Curbside pickup and returns now available at 26 locations. View updated hours of operations here.

American Tapestry: the Story of the Black, White, and Multiracial Ancestors of Michelle Obama
(eBook)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published:
[United States] : Harper Collins Publishers, 2012.
Content Description:
1 online resource
Status:
Description

A remarkable history of First Lady Michelle Obama's mixed ancestry, American Tapestry by Rachel L. Swarns is nothing less than a breathtaking and expansive portrait of America itself. In this extraordinary feat of genealogical research-in the tradition of The Hemmingses of Monticello and Slaves in the Family-author Swarns, a respected Washington-based reporter for the New York Times, tells the fascinating and hitherto untold story of Ms. Obama's black, white, and multiracial ancestors; a history that the First Lady herself did not know. At once epic, provocative, and inspiring, American Tapestry is more than a true family saga; it is an illuminating mirror in which we may all see ourselves.

Also in This Series
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
Format:
eBook
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780062204653 (electronic bk.), 0062204653 (electronic bk.)

Notes

Restrictions on Access
Digital content provided by hoopla.
Description
A remarkable history of First Lady Michelle Obama's mixed ancestry, American Tapestry by Rachel L. Swarns is nothing less than a breathtaking and expansive portrait of America itself. In this extraordinary feat of genealogical research-in the tradition of The Hemmingses of Monticello and Slaves in the Family-author Swarns, a respected Washington-based reporter for the New York Times, tells the fascinating and hitherto untold story of Ms. Obama's black, white, and multiracial ancestors; a history that the First Lady herself did not know. At once epic, provocative, and inspiring, American Tapestry is more than a true family saga; it is an illuminating mirror in which we may all see ourselves.
System Details
Mode of access: World Wide Web.
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Swarns, R. L. (2012). American Tapestry: the Story of the Black, White, and Multiracial Ancestors of Michelle Obama. [United States]: Harper Collins Publishers.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Swarns, Rachel L. 2012. American Tapestry: The Story of the Black, White, and Multiracial Ancestors of Michelle Obama. [United States]: Harper Collins Publishers.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Swarns, Rachel L, American Tapestry: The Story of the Black, White, and Multiracial Ancestors of Michelle Obama. [United States]: Harper Collins Publishers, 2012.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Swarns, Rachel L. American Tapestry: The Story of the Black, White, and Multiracial Ancestors of Michelle Obama. [United States]: Harper Collins Publishers, 2012. Web.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
20cf8f08-ba74-dad4-5cb5-1f019aaa2801
Go To GroupedWork

Hoopla Extract Information

hooplaId11918083
titleAmerican Tapestry
kindEBOOK
price2.49
active1
pa0
profanity0
children0
demo0
rating
abridged0
dateLastUpdatedJun 03, 2020 12:08:31 AM

Record Information

Last File Modification TimeSep 01, 2020 11:45:54 PM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeJan 21, 2021 02:27:12 AM

MARC Record

LEADER02342nam a22004335a 4500
001MWT11918083
003MWT
00520190512084754.0
006m     o  d        
007cr cn|||||||||
008170707s2012    xxu    es     000 0 eng d
020 |a 9780062204653 (electronic bk.)
020 |a 0062204653 (electronic bk.)
02842|a MWT11918083
029 |a https://d2snwnmzyr8jue.cloudfront.net/hpc_9780062204653_180.jpeg
037 |a 11918083|b Midwest Tape, LLC|n http://www.midwesttapes.com
040 |a Midwest|e rda
08204|a 973.932092|a B|2 23
099 |a eBook hoopla
1001 |a Swarns, Rachel L.|4 aut
24510|a American Tapestry :|b the Story of the Black, White, and Multiracial Ancestors of Michelle Obama|h [electronic resource] /|c Swarns, Rachel L.
264 1|a [United States] :|b Harper Collins Publishers,|c 2012.
264 2|b Made available through hoopla
300 |a 1 online resource
336 |a text|b txt|2 rdacontent
337 |a computer|b c|2 rdamedia
338 |a online resource|b cr|2 rdacarrier
347 |a text file|2 rda
506 |a Digital content provided by hoopla.
520 |a A remarkable history of First Lady Michelle Obama's mixed ancestry, American Tapestry by Rachel L. Swarns is nothing less than a breathtaking and expansive portrait of America itself. In this extraordinary feat of genealogical research-in the tradition of The Hemmingses of Monticello and Slaves in the Family-author Swarns, a respected Washington-based reporter for the New York Times, tells the fascinating and hitherto untold story of Ms. Obama's black, white, and multiracial ancestors; a history that the First Lady herself did not know. At once epic, provocative, and inspiring, American Tapestry is more than a true family saga; it is an illuminating mirror in which we may all see ourselves.
538 |a Mode of access: World Wide Web.
60010|a Obama, Michelle,|d 1964-|x Family.
650 0|a African American families.
650 0|a African Americans|v Biography.
650 0|a Racially mixed people|z United States|v Biography.
650 0|a Electronic books.
7102 |a hoopla digital.
85640|u https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/11918083|z Instantly available on hoopla.
85642|z Cover image|u https://d2snwnmzyr8jue.cloudfront.net/hpc_9780062204653_180.jpeg