Curbside pickup and returns now available at 26 locations. View updated hours of operations here.

The stolen child: a novel
(eAudiobook)

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(1)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Author:
Published:
[United States] : HarperAudio, 2017.
Content Description:
1 online resource (1 audio file (12hr., 47 min.)) : digital.
Status:
Description

From the author of the critically acclaimed The Mermaids Singing comes a haunting, luminous novel set on an enchanted island off the west coast of Ireland where magic, faith, and superstition pervade the inhabitants' lives and tangled relationships-perfect for fans of Eowyn Ivey, Sarah Waters, and Angela Carter. May 1959. From one side of St. Brigid's Island, the mountains of Connemara can be glimpsed on the distant mainland; from the other, the Atlantic stretches as far as the eye can see. This remote settlement, without electricity or even a harbor, has scarcely altered since its namesake saint set up a convent of stone huts centuries ago. Those who live there, including sisters Rose and Emer, are hardy and resourceful, dependent on the sea and each other for survival. Despite the island's natural beauty, it is a place that people move away from, not to-until an outspoken American, also named Brigid, arrives to claim her late uncle's cottage. Brigid has come for more than an inheritance. She's seeking a secret holy well that's rumored to grant miracles. Emer, as scarred and wary as Rose is friendly and beautiful, has good reason to believe in inexplicable powers. Despite her own strange abilities-or perhaps because of them-Emer fears that she won't be able to save her young son, Niall, from a growing threat. Yet Brigid has a gift too, even more remarkable than Emer's. As months pass and Brigid carves out a place on the island and in the sisters' lives, a complicated web of betrayal, fear, and desire culminates in one shocking night that will change the island, and its inhabitants, forever. Steeped in Irish history and lore, The Stolen Child is a mesmerizing descent into old world beliefs, and a captivating exploration of desire, myth, motherhood, and love in all its forms. Steeped in dark Irish mythology,

Also in This Series
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
Format:
eAudiobook
Edition:
Unabridged.
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780062669759 (sound recording : hoopla Audio Book), 0062669753 (sound recording : hoopla Audio Book)

Notes

Restrictions on Access
Digital content provided by hoopla.
Participants/Performers
Performed by Caroline Lennon.
Description
From the author of the critically acclaimed The Mermaids Singing comes a haunting, luminous novel set on an enchanted island off the west coast of Ireland where magic, faith, and superstition pervade the inhabitants' lives and tangled relationships-perfect for fans of Eowyn Ivey, Sarah Waters, and Angela Carter. May 1959. From one side of St. Brigid's Island, the mountains of Connemara can be glimpsed on the distant mainland; from the other, the Atlantic stretches as far as the eye can see. This remote settlement, without electricity or even a harbor, has scarcely altered since its namesake saint set up a convent of stone huts centuries ago. Those who live there, including sisters Rose and Emer, are hardy and resourceful, dependent on the sea and each other for survival. Despite the island's natural beauty, it is a place that people move away from, not to-until an outspoken American, also named Brigid, arrives to claim her late uncle's cottage. Brigid has come for more than an inheritance. She's seeking a secret holy well that's rumored to grant miracles. Emer, as scarred and wary as Rose is friendly and beautiful, has good reason to believe in inexplicable powers. Despite her own strange abilities-or perhaps because of them-Emer fears that she won't be able to save her young son, Niall, from a growing threat. Yet Brigid has a gift too, even more remarkable than Emer's. As months pass and Brigid carves out a place on the island and in the sisters' lives, a complicated web of betrayal, fear, and desire culminates in one shocking night that will change the island, and its inhabitants, forever. Steeped in Irish history and lore, The Stolen Child is a mesmerizing descent into old world beliefs, and a captivating exploration of desire, myth, motherhood, and love in all its forms. Steeped in dark Irish mythology,
System Details
Mode of access: World Wide Web.
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Carey, L., & Lennon, C. (2017). The stolen child: a novel. Unabridged. [United States]: HarperAudio.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Carey, Lisa and Caroline, Lennon. 2017. The Stolen Child: A Novel. [United States]: HarperAudio.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Carey, Lisa and Caroline, Lennon, The Stolen Child: A Novel. [United States]: HarperAudio, 2017.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Carey, Lisa,, and Caroline Lennon. The Stolen Child: A Novel. Unabridged. [United States]: HarperAudio, 2017.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
953e8afc-fe97-2a01-a611-954e0f03cd82
Go To GroupedWork

Hoopla Extract Information

hooplaId11765682
titleThe Stolen Child Unabridged
kindAUDIOBOOK
price2.99
active1
pa0
profanity0
children0
demo0
rating
abridged0
dateLastUpdatedJun 19, 2020 12:08:41 AM

Record Information

Last File Modification TimeDec 03, 2020 02:56:52 AM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeMar 07, 2021 03:12:14 AM

MARC Record

LEADER03679nim a22004935a 4500
001MWT11765682
003MWT
00520191125020229.0
006m     o  h        
007sz zunnnnnuned
007cr nnannnuuuua
008180209s2017    xxunnn es      f  n eng d
020 |a 9780062669759 (sound recording : hoopla Audio Book)
020 |a 0062669753 (sound recording : hoopla Audio Book)
02842|a MWT11765682
029 |a https://d2snwnmzyr8jue.cloudfront.net/hpc_9780062669759_180.jpeg
037 |a 11765682|b Midwest Tape, LLC|n http://www.midwesttapes.com
040 |a Midwest|e rda
08204|a 813/.54|2 23
099 |a eAudiobook hoopla
1001 |a Carey, Lisa,|e author.
24514|a The stolen child :|b a novel|h [electronic resource] /|c Lisa Carey.
250 |a Unabridged.
264 1|a [United States] :|b HarperAudio,|c 2017.
264 2|b Made available through hoopla
300 |a 1 online resource (1 audio file (12hr., 47 min.)) :|b digital.
336 |a spoken word|b spw|2 rdacontent
337 |a computer|b c|2 rdamedia
338 |a online resource|b cr|2 rdacarrier
344 |a digital|h digital recording|2 rda
347 |a data file|2 rda
506 |a Digital content provided by hoopla.
5110 |a Performed by Caroline Lennon.
520 |a From the author of the critically acclaimed The Mermaids Singing comes a haunting, luminous novel set on an enchanted island off the west coast of Ireland where magic, faith, and superstition pervade the inhabitants' lives and tangled relationships-perfect for fans of Eowyn Ivey, Sarah Waters, and Angela Carter. May 1959. From one side of St. Brigid's Island, the mountains of Connemara can be glimpsed on the distant mainland; from the other, the Atlantic stretches as far as the eye can see. This remote settlement, without electricity or even a harbor, has scarcely altered since its namesake saint set up a convent of stone huts centuries ago. Those who live there, including sisters Rose and Emer, are hardy and resourceful, dependent on the sea and each other for survival. Despite the island's natural beauty, it is a place that people move away from, not to-until an outspoken American, also named Brigid, arrives to claim her late uncle's cottage. Brigid has come for more than an inheritance. She's seeking a secret holy well that's rumored to grant miracles. Emer, as scarred and wary as Rose is friendly and beautiful, has good reason to believe in inexplicable powers. Despite her own strange abilities-or perhaps because of them-Emer fears that she won't be able to save her young son, Niall, from a growing threat. Yet Brigid has a gift too, even more remarkable than Emer's. As months pass and Brigid carves out a place on the island and in the sisters' lives, a complicated web of betrayal, fear, and desire culminates in one shocking night that will change the island, and its inhabitants, forever. Steeped in Irish history and lore, The Stolen Child is a mesmerizing descent into old world beliefs, and a captivating exploration of desire, myth, motherhood, and love in all its forms. Steeped in dark Irish mythology,
538 |a Mode of access: World Wide Web.
650 0|a Islands|z Ireland|v Fiction.
650 0|a Sisters|z Ireland|v Fiction.
650 0|a Americans|z Ireland|v Fiction.
650 0|a Heiresses|z Ireland|v Fiction.
650 0|a Holy wells|z Ireland|v Fiction.
7001 |a Lennon, Caroline,|e narrator.
7102 |a hoopla digital.
85640|u https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/11765682?utm_source=MARC|z Instantly available on hoopla.
85642|z Cover image|u https://d2snwnmzyr8jue.cloudfront.net/hpc_9780062669759_180.jpeg