Curbside pickup and returns now available at 26 locations. View updated hours of operations here.

Sword and verse
(eBook)

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Series:
Sword and verse volume 1.
Published:
[United States] : Harper Collins Publishers, 2016.
Content Description:
1 online resource
Status:
Description

In a sweeping fantasy that award-winning author Franny Billingsley calls "fascinating and unique," debut author Kathy MacMillan weaves palace intrigue and epic world-building to craft a tale for fans of Rae Carson and Megan Whalen Turner. Raisa was just a child when she was sold into slavery in the kingdom of Qilara. Before she was taken away, her father had been adamant that she learn to read and write. But where she now lives, literacy is a capital offense for all but the nobility. The written language is closely protected, and only the King, Prince, Tutor, and Tutor-in-training are allowed to learn its very highest form. So when she is plucked from her menial labor and selected to replace the last Tutor-in-training who was executed, Raisa knows that betraying any hint of her past could mean death. Keeping her secret guarded is hard enough, but the romance that's been blossoming between her and Prince Mati isn't helping matters. Then Raisa is approached by the Resistance-an underground rebel army-to help liberate the city's slaves. She wants to free her people, but that would mean aiding a war against Mati. As Raisa struggles with what to do, she discovers a secret that the Qilarites have been hiding for centuries-one that, if uncovered, could bring the kingdom to its knees.

Also in This Series
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
Format:
eBook
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780062324634 (electronic bk.), 0062324632 (electronic bk.)

Notes

Restrictions on Access
Digital content provided by hoopla.
Description
In a sweeping fantasy that award-winning author Franny Billingsley calls "fascinating and unique," debut author Kathy MacMillan weaves palace intrigue and epic world-building to craft a tale for fans of Rae Carson and Megan Whalen Turner. Raisa was just a child when she was sold into slavery in the kingdom of Qilara. Before she was taken away, her father had been adamant that she learn to read and write. But where she now lives, literacy is a capital offense for all but the nobility. The written language is closely protected, and only the King, Prince, Tutor, and Tutor-in-training are allowed to learn its very highest form. So when she is plucked from her menial labor and selected to replace the last Tutor-in-training who was executed, Raisa knows that betraying any hint of her past could mean death. Keeping her secret guarded is hard enough, but the romance that's been blossoming between her and Prince Mati isn't helping matters. Then Raisa is approached by the Resistance-an underground rebel army-to help liberate the city's slaves. She wants to free her people, but that would mean aiding a war against Mati. As Raisa struggles with what to do, she discovers a secret that the Qilarites have been hiding for centuries-one that, if uncovered, could bring the kingdom to its knees.
System Details
Mode of access: World Wide Web.
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

MacMillan, K. (2016). Sword and verse. [United States]: Harper Collins Publishers.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

MacMillan, Kathy, 1975-. 2016. Sword and Verse. [United States]: Harper Collins Publishers.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

MacMillan, Kathy, 1975-, Sword and Verse. [United States]: Harper Collins Publishers, 2016.

MLA Citation (style guide)

MacMillan, Kathy. Sword and Verse. [United States]: Harper Collins Publishers, 2016. Web.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
23021a56-d146-d1a9-e80c-e5650b9deea1
Go To GroupedWork

Hoopla Extract Information

hooplaId12349311
titleSword and Verse
kindEBOOK
price2.49
active1
pa0
profanity0
children0
demo0
rating
abridged0
dateLastUpdatedAug 29, 2020 12:08:25 AM

Record Information

Last File Modification TimeSep 02, 2020 12:41:42 AM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeMay 17, 2021 02:27:13 AM

MARC Record

LEADER02853nam a22004455a 4500
001MWT12349311
003MWT
00520190511073639.0
006m     o  d        
007cr cn|||||||||
008190412s2016    xxu    es     000 1 eng d
020 |a 9780062324634 (electronic bk.)
020 |a 0062324632 (electronic bk.)
02842|a MWT12349311
029 |a https://d2snwnmzyr8jue.cloudfront.net/hpc_9780062324634_180.jpeg
037 |a 12349311|b Midwest Tape, LLC|n http://www.midwesttapes.com
040 |a Midwest|e rda
08204|a [Fic]|2 23
099 |a eBook hoopla
1001 |a MacMillan, Kathy,|d 1975-|e author.
24510|a Sword and verse|h [electronic resource] /|c Kathy MacMillan.
264 1|a [United States] :|b Harper Collins Publishers,|c 2016.
264 2|b Made available through hoopla
300 |a 1 online resource
336 |a text|b txt|2 rdacontent
337 |a computer|b c|2 rdamedia
338 |a online resource|b cr|2 rdacarrier
347 |a text file|2 rda
506 |a Digital content provided by hoopla.
520 |a In a sweeping fantasy that award-winning author Franny Billingsley calls "fascinating and unique," debut author Kathy MacMillan weaves palace intrigue and epic world-building to craft a tale for fans of Rae Carson and Megan Whalen Turner. Raisa was just a child when she was sold into slavery in the kingdom of Qilara. Before she was taken away, her father had been adamant that she learn to read and write. But where she now lives, literacy is a capital offense for all but the nobility. The written language is closely protected, and only the King, Prince, Tutor, and Tutor-in-training are allowed to learn its very highest form. So when she is plucked from her menial labor and selected to replace the last Tutor-in-training who was executed, Raisa knows that betraying any hint of her past could mean death. Keeping her secret guarded is hard enough, but the romance that's been blossoming between her and Prince Mati isn't helping matters. Then Raisa is approached by the Resistance-an underground rebel army-to help liberate the city's slaves. She wants to free her people, but that would mean aiding a war against Mati. As Raisa struggles with what to do, she discovers a secret that the Qilarites have been hiding for centuries-one that, if uncovered, could bring the kingdom to its knees.
538 |a Mode of access: World Wide Web.
650 0|a Slaves|v Fiction.
650 0|a Secrets|v Fiction.
650 0|a Interpersonal relations|v Fiction.
650 0|a Young adult fiction.
650 0|a Electronic books.
655 7|a Fantasy fiction.|2 gsafd
7102 |a hoopla digital.
85640|u https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/12349311|z Instantly available on hoopla.
85642|z Cover image|u https://d2snwnmzyr8jue.cloudfront.net/hpc_9780062324634_180.jpeg