Curbside pickup and returns now available at 26 locations. View updated hours of operations here.

The darkest hour: a novel
(eBook)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Series:
Darkest hour volume 1.
Published:
[United States] : Harper Collins Publishers, 2014.
Content Description:
1 online resource
Status:
Description

A crackling, highly imaginative thriller debut in the vein of W. E. B. Griffin and Philip Kerr, set in German-occupied London at the close of World War II, in which a hardened British detective jeopardizes his own life to save an innocent soul and achieve the impossible-redemption. London, 1946. The Nazis have conquered the British, and now occupy Great Britain, using brutality and fear to control its citizens. John Henry Rossett, a decorated British war hero and former police sergeant, has been reassigned to the Office of Jewish Affairs. He now answers to the SS, one of the most powerful and terrifying organizations in the Third Reich. Rossett is a man accustomed to obeying commands, but he's now assigned a job he did not ask for-and cannot refuse: rounding up Jews for deportation, including men and women he's known his whole life. But they are not the only victims, for the war took Rossett's wife and son, and shattered his own humanity. Then he finds Jacob, a young Jewish child, hiding in an abandoned building, who touches something in Rossett that he thought was long dead. Determined to save the innocent boy, Rossett takes him on the run, with the Nazis in pursuit. But they are not the only hunters following his trail. The Royalist Resistance and the Communists want him, too. Each faction has its own agenda, and Rossett will soon learn that none of them can be trusted . . . and all of them are deadly.

Also in This Series
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
Format:
eBook
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780062339386 (electronic bk.), 0062339389 (electronic bk.)

Notes

Restrictions on Access
Digital content provided by hoopla.
Description
A crackling, highly imaginative thriller debut in the vein of W. E. B. Griffin and Philip Kerr, set in German-occupied London at the close of World War II, in which a hardened British detective jeopardizes his own life to save an innocent soul and achieve the impossible-redemption. London, 1946. The Nazis have conquered the British, and now occupy Great Britain, using brutality and fear to control its citizens. John Henry Rossett, a decorated British war hero and former police sergeant, has been reassigned to the Office of Jewish Affairs. He now answers to the SS, one of the most powerful and terrifying organizations in the Third Reich. Rossett is a man accustomed to obeying commands, but he's now assigned a job he did not ask for-and cannot refuse: rounding up Jews for deportation, including men and women he's known his whole life. But they are not the only victims, for the war took Rossett's wife and son, and shattered his own humanity. Then he finds Jacob, a young Jewish child, hiding in an abandoned building, who touches something in Rossett that he thought was long dead. Determined to save the innocent boy, Rossett takes him on the run, with the Nazis in pursuit. But they are not the only hunters following his trail. The Royalist Resistance and the Communists want him, too. Each faction has its own agenda, and Rossett will soon learn that none of them can be trusted . . . and all of them are deadly.
System Details
Mode of access: World Wide Web.
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Schumacher, T. (2014). The darkest hour: a novel. [United States]: Harper Collins Publishers.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Schumacher, Tony, 1967-. 2014. The Darkest Hour: A Novel. [United States]: Harper Collins Publishers.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Schumacher, Tony, 1967-, The Darkest Hour: A Novel. [United States]: Harper Collins Publishers, 2014.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Schumacher, Tony. The Darkest Hour: A Novel. [United States]: Harper Collins Publishers, 2014. Web.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
7676147d-c118-ce22-737c-728ed022de9c
Go To GroupedWork

Hoopla Extract Information

hooplaId12037086
titleThe Darkest Hour
kindEBOOK
price2.09
active1
pa0
profanity0
children0
demo0
rating
abridged0
dateLastUpdatedJul 22, 2021 12:08:23 AM

Record Information

Last File Modification TimeSep 02, 2020 12:45:29 AM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeOct 18, 2021 02:08:32 AM

MARC Record

LEADER03063nam a22004455a 4500
001MWT12037086
003MWT
00520190511053104.0
006m     o  d        
007cr cn|||||||||
008180126s2014    xxu    es     000 1 eng d
020 |a 9780062339386 (electronic bk.)
020 |a 0062339389 (electronic bk.)
02842|a MWT12037086
029 |a https://d2snwnmzyr8jue.cloudfront.net/hpc_9780062339386_180.jpeg
037 |a 12037086|b Midwest Tape, LLC|n http://www.midwesttapes.com
040 |a Midwest|e rda
08200|a 823/.92|2 23
099 |a eBook hoopla
1001 |a Schumacher, Tony,|d 1967-
24514|a The darkest hour :|b a novel|h [electronic resource] /|c Tony Schumacher.
264 1|a [United States] :|b Harper Collins Publishers,|c 2014.
264 2|b Made available through hoopla
300 |a 1 online resource
336 |a text|b txt|2 rdacontent
337 |a computer|b c|2 rdamedia
338 |a online resource|b cr|2 rdacarrier
347 |a text file|2 rda
506 |a Digital content provided by hoopla.
520 |a A crackling, highly imaginative thriller debut in the vein of W. E. B. Griffin and Philip Kerr, set in German-occupied London at the close of World War II, in which a hardened British detective jeopardizes his own life to save an innocent soul and achieve the impossible-redemption. London, 1946. The Nazis have conquered the British, and now occupy Great Britain, using brutality and fear to control its citizens. John Henry Rossett, a decorated British war hero and former police sergeant, has been reassigned to the Office of Jewish Affairs. He now answers to the SS, one of the most powerful and terrifying organizations in the Third Reich. Rossett is a man accustomed to obeying commands, but he's now assigned a job he did not ask for-and cannot refuse: rounding up Jews for deportation, including men and women he's known his whole life. But they are not the only victims, for the war took Rossett's wife and son, and shattered his own humanity. Then he finds Jacob, a young Jewish child, hiding in an abandoned building, who touches something in Rossett that he thought was long dead. Determined to save the innocent boy, Rossett takes him on the run, with the Nazis in pursuit. But they are not the only hunters following his trail. The Royalist Resistance and the Communists want him, too. Each faction has its own agenda, and Rossett will soon learn that none of them can be trusted . . . and all of them are deadly.
538 |a Mode of access: World Wide Web.
650 0|a Government investigators|z Great Britain|v Fiction.
650 0|a Jewish orphans|v Fiction.
650 0|a Electronic books.
651 0|a London (England)|x History|y 20th century|v Fiction.
655 7|a Alternative histories (Fiction)|2 gsafd
655 7|a Suspense fiction.|2 gsafd
7102 |a hoopla digital.
85640|u https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/12037086|z Instantly available on hoopla.
85642|z Cover image|u https://d2snwnmzyr8jue.cloudfront.net/hpc_9780062339386_180.jpeg