We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

A Front Page Affair: A Kitty Weeks Mystery
(eBook)

Book Cover
Average Rating
NoveList Series:
Contributors:
Published:
[United States] : Canelo, 2016.
Content Description:
1 online resource (313 pages)
Status:
Description

It's 1915 in New York City and an intrepid young journalist is about to get her biggest story yet… The Lusitania has just been sunk, and headlines about a shooting at J.P. Morgan's mansion and the Great War are splashed across the front page of every newspaper. Capability "Kitty" Weeks would love nothing more than to report on the news of the day, but she's stuck writing about fashion and society gossip over on the Ladies' Page - until a man is murdered at a high society picnic on her beat. Determined to prove her worth as a journalist, Kitty finds herself plunged into the midst of a wartime conspiracy that threatens to derail the United States' attempt to remain neutral - and to disrupt the privileged life she has always known. The first book in a highly anticipated mystery series featuring rising journalism star Kitty Weeks packed full of historical detail, A Front Page Affair is perfect for fans of Rhys Bowen and Jacqueline WinspearPraise for A Front Page Affair 'A delightfully spunky heroine defies convention as an investigative reporter in this engaging historical mystery. The small factual details of New York life are gems' Rhys Bowen 'This lively and well-researched debut introduces a charming historical series and an appealing fish-out-of-water sleuth who seeks independence and a career in an age when most women are bent on getting married, particularly to titled Englishmen. Devotees of Rhys Bowen's mysteries will enjoy making the acquaintance of Miss Weeks.' Library Journal 'The fascinating historical details add flair to this thoroughly engaging mystery starring an intelligent amateur sleuth reminiscent of Rhys Bowen's Molly Murphy. Vatsal's debut will leave readers eager for Kitty's next adventure.' Booklist 'The mystery plot was enthralling in and of itself, but it was the portrait of Old New York that provided the wow factor - there are very few writers who can conjure up this kind of authenticity. A fun, fascinating, feminist read - especially if you love New York!' Reader review ????? 'It is very rare to find a debut novel so well written and so engrossing' Reader review ?????

Also in This Series
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
Format:
eBook
Language:
English
ISBN:
9781788634250, 178863425X

Notes

Restrictions on Access
Instant title available through hoopla.
Description
It's 1915 in New York City and an intrepid young journalist is about to get her biggest story yet… The Lusitania has just been sunk, and headlines about a shooting at J.P. Morgan's mansion and the Great War are splashed across the front page of every newspaper. Capability "Kitty" Weeks would love nothing more than to report on the news of the day, but she's stuck writing about fashion and society gossip over on the Ladies' Page - until a man is murdered at a high society picnic on her beat. Determined to prove her worth as a journalist, Kitty finds herself plunged into the midst of a wartime conspiracy that threatens to derail the United States' attempt to remain neutral - and to disrupt the privileged life she has always known. The first book in a highly anticipated mystery series featuring rising journalism star Kitty Weeks packed full of historical detail, A Front Page Affair is perfect for fans of Rhys Bowen and Jacqueline WinspearPraise for A Front Page Affair 'A delightfully spunky heroine defies convention as an investigative reporter in this engaging historical mystery. The small factual details of New York life are gems' Rhys Bowen 'This lively and well-researched debut introduces a charming historical series and an appealing fish-out-of-water sleuth who seeks independence and a career in an age when most women are bent on getting married, particularly to titled Englishmen. Devotees of Rhys Bowen's mysteries will enjoy making the acquaintance of Miss Weeks.' Library Journal 'The fascinating historical details add flair to this thoroughly engaging mystery starring an intelligent amateur sleuth reminiscent of Rhys Bowen's Molly Murphy. Vatsal's debut will leave readers eager for Kitty's next adventure.' Booklist 'The mystery plot was enthralling in and of itself, but it was the portrait of Old New York that provided the wow factor - there are very few writers who can conjure up this kind of authenticity. A fun, fascinating, feminist read - especially if you love New York!' Reader review ????? 'It is very rare to find a debut novel so well written and so engrossing' Reader review ?????
System Details
Mode of access: World Wide Web.
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Vatsal, R. (2016). A Front Page Affair: A Kitty Weeks Mystery. [United States], Canelo.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Vatsal, Radha. 2016. A Front Page Affair: A Kitty Weeks Mystery. [United States], Canelo.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Vatsal, Radha, A Front Page Affair: A Kitty Weeks Mystery. [United States], Canelo, 2016.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Vatsal, Radha. A Front Page Affair: A Kitty Weeks Mystery. [United States], Canelo, 2016.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2022. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
61fc5299-3da7-8787-fdec-feb92b2c39d1
Go To GroupedWork

Hoopla Extract Information

hooplaId15748540
titleA Front Page Affair
kindEBOOK
price3.99
active1
pa0
profanity0
children0
demo0
rating
abridged0
dateLastUpdatedFeb 19, 2024 12:08:09 AM

Record Information

Last File Modification TimeMar 03, 2024 03:41:43 AM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeMay 22, 2024 02:09:58 AM

MARC Record

LEADER03548nam a22003855a 4500
001MWT15748540
003MWT
00520231027025437.0
006m     o  d        
007cr cn|||||||||
008231027s2016    xxu    eo     000 1 eng d
020 |a 9781788634250|q (electronic bk.)
020 |a 178863425X|q (electronic bk.)
02842|a MWT15748540
029 |a https://d2snwnmzyr8jue.cloudfront.net/opr_9781788634250_180.jpeg
037 |a 15748540|b Midwest Tape, LLC|n http://www.midwesttapes.com
040 |a Midwest|e rda
099 |a eBook hoopla
1001 |a Vatsal, Radha,|e author.
24512|a A Front Page Affair :|b A Kitty Weeks Mystery|h [electronic resource] /|c Radha Vatsal.
264 1|a [United States] :|b Canelo,|c 2016.
264 2|b Made available through hoopla
300 |a 1 online resource (313 pages)
336 |a text|b txt|2 rdacontent
337 |a computer|b c|2 rdamedia
338 |a online resource|b cr|2 rdacarrier
347 |a text file|2 rda
506 |a Instant title available through hoopla.
520 |a It's 1915 in New York City and an intrepid young journalist is about to get her biggest story yet… The Lusitania has just been sunk, and headlines about a shooting at J.P. Morgan's mansion and the Great War are splashed across the front page of every newspaper. Capability "Kitty" Weeks would love nothing more than to report on the news of the day, but she's stuck writing about fashion and society gossip over on the Ladies' Page - until a man is murdered at a high society picnic on her beat. Determined to prove her worth as a journalist, Kitty finds herself plunged into the midst of a wartime conspiracy that threatens to derail the United States' attempt to remain neutral - and to disrupt the privileged life she has always known. The first book in a highly anticipated mystery series featuring rising journalism star Kitty Weeks packed full of historical detail, A Front Page Affair is perfect for fans of Rhys Bowen and Jacqueline WinspearPraise for A Front Page Affair 'A delightfully spunky heroine defies convention as an investigative reporter in this engaging historical mystery. The small factual details of New York life are gems' Rhys Bowen 'This lively and well-researched debut introduces a charming historical series and an appealing fish-out-of-water sleuth who seeks independence and a career in an age when most women are bent on getting married, particularly to titled Englishmen. Devotees of Rhys Bowen's mysteries will enjoy making the acquaintance of Miss Weeks.' Library Journal 'The fascinating historical details add flair to this thoroughly engaging mystery starring an intelligent amateur sleuth reminiscent of Rhys Bowen's Molly Murphy. Vatsal's debut will leave readers eager for Kitty's next adventure.' Booklist 'The mystery plot was enthralling in and of itself, but it was the portrait of Old New York that provided the wow factor - there are very few writers who can conjure up this kind of authenticity. A fun, fascinating, feminist read - especially if you love New York!' Reader review ????? 'It is very rare to find a debut novel so well written and so engrossing' Reader review ?????
538 |a Mode of access: World Wide Web.
650 0|a Women|v Fiction.
650 0|a Electronic books.
7102 |a hoopla digital.
85640|u https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/15748540?utm_source=MARC&Lid=hh4435|z Instantly available on hoopla.
85642|z Cover image|u https://d2snwnmzyr8jue.cloudfront.net/opr_9781788634250_180.jpeg