We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

Doing harm: the truth about how bad medicine and lazy science leave women dismissed, misdiagnosed, and sick

Book Cover
Your Rating: 0 stars
Star rating for Doing harm

Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Publication Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English

Description

"In this shocking, hard-hitting expose in the tradition of Naomi Klein and Barbara Ehrenreich, the editorial director of Feministing.com, reveals how gender bias infects every level of medicine and healthcare today--leading to inadequate, inappropriate, and even dangerous treatment that threatens women's lives and well-being. Modern medicine is failing women. Half of all American women suffer from at least one chronic health condition--from autoimmune disorders and asthma to depression and Alzheimer's disease--and the numbers are increasing. A wealth of research has revealed that women often exhibit different symptoms than their male counterparts, suffer disproportionately from many debilitating conditions, and may react differently to prescription drugs and other therapies. Yet more than twenty years after the law decreed that women be included in all health-related research and drug development, doctors are still operating with a lingering knowledge gap when it comes to women's health. And they're not immune to unconscious biases and stereotypes that can undermine the doctor-patient relationship. The consequences can be catastrophic: Too often, women are misdiagnosed, poorly treated, and find their complaints dismissed as "just stress" or "all in your head." Meanwhile, they're getting sicker. Maya Dusenbery brings together scientific and sociological research, interviews with experts within and outside the medical establishment, and personal stories from regular women to provide the first comprehensive, accessible look at how sexism in medicine harms women today. In addition to offering a clear-eyed explanation of the root causes of this insidious and entrenched bias and laying out its effects, she suggests concrete steps we can take to cure it. Eye-opening and long-overdue, Doing Harm is an empowering call to action for health care providers and all women"--

Also in This Series

More Like This

More Copies In LINK+

Loading LINK+ Copies...

More Details

ISBN:
9780062470805
9781538424520
9780062470812

Reviews from GoodReads

Loading GoodReads Reviews.

Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDfb50bff8-8e1f-cc9f-982a-c591073c5151
Grouping Titledoing harm the truth about how bad medicine and lazy science leave women dismissed misdiagnosed and sick
Grouping Authormaya dusenbery
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2024-07-15 02:10:19AM
Last Indexed2024-07-14 12:42:18PM

Solr Fields

accelerated_reader_point_value
0
accelerated_reader_reading_level
0
author
Dusenbery, Maya
author_display
Dusenbery, Maya
available_at_catalog
Carmichael
Central
North Highlands-Antelope
Rancho Cordova
Rio Linda
Southgate
detailed_location_catalog
Carmichael
Central
North Highlands-Antelope
Rancho Cordova
Rio Linda
Southgate
display_description
"In this shocking, hard-hitting expose in the tradition of Naomi Klein and Barbara Ehrenreich, the editorial director of Feministing.com, reveals how gender bias infects every level of medicine and healthcare today--leading to inadequate, inappropriate, and even dangerous treatment that threatens women's lives and well-being. Modern medicine is failing women. Half of all American women suffer from at least one chronic health condition--from autoimmune disorders and asthma to depression and Alzheimer's disease--and the numbers are increasing. A wealth of research has revealed that women often exhibit different symptoms than their male counterparts, suffer disproportionately from many debilitating conditions, and may react differently to prescription drugs and other therapies. Yet more than twenty years after the law decreed that women be included in all health-related research and drug development, doctors are still operating with a lingering knowledge gap when it comes to women's health. And they're not immune to unconscious biases and stereotypes that can undermine the doctor-patient relationship. The consequences can be catastrophic: Too often, women are misdiagnosed, poorly treated, and find their complaints dismissed as "just stress" or "all in your head." Meanwhile, they're getting sicker. Maya Dusenbery brings together scientific and sociological research, interviews with experts within and outside the medical establishment, and personal stories from regular women to provide the first comprehensive, accessible look at how sexism in medicine harms women today. In addition to offering a clear-eyed explanation of the root causes of this insidious and entrenched bias and laying out its effects, she suggests concrete steps we can take to cure it. Eye-opening and long-overdue, Doing Harm is an empowering call to action for health care providers and all women"--
format_catalog
Book
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_catalog
Audio Books
Books
eBook
id
fb50bff8-8e1f-cc9f-982a-c591073c5151
isbn
9780062470805
9780062470812
9781538424520
itype_catalog
Adult Book Non-Fiction
last_indexed
2024-07-14T19:42:18.389Z
lexile_score
-1
literary_form
Non Fiction
literary_form_full
Non Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog
613.04244 D972 2018
owning_library_catalog
Sacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalog
Carmichael
Central
North Highlands-Antelope
Rancho Cordova
Rio Linda
Southgate
primary_isbn
9780062470805
publishDate
2018
publisher
Blackstone Publishing
HarperCollins
HarperOne, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers
recordtype
grouped_work
subject_facet
Health education
Sexism in medicine
Women -- Health and hygiene -- Research
Women -- Health and hygiene -- Sociological aspects
title_display
Doing harm : the truth about how bad medicine and lazy science leave women dismissed, misdiagnosed, and sick
title_full
Doing Harm The Truth About How Bad Medicine and Lazy Science Leave Women Dismissed, Misdiagnosed, and Sick
Doing Harm The Truth about How Bad Medicine and Lazy Science Leave Women Dismissed, Misdiagnosed, and Sick
Doing harm : the truth about how bad medicine and lazy science leave women dismissed, misdiagnosed, and sick / Maya Dusenbery
title_short
Doing harm
title_sub
the truth about how bad medicine and lazy science leave women dismissed, misdiagnosed, and sick
topic_facet
Health & Fitness
Health and hygiene
Health education
Medical
Nonfiction
Research
Sexism in medicine
Sociological aspects
Sociology
Women
Women's Studies

Solr Details Tables

item_details

Bib IdItem IdShelf LocationCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
overdrive:b4278cb3-5e90-4a16-92c0-1f2cf3e085f3-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAvailable Online
overdrive:f7f9ad22-a577-4783-8d92-696b3476034e-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueOverDriveChecked Out
ils:.b25333264.i78513534North Highlands-Antelope613.04244 D972 20181falsefalseOn Shelfnhiag
ils:.b25333264.i78701727Rancho Cordova613.04244 D972 20181falsefalseOn Shelfranag
ils:.b25333264.i77795209Central613.04244 D972 20181falsefalseOn Shelfcenag
ils:.b25333264.i78825957Carmichael613.04244 D972 20181falsefalseOn Shelfcarag
ils:.b25333264.i78720618Rio Linda613.04244 D972 20181falsefalseOn Shelfrioag
ils:.b25333264.i77795192Southgate613.04244 D972 20181falsefalseOn Shelfsouag

record_details

Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
overdrive:b4278cb3-5e90-4a16-92c0-1f2cf3e085f3eBookeBookEnglishHarperCollins2018
overdrive:f7f9ad22-a577-4783-8d92-696b3476034eeAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishBlackstone Publishing2018
ils:.b25333264BookBooksFirst editionEnglishHarperOne, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers[2018]390 pages ; 24 cm.

scoping_details_catalog

Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:b4278cb3-5e90-4a16-92c0-1f2cf3e085f3-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:f7f9ad22-a577-4783-8d92-696b3476034e-2Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b25333264.i78513534On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 37, 38, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011
ils:.b25333264.i78701727On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 37, 38, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011
ils:.b25333264.i77795209On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 37, 38, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011
ils:.b25333264.i78825957On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 37, 38, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011
ils:.b25333264.i78720618On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 37, 38, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011
ils:.b25333264.i77795192On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 37, 38, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011