We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

The dangerous art of blending in: a novel

Book Cover
Your Rating: 0 stars
Star rating for The dangerous art of blending in

Average user rating: 5 stars
User ratings:
5 star
 
(2)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Publication Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Accelerated Reader:
IL: UG - BL: 3.6 - AR Pts: 9
Lexile measure:
HL: High-Low 500L

Description

~Lambda Literary Award finalist for the best LGBT YA novel of 2018~

A raw, powerful, but ultimately uplifting debut novel perfect for fans of Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe from debut author Angelo Surmelis.

Seventeen-year-old Evan Panos doesn’t know where he fits in. His strict immigrant Greek mother refuses to see him as anything but a disappointment. His quiet, workaholic father is a staunch believer in avoiding any kind of conflict. And his best friend, Henry, has somehow become distractingly attractive over the summer.

Tired, isolated, scared—Evan finds that his only escape is to draw in an abandoned monastery that feels as lonely as he is. And yes, he kissed one guy over the summer. But it’s Henry who’s now proving to be irresistible. Henry, who suddenly seems interested in being more than friends. And it’s Henry who makes him believe that he deserves more than his mother’s harsh words and terrifying abuse.

But as things with Henry heat up, and his mother’s abuse escalates, Evan has to decide how to find his voice in a world where he has survived so long by being silent.

This is a powerful and revelatory coming-of-age novel based on the author’s own childhood, about a boy who learns to step into his light.

Also in This Series

More Like This

More Copies In LINK+

Loading LINK+ Copies...

More Details

ISBN:
9780062659002
9780062659026
9780062821690
Accelerated Reader:
UG
Level 3.6, 9 Points
Lexile measure:
HL: High-Low 500L

Reviews from GoodReads

Loading GoodReads Reviews.

Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDf84bc76d-8eea-898c-4ebb-37de5a93b610
Grouping Titledangerous art of blending in
Grouping Authorangelo surmelis
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2024-07-18 02:10:39AM
Last Indexed2024-07-17 02:20:41AM

Solr Fields

accelerated_reader_interest_level
UG
accelerated_reader_point_value
9
accelerated_reader_reading_level
3.6
auth_author2
Crouch, Michael
author
Surmelis, Angelo
author2-role
Crouch, Michael,reader
hoopla digital
author_display
Surmelis, Angelo
detailed_location_catalog
Sacramento Public Library Storage
display_description

~Lambda Literary Award finalist for the best LGBT YA novel of 2018~

A raw, powerful, but ultimately uplifting debut novel perfect for fans of Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe from debut author Angelo Surmelis.

Seventeen-year-old Evan Panos doesn’t know where he fits in. His strict immigrant Greek mother refuses to see him as anything but a disappointment. His quiet, workaholic father is a staunch believer in avoiding any kind of conflict. And his best friend, Henry, has somehow become distractingly attractive over the summer.

Tired, isolated, scared—Evan finds that his only escape is to draw in an abandoned monastery that feels as lonely as he is. And yes, he kissed one guy over the summer. But it’s Henry who’s now proving to be irresistible. Henry, who suddenly seems interested in being more than friends. And it’s Henry who makes him believe that he deserves more than his mother’s harsh words and terrifying abuse.

But as things with Henry heat up, and his mother’s abuse escalates, Evan has to decide how to find his voice in a world where he has survived so long by being silent.

This is a powerful and revelatory coming-of-age novel based on the author’s own childhood, about a boy who learns to step into his light.

format_catalog
Book
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_catalog
Audio Books
Books
eBook
id
f84bc76d-8eea-898c-4ebb-37de5a93b610
isbn
9780062659002
9780062659026
9780062821690
itype_catalog
Teen Book
last_indexed
2024-07-17T09:20:41.951Z
lexile_code
HL: High-Low
lexile_score
500
literary_form
Fiction
literary_form_full
Fiction
Novels
local_callnumber_catalog
TEEN FICTION Surmelis, A.
owning_library_catalog
Sacramento Public Library
primary_isbn
9780062659002
publishDate
2018
publisher
Balzer + Bray
Balzer + Bray, An Imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
HarperCollins
recordtype
grouped_work
subject_facet
Abuse -- Fiction
Child sexual abuse -- Fiction
Electronic books
Emigration and immigration -- Fiction
Romance fiction
Sexual minorities -- Fiction
Themes -- Fiction
Young adult fiction
Young adult fiction -- Fiction
title_display
The dangerous art of blending in : a novel
title_full
The Dangerous Art of Blending In
The Dangerous Art of Blending In [electronic resource] / Angelo Surmelis
The dangerous art of blending in : a novel / by Angelo Surmelis
title_short
The dangerous art of blending in
title_sub
a novel
topic_facet
Abuse
Child sexual abuse
Electronic books
Emigration and immigration
LGBTQIA+ (Fiction)
Romance
Sexual minorities
Themes
Young Adult Fiction
Young Adult Literature
Young adult fiction

Solr Details Tables

item_details

Bib IdItem IdShelf LocationCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
hoopla:MWT16686852Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeBookeBook1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/16680761?utm_source=MARC&Lid=hh4435Available Online
ils:.b2526963x.i77535790Sacramento Public Library StorageTEEN FICTION Surmelis, A.1falsefalseOn Shelfhottg
ils:.b2526963x.i77535789Sacramento Public Library StorageTEEN FICTION Surmelis, A.1falsefalseOn Shelfhottg
overdrive:85ce8cbc-d8e5-4479-bd60-4f7be5ab390c-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAvailable Online
overdrive:287e49c3-dce8-4bb2-a068-135f8b29c88a-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueOverDriveAvailable Online
hoopla:MWT12022946Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/12022946?utm_source=MARC&Lid=hh4435Available Online

record_details

Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
hoopla:MWT16686852eBookeBookEnglishHarperCollins20181 online resource (327 pages)
ils:.b2526963xBookBooksFirst editionEnglishBalzer + Bray, An Imprint of HarperCollins Publishers[2018]315 pages ; 22 cm
overdrive:85ce8cbc-d8e5-4479-bd60-4f7be5ab390ceBookeBookEnglishHarperCollins2018
overdrive:287e49c3-dce8-4bb2-a068-135f8b29c88aeAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishBalzer + Bray2018
hoopla:MWT12022946eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridgedEnglishBalzer + Bray20181 online resource (1 audio file (8hr., 09 min.)) : digital.

scoping_details_catalog

Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
hoopla:MWT16686852Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b2526963x.i77535790On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue9999
ils:.b2526963x.i77535789On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue9999
overdrive:85ce8cbc-d8e5-4479-bd60-4f7be5ab390c-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:287e49c3-dce8-4bb2-a068-135f8b29c88a-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
hoopla:MWT12022946Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse