We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

What the waves know

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description

In the tradition of Sue Monk Kidd and Beth Hoffman comes a compelling debut novel about a young woman's quest to find herself—and her voice—on the island where she lost both.

The tiny state of Rhode Island is home to even tinier Tillings Island—which witnessed the biggest event of Izabella Rae Haywood's life. For it was there, on Iz's sixth birthday, that her father left...and took her voice with him.

Eight years later in the summer of 1974, Iz's mother is through with social workers, psychiatrists and her daughter's silence. In one last attempt to return Iz's voice, the motley pair board the ferry to Tillings in hopes that the journey will help Izabella heal herself by piecing together splintered memories of the day her words fled.

But heartbreak is a difficult puzzle to solve, and everyone in Tillings seems to know something Iz does not. Worse, each has an opinion about Izabella's dreamer of a father, the undercurrents of whose actions have spun so many lives off course.

Now, as the island's annual Yemayá festival prepares to celebrate the ties that bind mothers to children, lovers to each other, and humankind to the sea, Izabella must unravel the tangled threads of her own history and reclaim a voice gone silent...or risk losing herself—and any chance she may have for a future—to the past.

What the Waves Know is a moving, magical novel that asks us to consider the stories which tell the truth and the stories we tell ourselves.

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
Contributors:
ISBN:
9780062413857
9780062413840
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDfe4a949d-6910-b113-be1c-f253aee624d6
Grouping Titlewhat the waves know
Grouping Authortamara valentine
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2023-01-29 03:24:26AM
Last Indexed2023-01-29 04:02:41AM

Solr Fields

accelerated_reader_point_value
0
accelerated_reader_reading_level
0
author
Valentine, Tamara
author2-role
hoopla digital
author_display
Valentine, Tamara
available_at_catalog
Arcade
Central
Southgate
detailed_location_catalog
Arcade
Central
Southgate
display_description

In the tradition of Sue Monk Kidd and Beth Hoffman comes a compelling debut novel about a young woman's quest to find herself—and her voice—on the island where she lost both.

The tiny state of Rhode Island is home to even tinier Tillings Island—which witnessed the biggest event of Izabella Rae Haywood's life. For it was there, on Iz's sixth birthday, that her father left...and took her voice with him.

Eight years later in the summer of 1974, Iz's mother is through with social workers, psychiatrists and her daughter's silence. In one last attempt to return Iz's voice, the motley pair board the ferry to Tillings in hopes that the journey will help Izabella heal herself by piecing together splintered memories of the day her words fled.

But heartbreak is a difficult puzzle to solve, and everyone in Tillings seems to know something Iz does not. Worse, each has an opinion about Izabella's dreamer of a father, the undercurrents of whose actions have spun so many lives off course.

Now, as the island's annual Yemayá festival prepares to celebrate the ties that bind mothers to children, lovers to each other, and humankind to the sea, Izabella must unravel the tangled threads of her own history and reclaim a voice gone silent...or risk losing herself—and any chance she may have for a future—to the past.

What the Waves Know is a moving, magical novel that asks us to consider the stories which tell the truth and the stories we tell ourselves.

format_catalog
Book
eBook
format_category_catalog
Books
eBook
id
fe4a949d-6910-b113-be1c-f253aee624d6
isbn
9780062413840
9780062413857
itype_catalog
Adult Fiction
last_indexed
2023-01-29T12:02:41.485Z
lexile_score
-1
literary_form
Fiction
literary_form_full
Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog
FICTION Valentine, T.
owning_library_catalog
Sacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalog
Arcade
Central
Southgate
primary_isbn
9780062413857
publishDate
2016
publisher
HarperCollins
HarperCollins Publishers
William Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers
recordtype
grouped_work
subject_facet
Electronic books
Families -- Fiction
Islands -- Fiction
Mental illness -- Fiction
Rhode Island -- Fiction
Secrecy -- Fiction
Selective mutism -- Fiction
Single-parent families -- Fiction
Teenage girls -- Fiction
Yemaja (Yoruba deity) -- Fiction
title_display
What the waves know
title_full
What the Waves Know A Novel
What the waves know / Tamara Valentine
What the waves know [electronic resource] / Tamara Valentine
title_short
What the waves know
topic_facet
Electronic books
Families
Fantasy
Fiction
Historical Fiction
Islands
Literature
Mental illness
Secrecy
Selective mutism
Single-parent families
Teenage girls
Yemaja (Yoruba deity)

Solr Details Tables

item_details

Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
overdrive:8b9cd87c-a2ac-45c0-b5a7-5229f564f877-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAvailable Online
ils:.b23994538.i73414827ArcadeFICTION Valentine, T.1falsefalseOn Shelfarcag
ils:.b23994538.i73414803CentralFICTION Valentine, T.1falsefalseOn Shelfcenag
ils:.b23994538.i73414840SouthgateFICTION Valentine, T.1falsefalseOn Shelfsouag
hoopla:MWT12309079Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeBookeBook1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/12309079?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online

record_details

Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
overdrive:8b9cd87c-a2ac-45c0-b5a7-5229f564f877eBookeBookEnglishHarperCollins2016
ils:.b23994538BookBooksFirst editionEnglishWilliam Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers[2016]326, 10 pages ; 21 cm
hoopla:MWT12309079eBookeBookEnglishHarperCollins Publishers20161 online resource

scoping_details_catalog

Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:8b9cd87c-a2ac-45c0-b5a7-5229f564f877-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b23994538.i73414827On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011
ils:.b23994538.i73414803On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011
ils:.b23994538.i73414840On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011
hoopla:MWT12309079Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse