Curbside pickup and returns now available at 26 locations. View updated hours of operations here.

Empress of the night: a novel of Catherine the Great

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
Perfect for readers of Hilary Mantel, Alison Weir, and Philippa Gregory, Empress of the Night is Eva Stachniak's engrossing new novel, told in the voice of Catherine the Great as the Romanov monarch reflects on her ascension to the throne, her rule over the world's greatest power, and the sacrifices that made her the most feared and commanding woman of her time. A critically acclaimed historical drama and instant #1 international bestseller, The Winter Palace brilliantly reimagined the rise of Catherine the Great through the watchful eyes of her clever servant Varvara. Now, in Eva Stachniak's enthralling new novel, Catherine takes center stage as she relives her astonishing ascension to the throne, her rule over an empire, and the sacrifices that made her the most feared and commanding woman of her time. As the book opens, the charismatic monarch is in her final hours. From the fevered depths of her mind, Catherine recalls the fateful trajectory of her turbulent life: her precarious apprenticeship as Russia's Grand Duchess, the usurpers who seek to deprive her of a crown, the friends who beg more of her than she was willing to give, and her struggle to know whom to trust and whom to deceive to ensure her survival. "We quarrel about power, not about love," Catherine would write to the great love of her life, Grigory Potemkin, but her days were balanced on the razor's edge of choosing her head over her heart. Power, she learns, is about resolve, strategy, and direction; love must sometimes be secondary as she marshals all her strengths to steer her volatile country into a new century and beyond—to grow the Romanov empire, to amass a vast fortune, and to control a scheming court in order to become one of history's greatest rulers. Gorgeously written with vivid detail and lyrical prose, Empress of the Night is an intensely intimate novel of a woman in charge of her fortunes, who must navigate the sorrows, triumphs, and hopes of both her soul and a nation.Praise for Empress of the Night "[Eva] Stachniak's absorbing novel opens readers' hearts to an extraordinary and misunderstood woman. . . . Wonderfully, lyrically written, Stachniak's story vibrates with passion, drama and intrigue. This is a feast for fans."RT Book Reviews "Stachniak's insight into the opulent lives of Russia's rulers continues in this reflective second novel. . . . Historical fiction fans will appreciate this personal account of a formidable and, indeed, infamous ruler."Library Journal "The book takes on a dreamlike quality. . . . Ambitious . . . moving . . . structurally complex and psychologically intense . . . vivid descriptions."Quill & Quire "Stachniak brings to life one of the most fascinating—and controversial—female rulers of all time."DuJour "Empress of the Night casts light on Catherine's life with unflinching honesty and intimacy. This fun novel of lovers, intrigue, and malicious and manipulative nobility keeps readers enthralled with every page."Virtuoso LifeFrom the Hardcover edition.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9780553808131
9780804127394
9780553908053
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDfe43efc6-db45-5deb-91d3-6d5a25627efc
Grouping Titleempress of the night
Grouping Authoreva stachniak
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2020-09-18 02:33:10AM
Last Indexed2020-09-18 02:54:02AM
Novelist Primary ISBN9780553808131

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorStachniak, Eva, 1952-
author_displayStachniak, Eva
available_at_catalogCarmichael
Central
McKinley
detailed_location_catalogCarmichael
Central
McKinley
display_descriptionPerfect for readers of Hilary Mantel, Alison Weir, and Philippa Gregory, Empress of the Night is Eva Stachniak's engrossing new novel, told in the voice of Catherine the Great as the Romanov monarch reflects on her ascension to the throne, her rule over the world's greatest power, and the sacrifices that made her the most feared and commanding woman of her time.

A critically acclaimed historical drama and instant #1 international bestseller, The Winter Palace brilliantly reimagined the rise of Catherine the Great through the watchful eyes of her clever servant Varvara. Now, in Eva Stachniak's enthralling new novel, Catherine takes center stage as she relives her astonishing ascension to the throne, her rule over an empire, and the sacrifices that made her the most feared and commanding woman of her time.

As the book opens, the charismatic monarch is in her final hours. From the fevered depths of her mind, Catherine recalls the fateful trajectory of her turbulent life: her precarious apprenticeship as Russia's Grand Duchess, the usurpers who seek to deprive her of a crown, the friends who beg more of her than she was willing to give, and her struggle to know whom to trust and whom to deceive to ensure her survival.

"We quarrel about power, not about love," Catherine would write to the great love of her life, Grigory Potemkin, but her days were balanced on the razor's edge of choosing her head over her heart. Power, she learns, is about resolve, strategy, and direction; love must sometimes be secondary as she marshals all her strengths to steer her volatile country into a new century and beyond—to grow the Romanov empire, to amass a vast fortune, and to control a scheming court in order to become one of history's greatest rulers.

Gorgeously written with vivid detail and lyrical prose, Empress of the Night is an intensely intimate novel of a woman in charge of her fortunes, who must navigate the sorrows, triumphs, and hopes of both her soul and a nation.
Praise for Empress of the Night

"[Eva] Stachniak's absorbing novel opens readers' hearts to an extraordinary and misunderstood woman. . . . Wonderfully, lyrically written, Stachniak's story vibrates with passion, drama and intrigue. This is a feast for fans."RT Book Reviews

"Stachniak's insight into the opulent lives of Russia's rulers continues in this reflective second novel. . . . Historical fiction fans will appreciate this personal account of a formidable and, indeed, infamous ruler."Library Journal

"The book takes on a dreamlike quality. . . . Ambitious . . . moving . . . structurally complex and psychologically intense . . . vivid descriptions."Quill & Quire

"Stachniak brings to life one of the most fascinating—and controversial—female rulers of all time."DuJour

"Empress of the Night casts light on Catherine's life with unflinching honesty and intimacy. This fun novel of lovers, intrigue, and malicious and manipulative nobility keeps readers enthralled with every page."Virtuoso Life
From the Hardcover edition.
format_catalogBook
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_catalogAudio Books
Books
eBook
idfe43efc6-db45-5deb-91d3-6d5a25627efc
isbn9780553808131
9780553908053
9780804127394
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:0385b327-92c5-4eaa-8a92-5181a57f22d3-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
overdrive:71aedc75-16d3-4730-ba1a-39fca7e998a8-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
ils:.b22718151.i69513740McKinleyFICTION Stachniak, E.1falsefalseOn Shelfmckag
ils:.b22718151.i69513776CarmichaelFICTION Stachniak, E.1falsefalseOn Shelfcarag
ils:.b22718151.i69513727CentralFICTION Stachniak, E.1falsefalseOn Shelfcenag
itype_catalogAdult Fiction
last_indexed2020-09-18T09:54:02.469Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_catalogFICTION Stachniak, E.
owning_library_catalogSacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalogCarmichael
Central
McKinley
primary_isbn9780553808131
publishDate2014
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
overdrive:0385b327-92c5-4eaa-8a92-5181a57f22d3eBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group2014
overdrive:71aedc75-16d3-4730-ba1a-39fca7e998a8eAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishPenguin Random House Audio Publishing Group2014
ils:.b22718151BookBooksFirst edition.EnglishBantam Books, [2014]xiii, 378 pages ; 25 cm.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:0385b327-92c5-4eaa-8a92-5181a57f22d3-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:71aedc75-16d3-4730-ba1a-39fca7e998a8-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b22718151.i69513740On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b22718151.i69513776On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b22718151.i69513727On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
subject_facetCatherine -- II, -- Empress of Russia, -- 1729-1796 -- Fiction
Historical fiction
title_displayEmpress of the night : a novel of Catherine the Great
title_fullEmpress of the Night A Novel of Catherine the Great
Empress of the night : a novel of Catherine the Great / Eva Stachniak
title_shortEmpress of the night
title_suba novel of Catherine the Great
topic_facetCatherine
Fiction
Historical Fiction
Literature