Curbside pickup and returns now available at 26 locations. View updated hours of operations here.

The last story of Mina Lee
(eAudiobook)

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(3)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(1)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Published:
[United States] : Harlequin Audio, 2020.
Content Description:
1 online resource (1 audio file (10hr., 43 min.)) : digital.
Status:
Description

An electrifying debut novel for fans of Celeste Ng and Jean Kwok, The Last Story of Mina Lee is a poignant mother-daughter story and surprising mystery that illustrates the devastating realities of being an immigrant in America. Margot Lee's mother, Mina, isn't returning her calls. It's a mystery to twenty-six-year-old Margot, until she visits her childhood apartment in Koreatown, LA, and finds that her mother has suspiciously died. The discovery sends Margot digging through the past, unraveling the tenuous invisible strings that held together her single mother's life as a Korean War orphan and an undocumented immigrant, only to realize how little she truly knew about her mother. Interwoven with Margot's present-day search is Mina's story of her first years in Los Angeles as she navigates the promises and perils of the American myth of reinvention. Barely earning a living by stocking shelves at a Korean grocery store, the last thing Mina ever expects is to fall in love. But that love story sets in motion a string of events that have consequences for years to come, leading up to the truth of what happened the night of her death. Told through the intimate lens of a mother and daughter who have struggled all their lives to understand each other, The Last Story of Mina Lee is both a gripping page-turner and a profound family saga that explores identity, secrets and what it truly means to belong.

Also in This Series
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
Format:
eAudiobook
Edition:
Unabridged.
Language:
English
ISBN:
9781488210211 (sound recording : hoopla Audio Book), 1488210217 (sound recording : hoopla Audio Book)

Notes

Restrictions on Access
Digital content provided by hoopla.
Participants/Performers
Read by Greta Jung.
Description
An electrifying debut novel for fans of Celeste Ng and Jean Kwok, The Last Story of Mina Lee is a poignant mother-daughter story and surprising mystery that illustrates the devastating realities of being an immigrant in America. Margot Lee's mother, Mina, isn't returning her calls. It's a mystery to twenty-six-year-old Margot, until she visits her childhood apartment in Koreatown, LA, and finds that her mother has suspiciously died. The discovery sends Margot digging through the past, unraveling the tenuous invisible strings that held together her single mother's life as a Korean War orphan and an undocumented immigrant, only to realize how little she truly knew about her mother. Interwoven with Margot's present-day search is Mina's story of her first years in Los Angeles as she navigates the promises and perils of the American myth of reinvention. Barely earning a living by stocking shelves at a Korean grocery store, the last thing Mina ever expects is to fall in love. But that love story sets in motion a string of events that have consequences for years to come, leading up to the truth of what happened the night of her death. Told through the intimate lens of a mother and daughter who have struggled all their lives to understand each other, The Last Story of Mina Lee is both a gripping page-turner and a profound family saga that explores identity, secrets and what it truly means to belong.
System Details
Mode of access: World Wide Web.
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Kim, N. J., & Jung, G. (2020). The last story of Mina Lee. Unabridged. [United States]: Harlequin Audio.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Kim, Nancy Jooyoun and Greta, Jung. 2020. The Last Story of Mina Lee. [United States]: Harlequin Audio.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Kim, Nancy Jooyoun and Greta, Jung, The Last Story of Mina Lee. [United States]: Harlequin Audio, 2020.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Kim, Nancy Jooyoun,, and Greta Jung. The Last Story of Mina Lee. Unabridged. [United States]: Harlequin Audio, 2020.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
3d3b8811-8ef1-a151-ac40-23856e61c247
Go To GroupedWork

Hoopla Extract Information

hooplaId13323566
titleThe Last Story of Mina Lee
kindAUDIOBOOK
price2.99
active1
pa0
profanity0
children0
demo0
rating
abridged0
dateLastUpdatedSep 05, 2021 12:07:36 AM

Record Information

Last File Modification TimeSep 30, 2020 03:02:46 AM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeSep 18, 2021 02:29:36 AM

MARC Record

LEADER03209nim a22004815a 4500
001MWT13323566
003MWT
00520200911052020.1
006m     o  h        
007sz zunnnnnuned
007cr nnannnuuuua
008200904s2020    xxunnn es      f  n eng d
020 |a 9781488210211 (sound recording : hoopla Audio Book)
020 |a 1488210217 (sound recording : hoopla Audio Book)
02842|a MWT13323566
029 |a https://d2snwnmzyr8jue.cloudfront.net/hpc_9781488210211_180.jpeg
037 |a 13323566|b Midwest Tape, LLC|n http://www.midwesttapes.com
040 |a Midwest|e rda
08204|a 813.6|2 23
099 |a eAudiobook hoopla
1001 |a Kim, Nancy Jooyoun,|e author.
24514|a The last story of Mina Lee|h [electronic resource] /|c Nancy Jooyoun Kim.
250 |a Unabridged.
264 1|a [United States] :|b Harlequin Audio,|c 2020.
264 2|b Made available through hoopla
300 |a 1 online resource (1 audio file (10hr., 43 min.)) :|b digital.
336 |a spoken word|b spw|2 rdacontent
337 |a computer|b c|2 rdamedia
338 |a online resource|b cr|2 rdacarrier
344 |a digital|h digital recording|2 rda
347 |a data file|2 rda
506 |a Digital content provided by hoopla.
5110 |a Read by Greta Jung.
520 |a An electrifying debut novel for fans of Celeste Ng and Jean Kwok, The Last Story of Mina Lee is a poignant mother-daughter story and surprising mystery that illustrates the devastating realities of being an immigrant in America. Margot Lee's mother, Mina, isn't returning her calls. It's a mystery to twenty-six-year-old Margot, until she visits her childhood apartment in Koreatown, LA, and finds that her mother has suspiciously died. The discovery sends Margot digging through the past, unraveling the tenuous invisible strings that held together her single mother's life as a Korean War orphan and an undocumented immigrant, only to realize how little she truly knew about her mother. Interwoven with Margot's present-day search is Mina's story of her first years in Los Angeles as she navigates the promises and perils of the American myth of reinvention. Barely earning a living by stocking shelves at a Korean grocery store, the last thing Mina ever expects is to fall in love. But that love story sets in motion a string of events that have consequences for years to come, leading up to the truth of what happened the night of her death. Told through the intimate lens of a mother and daughter who have struggled all their lives to understand each other, The Last Story of Mina Lee is both a gripping page-turner and a profound family saga that explores identity, secrets and what it truly means to belong.
538 |a Mode of access: World Wide Web.
650 0|a Mothers and daughters|v Fiction.
650 0|a Mothers|x Death|v Fiction.
650 0|a Family secrets|v Fiction.
650 0|a Koreans|z California|v Fiction.
7001 |a Jung, Greta,|e narrator.
7102 |a hoopla digital.
85640|u https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/13323566?utm_source=MARC|z Instantly available on hoopla.
85642|z Cover image|u https://d2snwnmzyr8jue.cloudfront.net/hpc_9781488210211_180.jpeg