Curbside pickup and returns now available at 26 locations. View updated hours of operations here.

Awkward: the science of why we're socially awkward and why that's awesome
(eBook)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Author:
Published:
[United States] : Harper Collins Publishers, 2017.
Content Description:
1 online resource
Status:
Description

In the vein of Quiet and The Geeks Shall Inherit the Earth comes this illuminating look at what it means to be awkward-and how the same traits that make us socially anxious and cause embarrassing faux pas also provide the seeds for extraordinary success. As humans, we all need to belong. While modern social life can make even the best of us feel gawky, for roughly one in five of us, navigating its challenges is consistently overwhelming-an ongoing maze without an exit. Often unable to grasp social cues or master the skills and grace necessary for smooth interaction, we feel out of sync with those around us. Though individuals may recognize their awkward disposition, they rarely understand why they are like this-which makes it hard for them to know how to adjust their behavior. Psychologist and interpersonal relationship expert Ty Tashiro knows what it's like to be awkward. Growing up, he could do math in his head and memorize the earned run averages of every National League starting pitcher. But he couldn't pour liquids without spilling and habitually forgot to bring his glove to Little League games. In Awkward, he unpacks decades of research into human intelligence, neuroscience, personality, and sociology to help us better understand this widely shared trait. He explores its nature vs. nurture origins, considers how the awkward view the world, and delivers a welcome counterintuitive message: the same characteristics that make people socially clumsy can be harnessed to produce remarkable achievements. Interweaving the latest research with personal tales and real world examples, Awkward offers reassurance and provides valuable insights into how we can embrace our personal quirks and unique talents to harness our awesome potential-and more comfortably navigate our complex world.

Also in This Series
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
Format:
eBook
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780062429179 (electronic bk.), 0062429175 (electronic bk.)

Notes

Restrictions on Access
Digital content provided by hoopla.
Description
In the vein of Quiet and The Geeks Shall Inherit the Earth comes this illuminating look at what it means to be awkward-and how the same traits that make us socially anxious and cause embarrassing faux pas also provide the seeds for extraordinary success. As humans, we all need to belong. While modern social life can make even the best of us feel gawky, for roughly one in five of us, navigating its challenges is consistently overwhelming-an ongoing maze without an exit. Often unable to grasp social cues or master the skills and grace necessary for smooth interaction, we feel out of sync with those around us. Though individuals may recognize their awkward disposition, they rarely understand why they are like this-which makes it hard for them to know how to adjust their behavior. Psychologist and interpersonal relationship expert Ty Tashiro knows what it's like to be awkward. Growing up, he could do math in his head and memorize the earned run averages of every National League starting pitcher. But he couldn't pour liquids without spilling and habitually forgot to bring his glove to Little League games. In Awkward, he unpacks decades of research into human intelligence, neuroscience, personality, and sociology to help us better understand this widely shared trait. He explores its nature vs. nurture origins, considers how the awkward view the world, and delivers a welcome counterintuitive message: the same characteristics that make people socially clumsy can be harnessed to produce remarkable achievements. Interweaving the latest research with personal tales and real world examples, Awkward offers reassurance and provides valuable insights into how we can embrace our personal quirks and unique talents to harness our awesome potential-and more comfortably navigate our complex world.
System Details
Mode of access: World Wide Web.
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Tashiro, T. (2017). Awkward: the science of why we're socially awkward and why that's awesome. [United States]: Harper Collins Publishers.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Tashiro, Ty. 2017. Awkward: The Science of Why We're Socially Awkward and Why That's Awesome. [United States]: Harper Collins Publishers.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Tashiro, Ty, Awkward: The Science of Why We're Socially Awkward and Why That's Awesome. [United States]: Harper Collins Publishers, 2017.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Tashiro, Ty. Awkward: The Science of Why We're Socially Awkward and Why That's Awesome. [United States]: Harper Collins Publishers, 2017. Web.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
8410f3fa-bda8-e86d-98d5-bd7830b71c47
Go To GroupedWork

Hoopla Extract Information

hooplaId12458293
titleAwkward
kindEBOOK
price3.99
active1
pa0
profanity0
children0
demo0
rating
abridged0
dateLastUpdatedJun 03, 2020 12:10:03 AM

Record Information

Last File Modification TimeSep 01, 2020 11:47:43 PM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeNov 28, 2020 11:07:01 PM

MARC Record

LEADER03344nam a22004215a 4500
001MWT12458293
003MWT
00520190928025309.0
006m     o  d        
007cr cn|||||||||
008190906s2017    xxu    es     000 0 eng d
020 |a 9780062429179 (electronic bk.)
020 |a 0062429175 (electronic bk.)
02842|a MWT12458293
029 |a https://d2snwnmzyr8jue.cloudfront.net/hpc_9780062429179_180.jpeg
037 |a 12458293|b Midwest Tape, LLC|n http://www.midwesttapes.com
040 |a Midwest|e rda
08204|a 302.3|2 23
099 |a eBook hoopla
1001 |a Tashiro, Ty,|e author.
24510|a Awkward :|b the science of why we're socially awkward and why that's awesome|h [electronic resource] /|c Ty Tashiro, PhD.
264 1|a [United States] :|b Harper Collins Publishers,|c 2017.
264 2|b Made available through hoopla
300 |a 1 online resource
336 |a text|b txt|2 rdacontent
337 |a computer|b c|2 rdamedia
338 |a online resource|b cr|2 rdacarrier
347 |a text file|2 rda
506 |a Digital content provided by hoopla.
520 |a In the vein of Quiet and The Geeks Shall Inherit the Earth comes this illuminating look at what it means to be awkward-and how the same traits that make us socially anxious and cause embarrassing faux pas also provide the seeds for extraordinary success. As humans, we all need to belong. While modern social life can make even the best of us feel gawky, for roughly one in five of us, navigating its challenges is consistently overwhelming-an ongoing maze without an exit. Often unable to grasp social cues or master the skills and grace necessary for smooth interaction, we feel out of sync with those around us. Though individuals may recognize their awkward disposition, they rarely understand why they are like this-which makes it hard for them to know how to adjust their behavior. Psychologist and interpersonal relationship expert Ty Tashiro knows what it's like to be awkward. Growing up, he could do math in his head and memorize the earned run averages of every National League starting pitcher. But he couldn't pour liquids without spilling and habitually forgot to bring his glove to Little League games. In Awkward, he unpacks decades of research into human intelligence, neuroscience, personality, and sociology to help us better understand this widely shared trait. He explores its nature vs. nurture origins, considers how the awkward view the world, and delivers a welcome counterintuitive message: the same characteristics that make people socially clumsy can be harnessed to produce remarkable achievements. Interweaving the latest research with personal tales and real world examples, Awkward offers reassurance and provides valuable insights into how we can embrace our personal quirks and unique talents to harness our awesome potential-and more comfortably navigate our complex world.
538 |a Mode of access: World Wide Web.
650 0|a Social interaction.
650 0|a Social skills.
650 0|a Interpersonal relations.
650 0|a Electronic books.
7102 |a hoopla digital.
85640|u https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/12458293?utm_source=MARC|z Instantly available on hoopla.
85642|z Cover image|u https://d2snwnmzyr8jue.cloudfront.net/hpc_9780062429179_180.jpeg