Curbside pickup and returns now available at 26 locations. View updated hours of operations here.

Call Your Daughter Home
(OverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive Listen)

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(3)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Author:
Published:
Harlequin Audio 2019
Status:
Checked Out
Description

Featured on Oprah's Summer Reading List

For readers of Delia Owens' Where the Crawdads Sing and Sue Monk Kidd's The Secret Life of Bees, this extraordinary historical debut novel follows three fierce Southern women in an unforgettable story of motherhood and womanhood.

It's 1924 in Branchville, South Carolina and three women have come to a crossroads. Gertrude, a mother of four, must make an unconscionable decision to save her daughters. Retta, a first-generation freed slave, comes to Gertrude's aid by watching her children, despite the gossip it causes in her community. Annie, the matriarch of the influential Coles family, offers Gertrude employment at her sewing circle, while facing problems of her own at home.

These three women seemingly have nothing in common, yet as they unite to stand up to injustices that have long plagued the small town, they find strength in the bond that ties women together. Told in the pitch-perfect voices of Gertrude, Retta, and Annie, Call Your Daughter Home is an emotional, timeless story about the power of family, community, and ferocity of motherhood.

"Like Jill McCorkle and Sue Monk Kidd, Spera probes the comfort and strength women find in their own company." O, The Oprah Magazine

"A mesmerizing Southern tale...Authentic, gripping, a page-turner, yet also a novel filled with language that begs to be savored."— Lisa Wingate, New York Times Bestselling Author of Before We Were Yours

Also in This Series
Formats
OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
Works on MP3 Players, PCs, and Macs. Some mobile devices may require an application to be installed.
Need Help?
If you are having problem transferring a title to your device, please fill out this support form or visit the library so we can help you to use our eBooks and eAudio Books.
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
Format:
OverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive Listen
Edition:
Unabridged
Street Date:
06/11/2019
Language:
English
ISBN:
9781488205552
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Deb Spera. (2019). Call Your Daughter Home. Unabridged Harlequin Audio.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Deb Spera. 2019. Call Your Daughter Home. Harlequin Audio.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Deb Spera, Call Your Daughter Home. Harlequin Audio, 2019.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Deb Spera. Call Your Daughter Home. Unabridged Harlequin Audio, 2019.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Copy Details
LibraryOwnedAvailable
Shared Digital Collection40

There is 1 hold on this title.

Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
046ed29c-fce6-9a39-0c4e-d75adbfcc0bc
Go To Grouped Work
Needs Update?:
No
Date Added:
Jun 07, 2019 15:48:55
Date Updated:
Dec 10, 2020 11:48:21
Last Metadata Check:
May 09, 2021 15:04:13
Last Metadata Change:
May 03, 2021 20:35:46
Last Availability Check:
May 09, 2021 15:04:16
Last Availability Change:
May 08, 2021 10:50:51
Last Grouped Work Modification Time:
May 10, 2021 16:11:06

OverDrive Product Record

sortTitle
Call Your Daughter Home
crossRefId
4492240
images
    • cover:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/0293-1/{6A123CF4-AC28-4C59-835F-3E500C82879F}Img100.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • thumbnail:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/0293-1/{6A123CF4-AC28-4C59-835F-3E500C82879F}Img200.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover150Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-150/0293-1/6A1/23C/F4/{6A123CF4-AC28-4C59-835F-3E500C82879F}Img150.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover300Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-400/0293-1/6A1/23C/F4/{6A123CF4-AC28-4C59-835F-3E500C82879F}Img400.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
formats
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9781488205552
            • type: 8
            • value: harpercollins_audio#9781488205552
      • name: OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
      • id: audiobook-mp3
      • identifiers:
            • type: 8
            • value: harpercollins_audio#9781488205552
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9781488205552
      • name: OverDrive Listen
      • id: audiobook-overdrive
mediaType
Audiobook
primaryCreator
    • role: Author
    • name: Deb Spera
id
6a123cf4-ac28-4c59-835f-3e500c82879f
title
Call Your Daughter Home
starRating
3.7
dateAdded
2020-08-27T14:49:00-04:00
contentDetails
      • href: https://link.overdrive.com/?websiteID=569&titleID=4492240
      • type: text/html
      • account:
          • name: NorthNet Library System (CA)
          • id: 2323

OverDrive MetaData

isPublicDomain
False
images
    • cover:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/0293-1/{6A123CF4-AC28-4C59-835F-3E500C82879F}Img100.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • thumbnail:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/0293-1/{6A123CF4-AC28-4C59-835F-3E500C82879F}Img200.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover150Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-150/0293-1/6A1/23C/F4/{6A123CF4-AC28-4C59-835F-3E500C82879F}Img150.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover300Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-400/0293-1/6A1/23C/F4/{6A123CF4-AC28-4C59-835F-3E500C82879F}Img400.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
isPublicPerformanceAllowed
False
formats
      • fileName: CallYourDaughterHome-11146
      • partCount: 10
      • fileSize: 320339922
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9781488205552
            • type: 8
            • value: harpercollins_audio#9781488205552
      • rights:
            • type: PlayOnPC
            • value: 1
            • type: PlayOnPCCount
            • value: -1
            • type: BurnToCD
            • value: 1
            • type: BurnToCDCount
            • value: -1
            • type: PlayOnPM
            • value: 1
            • type: TransferToSDMI
            • value: 1
            • type: TransferToNonSDMI
            • value: 1
            • type: TransferCount
            • value: -1
            • type: CollaborativePlay
            • value: 0
            • type: PublicPerformance
            • value: 0
            • type: TranscodeToAAC
            • value: 1
      • name: OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
      • id: audiobook-mp3
      • onSaleDate: 06/11/2019
      • samples:
            • source: Part 1
            • formatType: audiobook-mp3
            • url: https://excerpts.cdn.overdrive.com/FormatType-425/0293-1/4492240-CallYourDaughterHome.mp3
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: audiobook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=6a123cf4-ac28-4c59-835f-3e500c82879f&.epub-sample.overdrive.com
      • fileName: CallYourDaughterHome-11146
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 320305315
      • identifiers:
            • type: 8
            • value: harpercollins_audio#9781488205552
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9781488205552
      • name: OverDrive Listen
      • id: audiobook-overdrive
      • onSaleDate: 06/11/2019
      • samples:
            • source: Part 1
            • formatType: audiobook-mp3
            • url: https://excerpts.cdn.overdrive.com/FormatType-425/0293-1/4492240-CallYourDaughterHome.mp3
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: audiobook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=6a123cf4-ac28-4c59-835f-3e500c82879f&.epub-sample.overdrive.com
languages
      • code: en
      • name: English
creators
      • role: Author
      • fileAs: Spera, Deb
      • bioText: Deb Spera was born in Louisville, Kentucky, and lives in Los Angeles. She owns her own television company, One-Two Punch Productions, and has executive produced such shows as Criminal Minds and Army Wives. Her work's been published in Sixfold, Garden and Gun, and Yoga Journal. CALL YOUR DAUGHTER HOME is her first novel.
      • name: Deb Spera
      • role: Narrator
      • fileAs: Miles, Robin
      • name: Robin Miles
      • role: Narrator
      • fileAs: Ojo, Adenrele
      • name: Adenrele Ojo
      • role: Narrator
      • fileAs: Pressley, Brittany
      • name: Brittany Pressley
subjects
      • value: Fiction
      • value: Literature
      • value: Historical Fiction
publishDate
2019-06-11T00:00:00-04:00
edition
Unabridged
publishDateText
06/11/2019
mediaType
Audiobook
shortDescription

Featured on Oprah's Summer Reading List

For readers of Delia Owens' Where the Crawdads Sing and Sue Monk Kidd's The Secret Life of Bees, this extraordinary historical debut novel follows three fierce Southern women in an unforgettable story of motherhood and womanhood.

It's 1924 in Branchville, South Carolina and three women have come to a crossroads. Gertrude, a mother of four, must make an unconscionable decision to save her daughters. Retta, a first-generation freed slave, comes to Gertrude's aid by watching her children, despite the gossip it causes in her community. Annie, the matriarch of the influential Coles family, offers Gertrude employment at her sewing circle, while facing problems of her own at home.

These three women seemingly have nothing in common, yet as they unite to stand up to injustices that have long plagued the small town, they find strength in the bond that ties women together. Told in the...

isOwnedByCollections
True
title
Call Your Daughter Home
fullDescription

Featured on Oprah's Summer Reading List

For readers of Delia Owens' Where the Crawdads Sing and Sue Monk Kidd's The Secret Life of Bees, this extraordinary historical debut novel follows three fierce Southern women in an unforgettable story of motherhood and womanhood.

It's 1924 in Branchville, South Carolina and three women have come to a crossroads. Gertrude, a mother of four, must make an unconscionable decision to save her daughters. Retta, a first-generation freed slave, comes to Gertrude's aid by watching her children, despite the gossip it causes in her community. Annie, the matriarch of the influential Coles family, offers Gertrude employment at her sewing circle, while facing problems of her own at home.

These three women seemingly have nothing in common, yet as they unite to stand up to injustices that have long plagued the small town, they find strength in the bond that ties women together. Told in the pitch-perfect voices of Gertrude, Retta, and Annie, Call Your Daughter Home is an emotional, timeless story about the power of family, community, and ferocity of motherhood.

"Like Jill McCorkle and Sue Monk Kidd, Spera probes the comfort and strength women find in their own company."
O, The Oprah Magazine

"A mesmerizing Southern tale...Authentic, gripping, a page-turner, yet also a novel filled with language that begs to be savored."
— Lisa Wingate, New York Times Bestselling Author of Before We Were Yours

sortTitle
Call Your Daughter Home
crossRefId
4492240
popularity
4289
publisher
Harlequin Audio
links
    • self:
        • href: https://api.overdrive.com/v1/collections/v1L1B3gEAAA2d/products/6a123cf4-ac28-4c59-835f-3e500c82879f/metadata
        • type: application/vnd.overdrive.api+json
id
6a123cf4-ac28-4c59-835f-3e500c82879f
starRating
3.7