The Christmas list: [a novel]

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(2)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
In this contemporary retelling of A Christmas Carol, when Utah real estate developer James Kier discovers his own obituary in the local paper, he assumes someone's either made a careless mistake or is playing a twisted joke. The obituary doesn't paint the best portrait of Kier, claiming the ruthless, friendless businessman died in an auto accident after suffering a heart attack while driving. As Kier investigates the obituary, he experiences a life-altering chain of events.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9781439150009
074359729
9781508221241
9781439154052
9780743597296
9781602856394
9781456112554
9780743597289
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDf9cf6f8e-f25f-63b8-ea48-e119711ae6ad
Grouping Titlechristmas list
Grouping Authorevans richard paul
Grouping Categorybook
Last Grouping Update2019-10-14 01:45:20AM
Last Indexed2019-10-14 02:36:29AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
auth_author2Dossett, John.
authorRichard Paul Evans
author2-roleDossett, John.
Simon & Schuster Audio (Firm)
hoopla digital.
author_displayEvans, Richard Paul
available_at_catalogCarmichael
Fair Oaks
Galt
Martin Luther King Jr.
North Natomas
Rancho Cordova
detailed_location_catalogBelle Cooledge
Carmichael
Fair Oaks
Galt
Martin Luther King, Jr.
North Natomas
Rancho Cordova
display_descriptionA heartwarming and inspirational Christmas novel in the tradition of The Christmas Box, Grace, The Gift, and Finding Noel. The New York Times bestselling author of The Christmas Box and The Walk series returns with a holiday novel of hope, love, and redemption.
Dear Reader,
When I was in seventh grade, my English teacher, Mrs. Johnson, gave our class the intriguing (if somewhat macabre) assignment of writing our own obituaries. Oddly, I don't remember much of what I wrote about my life, but I do remember how I died: in first place on the final lap of the Daytona 500. At the time, I hadn't considered writing as an occupation, a field with a remarkably low on-the-job casualty rate.
What intrigues me most about Mrs. Johnson's assignment is the opportunity she gave us to confront our own legacy. How do we want to be remembered? That question has motivated our species since the beginning of time: from building pyramids to putting our names on skyscrapers.
As I began to write this book, I had two objectives: First, I wanted to explore what could happen if someone read their obituary before they died and saw, firsthand, what the world really thought of them. Their legacy.
Second, I wanted to write a Christmas story of true redemption. One of my family's holiday traditions is to see a local production of Charles Dickens's A Christmas Carol. I don't know how many times I've seen it (perhaps a dozen), but it still thrills me to see the change that comes over Ebenezer Scrooge as he transforms from a dull, tight-fisted miser into a penitent, "giddy-as-aschoolboy" man with love in his heart. I always leave the show with a smile on my face and a resolve to be a better person. That's what I wanted to share with you, my dear readers, this Christmas — a holiday tale to warm your season, your homes, and your hearts.
Merry Christmas
format_catalogBook
CD Audiobook
Large Print
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_catalogAudio Books
Books
eBook
idf9cf6f8e-f25f-63b8-ea48-e119711ae6ad
isbn074359729
9780743597289
9780743597296
9781439150009
9781439154052
9781456112554
9781508221241
9781602856394
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:.b19580563.i58805849GaltCD FICTION Evans, R.1falsefalseOn Shelfgala
ils:.b19580563.i58805825Belle CooledgeCD FICTION Evans, R.1falsefalseDue Sep 24, 2019cooa
ils:.b19580253.i58699387CarmichaelFICTION Evans, R.1falsefalseOn Shelfcara
ils:.b19580253.i5869934xRancho CordovaFICTION Evans, R.1falsefalseOn Shelfrana
ils:.b19580253.i58798596Folsom AdultFICTION Evans, R.1falsefalseOn Shelffola
ils:.b19580253.i58855373Sutter County Main BranchFICTION Evans, R.1falsefalseOn Shelfsuta
ils:.b19580253.i58834849North NatomasFICTION Evans, R.1falsefalseOn Shelfnnta
ils:.b19580253.i58699375Fair OaksFICTION Evans, R.1falsefalseOn Shelffaia
ils:.b19580253.i58855361Sutter County Main BranchFICTION Evans, R.1falsefalseOn Shelfsuta
ils:.b19580253.i5879993xFolsom AdultFICTION Evans, R.1falsefalseOn Shelffola
ils:.b19580253.i68792311Princeton Branch Library Adult CollectionFic1falsefalseOn Shelfpria
overdrive:27ba4fcc-188d-47bd-8539-01e58dd5833b-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenChecked Out
ils:.b19709900.i59444344Martin Luther King, Jr.LARGE PRINT FICTION Evans, R.1falsefalseOn Shelfkina
overdrive:455fcb44-dbfd-4ef8-ad1e-e5e983edc73e-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
overdrive:7a273079-33fa-44d6-b547-13f96d9c6b4a-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenChecked Out
hoopla:MWT12207104Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/12207104?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online
itype_catalogAdu CD/Spoken Word
Adu Large Print
Adult Fiction
last_indexed2019-10-14T09:36:29.298Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
Novels
local_callnumber_catalogCD FICTION Evans, R.
FICTION Evans, R.
LARGE PRINT FICTION Evans, R.
owning_library_catalogSacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalogBelle Cooledge
Carmichael
Fair Oaks
Galt
Martin Luther King Jr.
North Natomas
Rancho Cordova
primary_isbn9781439150009
publishDate2009
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:.b19580563CD AudiobookAudio BooksEnglishSimon and Schuster Audio, p2009.5 sound discs (ca. 6 hrs.) : digital ; 4 3/4 in.
ils:.b19580253BookBooks1st Simon & Schuster hardcover ed.EnglishSimon & Schuster, c2009.xiv, 353 p. ; 19 cm.
overdrive:27ba4fcc-188d-47bd-8539-01e58dd5833beAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishSimon & Schuster Audio2009
ils:.b19709900Large PrintBooksLarge print ed.EnglishCenter Point Pub., c2009.219 p. (large print) ; 23 cm.
overdrive:455fcb44-dbfd-4ef8-ad1e-e5e983edc73eeBookeBookEnglishSimon & Schuster2009
overdrive:7a273079-33fa-44d6-b547-13f96d9c6b4aeAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishHighBridge, a division of Recorded Books2009
hoopla:MWT12207104eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridged.EnglishSimon & Schuster Audio, 2009.1 online resource (1 audio file (300 min.)) : digital.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b19580563.i58805849On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue999911
ils:.b19580563.i58805825Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruetruefalsetrue999911
ils:.b19580253.i58699387On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011
ils:.b19580253.i5869934xOn ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011
ils:.b19580253.i58798596On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse9999
ils:.b19580253.i58855373On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse9999
ils:.b19580253.i58834849On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011
ils:.b19580253.i58699375On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011
ils:.b19580253.i58855361On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse9999
ils:.b19580253.i5879993xOn ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse9999
ils:.b19580253.i68792311On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106
overdrive:27ba4fcc-188d-47bd-8539-01e58dd5833b-2Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b19709900.i59444344On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011
overdrive:455fcb44-dbfd-4ef8-ad1e-e5e983edc73e-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:7a273079-33fa-44d6-b547-13f96d9c6b4a-2Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse
hoopla:MWT12207104Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
subject_facetAudiobooks
Christmas stories
Compact discs
Large type books
Life change events -- Fiction
Redemption -- Fiction
title_displayThe Christmas list
title_fullThe Christmas List
The Christmas List A Novel
The Christmas list / Richard Paul Evans
The Christmas list : [a novel] [electronic resource] / Richard Paul Evans
The Christmas list [sound recording] : a novel / Richard Paul Evans
The Christmas list [text (large print)] / Richard Paul Evans
title_shortThe Christmas list
title_sub[a novel]
topic_facetChristmas stories
Fiction
Life change events
Literature
Redemption