We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

The best place to work: the art and science of creating an extraordinary workplace
(eAudiobook)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Contributors:
Published:
[United States] : Gildan Media, 2015.
Content Description:
1 online resource (1 audio file (8hr., 15 min.)) : digital.
Status:
Description

For readers of Malcolm Gladwell, Daniel Pink, and Freakonomics, comes a captivating and surprising journey through the science of workplace excellence. Why do successful companies reward failure? What can casinos teach us about building a happy workplace? How do you design an office that enhances both attention to detail and creativity? In The Best Place to Work, award-winning psychologist Ron Friedman, Ph.D. uses the latest research from the fields of motivation, creativity, behavioral economics, neuroscience, and management to reveal what really makes us successful at work. Combining powerful stories with cutting edge findings, Friedman shows leaders at every level how they can use scientifically-proven techniques to promote smarter thinking, greater innovation, and stronger performance. Among the many surprising insights, Friedman explains how learning to think like a hostage negotiator can help you diffuse a workplace argument, why placing a fish bowl near your desk can elevate your thinking, and how incorporating strategic distractions into your schedule can help you reach smarter decisions. Along the way, the book introduces the inventor who created the cubicle, the president who brought down the world's most dangerous criminal, and the teenager who single-handedly transformed professional tennis-vivid stories that offer unexpected revelations on achieving workplace excellence. Brimming with counterintuitive insights and actionable recommendations, The Best Place to Work offers employees and executives alike game-changing advice for working smarter and turning any organization-regardless of its size, budgets, or ambitions-into an extraordinary workplace.

Also in This Series
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
Format:
eAudiobook
Edition:
Unabridged.
Language:
English
ISBN:
9781469030647 (sound recording : hoopla Audio Book), 1469030640 (sound recording : hoopla Audio Book)

Notes

Restrictions on Access
Digital content provided by hoopla.
Participants/Performers
Read by Walter Dixon.
Description
For readers of Malcolm Gladwell, Daniel Pink, and Freakonomics, comes a captivating and surprising journey through the science of workplace excellence. Why do successful companies reward failure? What can casinos teach us about building a happy workplace? How do you design an office that enhances both attention to detail and creativity? In The Best Place to Work, award-winning psychologist Ron Friedman, Ph.D. uses the latest research from the fields of motivation, creativity, behavioral economics, neuroscience, and management to reveal what really makes us successful at work. Combining powerful stories with cutting edge findings, Friedman shows leaders at every level how they can use scientifically-proven techniques to promote smarter thinking, greater innovation, and stronger performance. Among the many surprising insights, Friedman explains how learning to think like a hostage negotiator can help you diffuse a workplace argument, why placing a fish bowl near your desk can elevate your thinking, and how incorporating strategic distractions into your schedule can help you reach smarter decisions. Along the way, the book introduces the inventor who created the cubicle, the president who brought down the world's most dangerous criminal, and the teenager who single-handedly transformed professional tennis-vivid stories that offer unexpected revelations on achieving workplace excellence. Brimming with counterintuitive insights and actionable recommendations, The Best Place to Work offers employees and executives alike game-changing advice for working smarter and turning any organization-regardless of its size, budgets, or ambitions-into an extraordinary workplace.
System Details
Mode of access: World Wide Web.
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Friedman, R., & Dixon, W. (2015). The best place to work: the art and science of creating an extraordinary workplace. Unabridged. [United States]: Gildan Media.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Friedman, Ron, 1977- and Walter, Dixon. 2015. The Best Place to Work: The Art and Science of Creating an Extraordinary Workplace. [United States]: Gildan Media.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Friedman, Ron, 1977- and Walter, Dixon, The Best Place to Work: The Art and Science of Creating an Extraordinary Workplace. [United States]: Gildan Media, 2015.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Friedman, Ron, and Walter Dixon. The Best Place to Work: The Art and Science of Creating an Extraordinary Workplace. Unabridged. [United States]: Gildan Media, 2015.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
e269d07a-45f6-044c-21e6-a2d13766fd8a
Go To GroupedWork

Hoopla Extract Information

hooplaId12161510
titleThe Best Place to Work
kindAUDIOBOOK
price2.16
active1
pa0
profanity0
children0
demo0
rating
abridged0
dateLastUpdatedMay 01, 2022 12:22:27 AM

Record Information

Last File Modification TimeSep 01, 2020 11:31:07 PM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeJul 01, 2022 02:05:30 AM

MARC Record

LEADER03585nim a22005055a 4500
001MWT12161510
003MWT
00520191125034343.0
006m     o  h        
007sz zunnnnnuned
007cr nnannnuuuua
008180629s2015    xxunnn es      z  n eng d
020 |a 9781469030647 (sound recording : hoopla Audio Book)
020 |a 1469030640 (sound recording : hoopla Audio Book)
02842|a MWT12161510
029 |a https://d2snwnmzyr8jue.cloudfront.net/gil_9781469030647_180.jpeg
037 |a 12161510|b Midwest Tape, LLC|n http://www.midwesttapes.com
040 |a Midwest|e rda
08204|a 658.3|2 23
099 |a eAudiobook hoopla
1001 |a Friedman, Ron,|d 1977-|e author.
24514|a The best place to work :|b the art and science of creating an extraordinary workplace|h [electronic resource] /|c Ron Friedman, PhD.
250 |a Unabridged.
264 1|a [United States] :|b Gildan Media,|c 2015.
264 2|b Made available through hoopla
300 |a 1 online resource (1 audio file (8hr., 15 min.)) :|b digital.
336 |a spoken word|b spw|2 rdacontent
337 |a computer|b c|2 rdamedia
338 |a online resource|b cr|2 rdacarrier
344 |a digital|h digital recording|2 rda
347 |a data file|2 rda
506 |a Digital content provided by hoopla.
5110 |a Read by Walter Dixon.
520 |a For readers of Malcolm Gladwell, Daniel Pink, and Freakonomics, comes a captivating and surprising journey through the science of workplace excellence. Why do successful companies reward failure? What can casinos teach us about building a happy workplace? How do you design an office that enhances both attention to detail and creativity? In The Best Place to Work, award-winning psychologist Ron Friedman, Ph.D. uses the latest research from the fields of motivation, creativity, behavioral economics, neuroscience, and management to reveal what really makes us successful at work. Combining powerful stories with cutting edge findings, Friedman shows leaders at every level how they can use scientifically-proven techniques to promote smarter thinking, greater innovation, and stronger performance. Among the many surprising insights, Friedman explains how learning to think like a hostage negotiator can help you diffuse a workplace argument, why placing a fish bowl near your desk can elevate your thinking, and how incorporating strategic distractions into your schedule can help you reach smarter decisions. Along the way, the book introduces the inventor who created the cubicle, the president who brought down the world's most dangerous criminal, and the teenager who single-handedly transformed professional tennis-vivid stories that offer unexpected revelations on achieving workplace excellence. Brimming with counterintuitive insights and actionable recommendations, The Best Place to Work offers employees and executives alike game-changing advice for working smarter and turning any organization-regardless of its size, budgets, or ambitions-into an extraordinary workplace.
538 |a Mode of access: World Wide Web.
650 0|a Employee motivation.
650 0|a Performance.
650 0|a Quality of work life.
650 0|a Work environment.
650 0|a Corporate culture.
650 0|a Organizational behavior.
7001 |a Dixon, Walter,|e narrator.
7102 |a hoopla digital.
85640|u https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/12161510?utm_source=MARC|z Instantly available on hoopla.
85642|z Cover image|u https://d2snwnmzyr8jue.cloudfront.net/gil_9781469030647_180.jpeg