We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

Factfulness: ten reasons we're wrong about the world--and why things are better than you think
(eAudiobook)

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(2)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Published:
[United States] : Recorded Books, Inc., 2018.
Content Description:
1 online resource (1 audio file (8hr., 51 min.)) : digital.
Lexile measure:
1000L
Status:
Description

For fans of Freakonomics and Thinking, Fast and Slow, here is a book by Hans Rosling, the scientist called "a true inspiration" by Bill Gates, that teaches us how to see the world as it truly is. Factfulness: The stress-reducing habit of only carrying opinions for which you have strong supporting facts. When asked simple questions about global trends-what percentage of the world's population live in poverty; why the world's population is increasing; how many girls finish school-we systematically get the answers wrong. So wrong that a chimpanzee choosing answers at random will consistently outguess teachers, journalists, Nobel laureates, and investment bankers. In Factfulness, Professor of International Health and global TED phenomenon Hans Rosling, together with his two long-time collaborators, Anna and Ola, offers a radical new explanation of why this happens. They reveal the ten instincts that distort our perspective-from our tendency to divide the world into two camps (usually some version of us and them) to the way we consume media (where fear rules) to how we perceive progress (believing that most things are getting worse). Our problem is that we don't know what we don't know, and even our guesses are informed by unconscious and predictable biases. It turns out that the world, for all its imperfections, is in a much better state than we might think. That doesn't mean there aren't real concerns. But when we worry about everything all the time instead of embracing a worldview based on facts, we can lose our ability to focus on the things that threaten us most. Inspiring and revelatory, filled with lively anecdotes and moving stories, Factfulness is an urgent and essential book that will change the way you see the world and empower you to respond to the crises and opportunities of the future.

Also in This Series
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
Subjects
LC Subjects
More Details
Format:
eAudiobook
Edition:
Unabridged.
Language:
English
ISBN:
9781501920264 (sound recording : hoopla Audio Book), 150192026X (sound recording : hoopla Audio Book)
Lexile measure:
1000

Notes

Restrictions on Access
Digital content provided by hoopla.
Participants/Performers
Narrated by Richard Harries.
Description
For fans of Freakonomics and Thinking, Fast and Slow, here is a book by Hans Rosling, the scientist called "a true inspiration" by Bill Gates, that teaches us how to see the world as it truly is. Factfulness: The stress-reducing habit of only carrying opinions for which you have strong supporting facts. When asked simple questions about global trends-what percentage of the world's population live in poverty; why the world's population is increasing; how many girls finish school-we systematically get the answers wrong. So wrong that a chimpanzee choosing answers at random will consistently outguess teachers, journalists, Nobel laureates, and investment bankers. In Factfulness, Professor of International Health and global TED phenomenon Hans Rosling, together with his two long-time collaborators, Anna and Ola, offers a radical new explanation of why this happens. They reveal the ten instincts that distort our perspective-from our tendency to divide the world into two camps (usually some version of us and them) to the way we consume media (where fear rules) to how we perceive progress (believing that most things are getting worse). Our problem is that we don't know what we don't know, and even our guesses are informed by unconscious and predictable biases. It turns out that the world, for all its imperfections, is in a much better state than we might think. That doesn't mean there aren't real concerns. But when we worry about everything all the time instead of embracing a worldview based on facts, we can lose our ability to focus on the things that threaten us most. Inspiring and revelatory, filled with lively anecdotes and moving stories, Factfulness is an urgent and essential book that will change the way you see the world and empower you to respond to the crises and opportunities of the future.
System Details
Mode of access: World Wide Web.
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Rosling, H., Ronnlund, A. R., Rosling, O., & Harries, R. (2018). Factfulness: ten reasons we're wrong about the world--and why things are better than you think. Unabridged. [United States]: Recorded Books, Inc.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Hans. Rosling et al.. 2018. Factfulness: Ten Reasons We're Wrong About the World--and Why Things Are Better Than You Think. [United States]: Recorded Books, Inc.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Hans. Rosling et al., Factfulness: Ten Reasons We're Wrong About the World--and Why Things Are Better Than You Think. [United States]: Recorded Books, Inc, 2018.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Rosling, Hans., Anna Rosling Ronnlund, Ola Rosling, and Richard Harries. Factfulness: Ten Reasons We're Wrong About the World--and Why Things Are Better Than You Think. Unabridged. [United States]: Recorded Books, Inc, 2018.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
b412ff27-f848-b810-75d4-05a8e5c2c6ea
Go To GroupedWork

Hoopla Extract Information

hooplaId13521376
titleFactfulness
kindAUDIOBOOK
price2.16
active1
pa0
profanity0
children0
demo0
rating
abridged0
dateLastUpdatedMay 01, 2022 12:39:31 AM

Record Information

Last File Modification TimeDec 03, 2020 02:50:12 AM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeMay 27, 2022 02:08:38 AM

MARC Record

LEADER03616nim a22004575a 4500
001MWT13521376
003MWT
00520201105053417.1
006m     o  h        
007sz zunnnnnuned
007cr nnannnuuuua
008201023s2018    xxunnn es      z  n eng d
020 |a 9781501920264 (sound recording : hoopla Audio Book)
020 |a 150192026X (sound recording : hoopla Audio Book)
02842|a MWT13521376
029 |a https://d2snwnmzyr8jue.cloudfront.net/rbd_9781501920264_180.jpeg
037 |a 13521376|b Midwest Tape, LLC|n http://www.midwesttapes.com
040 |a Midwest|e rda
099 |a eAudiobook hoopla
1001 |a Rosling, Hans.
24510|a Factfulness :|b ten reasons we're wrong about the world--and why things are better than you think|h [electronic resource] /|c Hans Rosling, Ola Rosling, and Anna Rosling Ronnlund.
250 |a Unabridged.
264 1|a [United States] :|b Recorded Books, Inc.,|c 2018.
264 2|b Made available through hoopla
300 |a 1 online resource (1 audio file (8hr., 51 min.)) :|b digital.
336 |a spoken word|b spw|2 rdacontent
337 |a computer|b c|2 rdamedia
338 |a online resource|b cr|2 rdacarrier
344 |a digital|h digital recording|2 rda
347 |a data file|2 rda
506 |a Digital content provided by hoopla.
5110 |a Narrated by Richard Harries.
520 |a For fans of Freakonomics and Thinking, Fast and Slow, here is a book by Hans Rosling, the scientist called "a true inspiration" by Bill Gates, that teaches us how to see the world as it truly is. Factfulness: The stress-reducing habit of only carrying opinions for which you have strong supporting facts. When asked simple questions about global trends-what percentage of the world's population live in poverty; why the world's population is increasing; how many girls finish school-we systematically get the answers wrong. So wrong that a chimpanzee choosing answers at random will consistently outguess teachers, journalists, Nobel laureates, and investment bankers. In Factfulness, Professor of International Health and global TED phenomenon Hans Rosling, together with his two long-time collaborators, Anna and Ola, offers a radical new explanation of why this happens. They reveal the ten instincts that distort our perspective-from our tendency to divide the world into two camps (usually some version of us and them) to the way we consume media (where fear rules) to how we perceive progress (believing that most things are getting worse). Our problem is that we don't know what we don't know, and even our guesses are informed by unconscious and predictable biases. It turns out that the world, for all its imperfections, is in a much better state than we might think. That doesn't mean there aren't real concerns. But when we worry about everything all the time instead of embracing a worldview based on facts, we can lose our ability to focus on the things that threaten us most. Inspiring and revelatory, filled with lively anecdotes and moving stories, Factfulness is an urgent and essential book that will change the way you see the world and empower you to respond to the crises and opportunities of the future.
538 |a Mode of access: World Wide Web.
650 0|a History.
7001 |a Ronnlund, Anna Rosling.
7001 |a Rosling, Ola.
7001 |a Harries, Richard.|4 nrt
7102 |a hoopla digital.
85640|u https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/13521376?utm_source=MARC|z Instantly available on hoopla.
85642|z Cover image|u https://d2snwnmzyr8jue.cloudfront.net/rbd_9781501920264_180.jpeg