Curbside pickup and returns now available at 26 locations. View updated hours of operations here.

The last magazine: a novel
(eAudiobook)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published:
[United States] : Blackstone Publishing, 2014.
Content Description:
1 online resource (1 audio file (9hr., 10 min.)) : digital.
Status:
Description

A posthumous debut novel-wry, wise, and outrageous-from award-winning journalist Michael Hastings, based on his experiences working for Newsweek The year is 2002. Weekly news magazines dominate the political agenda in New York and Washington. A young journalist named Michael M. Hastings is an intern at the Magazine, wet behind the ears, the only one in the office who has actually read his coworkers' books. He will stop at nothing to turn his internship into a full-time position and has figured out just who to impress: Nishant Patel, the international editor, and Sanders Berman, managing editor-both vying for the job of editor-in-chief. While Berman and Nishant try to one-up each other pontificating on cable news, A. E. Peoria-the one reporter seemingly doing any work-is having a career crisis. He has just returned from Chad, where instead of reporting on the genocide, he was told by his editors to focus on mobile-phone outsourcing, as it's more relevant. Then suddenly, the United States invades Iraq-and all hell breaks loose. As Hastings loses his naïveté about the journalism game, he must choose where his loyalties lie: with the men at the Magazine who can advance his career or with his friend in the field who is reporting the truth. The Last Magazine is the debut novel from Michael Hastings, discovered in his files after his death in June 2013. Based on Hastings' own experiences, it is funny, sharp, and fast-paced, a great book about the news game's final days in the tradition of Evelyn Waugh's Scoop, Hunter S. Thompson's The Rum Diary, and Calvin Trillin's Floater.

Also in This Series
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
Format:
eAudiobook
Edition:
Unabridged.
Language:
English
ISBN:
9781982464486 (sound recording : hoopla Audio Book), 1982464488 (sound recording : hoopla Audio Book)

Notes

Restrictions on Access
Digital content provided by hoopla.
Participants/Performers
Read by Ramiz Monsef.
Description
A posthumous debut novel-wry, wise, and outrageous-from award-winning journalist Michael Hastings, based on his experiences working for Newsweek The year is 2002. Weekly news magazines dominate the political agenda in New York and Washington. A young journalist named Michael M. Hastings is an intern at the Magazine, wet behind the ears, the only one in the office who has actually read his coworkers' books. He will stop at nothing to turn his internship into a full-time position and has figured out just who to impress: Nishant Patel, the international editor, and Sanders Berman, managing editor-both vying for the job of editor-in-chief. While Berman and Nishant try to one-up each other pontificating on cable news, A. E. Peoria-the one reporter seemingly doing any work-is having a career crisis. He has just returned from Chad, where instead of reporting on the genocide, he was told by his editors to focus on mobile-phone outsourcing, as it's more relevant. Then suddenly, the United States invades Iraq-and all hell breaks loose. As Hastings loses his naïveté about the journalism game, he must choose where his loyalties lie: with the men at the Magazine who can advance his career or with his friend in the field who is reporting the truth. The Last Magazine is the debut novel from Michael Hastings, discovered in his files after his death in June 2013. Based on Hastings' own experiences, it is funny, sharp, and fast-paced, a great book about the news game's final days in the tradition of Evelyn Waugh's Scoop, Hunter S. Thompson's The Rum Diary, and Calvin Trillin's Floater.
System Details
Mode of access: World Wide Web.
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Hastings, M., & Monsef, R. (2014). The last magazine: a novel. Unabridged. [United States]: Blackstone Publishing.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Hastings, Michael, 1980-2013 and Ramiz. Monsef. 2014. The Last Magazine: A Novel. [United States]: Blackstone Publishing.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Hastings, Michael, 1980-2013 and Ramiz. Monsef, The Last Magazine: A Novel. [United States]: Blackstone Publishing, 2014.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Hastings, Michael, and Ramiz Monsef. The Last Magazine: A Novel. Unabridged. [United States]: Blackstone Publishing, 2014.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
2434fe32-f982-9159-d648-da9b921bcd67
Go To GroupedWork

Hoopla Extract Information

hooplaId11106150
titleThe Last Magazine
kindAUDIOBOOK
price2.49
active1
pa0
profanity0
children0
demo0
rating
abridged0
dateLastUpdatedJun 16, 2020 12:08:45 AM

Record Information

Last File Modification TimeDec 03, 2020 02:56:02 AM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeDec 03, 2020 11:07:01 PM

MARC Record

LEADER03368nim a22004695a 4500
001MWT11106150
003MWT
00520191125024833.0
006m     o  h        
007sz zunnnnnuned
007cr nnannnuuuua
008150105s2014    xxunnn es      f  n eng d
020 |a 9781982464486 (sound recording : hoopla Audio Book)
020 |a 1982464488 (sound recording : hoopla Audio Book)
02842|a MWT11106150
029 |a https://d2snwnmzyr8jue.cloudfront.net/bsa_9781483015002_180.jpeg
037 |a 11106150|b Midwest Tape, LLC|n http://www.midwesttapes.com
040 |a Midwest|e rda
08204|a 813/.6|2 23
099 |a eAudiobook hoopla
1001 |a Hastings, Michael,|d 1980-2013.
24514|a The last magazine :|b a novel|h [electronic resource].
250 |a Unabridged.
264 1|a [United States] :|b Blackstone Publishing,|c 2014.
264 2|b Made available through hoopla
300 |a 1 online resource (1 audio file (9hr., 10 min.)) :|b digital.
336 |a spoken word|b spw|2 rdacontent
337 |a computer|b c|2 rdamedia
338 |a online resource|b cr|2 rdacarrier
344 |a digital|h digital recording|2 rda
347 |a data file|2 rda
506 |a Digital content provided by hoopla.
5111 |a Read by Ramiz Monsef.
520 |a A posthumous debut novel-wry, wise, and outrageous-from award-winning journalist Michael Hastings, based on his experiences working for Newsweek The year is 2002. Weekly news magazines dominate the political agenda in New York and Washington. A young journalist named Michael M. Hastings is an intern at the Magazine, wet behind the ears, the only one in the office who has actually read his coworkers' books. He will stop at nothing to turn his internship into a full-time position and has figured out just who to impress: Nishant Patel, the international editor, and Sanders Berman, managing editor-both vying for the job of editor-in-chief. While Berman and Nishant try to one-up each other pontificating on cable news, A. E. Peoria-the one reporter seemingly doing any work-is having a career crisis. He has just returned from Chad, where instead of reporting on the genocide, he was told by his editors to focus on mobile-phone outsourcing, as it's more relevant. Then suddenly, the United States invades Iraq-and all hell breaks loose. As Hastings loses his naïveté about the journalism game, he must choose where his loyalties lie: with the men at the Magazine who can advance his career or with his friend in the field who is reporting the truth. The Last Magazine is the debut novel from Michael Hastings, discovered in his files after his death in June 2013. Based on Hastings' own experiences, it is funny, sharp, and fast-paced, a great book about the news game's final days in the tradition of Evelyn Waugh's Scoop, Hunter S. Thompson's The Rum Diary, and Calvin Trillin's Floater.
538 |a Mode of access: World Wide Web.
650 0|a American periodicals|v Fiction.
650 0|a Journalism|z United States|v Fiction.
650 0|a Periodicals|x Publishing|z United States|v Fiction.
7001 |a Monsef, Ramiz.|4 nrt
7102 |a hoopla digital.
85640|u https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/11106150?utm_source=MARC|z Instantly available on hoopla.
85642|z Cover image|u https://d2snwnmzyr8jue.cloudfront.net/bsa_9781483015002_180.jpeg