Curbside pickup and returns now available at 26 locations. View updated hours of operations here.

What the waves know: A Novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description

In the tradition of Sue Monk Kidd and Beth Hoffman comes a compelling debut novel about a young woman's quest to find herself—and her voice—on the island where she lost both.

The tiny state of Rhode Island is home to even tinier Tillings Island—which witnessed the biggest event of Izabella Rae Haywood's life. For it was there, on Iz's sixth birthday, that her father left...and took her voice with him.

Eight years later in the summer of 1974, Iz's mother is through with social workers, psychiatrists and her daughter's silence. In one last attempt to return Iz's voice, the motley pair board the ferry to Tillings in hopes that the journey will help Izabella heal herself by piecing together splintered memories of the day her words fled.

But heartbreak is a difficult puzzle to solve, and everyone in Tillings seems to know something Iz does not. Worse, each has an opinion about Izabella's dreamer of a father, the undercurrents of whose actions have spun so many lives off course.

Now, as the island's annual Yemayá festival prepares to celebrate the ties that bind mothers to children, lovers to each other, and humankind to the sea, Izabella must unravel the tangled threads of her own history and reclaim a voice gone silent...or risk losing herself—and any chance she may have for a future—to the past.

What the Waves Know is a moving, magical novel that asks us to consider the stories which tell the truth and the stories we tell ourselves.

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
Contributors:
ISBN:
9780062413857
9780062413840
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDfe4a949d-6910-b113-be1c-f253aee624d6
Grouping Titlewhat the waves know
Grouping Authortamara valentine
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2021-05-17 02:27:13AM
Last Indexed2021-05-17 02:55:21AM
Novelist Primary ISBNnone

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorValentine, Tamara,
author2-rolehoopla digital.
author_displayValentine, Tamara
available_at_catalogArcade
Central
Southgate
detailed_location_catalogArcade
Central
Southgate
display_description

In the tradition of Sue Monk Kidd and Beth Hoffman comes a compelling debut novel about a young woman's quest to find herself—and her voice—on the island where she lost both.

The tiny state of Rhode Island is home to even tinier Tillings Island—which witnessed the biggest event of Izabella Rae Haywood's life. For it was there, on Iz's sixth birthday, that her father left...and took her voice with him.

Eight years later in the summer of 1974, Iz's mother is through with social workers, psychiatrists and her daughter's silence. In one last attempt to return Iz's voice, the motley pair board the ferry to Tillings in hopes that the journey will help Izabella heal herself by piecing together splintered memories of the day her words fled.

But heartbreak is a difficult puzzle to solve, and everyone in Tillings seems to know something Iz does not. Worse, each has an opinion about Izabella's dreamer of a father, the undercurrents of whose actions have spun so many lives off course.

Now, as the island's annual Yemayá festival prepares to celebrate the ties that bind mothers to children, lovers to each other, and humankind to the sea, Izabella must unravel the tangled threads of her own history and reclaim a voice gone silent...or risk losing herself—and any chance she may have for a future—to the past.

What the Waves Know is a moving, magical novel that asks us to consider the stories which tell the truth and the stories we tell ourselves.

format_catalogBook
eBook
format_category_catalogBooks
eBook
idfe4a949d-6910-b113-be1c-f253aee624d6
isbn9780062413840
9780062413857
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:8b9cd87c-a2ac-45c0-b5a7-5229f564f877-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
ils:.b23994538.i73414803CentralFICTION Valentine, T.1falsefalseOn Shelfcenag
ils:.b23994538.i73414840SouthgateFICTION Valentine, T.1falsefalseOn Shelfsouag
ils:.b23994538.i73414827ArcadeFICTION Valentine, T.1falsefalseOn Shelfarcag
hoopla:MWT12309079Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeBookeBook1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/12309079Available Online
itype_catalogAdult Fiction
last_indexed2021-05-17T09:55:21.794Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_catalogFICTION Valentine, T.
owning_library_catalogSacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalogArcade
Central
Southgate
primary_isbn9780062413857
publishDate2016
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
overdrive:8b9cd87c-a2ac-45c0-b5a7-5229f564f877eBookeBookEnglishWilliam Morrow Paperbacks2016
ils:.b23994538BookBooksFirst edition.EnglishWilliam Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, [2016]326, 10 pages ; 21 cm.
hoopla:MWT12309079eBookeBookEnglishHarper Collins Publishers, 2016.1 online resource
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:8b9cd87c-a2ac-45c0-b5a7-5229f564f877-2Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b23994538.i73414803On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b23994538.i73414840On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b23994538.i73414827On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
hoopla:MWT12309079Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
subject_facetElectronic books
Families -- Fiction
Islands -- Fiction
Mental illness -- Fiction
Rhode Island -- Fiction
Secrecy -- Fiction
Selective mutism -- Fiction
Single-parent families -- Fiction
Teenage girls -- Fiction
Yemaja (Yoruba deity) -- Fiction
title_displayWhat the waves know
title_fullWhat the Waves Know A Novel
What the waves know / Tamara Valentine
What the waves know [electronic resource] / Tamara Valentine
title_shortWhat the waves know
title_subA Novel
topic_facetElectronic books
Families
Fantasy
Fiction
Historical Fiction
Islands
Literature
Mental illness
Secrecy
Selective mutism
Single-parent families
Teenage girls
Yemaja (Yoruba deity)