We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

Empress of the night: a novel of Catherine the Great

Book Cover
Average Rating
Series:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
Perfect for readers of Hilary Mantel, Alison Weir, and Philippa Gregory, Empress of the Night is Eva Stachniak’s engrossing new novel, told in the voice of Catherine the Great as the Romanov monarch reflects on her ascension to the throne, her rule over the world’s greatest power, and the sacrifices that made her the most feared and commanding woman of her time.
 
A critically acclaimed historical drama and instant #1 international bestseller, The Winter Palace brilliantly reimagined the rise of Catherine the Great through the watchful eyes of her clever servant Varvara. Now, in Eva Stachniak’s enthralling new novel, Catherine takes center stage as she relives her astonishing ascension to the throne, her rule over an empire, and the sacrifices that made her the most feared and commanding woman of her time.
 
As the book opens, the charismatic monarch is in her final hours. From the fevered depths of her mind, Catherine recalls the fateful trajectory of her turbulent life: her precarious apprenticeship as Russia’s Grand Duchess, the usurpers who seek to deprive her of a crown, the friends who beg more of her than she was willing to give, and her struggle to know whom to trust and whom to deceive to ensure her survival.
 
“We quarrel about power, not about love,” Catherine would write to the great love of her life, Grigory Potemkin, but her days were balanced on the razor’s edge of choosing her head over her heart. Power, she learns, is about resolve, strategy, and direction; love must sometimes be secondary as she marshals all her strengths to steer her volatile country into a new century and beyond—to grow the Romanov empire, to amass a vast fortune, and to control a scheming court in order to become one of history’s greatest rulers.
 
Gorgeously written with vivid detail and lyrical prose, Empress of the Night is an intensely intimate novel of a woman in charge of her fortunes, who must navigate the sorrows, triumphs, and hopes of both her soul and a nation.
Praise for Empress of the Night
 
“[Eva] Stachniak’s absorbing novel opens readers’ hearts to an extraordinary and misunderstood woman. . . . Wonderfully, lyrically written, Stachniak’s story vibrates with passion, drama and intrigue. This is a feast for fans.”RT Book Reviews
 
“Stachniak’s insight into the opulent lives of Russia’s rulers continues in this reflective second novel. . . . Historical fiction fans will appreciate this personal account of a formidable and, indeed, infamous ruler.”Library Journal
 
“The book takes on a dreamlike quality. . . . Ambitious . . . moving . . . structurally complex and psychologically intense . . . vivid descriptions.”Quill & Quire
 
“Stachniak brings to life one of the most fascinating—and controversial—female rulers of all time.”DuJour
 
Empress of the Night casts light on Catherine’s life with unflinching honesty and intimacy. This fun novel of lovers, intrigue, and malicious and manipulative nobility keeps readers enthralled with every page.”Virtuoso Life
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9780553808131
9780804127394
9780553908053
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDfe43efc6-db45-5deb-91d3-6d5a25627efc
Grouping Titleempress of the night
Grouping Authoreva stachniak
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2024-05-24 02:15:05AM
Last Indexed2024-05-24 02:34:49AM

Solr Fields

accelerated_reader_point_value
0
accelerated_reader_reading_level
0
author
Stachniak, Eva, 1952-
author_display
Stachniak, Eva
available_at_catalog
Carmichael
Central
North Highlands-Antelope
detailed_location_catalog
Carmichael
Central
North Highlands-Antelope
display_description
Perfect for readers of Hilary Mantel, Alison Weir, and Philippa Gregory, Empress of the Night is Eva Stachniak’s engrossing new novel, told in the voice of Catherine the Great as the Romanov monarch reflects on her ascension to the throne, her rule over the world’s greatest power, and the sacrifices that made her the most feared and commanding woman of her time.
 
A critically acclaimed historical drama and instant #1 international bestseller, The Winter Palace brilliantly reimagined the rise of Catherine the Great through the watchful eyes of her clever servant Varvara. Now, in Eva Stachniak’s enthralling new novel, Catherine takes center stage as she relives her astonishing ascension to the throne, her rule over an empire, and the sacrifices that made her the most feared and commanding woman of her time.
 
As the book opens, the charismatic monarch is in her final hours. From the fevered depths of her mind, Catherine recalls the fateful trajectory of her turbulent life: her precarious apprenticeship as Russia’s Grand Duchess, the usurpers who seek to deprive her of a crown, the friends who beg more of her than she was willing to give, and her struggle to know whom to trust and whom to deceive to ensure her survival.
 
“We quarrel about power, not about love,” Catherine would write to the great love of her life, Grigory Potemkin, but her days were balanced on the razor’s edge of choosing her head over her heart. Power, she learns, is about resolve, strategy, and direction; love must sometimes be secondary as she marshals all her strengths to steer her volatile country into a new century and beyond—to grow the Romanov empire, to amass a vast fortune, and to control a scheming court in order to become one of history’s greatest rulers.
 
Gorgeously written with vivid detail and lyrical prose, Empress of the Night is an intensely intimate novel of a woman in charge of her fortunes, who must navigate the sorrows, triumphs, and hopes of both her soul and a nation.
Praise for Empress of the Night
 
“[Eva] Stachniak’s absorbing novel opens readers’ hearts to an extraordinary and misunderstood woman. . . . Wonderfully, lyrically written, Stachniak’s story vibrates with passion, drama and intrigue. This is a feast for fans.”RT Book Reviews
 
“Stachniak’s insight into the opulent lives of Russia’s rulers continues in this reflective second novel. . . . Historical fiction fans will appreciate this personal account of a formidable and, indeed, infamous ruler.”Library Journal
 
“The book takes on a dreamlike quality. . . . Ambitious . . . moving . . . structurally complex and psychologically intense . . . vivid descriptions.”Quill & Quire
 
“Stachniak brings to life one of the most fascinating—and controversial—female rulers of all time.”DuJour
 
Empress of the Night casts light on Catherine’s life with unflinching honesty and intimacy. This fun novel of lovers, intrigue, and malicious and manipulative nobility keeps readers enthralled with every page.”Virtuoso Life
format_catalog
Book
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_catalog
Audio Books
Books
eBook
id
fe43efc6-db45-5deb-91d3-6d5a25627efc
isbn
9780553808131
9780553908053
9780804127394
itype_catalog
Adult Fiction
last_indexed
2024-05-24T09:34:49.468Z
lexile_score
-1
literary_form
Fiction
literary_form_full
Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog
FICTION Stachniak, E.
owning_library_catalog
Sacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalog
Carmichael
Central
North Highlands-Antelope
primary_isbn
9780553808131
publishDate
2014
publisher
Bantam Books
Books on Tape
Random House Publishing Group
recordtype
grouped_work
series
Catherine
series_with_volume
Catherine|
subject_facet
Catherine -- II, -- Empress of Russia, -- 1729-1796 -- Fiction
Historical fiction
title_display
Empress of the night : a novel of Catherine the Great
title_full
Empress of the Night A Novel of Catherine the Great
Empress of the night : a novel of Catherine the Great / Eva Stachniak
title_short
Empress of the night
title_sub
a novel of Catherine the Great
topic_facet
Catherine
Fiction
Historical Fiction
Literature

Solr Details Tables

item_details

Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
overdrive:0385b327-92c5-4eaa-8a92-5181a57f22d3-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAvailable Online
overdrive:71aedc75-16d3-4730-ba1a-39fca7e998a8-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueOverDriveAvailable Online
ils:.b22718151.i69513776CarmichaelFICTION Stachniak, E.1falsefalseOn Shelfcarag
ils:.b22718151.i69513727CentralFICTION Stachniak, E.1falsefalseOn Shelfcenag
ils:.b22718151.i69513740North Highlands-AntelopeFICTION Stachniak, E.1falsefalseOn Shelfnhiag

record_details

Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
overdrive:0385b327-92c5-4eaa-8a92-5181a57f22d3eBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group2014
overdrive:71aedc75-16d3-4730-ba1a-39fca7e998a8eAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishBooks on Tape2014
ils:.b22718151BookBooksFirst editionEnglishBantam Books[2014]xiii, 378 pages ; 25 cm

scoping_details_catalog

Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:0385b327-92c5-4eaa-8a92-5181a57f22d3-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:71aedc75-16d3-4730-ba1a-39fca7e998a8-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b22718151.i69513776On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011
ils:.b22718151.i69513727On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011
ils:.b22718151.i69513740On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011