessness evolving to strength, duty, and redemption create layers of interest that are perfect for book-group dissection.
      • premium: False
      • source: Publishers Weekly
      • content: Moving, tension-filled . . . Minato has crafted an unnerving tale of tragedy, guilt, and penance.
      • premium: False
      • source: Emily St. John Mandel, New York Times bestselling author of Station Eleven
      • content: Kanae Minato is a brilliant storyteller.
      • premium: False
      • source: Steph Cha, Los Angeles Times
      • content: The most delightfully evil book you will read this year. . . . Think of Confessions as the Gone Girl of Japan. . . . Minato spins out this gut-wrenching thrill ride with clean, high-impact language. . . . Its thrust should hit home for any reader with a pulse.
      • premium: False
      • source: Kevin Nance, Chicago Tribune
      • content: Far deeper and larger, though no less entertaining, than expected. A nasty little masterpiece ... a crackling good yarn [with] existential heft. Books like Confessions can make you vibrate with happiness.
      • premium: True
      • source: Publisher's Weekly
      • content:

        February 13, 2017
        Minato’s moving, tension-filled second novel charts the impact of a traumatic murder on four young women, Sae, Maki, Akiko, and Yuka, who were childhood friends of the victim, Emily. One summer day, when they’re all 10, a strange man approaches the girls while they’re playing ball by the swimming pool of their small, rural Japanese town’s elementary school. The stranger, claiming he has no ladder, says he needs someone to help him reach a ventilating fan in a pool changing room. Emily goes with him. When she doesn’t return, the other girls go looking for her only to discover her dead. Emily’s mother blames the girls and warns them to “atone for what you’ve done, in a way I’ll accept,” if they can’t find the murderer. Fifteen years later, with the statute of limitations running out, each survivor relates the consequences of that warning for herself. All these fully fleshed-out characters have suffered since Emily’s death, each in her own way. Minato (Confessions) has crafted an unnerving tale of tragedy, guilt, and penance.

      • premium: True
      • source: Kirkus
      • content:

        February 1, 2017
        A grieving parent and four guilt-stricken friends struggle to cope with the rape and strangulation of a 10-year-old girl.Japanese author Minato follows up her successful U.S. debut (Confessions, 2014) with a second twisted tale of retribution and regret. Sae, Maki, Yuka, Akiko, and Emily are playing ball when a stranger lures away Emily with a request for help. She fails to return to the game, and that evening, the girls discover her corpse. Incredibly, no one can remember the perpetrator's face, and he goes uncaught. Three years pass before Emily's imperious mother, Asako, summons the girls to her home. She faults them for what happened and demands that they either catch Emily's killer or perform an act of penance. If they do neither, she'll exact revenge. Twelve years later, as the statute of limitations for Emily's murder is about to expire, Sae, Maki, Yuka, and Akiko give their accounts of the tragedy and describe how Emily's death and Asako's threat have ruined their lives. While the tales take different forms--one is a letter, another a speech--and each contains a uniquely disturbing twist, they all retread much the same ground. Minato's characters are psychologically complex, but their rambling narrations lack immediacy, and though a note from Asako ties off several loose ends to devastating effect, a toothless epilogue undercuts the story's psychological impact. Despite an intriguing premise and some shocking reveals, Minato's latest ultimately succumbs to monotony and bloat.

        COPYRIGHT(2017) Kirkus Reviews, ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

      • premium: True
      • source: Booklist
      • content:

        Starred review from March 1, 2017
        Celebrated Japanese novelist Minato revisits the themes of schoolyard murder and grief-fueled revenge that drove her Confessions (2014), which won Japan's National Booksellers' Award. Fifteen years ago, fourth-graders Sae, Maki, Akiko, Yuko, and Emili were playing ball in their deserted schoolyard when a man claiming to be a maintenance worker asked Emili to help him make a repair in the locker room. When Emili didn't return, the girls began searching and found her body. Years later, the murder remains unsolved and Emili's mother, Asako, blames the four surviving girls for her death. Asako vows revenge against the girls unless they either find Emili's killer before the crime's 15-year statute of limitations runs out, or make acceptable penance. In five tales narrated by the girls and Asako, Minato reveals the damage Emili's murder has wrought as the girls' efforts to appease Asako make them killers in their own right. Minato's simple, clear voice highlights the stories' psychological intensity, and themes of powerlessness evolving to strength, duty, and redemption create layers of interest that are perfect for book-group dissection. This haunting psychological thriller also offers an enlightening, absorbing visit to contemporary Japan. A perfect read-alike for Natsuo Kirino's Real World (2008).(Reprinted with permission of Booklist, copyright 2017, American Library Association.)

popularity
196
publisher
Little, Brown and Company
links
    • self:
        • href: https://api.overdrive.com/v1/collections/v1L1BWwAAAA2I/products/7ea45bd9-badc-4bf7-8c67-f5b9beae9ed6/metadata
        • type: application/vnd.overdrive.api+json
id
7ea45bd9-badc-4bf7-8c67-f5b9beae9ed6
starRating
3.7