Curbside pickup and returns now available at 26 locations. View updated hours of operations here.

Among the dead: a Rachel Carver mystery
(eBook)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Series:
Published:
[United States] : Crooked Lane Books, 2017.
Content Description:
1 online resource
Status:
Description

**Perfect for fans of Tami Hoag and J. T. Ellison, J. R. Backlund's gripping mystery debut Among the Dead is sure to be a knock-out. Ex-SBI agent Rachel Carver must hunt a group of killers on her own before time runs out in this gripping debut.** Former North Carolina State Bureau of Investigation agent Rachel Carver blames herself for the collateral death of an innocent woman in her last case. Unable to accept her superior's attempts to cover up the incident, she turned in her badge. But when a former partner asks her to consult on a new murder case, she reluctantly agrees, traveling to a small, remote mountain community, where she's tasked with leading a group of inexperienced detectives on a hunt for the killer. The trek has hardly begun when what seems to be the act of a loner proves to be much more as Rachel's team comes under attack-and a detective is killed in the fallout. Now that the stakes have risen, Rachel's old employers at the SBI step in to take over the investigation. But Rachel, convinced they are on the wrong track, continues to work the case alone. And just as she delves into the town's past, she discovers a secret history that connects the victims-one that makes her the target of a man who would kill to keep it a secret.

Also in This Series
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
Format:
eBook
Language:
English
ISBN:
9781683312741 (electronic bk.), 1683312740 (electronic bk.)

Notes

Restrictions on Access
Digital content provided by hoopla.
Description
**Perfect for fans of Tami Hoag and J. T. Ellison, J. R. Backlund's gripping mystery debut Among the Dead is sure to be a knock-out. Ex-SBI agent Rachel Carver must hunt a group of killers on her own before time runs out in this gripping debut.** Former North Carolina State Bureau of Investigation agent Rachel Carver blames herself for the collateral death of an innocent woman in her last case. Unable to accept her superior's attempts to cover up the incident, she turned in her badge. But when a former partner asks her to consult on a new murder case, she reluctantly agrees, traveling to a small, remote mountain community, where she's tasked with leading a group of inexperienced detectives on a hunt for the killer. The trek has hardly begun when what seems to be the act of a loner proves to be much more as Rachel's team comes under attack-and a detective is killed in the fallout. Now that the stakes have risen, Rachel's old employers at the SBI step in to take over the investigation. But Rachel, convinced they are on the wrong track, continues to work the case alone. And just as she delves into the town's past, she discovers a secret history that connects the victims-one that makes her the target of a man who would kill to keep it a secret.
System Details
Mode of access: World Wide Web.
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Backlund, J. R. (2017). Among the dead: a Rachel Carver mystery. [United States]: Crooked Lane Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Backlund, J. R.. 2017. Among the Dead: A Rachel Carver Mystery. [United States]: Crooked Lane Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Backlund, J. R., Among the Dead: A Rachel Carver Mystery. [United States]: Crooked Lane Books, 2017.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Backlund, J. R.. Among the Dead: A Rachel Carver Mystery. [United States]: Crooked Lane Books, 2017. Web.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
fbb08d9a-2799-ddfa-e439-9cdf810bb4ca
Go To GroupedWork

Hoopla Extract Information

hooplaId13377491
titleAmong the Dead
kindEBOOK
price1.29
active1
pa0
profanity0
children0
demo0
rating
abridged0
dateLastUpdatedJun 11, 2020 12:35:12 AM

Record Information

Last File Modification TimeSep 30, 2020 03:08:12 AM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeApr 20, 2021 02:27:36 AM

MARC Record

LEADER02878nam a22004455a 4500
001MWT13377491
003MWT
00520200918051211.1
006m     o  d        
007cr cn|||||||||
008200904s2017    xxu    es     000 1 eng d
020 |a 9781683312741 (electronic bk.)
020 |a 1683312740 (electronic bk.)
02842|a MWT13377491
029 |a https://d2snwnmzyr8jue.cloudfront.net/dra_9781683312741_180.jpeg
037 |a 13377491|b Midwest Tape, LLC|n http://www.midwesttapes.com
040 |a Midwest|e rda
099 |a eBook hoopla
1001 |a Backlund, J. R.,|e author.
24510|a Among the dead :|b a Rachel Carver mystery|h [electronic resource].
264 1|a [United States] :|b Crooked Lane Books,|c 2017.
264 2|b Made available through hoopla
300 |a 1 online resource
336 |a text|b txt|2 rdacontent
337 |a computer|b c|2 rdamedia
338 |a online resource|b cr|2 rdacarrier
347 |a text file|2 rda
4901 |a A Rachel Carver mystery ;|v [1]
506 |a Digital content provided by hoopla.
520 |a **Perfect for fans of Tami Hoag and J. T. Ellison, J. R. Backlund's gripping mystery debut Among the Dead is sure to be a knock-out. Ex-SBI agent Rachel Carver must hunt a group of killers on her own before time runs out in this gripping debut.** Former North Carolina State Bureau of Investigation agent Rachel Carver blames herself for the collateral death of an innocent woman in her last case. Unable to accept her superior's attempts to cover up the incident, she turned in her badge. But when a former partner asks her to consult on a new murder case, she reluctantly agrees, traveling to a small, remote mountain community, where she's tasked with leading a group of inexperienced detectives on a hunt for the killer. The trek has hardly begun when what seems to be the act of a loner proves to be much more as Rachel's team comes under attack-and a detective is killed in the fallout. Now that the stakes have risen, Rachel's old employers at the SBI step in to take over the investigation. But Rachel, convinced they are on the wrong track, continues to work the case alone. And just as she delves into the town's past, she discovers a secret history that connects the victims-one that makes her the target of a man who would kill to keep it a secret.
538 |a Mode of access: World Wide Web.
650 0|a Police|v Fiction.
650 0|a Detective and mystery stories.
650 0|a Murder|x Investigation|v Fiction.
650 0|a Electronic books.
655 7|a Mystery fiction.|2 gsafd
7102 |a hoopla digital.
8001 |a Backlund, J. R.|t Rachel Carver novel ;|v 1.
85640|u https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/13377491?utm_source=MARC|z Instantly available on hoopla.
85642|z Cover image|u https://d2snwnmzyr8jue.cloudfront.net/dra_9781683312741_180.jpeg