We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

The Matchmaker: A Spy in Berlin
(eBook)

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(2)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Contributors:
Published:
[United States] : Pegasus Books, 2022.
Content Description:
1 online resource
Status:
Description

In the vein of Graham Greene and John le Carré, The Matchmaker delivers a chilling Cold War spy story set in West Berlin, where an American woman targeted by the Stasi must confront the truth behind her German husband's mysterious disappearance. Berlin, 1989. Protests across East Germany threaten the Iron Curtain and Communism is the ill man of Europe. Anne Simpson, an American who works as a translator at the Joint Operations Refugee Committee, thinks she is in a normal marriage with a charming East German. But, then her husband disappears and the CIA and Western German intelligence arrive at her door. Nothing about her marriage is as it seems. She had been targeted by the Matchmaker- a high-level East German counterintelligence officer-who runs a network of Stasi agents. These agents are his "Romeos" who marry vulnerable women in West Berlin to provide them with cover as they report back to the Matchmaker. Anne has been married to a spy, and now he has disappeared, and is presumably dead. The CIA are desperate to find the Matchmaker because of his close ties to the KGB. They believe he can establish the truth about a high-ranking Soviet defector. They need Anne because she's the only person, who has seen his face - from a photograph that her husband mistakenly left out in his office - and she is the CIA's best chance to identify him before the Matchmaker escapes to Moscow. Time is running out as the Berlin Wall falls and chaos engulfs East Germany. But, what if Anne's husband is not dead? And, what if Anne has her own motives for finding the Matchmaker to deliver a different type of justice?

Also in This Series
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
Format:
eBook
Language:
English
ISBN:
9781643138664, 1643138669

Notes

Restrictions on Access
Digital content provided by hoopla.
Description
In the vein of Graham Greene and John le Carré, The Matchmaker delivers a chilling Cold War spy story set in West Berlin, where an American woman targeted by the Stasi must confront the truth behind her German husband's mysterious disappearance. Berlin, 1989. Protests across East Germany threaten the Iron Curtain and Communism is the ill man of Europe. Anne Simpson, an American who works as a translator at the Joint Operations Refugee Committee, thinks she is in a normal marriage with a charming East German. But, then her husband disappears and the CIA and Western German intelligence arrive at her door. Nothing about her marriage is as it seems. She had been targeted by the Matchmaker- a high-level East German counterintelligence officer-who runs a network of Stasi agents. These agents are his "Romeos" who marry vulnerable women in West Berlin to provide them with cover as they report back to the Matchmaker. Anne has been married to a spy, and now he has disappeared, and is presumably dead. The CIA are desperate to find the Matchmaker because of his close ties to the KGB. They believe he can establish the truth about a high-ranking Soviet defector. They need Anne because she's the only person, who has seen his face - from a photograph that her husband mistakenly left out in his office - and she is the CIA's best chance to identify him before the Matchmaker escapes to Moscow. Time is running out as the Berlin Wall falls and chaos engulfs East Germany. But, what if Anne's husband is not dead? And, what if Anne has her own motives for finding the Matchmaker to deliver a different type of justice?
System Details
Mode of access: World Wide Web.
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Vidich, P. (2022). The Matchmaker: A Spy in Berlin. [United States]: Pegasus Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Vidich, Paul. 2022. The Matchmaker: A Spy in Berlin. [United States]: Pegasus Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Vidich, Paul, The Matchmaker: A Spy in Berlin. [United States]: Pegasus Books, 2022.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Vidich, Paul. The Matchmaker: A Spy in Berlin. [United States]: Pegasus Books, 2022. Web.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
7fbb0e00-bced-4df0-ae57-fa0da5771560
Go To GroupedWork

Hoopla Extract Information

Extract Information was matched by id in access url instead of record id.
hooplaId14602350
titleThe Matchmaker
kindEBOOK
price0.99
active1
pa0
profanity0
children0
demo0
rating
abridged0
dateLastUpdatedMar 25, 2022 12:07:36 AM

Record Information

Last File Modification TimeJul 30, 2022 04:48:33 AM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeAug 09, 2022 02:08:33 AM

MARC Record

LEADER03296nam a22004575a 4500
001MWT14977913
003MWT
00520220707011246.0
006m     o  d        
007cr cn|||||||||
008220506s2022    xxu    es     000 1 eng d
020 |a 9781643138664|q (electronic bk.)
020 |a 1643138669|q (electronic bk.)
02842|a MWT14977913
029 |a https://d2snwnmzyr8jue.cloudfront.net/ssd_9781643138664_180.jpeg
037 |a 14977913|b Midwest Tape, LLC|n http://www.midwesttapes.com
040 |a Midwest|e rda
08204|a 813/.6|2 23
099 |a eBook hoopla
1001 |a Vidich, Paul.
24514|a The Matchmaker: A Spy in Berlin|h [electronic resource].
264 1|a [United States] :|b Pegasus Books,|c 2022.
264 2|b Made available through hoopla
300 |a 1 online resource
336 |a text|b txt|2 rdacontent
337 |a computer|b c|2 rdamedia
338 |a online resource|b cr|2 rdacarrier
347 |a text file|2 rda
506 |a Digital content provided by hoopla.
520 |a In the vein of Graham Greene and John le Carré, The Matchmaker delivers a chilling Cold War spy story set in West Berlin, where an American woman targeted by the Stasi must confront the truth behind her German husband's mysterious disappearance. Berlin, 1989. Protests across East Germany threaten the Iron Curtain and Communism is the ill man of Europe. Anne Simpson, an American who works as a translator at the Joint Operations Refugee Committee, thinks she is in a normal marriage with a charming East German. But, then her husband disappears and the CIA and Western German intelligence arrive at her door. Nothing about her marriage is as it seems. She had been targeted by the Matchmaker- a high-level East German counterintelligence officer-who runs a network of Stasi agents. These agents are his "Romeos" who marry vulnerable women in West Berlin to provide them with cover as they report back to the Matchmaker. Anne has been married to a spy, and now he has disappeared, and is presumably dead. The CIA are desperate to find the Matchmaker because of his close ties to the KGB. They believe he can establish the truth about a high-ranking Soviet defector. They need Anne because she's the only person, who has seen his face - from a photograph that her husband mistakenly left out in his office - and she is the CIA's best chance to identify him before the Matchmaker escapes to Moscow. Time is running out as the Berlin Wall falls and chaos engulfs East Germany. But, what if Anne's husband is not dead? And, what if Anne has her own motives for finding the Matchmaker to deliver a different type of justice?
538 |a Mode of access: World Wide Web.
650 0|a Intelligence officers|v Fiction.
650 0|a Intelligence service|z Germany (East)|v Fiction.
61010|a United States.|b Central Intelligence Agency|v Fiction.
650 0|a Electronic books.
651 0|a Berlin (Germany)|x History|y 1945-1990|v Fiction.
651 0|a Germany (East)|x History|v Fiction.
650 0|a Cold War|v Fiction.
7102 |a hoopla digital.
85640|u https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/14602350?utm_source=MARC|z Instantly available on hoopla.
85642|z Cover image|u https://d2snwnmzyr8jue.cloudfront.net/ssd_9781643138664_180.jpeg