Curbside pickup and returns now available at 26 locations. View updated hours of operations here.

Nobody's son: a memoir

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
"For readers of W. G. Sebald and Daniel Mendelsohn, by a writer whose storytelling is 'devastatingly agile' (New York Times Book Review). Born in Czechoslovakia, Mark Slouka's parents survived the Nazis only to be forced to then escape the Communist purges after the war. Smuggled out of their own country, the newlyweds joined a tide of refugees moving from Innsbruck to Sydney to New York, dragging with them a history of blood and betrayal that their son would be born into. From World War I to the present, Slouka pieces together a remarkable story of refugees and war, displacement and denial, admitting into evidence memories, dreams, stories, the lies we inherit and the lies we tell -- in an attempt to reach his mother, the figure at the center of the labyrinth. Her story -- the revelation of her life-long burden and the forty-year love affair that might have saved her -- shows the way out of the maze" --
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9780393292305
9780393292312
9781681683294
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDf79bc7de-b33b-81f3-b0b1-6f3e01292d68
Grouping Titlenobodys son
Grouping Authormark slouka
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2021-08-03 02:27:23AM
Last Indexed2021-08-03 02:56:44AM
Novelist Primary ISBNnone

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
auth_author2Zingarelli, Tom.
authorSlouka, Mark,
author2-roleZingarelli, Tom.
hoopla digital.
author_displaySlouka, Mark
available_at_catalogCentral
detailed_location_catalogCentral
display_description"For readers of W. G. Sebald and Daniel Mendelsohn, by a writer whose storytelling is 'devastatingly agile' (New York Times Book Review). Born in Czechoslovakia, Mark Slouka's parents survived the Nazis only to be forced to then escape the Communist purges after the war. Smuggled out of their own country, the newlyweds joined a tide of refugees moving from Innsbruck to Sydney to New York, dragging with them a history of blood and betrayal that their son would be born into. From World War I to the present, Slouka pieces together a remarkable story of refugees and war, displacement and denial, admitting into evidence memories, dreams, stories, the lies we inherit and the lies we tell -- in an attempt to reach his mother, the figure at the center of the labyrinth. Her story -- the revelation of her life-long burden and the forty-year love affair that might have saved her -- shows the way out of the maze" --
format_catalogBook
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_catalogAudio Books
Books
eBook
idf79bc7de-b33b-81f3-b0b1-6f3e01292d68
isbn9780393292305
9780393292312
9781681683294
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
hoopla:MWT11738992Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/11738992?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online
ils:.b24382048.i74849505Central813.54 S634 20161falsefalseOn Shelfcenag
overdrive:21cd95c9-923b-4c40-8135-906125f0494b-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
overdrive:4dbd3363-e3d5-41d5-a3c8-a423f8d645be-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
itype_catalogAdult Book Non-Fiction
last_indexed2021-08-03T09:56:44.848Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formNon Fiction
literary_form_fullNon Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog813.54 S634 2016
owning_library_catalogSacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalogCentral
primary_isbn9780393292305
publishDate2016
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
hoopla:MWT11738992eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridged.EnglishHighBridge, 2016.1 online resource (1 audio file (6hr., 37 min.)) : digital.
ils:.b24382048BookBooksFirst edition.EnglishW.W. Norton & Company, [2016]274 pages : illustrations ; 22 cm.
overdrive:21cd95c9-923b-4c40-8135-906125f0494beBookeBookEnglishW. W. Norton & Company2016
overdrive:4dbd3363-e3d5-41d5-a3c8-a423f8d645beeAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishHighBridge2016
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
hoopla:MWT11738992Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b24382048.i74849505On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
overdrive:21cd95c9-923b-4c40-8135-906125f0494b-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:4dbd3363-e3d5-41d5-a3c8-a423f8d645be-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
subject_facetAuthors, American -- Biography
Czech Americans -- Biography
Family secrets -- New York (State)
Mothers and sons -- New York (State) -- Biography
New York (State) -- Biography
Slouka, Mark -- Childhood and youth
Slouka, Mark -- Family
title_displayNobody's son : a memoir
title_fullNobody's Son A Memoir
Nobody's son : a memoir / Mark Slouka
Nobody's son : a memoir [electronic resource] / Mark Slouka
title_shortNobody's son
title_suba memoir
topic_facetAuthors, American
Biography & Autobiography
Childhood and youth
Czech Americans
Family
Family secrets
Mothers and sons
Multi-Cultural
Nonfiction
Slouka, Mark