We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

Soldier girls: the battles of three women at home and at war

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2014
Language:
English
Description
"A raw, intimate look at the impact of combat and the healing power of friendship" (People): the lives of three women deployed to Afghanistan and Iraq, and the effect of their military service on their personal lives and familiesnamed a best book of the year by Publishers Weekly.
"In the tradition of Adrian Nicole LeBlanc, Richard Rhodes, and other masters of literary journalism, Soldier Girls is utterly absorbing, gorgeously written, and unforgettable" (The Boston Globe). Helen Thorpe follows the lives of three women over twelve years on their paths to the military, overseas to combat, and back home...and then overseas again for two of them. These women, who are quite different in every way, become friends, and we watch their interaction and also what happens when they are separated. We see their families, their lovers, their spouses, their children. We see them work extremely hard, deal with the attentions of men on base and in war zones, and struggle to stay connected to their families back home. We see some of them drink too much, have affairs, and react to the deaths of fellow soldiers. And we see what happens to one of them when the truck she is driving hits an explosive in the road, blowing it up. She survives, but her life may never be the same again.

Deeply reported, beautifully written, and powerfully moving, Soldier Girls is "a breakthrough work...What Thorpe accomplishes in Soldier Girls is something far greater than describing the experience of women in the military. The book is a solid chunk of American history...Thorpe triumphs" (The New York Times Book Review).
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9781451668100
9781451668124
9781666602869
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDfc56ef2f-2af5-e2b9-0354-7d909de6c40f
Grouping Titlesoldier girls the battles of three women at home and at war
Grouping Authorhelen thorpe
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2024-05-28 02:13:22AM
Last Indexed2024-05-27 02:31:27AM

Solr Fields

accelerated_reader_point_value
0
accelerated_reader_reading_level
0
auth_author2
Postel, Donna
author
Thorpe, Helen, 1963-
author2-role
Postel, Donna,reader
hoopla digital
author_display
Thorpe, Helen
available_at_catalog
Arden-Dimick
Carmichael
Central
Southgate
detailed_location_catalog
Arden-Dimick
Carmichael
Central
Southgate
display_description
"A raw, intimate look at the impact of combat and the healing power of friendship" (People): the lives of three women deployed to Afghanistan and Iraq, and the effect of their military service on their personal lives and familiesnamed a best book of the year by Publishers Weekly.
"In the tradition of Adrian Nicole LeBlanc, Richard Rhodes, and other masters of literary journalism, Soldier Girls is utterly absorbing, gorgeously written, and unforgettable" (The Boston Globe). Helen Thorpe follows the lives of three women over twelve years on their paths to the military, overseas to combat, and back home...and then overseas again for two of them. These women, who are quite different in every way, become friends, and we watch their interaction and also what happens when they are separated. We see their families, their lovers, their spouses, their children. We see them work extremely hard, deal with the attentions of men on base and in war zones, and struggle to stay connected to their families back home. We see some of them drink too much, have affairs, and react to the deaths of fellow soldiers. And we see what happens to one of them when the truck she is driving hits an explosive in the road, blowing it up. She survives, but her life may never be the same again.

Deeply reported, beautifully written, and powerfully moving, Soldier Girls is "a breakthrough work...What Thorpe accomplishes in Soldier Girls is something far greater than describing the experience of women in the military. The book is a solid chunk of American history...Thorpe triumphs" (The New York Times Book Review).
format_catalog
Book
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_catalog
Audio Books
Books
eBook
id
fc56ef2f-2af5-e2b9-0354-7d909de6c40f
isbn
9781451668100
9781451668124
9781666602869
itype_catalog
Adult Book Non-Fiction
last_indexed
2024-05-27T09:31:27.030Z
lexile_score
-1
literary_form
Non Fiction
literary_form_full
Non Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog
956.704434 T519 2014
owning_library_catalog
Sacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalog
Arden-Dimick
Carmichael
Central
Southgate
primary_isbn
9781451668100
publishDate
2014
publisher
Dreamscape Media
Scribner
recordtype
grouped_work
subject_facet
Afghan War, 2001-2021 -- Campaigns
Afghan War, 2001-2021 -- Women -- United States -- Biography
Biographies
Indiana. -- National Guard -- Biography
Iraq War, 2003-2011 -- Campaigns
Iraq War, 2003-2011 -- Women -- United States -- Biography
Military
Single mothers -- United States -- Biography
United States. -- Army -- Women -- Biography
Women -- Biography
Women -- Indiana -- Biography
Women soldiers -- United States -- Biography
Women veterans -- United States -- Biography
title_display
Soldier girls : the battles of three women at home and at war
title_full
Soldier Girls : the battles of three women at home and at war [electronic resource] / Helen Thorpe
Soldier Girls The Battles of Three Women at Home and at War
Soldier girls : the battles of three women at home and at war / Helen Thorpe
title_short
Soldier girls
title_sub
the battles of three women at home and at war
topic_facet
Afghan War, 2001-2021
Biography & Autobiography
Campaigns
Iraq War, 2003-2011
Military
Nonfiction
Single mothers
Sociology
Women
Women soldiers
Women veterans

Solr Details Tables

item_details

Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
ils:.b22924784.i70283783Central956.704434 T519 20141falsefalseOn Shelfcenag
ils:.b22924784.i70283825Carmichael956.704434 T519 20141falsefalseOn Shelfcarag
ils:.b22924784.i70283795Southgate956.704434 T519 20141falsefalseOn Shelfsouag
ils:.b22924784.i70283801Arden-Dimick956.704434 T519 20141falsefalseOn Shelfardag
hoopla:MWT11185992Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/11185992?utm_source=MARC&Lid=hh4435Available Online
overdrive:5b2c063d-acbf-419b-a3d3-9014f8a5a9b3-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAvailable Online

record_details

Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
ils:.b22924784BookBooksFirst Scribner hardcover editionEnglishScribner2014xi, 397 pages ; 24 cm
hoopla:MWT11185992eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridgedEnglishDreamscape Media20141 online resource (1 audio file (15hr., 55 min.)) : digital.
overdrive:5b2c063d-acbf-419b-a3d3-9014f8a5a9b3eBookeBookEnglishScribner2014

scoping_details_catalog

Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b22924784.i70283783On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011
ils:.b22924784.i70283825On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011
ils:.b22924784.i70283795On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011
ils:.b22924784.i70283801On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011
hoopla:MWT11185992Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:5b2c063d-acbf-419b-a3d3-9014f8a5a9b3-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse