We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

The Girl with Glass Feet: A Novel
(eBook)

Book Cover
Your Rating: 0 stars
Star rating for

Author:
Contributors:
Published:
[United States] : Henry Holt and Co., 2010.
Content Description:
1 online resource (304 pages)
Status:

Description

An inventive and richly visual novel about young lovers on a quest to find a cure for a magical ailment, perfect for readers of Alice Hoffman Strange things are happening on the remote and snowbound archipelago of St. Hauda's Land. Unusual winged creatures flit around the icy bogland, albino animals hide themselves in the snow-glazed woods, and Ida Maclaird is slowly turning into glass. Ida is an outsider in these parts, a mainlander who has visited the islands only once before. Yet during that one fateful visit, the glass transformation began to take hold, and now she has returned in search of a cure. Midas Crook is a young loner who has lived on the islands his entire life. When he meets Ida, something about her sad, defiant spirit pierces his emotional defenses. As Midas helps Ida come to terms with her affliction, she gradually unpicks the knots of his heart. Love must be paid in precious hours and, as the glass encroaches, time is slipping away fast. Will they find a way to stave off the spread of the glass? The Girl with Glass Feet is a dazzlingly imaginative and magical first novel, a love story to treasure.

Also in This Series

More Like This

More Copies In LINK+

Loading LINK+ Copies...

More Details

Format:
eBook
Language:
English
ISBN:
9781429979863, 1429979860

Notes

Restrictions on Access
Instant title available through hoopla.
Description
An inventive and richly visual novel about young lovers on a quest to find a cure for a magical ailment, perfect for readers of Alice Hoffman Strange things are happening on the remote and snowbound archipelago of St. Hauda's Land. Unusual winged creatures flit around the icy bogland, albino animals hide themselves in the snow-glazed woods, and Ida Maclaird is slowly turning into glass. Ida is an outsider in these parts, a mainlander who has visited the islands only once before. Yet during that one fateful visit, the glass transformation began to take hold, and now she has returned in search of a cure. Midas Crook is a young loner who has lived on the islands his entire life. When he meets Ida, something about her sad, defiant spirit pierces his emotional defenses. As Midas helps Ida come to terms with her affliction, she gradually unpicks the knots of his heart. Love must be paid in precious hours and, as the glass encroaches, time is slipping away fast. Will they find a way to stave off the spread of the glass? The Girl with Glass Feet is a dazzlingly imaginative and magical first novel, a love story to treasure.
System Details
Mode of access: World Wide Web.

Reviews from GoodReads

Loading GoodReads Reviews.

Citations

APA Citation (style guide)

Shaw, A. (2010). The Girl with Glass Feet: A Novel. [United States], Henry Holt and Co.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Shaw, Ali. 2010. The Girl With Glass Feet: A Novel. [United States], Henry Holt and Co.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Shaw, Ali, The Girl With Glass Feet: A Novel. [United States], Henry Holt and Co, 2010.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Shaw, Ali. The Girl With Glass Feet: A Novel. [United States], Henry Holt and Co, 2010.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2022. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.

Staff View

Grouped Work ID:
a9a781c0-bca9-97f6-7b09-2dabf55fa84b
Go To Grouped Work

Hoopla Extract Information

Extract Information was matched by id in access url instead of record id.
hooplaId13973222
titleThe Girl with Glass Feet
kindEBOOK
price1.2
active1
pa0
profanity0
children0
demo0
rating
abridged0
dateLastUpdatedAug 25, 2023 12:08:50 AM

Record Information

Last File Modification TimeNov 23, 2023 05:37:18 AM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeJul 21, 2024 03:30:02 AM

MARC Record

LEADER02542nam a22003855a 4500
001MWT16172412
003MWT
00520231028021432.1
006m     o  d        
007cr cn|||||||||
008231028s2010    xxu    eo     000 1 eng d
020 |a 9781429979863 |q (electronic bk.)
020 |a 1429979860 |q (electronic bk.)
02842 |a MWT16172412
029 |a https://d2snwnmzyr8jue.cloudfront.net/mcm_9781429979863_180.jpeg
037 |a 16172412 |b Midwest Tape, LLC |n http://www.midwesttapes.com
040 |a Midwest |e rda
099 |a eBook hoopla
1001 |a Shaw, Ali, |e author.
24514 |a The Girl with Glass Feet : |b A Novel |h [electronic resource] / |c Ali Shaw.
2641 |a [United States] : |b Henry Holt and Co., |c 2010.
2642 |b Made available through hoopla
300 |a 1 online resource (304 pages)
336 |a text |b txt |2 rdacontent
337 |a computer |b c |2 rdamedia
338 |a online resource |b cr |2 rdacarrier
347 |a text file |2 rda
506 |a Instant title available through hoopla.
520 |a An inventive and richly visual novel about young lovers on a quest to find a cure for a magical ailment, perfect for readers of Alice Hoffman Strange things are happening on the remote and snowbound archipelago of St. Hauda's Land. Unusual winged creatures flit around the icy bogland, albino animals hide themselves in the snow-glazed woods, and Ida Maclaird is slowly turning into glass. Ida is an outsider in these parts, a mainlander who has visited the islands only once before. Yet during that one fateful visit, the glass transformation began to take hold, and now she has returned in search of a cure. Midas Crook is a young loner who has lived on the islands his entire life. When he meets Ida, something about her sad, defiant spirit pierces his emotional defenses. As Midas helps Ida come to terms with her affliction, she gradually unpicks the knots of his heart. Love must be paid in precious hours and, as the glass encroaches, time is slipping away fast. Will they find a way to stave off the spread of the glass? The Girl with Glass Feet is a dazzlingly imaginative and magical first novel, a love story to treasure.
538 |a Mode of access: World Wide Web.
6500 |a Literature |v Fiction.
6500 |a Electronic books.
7102 |a hoopla digital.
85640 |u https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/13973222?utm_source=MARC&Lid=hh4435 |z Instantly available on hoopla.
85642 |z Cover image |u https://d2snwnmzyr8jue.cloudfront.net/mcm_9781429979863_180.jpeg