Curbside pickup and returns now available at 26 locations. View updated hours of operations here.

Doing harm: the truth about how bad medicine and lazy science leave women dismissed, misdiagnosed, and sick

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
"In this shocking, hard-hitting expose in the tradition of Naomi Klein and Barbara Ehrenreich, the editorial director of Feministing.com, reveals how gender bias infects every level of medicine and healthcare today--leading to inadequate, inappropriate, and even dangerous treatment that threatens women's lives and well-being. Modern medicine is failing women. Half of all American women suffer from at least one chronic health condition--from autoimmune disorders and asthma to depression and Alzheimer's disease--and the numbers are increasing. A wealth of research has revealed that women often exhibit different symptoms than their male counterparts, suffer disproportionately from many debilitating conditions, and may react differently to prescription drugs and other therapies. Yet more than twenty years after the law decreed that women be included in all health-related research and drug development, doctors are still operating with a lingering knowledge gap when it comes to women's health. And they're not immune to unconscious biases and stereotypes that can undermine the doctor-patient relationship. The consequences can be catastrophic: Too often, women are misdiagnosed, poorly treated, and find their complaints dismissed as "just stress" or "all in your head." Meanwhile, they're getting sicker. Maya Dusenbery brings together scientific and sociological research, interviews with experts within and outside the medical establishment, and personal stories from regular women to provide the first comprehensive, accessible look at how sexism in medicine harms women today. In addition to offering a clear-eyed explanation of the root causes of this insidious and entrenched bias and laying out its effects, she suggests concrete steps we can take to cure it. Eye-opening and long-overdue, Doing Harm is an empowering call to action for health care providers and all women"--
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
Contributors:
ISBN:
9780062470805
9781538424520
9780062470812
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDfb50bff8-8e1f-cc9f-982a-c591073c5151
Grouping Titledoing harm the truth about how bad medicine and lazy science leave women dismissed misdiagnosed and sick
Grouping Authormaya dusenbery
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2021-06-18 02:28:15AM
Last Indexed2021-06-18 03:01:01AM
Novelist Primary ISBN9780062470805

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorDusenbery, Maya,
author2-rolehoopla digital.
author_displayDusenbery, Maya
available_at_catalogBelle Cooledge
Fair Oaks
North Highlands-Antelope
North Natomas
South Natomas
detailed_location_catalogBelle Cooledge
Central
Fair Oaks
North Highlands-Antelope
North Natomas
South Natomas
display_description"In this shocking, hard-hitting expose in the tradition of Naomi Klein and Barbara Ehrenreich, the editorial director of Feministing.com, reveals how gender bias infects every level of medicine and healthcare today--leading to inadequate, inappropriate, and even dangerous treatment that threatens women's lives and well-being. Modern medicine is failing women. Half of all American women suffer from at least one chronic health condition--from autoimmune disorders and asthma to depression and Alzheimer's disease--and the numbers are increasing. A wealth of research has revealed that women often exhibit different symptoms than their male counterparts, suffer disproportionately from many debilitating conditions, and may react differently to prescription drugs and other therapies. Yet more than twenty years after the law decreed that women be included in all health-related research and drug development, doctors are still operating with a lingering knowledge gap when it comes to women's health. And they're not immune to unconscious biases and stereotypes that can undermine the doctor-patient relationship. The consequences can be catastrophic: Too often, women are misdiagnosed, poorly treated, and find their complaints dismissed as "just stress" or "all in your head." Meanwhile, they're getting sicker. Maya Dusenbery brings together scientific and sociological research, interviews with experts within and outside the medical establishment, and personal stories from regular women to provide the first comprehensive, accessible look at how sexism in medicine harms women today. In addition to offering a clear-eyed explanation of the root causes of this insidious and entrenched bias and laying out its effects, she suggests concrete steps we can take to cure it. Eye-opening and long-overdue, Doing Harm is an empowering call to action for health care providers and all women"--
format_catalogBook
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_catalogAudio Books
Books
eBook
idfb50bff8-8e1f-cc9f-982a-c591073c5151
isbn9780062470805
9780062470812
9781538424520
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:b4278cb3-5e90-4a16-92c0-1f2cf3e085f3-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook2falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
hoopla:MWT13051272Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeBookeBook1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/13051272?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online
overdrive:f7f9ad22-a577-4783-8d92-696b3476034e-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
ils:.b25333264.i78825957Fair Oaks613.04244 D972 20181falsefalseOn Shelffaiag
ils:.b25333264.i78701727South Natomas613.04244 D972 20181falsefalseOn Shelfnatag
ils:.b25333264.i78513534North Natomas613.04244 D972 20181falsefalseOn Shelfnntag
ils:.b25333264.i78720618Belle Cooledge613.04244 D972 20181falsefalseOn Shelfcooag
ils:.b25333264.i77795192North Highlands-Antelope613.04244 D972 20181falsefalseOn Shelfnhiag
ils:.b25333264.i77795209Central613.04244 D972 20181falsefalseOn Holdshelfcenag
itype_catalogAdult Book Non-Fiction
last_indexed2021-06-18T10:01:01.804Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formNon Fiction
literary_form_fullNon Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog613.04244 D972 2018
owning_library_catalogSacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalogBelle Cooledge
Central
Fair Oaks
North Highlands-Antelope
North Natomas
South Natomas
primary_isbn9780062470805
publishDate2018
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
overdrive:b4278cb3-5e90-4a16-92c0-1f2cf3e085f3eBookeBookEnglishHarperOne2018
hoopla:MWT13051272eBookeBookEnglishHarperCollins, 2018.1 online resource
overdrive:f7f9ad22-a577-4783-8d92-696b3476034eeAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishBlackstone Publishing2018
ils:.b25333264BookBooksFirst edition.EnglishHarperOne, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, [2018]390 pages ; 24 cm.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:b4278cb3-5e90-4a16-92c0-1f2cf3e085f3-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
hoopla:MWT13051272Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:f7f9ad22-a577-4783-8d92-696b3476034e-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b25333264.i78825957On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b25333264.i78701727On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b25333264.i78513534On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b25333264.i78720618On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b25333264.i77795192On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b25333264.i77795209Checked OutOn Holdshelffalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
subject_facetElectronic books
Health education
Sexism in medicine
Women -- Health and hygiene -- Research
Women -- Health and hygiene -- Sociological aspects
title_displayDoing harm : the truth about how bad medicine and lazy science leave women dismissed, misdiagnosed, and sick
title_fullDoing Harm The Truth About How Bad Medicine and Lazy Science Leave Women Dismissed, Misdiagnosed, and Sick
Doing Harm The Truth about How Bad Medicine and Lazy Science Leave Women Dismissed, Misdiagnosed, and Sick
Doing harm : the truth about how bad medicine and lazy science leave women dismissed, misdiagnosed, and sick / Maya Dusenbery
Doing harm : the truth about how bad medicine and lazy science leave women dismissed, misdiagnosed, and sick [electronic resource] / Maya Dusenbery
title_shortDoing harm
title_subthe truth about how bad medicine and lazy science leave women dismissed, misdiagnosed, and sick
topic_facetElectronic books
Health & Fitness
Health and hygiene
Health education
Medical
Nonfiction
Research
Sexism in medicine
Sociological aspects
Sociology
Women
Women's Studies