We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

The weight of ink

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(5)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(1)
2 star
 
(1)
1 star
 
(2)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2017
Language:
English
Description
"An intellectual and emotional jigsaw puzzle of a novel for readers of A.S. Byatt's Possession and Geraldine Brooks's People of the Book Set in London of the 1660s and of the early twenty-first century, The Weight of Ink is the interwoven tale of two women of remarkable intellect: Ester Velasquez, anemigrant from Amsterdam who is permitted to scribe for a blind rabbi, just before the plague hits the city; and Helen Watt, an ailing historian with a love of Jewish history. As the novel opens, Helen has been summoned by a former student to view a cache of seventeenth-century Jewish documents newly discovered in his home during a renovation. Enlisting the help of Aaron Levy, an American graduate student as impatient as he is charming, and in a race with another fast-moving team of historians, Helen embarks on one last project: to determine the identity of the documents' scribe, the elusive"Aleph."Electrifying and ambitious, sweeping in scope and intimate in tone, The Weight of Ink is a sophisticated work of historical fiction about women separated by centuries, and the choices and sacrifices they must makein order to reconcile the life of the heart and mind"--
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9780544866461
9781681686325
9781328915788
9780544866676
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDf419eb03-ddb7-f1dd-1d74-136623830a98
Grouping Titleweight of ink
Grouping Authorrachel kadish
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2024-05-25 12:39:17PM
Last Indexed2024-05-25 12:41:31PM

Solr Fields

accelerated_reader_point_value
0
accelerated_reader_reading_level
0
auth_author2
James, Corrie
author
Kadish, Rachel
author2-role
James, Corrie,reader
hoopla digital
author_display
Kadish, Rachel
available_at_catalog
Carmichael
Central
Franklin
Orangevale
detailed_location_catalog
Carmichael
Central
Franklin
Orangevale
display_description
"An intellectual and emotional jigsaw puzzle of a novel for readers of A.S. Byatt's Possession and Geraldine Brooks's People of the Book Set in London of the 1660s and of the early twenty-first century, The Weight of Ink is the interwoven tale of two women of remarkable intellect: Ester Velasquez, anemigrant from Amsterdam who is permitted to scribe for a blind rabbi, just before the plague hits the city; and Helen Watt, an ailing historian with a love of Jewish history. As the novel opens, Helen has been summoned by a former student to view a cache of seventeenth-century Jewish documents newly discovered in his home during a renovation. Enlisting the help of Aaron Levy, an American graduate student as impatient as he is charming, and in a race with another fast-moving team of historians, Helen embarks on one last project: to determine the identity of the documents' scribe, the elusive"Aleph."Electrifying and ambitious, sweeping in scope and intimate in tone, The Weight of Ink is a sophisticated work of historical fiction about women separated by centuries, and the choices and sacrifices they must makein order to reconcile the life of the heart and mind"--
format_catalog
Book
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_catalog
Audio Books
Books
eBook
id
f419eb03-ddb7-f1dd-1d74-136623830a98
isbn
9780544866461
9780544866676
9781328915788
9781681686325
itype_catalog
Adult Fiction
last_indexed
2024-05-25T19:41:31.420Z
lexile_score
-1
literary_form
Fiction
literary_form_full
Fiction
Novels
local_callnumber_catalog
FICTION Kadish, R.
owning_library_catalog
Sacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalog
Carmichael
Central
Franklin
Orangevale
primary_isbn
9780544866461
publishDate
2017
publisher
HarperCollins
HighBridge
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
recordtype
grouped_work
subject_facet
Electronic books
Fiction
Historical fiction
History -- Fiction
Jewish fiction
Jewish fiction -- Fiction
Jewish women -- Fiction
Jews -- Fiction
Literature -- Fiction
Women historians -- Fiction
title_display
The weight of ink
title_full
The Weight of Ink
The Weight of Ink [electronic resource] / Rachel Kadish
The weight of ink / Rachel Kadish
title_short
The weight of ink
topic_facet
Electronic books
Fiction
Historical Fiction
History
Jewish fiction
Jewish women
Jews
Literature
Women historians

Solr Details Tables

item_details

Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
overdrive:3787bf13-93ec-4eb0-ba1c-73863fcf12df-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books2falsetrueOverDriveChecked Out
overdrive:3787bf13-93ec-4eb0-ba1c-73863fcf12df5Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books0falsetrueOverDriveChecked Out
overdrive:3787bf13-93ec-4eb0-ba1c-73863fcf12df-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books3falsetrueOverDriveAvailable Online
overdrive:3787bf13-93ec-4eb0-ba1c-73863fcf12df3Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books0falsetrueOverDriveChecked Out
overdrive:3787bf13-93ec-4eb0-ba1c-73863fcf12df4Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books0falsetrueOverDriveChecked Out
hoopla:MWT14851710Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeBookeBook1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/14800767?utm_source=MARC&Lid=hh4435Available Online
ils:.b24802128.i82873471Folsom AdultFICTION Kadish, R.1falsefalseOn Shelffola
ils:.b24802128.i76165206CentralFICTION Kadish, R.1falsefalseOn Shelfcenag
ils:.b24802128.i7616519xOrangevaleFICTION Kadish, R.1falsefalseOn Shelforaag
ils:.b24802128.i7616522xFranklinFICTION Kadish, R.1falsefalseOn Shelffraag
ils:.b24802128.i76165231CarmichaelFICTION Kadish, R.1falsefalseOn Shelfcarag
ils:.b24802128.i84901032Folsom AdultFICTION Kadish, R.1falsefalseDue Jun 15, 2024fola
ils:.b24802128.i88103870Colusa Main Branch Adult CollectionFic1falsefalseOn Shelfcola
hoopla:MWT11897646Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/11897646?utm_source=MARC&Lid=hh4435Available Online
overdrive:5bab77fa-4e69-4db7-8196-c63995d3845b-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook4falsetrueOverDriveChecked Out
overdrive:5bab77fa-4e69-4db7-8196-c63995d3845b3Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAvailable Online
overdrive:5bab77fa-4e69-4db7-8196-c63995d3845b5Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAvailable Online
overdrive:5bab77fa-4e69-4db7-8196-c63995d3845b-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook3falsetrueOverDriveAvailable Online
overdrive:5bab77fa-4e69-4db7-8196-c63995d3845b4Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAvailable Online

record_details

Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
overdrive:3787bf13-93ec-4eb0-ba1c-73863fcf12dfeAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishHighBridge2017
hoopla:MWT14851710eBookeBookEnglishHarperCollins20171 online resource (592 pages)
ils:.b24802128BookBooksEnglishHoughton Mifflin Harcourt2017567 pages ; 24 cm
hoopla:MWT11897646eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridgedEnglishHighBridge20171 online resource (1 audio file (23hr., 25 min.)) : digital.
overdrive:5bab77fa-4e69-4db7-8196-c63995d3845beBookeBookEnglishHarperCollins2017

scoping_details_catalog

Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:3787bf13-93ec-4eb0-ba1c-73863fcf12df-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
hoopla:MWT14851710Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b24802128.i82873471On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse9999
ils:.b24802128.i76165206On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011
ils:.b24802128.i7616519xOn ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011
ils:.b24802128.i7616522xOn ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011
ils:.b24802128.i76165231On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011
ils:.b24802128.i84901032Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse9999
ils:.b24802128.i88103870On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106
hoopla:MWT11897646Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:5bab77fa-4e69-4db7-8196-c63995d3845b-2Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse