Curbside pickup and returns now available at 26 locations. View updated hours of operations here.

Awkward: the science of why we're socially awkward and why that's awesome
(eAudiobook)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Author:
Published:
[United States] : HarperAudio, 2017.
Content Description:
1 online resource (1 audio file (6hr., 58 min.)) : digital.
Status:
Description

In the vein of Quiet and The Geeks Shall Inherit the Earth comes this illuminating look at what it means to be awkward, and how the same traits that make us socially anxious and cause embarrassing faux pas also provide the seeds for extraordinary success. As humans, we all need to belong. While modern social life can make even the best of us feel gawky, for roughly one in five of us, navigating its challenges is consistently overwhelming, an ongoing maze without an exit. Often unable to grasp social cues or master the skills and grace necessary for smooth interaction, we feel out of sync with those around us. Though individuals may recognize their awkward disposition, they rarely understand why they are like this, which makes it hard for them to know how to adjust their behavior. Psychologist and interpersonal relationship expert Ty Tashiro knows what it's like to be awkward. Growing up, he could do math in his head and memorize the earned run averages of every National League starting pitcher. But he couldn't pour liquids without spilling and habitually forgot to bring his glove to Little League games. In Awkward, he unpacks decades of research into human intelligence, neuroscience, personality, and sociology to help us better understand this widely shared trait. He explores its nature vs. nurture origins, considers how the awkward view the world, and delivers a welcome counterintuitive message: the same characteristics that make people socially clumsy can be harnessed to produce remarkable achievements. Interweaving the latest research with personal tales and real world examples, Awkward offers reassurance and provides valuable insights into how we can embrace our personal quirks and unique talents to harness our awesome potential, and more comfortably navigate our complex world.

Also in This Series
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
Format:
eAudiobook
Edition:
Unabridged.
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780062659767 (sound recording : hoopla Audio Book), 0062659766 (sound recording : hoopla Audio Book)

Notes

Restrictions on Access
Digital content provided by hoopla.
Participants/Performers
Read by George Newbern.
Description
In the vein of Quiet and The Geeks Shall Inherit the Earth comes this illuminating look at what it means to be awkward, and how the same traits that make us socially anxious and cause embarrassing faux pas also provide the seeds for extraordinary success. As humans, we all need to belong. While modern social life can make even the best of us feel gawky, for roughly one in five of us, navigating its challenges is consistently overwhelming, an ongoing maze without an exit. Often unable to grasp social cues or master the skills and grace necessary for smooth interaction, we feel out of sync with those around us. Though individuals may recognize their awkward disposition, they rarely understand why they are like this, which makes it hard for them to know how to adjust their behavior. Psychologist and interpersonal relationship expert Ty Tashiro knows what it's like to be awkward. Growing up, he could do math in his head and memorize the earned run averages of every National League starting pitcher. But he couldn't pour liquids without spilling and habitually forgot to bring his glove to Little League games. In Awkward, he unpacks decades of research into human intelligence, neuroscience, personality, and sociology to help us better understand this widely shared trait. He explores its nature vs. nurture origins, considers how the awkward view the world, and delivers a welcome counterintuitive message: the same characteristics that make people socially clumsy can be harnessed to produce remarkable achievements. Interweaving the latest research with personal tales and real world examples, Awkward offers reassurance and provides valuable insights into how we can embrace our personal quirks and unique talents to harness our awesome potential, and more comfortably navigate our complex world.
System Details
Mode of access: World Wide Web.
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Tashiro, T., & Newbern, G. (2017). Awkward: the science of why we're socially awkward and why that's awesome. Unabridged. [United States]: HarperAudio.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Tashiro, Ty and George Newbern. 2017. Awkward: The Science of Why We're Socially Awkward and Why That's Awesome. [United States]: HarperAudio.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Tashiro, Ty and George Newbern, Awkward: The Science of Why We're Socially Awkward and Why That's Awesome. [United States]: HarperAudio, 2017.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Tashiro, Ty,, and George Newbern. Awkward: The Science of Why We're Socially Awkward and Why That's Awesome. Unabridged. [United States]: HarperAudio, 2017.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
8410f3fa-bda8-e86d-98d5-bd7830b71c47
Go To GroupedWork

Hoopla Extract Information

hooplaId11864244
titleAwkward Unabridged
kindAUDIOBOOK
price2.99
active1
pa0
profanity0
children0
demo0
rating
abridged0
dateLastUpdatedAug 29, 2020 12:07:12 AM

Record Information

Last File Modification TimeSep 01, 2020 11:20:29 PM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeDec 04, 2020 02:27:49 AM

MARC Record

LEADER03582nim a22004695a 4500
001MWT11864244
003MWT
00520191125112720.0
006m     o  h        
007sz zunnnnnuned
007cr nnannnuuuua
008180427s2017    xxunnn es      z  n eng d
020 |a 9780062659767 (sound recording : hoopla Audio Book)
020 |a 0062659766 (sound recording : hoopla Audio Book)
02842|a MWT11864244
029 |a https://d2snwnmzyr8jue.cloudfront.net/hpc_9780062659767_180.jpeg
037 |a 11864244|b Midwest Tape, LLC|n http://www.midwesttapes.com
040 |a Midwest|e rda
08204|a 302|2 23
099 |a eAudiobook hoopla
1001 |a Tashiro, Ty,|e author.
24510|a Awkward :|b the science of why we're socially awkward and why that's awesome|h [electronic resource] /|c Ty Tashiro.
250 |a Unabridged.
264 1|a [United States] :|b HarperAudio,|c 2017.
264 2|b Made available through hoopla
300 |a 1 online resource (1 audio file (6hr., 58 min.)) :|b digital.
336 |a spoken word|b spw|2 rdacontent
337 |a computer|b c|2 rdamedia
338 |a online resource|b cr|2 rdacarrier
344 |a digital|h digital recording|2 rda
347 |a data file|2 rda
506 |a Digital content provided by hoopla.
5110 |a Read by George Newbern.
520 |a In the vein of Quiet and The Geeks Shall Inherit the Earth comes this illuminating look at what it means to be awkward, and how the same traits that make us socially anxious and cause embarrassing faux pas also provide the seeds for extraordinary success. As humans, we all need to belong. While modern social life can make even the best of us feel gawky, for roughly one in five of us, navigating its challenges is consistently overwhelming, an ongoing maze without an exit. Often unable to grasp social cues or master the skills and grace necessary for smooth interaction, we feel out of sync with those around us. Though individuals may recognize their awkward disposition, they rarely understand why they are like this, which makes it hard for them to know how to adjust their behavior. Psychologist and interpersonal relationship expert Ty Tashiro knows what it's like to be awkward. Growing up, he could do math in his head and memorize the earned run averages of every National League starting pitcher. But he couldn't pour liquids without spilling and habitually forgot to bring his glove to Little League games. In Awkward, he unpacks decades of research into human intelligence, neuroscience, personality, and sociology to help us better understand this widely shared trait. He explores its nature vs. nurture origins, considers how the awkward view the world, and delivers a welcome counterintuitive message: the same characteristics that make people socially clumsy can be harnessed to produce remarkable achievements. Interweaving the latest research with personal tales and real world examples, Awkward offers reassurance and provides valuable insights into how we can embrace our personal quirks and unique talents to harness our awesome potential, and more comfortably navigate our complex world.
538 |a Mode of access: World Wide Web.
650 0|a Social interaction.
650 0|a Social skills.
650 0|a Interpersonal relations.
7001 |a Newbern, George,|d 1964-|e narrator.
7102 |a hoopla digital.
85640|u https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/11864244?utm_source=MARC|z Instantly available on hoopla.
85642|z Cover image|u https://d2snwnmzyr8jue.cloudfront.net/hpc_9780062659767_180.jpeg