We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

Penny and Her Song
(OverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive Listen)

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(2)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(1)
1 star
 
(0)
Series:
Published:
Greenwillow Books 2012
Accelerated Reader:
IL: LG - BL: 2.1 - AR Pts: 0.5
Lexile measure:
AD: Adult Directed 420L
Status:
Available from OverDrive
Description

Meet Penny, the sweet and curious mouse, in Caldecott Medalist and bestselling author Kevin Henkes's instant classic story for young readers, perfect for fans Lilly's Purple Plastic Purse, Owen, and Chrysanthemum.

When Penny comes home from school, she is ready to sing her song. But the babies are sleeping, and Mama and Papa are worried that Penny will wake them up. Oh, but it is a good song, a really wonderful song . . . and Penny wants more than anything to sing it. Will it ever be the right time to sing it?

Penny and Her Song is a Level One I Can Read book, which means it's perfect for children learning to sound out words and sentences. Kevin Henkes is a master at creating books that resonate with young children. The Penny books are new classics for beginning readers and will appeal to fans of Frog and Toad, Little Bear, and Henry and Mudge.

Also in This Series
Formats
OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
Works on MP3 Players, PCs, and Macs. Some mobile devices may require an application to be installed.
OverDrive Listen
Need Help?
If you are having problem transferring a title to your device, please fill out this support form or visit the library so we can help you to use our eBooks and eAudio Books.
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
Format:
OverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive Listen
Edition:
Unabridged
Street Date:
02/28/2012
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780062120755
Accelerated Reader:
LG
Level 2.1, 0.5 Points
Lexile code:
AD: Adult Directed
Lexile measure:
420
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Kevin Henkes. (2012). Penny and Her Song. Unabridged Greenwillow Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Kevin Henkes. 2012. Penny and Her Song. Greenwillow Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Kevin Henkes, Penny and Her Song. Greenwillow Books, 2012.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Kevin Henkes. Penny and Her Song. Unabridged Greenwillow Books, 2012.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2022. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Copy Details
LibraryOwnedAvailable
Shared Digital Collection11
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
c8461e5e-d124-81cf-a6cb-5b2cde75c069
Go To Grouped Work
Needs Update?:
No
Date Added:
Jun 12, 2018 17:33:44
Date Updated:
Jun 12, 2018 17:33:44
Last Metadata Check:
May 26, 2024 09:49:15
Last Metadata Change:
Dec 18, 2023 17:36:38
Last Availability Check:
May 26, 2024 09:49:18
Last Availability Change:
Mar 14, 2024 09:04:14
Last Grouped Work Modification Time:
May 29, 2024 13:14:02

OverDrive Product Record

images
    • cover:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/0293-1/{059E1D5E-5333-42D4-A0A5-0FEF1A7D78F6}Img100.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • thumbnail:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/0293-1/{059E1D5E-5333-42D4-A0A5-0FEF1A7D78F6}Img200.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover150Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-150/0293-1/059/E1D/5E/{059E1D5E-5333-42D4-A0A5-0FEF1A7D78F6}Img150.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover300Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-400/0293-1/059/E1D/5E/{059E1D5E-5333-42D4-A0A5-0FEF1A7D78F6}Img400.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
formats
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780062120755
      • name: OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
      • id: audiobook-mp3
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780062120755
      • name: OverDrive Listen
      • id: audiobook-overdrive
mediaType
Audiobook
primaryCreator
    • role: Author
    • name: Kevin Henkes
title
Penny and Her Song
dateAdded
2015-10-01T17:40:00-04:00
contentDetails
      • href: https://link.overdrive.com/?websiteID=141&titleID=771245
      • type: text/html
      • account:
          • name: Sacramento Public Library (CA)
          • id: 1151
sortTitle
Penny and Her Song
crossRefId
771245
series
Penny
id
059e1d5e-5333-42d4-a0a5-0fef1a7d78f6
starRating
4

OverDrive MetaData

interestLevel
LG
isPublicDomain
False
formats
      • duration: 00:07:30
      • fileName: PennyandHerSong_9780062120755_771245
      • partCount: 1
      • fileSize: 3690895
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780062120755
      • rights:
            • type: PlayOnPC
            • value: 1
            • type: PlayOnPCCount
            • value: -1
            • type: BurnToCD
            • value: 1
            • type: BurnToCDCount
            • value: -1
            • type: PlayOnPM
            • value: 1
            • type: TransferToSDMI
            • value: 1
            • type: TransferToNonSDMI
            • value: 1
            • type: TransferCount
            • value: -1
            • type: CollaborativePlay
            • value: 0
            • type: PublicPerformance
            • value: 0
            • type: TranscodeToAAC
            • value: 1
      • name: OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
      • isReadAlong: False
      • id: audiobook-mp3
      • onSaleDate: 2/28/2012
      • samples:
            • source: Part 1
            • formatType: audiobook-mp3
            • url: https://excerpts.cdn.overdrive.com/FormatType-425/0293-1/771245-PennyAndHerSong.mp3
            • source: Part 1
            • formatType: audiobook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=059E1D5E-5333-42D4-A0A5-0FEF1A7D78F6&.epub-sample.overdrive.com
      • duration: 00:07:30
      • fileName: PennyandHerSong
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 3607823
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780062120755
      • name: OverDrive Listen
      • isReadAlong: False
      • id: audiobook-overdrive
      • onSaleDate: 2/28/2012
      • samples:
            • source: Part 1
            • formatType: audiobook-mp3
            • url: https://excerpts.cdn.overdrive.com/FormatType-425/0293-1/771245-PennyAndHerSong.mp3
            • source: Part 1
            • formatType: audiobook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=059E1D5E-5333-42D4-A0A5-0FEF1A7D78F6&.epub-sample.overdrive.com
keywords
      • value: Beginner
creators
      • role: Author
      • fileAs: Henkes, Kevin
      • bioText:

        Kevin Henkes has been praised both as a writer and as an illustrator and is the recipient of the Children's Literature Legacy Award for his lasting contribution to literature for children. He received the Caldecott Medal for Kitten's First Full Moon; Caldecott Honors for Waiting and Owen; two Newbery Honors, one for Olive's Ocean and one for The Year of Billy Miller; and Geisel Honors for Waiting and Penny and Her Marble. His other books include The World and Everything in It; A House; A Parade of Elephants; Chrysanthemum; and the beloved Lilly's Purple Plastic Purse. Kevin Henkes lives with his family in Madison, Wisconsin.

      • name: Kevin Henkes
      • role: Narrator
      • fileAs: Nixon, Cynthia
      • name: Cynthia Nixon
imprint
Greenwillow Books
publishDate
2012-02-28T00:00:00-05:00
edition
Unabridged
isOwnedByCollections
True
title
Penny and Her Song
fullDescription

Meet Penny, the sweet and curious mouse, in Caldecott Medalist and bestselling author Kevin Henkes's instant classic story for young readers, perfect for fans Lilly's Purple Plastic Purse, Owen, and Chrysanthemum.

When Penny comes home from school, she is ready to sing her song. But the babies are sleeping, and Mama and Papa are worried that Penny will wake them up. Oh, but it is a good song, a really wonderful song . . . and Penny wants more than anything to sing it. Will it ever be the right time to sing it?

Penny and Her Song is a Level One I Can Read book, which means it's perfect for children learning to sound out words and sentences. Kevin Henkes is a master at creating books that resonate with young children. The Penny books are new classics for beginning readers and will appeal to fans of Frog and Toad, Little Bear, and Henry and Mudge.

seriesId
595587
gradeLevels
      • value: Grade 50
      • value: Grade 1
      • value: Grade 2
popularity
588
links
    • self:
        • href: https://api.overdrive.com/v1/collections/v1L1B3gEAAA2d/products/059e1d5e-5333-42d4-a0a5-0fef1a7d78f6/metadata
        • type: application/vnd.overdrive.api+json
id
059e1d5e-5333-42d4-a0a5-0fef1a7d78f6
starRating
3.9
images
    • cover:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/0293-1/{059E1D5E-5333-42D4-A0A5-0FEF1A7D78F6}Img100.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • thumbnail:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/0293-1/{059E1D5E-5333-42D4-A0A5-0FEF1A7D78F6}Img200.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover150Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-150/0293-1/059/E1D/5E/{059E1D5E-5333-42D4-A0A5-0FEF1A7D78F6}Img150.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover300Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-400/0293-1/059/E1D/5E/{059E1D5E-5333-42D4-A0A5-0FEF1A7D78F6}Img400.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
isPublicPerformanceAllowed
False
languages
      • code: en
      • name: English
subjects
      • value: Juvenile Fiction
      • value: Juvenile Literature
publishDateText
02/28/2012
otherFormatIdentifiers
      • type: ISBN
      • value: 9780062120755
mediaType
Audiobook
shortDescription

Meet Penny, the sweet and curious mouse, in Caldecott Medalist and bestselling author Kevin Henkes's instant classic story for young readers, perfect for fans Lilly's Purple Plastic Purse, Owen, and Chrysanthemum.

When Penny comes home from school, she is ready to sing her song. But the babies are sleeping, and Mama and Papa are worried that Penny will wake them up. Oh, but it is a good song, a really wonderful song . . . and Penny wants more than anything to sing it. Will it ever be the right time to sing it?

Penny and Her Song is a Level One I Can Read book, which means it's perfect for children learning to sound out words and sentences. Kevin Henkes is a master at creating books that resonate with young children. The Penny books are new classics for beginning readers and will appeal to fans of Frog and Toad, Little Bear, and Henry and Mudge.

sortTitle
Penny and Her Song
lexileScore
420
crossRefId
771245
series
Penny
publisher
Greenwillow Books
atos
2.1
bisacCodes
      • code: JUV002180
      • description: Juvenile Fiction / Animals / Mice, Hamsters, Guinea Pigs, etc.
      • code: JUV039050
      • description: Juvenile Fiction / Social Themes / Emotions & Feelings
      • code: JUV043000
      • description: Juvenile Fiction / Readers / Beginner