Curbside pickup and returns now available at 26 locations. View updated hours of operations here.

The weight of ink

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(3)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(1)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(2)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2017.
Language:
English
Description
"An intellectual and emotional jigsaw puzzle of a novel for readers of A.S. Byatt's Possession and Geraldine Brooks's People of the Book Set in London of the 1660s and of the early twenty-first century, The Weight of Ink is the interwoven tale of two women of remarkable intellect: Ester Velasquez, anemigrant from Amsterdam who is permitted to scribe for a blind rabbi, just before the plague hits the city; and Helen Watt, an ailing historian with a love of Jewish history. As the novel opens, Helen has been summoned by a former student to view a cache of seventeenth-century Jewish documents newly discovered in his home during a renovation. Enlisting the help of Aaron Levy, an American graduate student as impatient as he is charming, and in a race with another fast-moving team of historians, Helen embarks on one last project: to determine the identity of the documents' scribe, the elusive"Aleph."Electrifying and ambitious, sweeping in scope and intimate in tone, The Weight of Ink is a sophisticated work of historical fiction about women separated by centuries, and the choices and sacrifices they must makein order to reconcile the life of the heart and mind"--
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9780544866461
9781681686325
9781328915788
9780544866676
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDf419eb03-ddb7-f1dd-1d74-136623830a98
Grouping Titleweight of ink
Grouping Authorrachel kadish
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2020-12-04 02:27:49AM
Last Indexed2020-12-04 03:50:21AM
Novelist Primary ISBN9780544866461

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
auth_author2James, Corrie.
authorKadish, Rachel,
author2-roleJames, Corrie.
hoopla digital.
author_displayKadish, Rachel
available_at_catalogBelle Cooledge
Central
Isleton
North Highlands-Antelope
detailed_location_catalogBelle Cooledge
Central
Isleton
North Highlands-Antelope
display_description"An intellectual and emotional jigsaw puzzle of a novel for readers of A.S. Byatt's Possession and Geraldine Brooks's People of the Book Set in London of the 1660s and of the early twenty-first century, The Weight of Ink is the interwoven tale of two women of remarkable intellect: Ester Velasquez, anemigrant from Amsterdam who is permitted to scribe for a blind rabbi, just before the plague hits the city; and Helen Watt, an ailing historian with a love of Jewish history. As the novel opens, Helen has been summoned by a former student to view a cache of seventeenth-century Jewish documents newly discovered in his home during a renovation. Enlisting the help of Aaron Levy, an American graduate student as impatient as he is charming, and in a race with another fast-moving team of historians, Helen embarks on one last project: to determine the identity of the documents' scribe, the elusive"Aleph."Electrifying and ambitious, sweeping in scope and intimate in tone, The Weight of Ink is a sophisticated work of historical fiction about women separated by centuries, and the choices and sacrifices they must makein order to reconcile the life of the heart and mind"--
format_catalogBook
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_catalogAudio Books
Books
eBook
idf419eb03-ddb7-f1dd-1d74-136623830a98
isbn9780544866461
9780544866676
9781328915788
9781681686325
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
hoopla:MWT13254818Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeBookeBook1falsetruehooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/13254818?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online
overdrive:3787bf13-93ec-4eb0-ba1c-73863fcf12df-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books3falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenChecked Out
ils:.b24802128.i76165231North Highlands-AntelopeFICTION Kadish, R.1falsefalseOn Shelfnhiag
ils:.b24802128.i7616522xBelle CooledgeFICTION Kadish, R.1falsefalseOn Shelfcooag
ils:.b24802128.i82873471Folsom Adult NEWFICTION Kadish, R.1falsefalseDue Dec 26, 2020folad
ils:.b24802128.i76165206CentralFICTION Kadish, R.1falsefalseOn Shelfcenag
ils:.b24802128.i7616519xIsletonFICTION Kadish, R.1falsefalseOn Shelfislag
ils:.b24802128.i81229264Sutter County Main BranchFICTION Kadish, R.1falsefalseDue Oct 31, 2020suta
hoopla:MWT11897646Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetruehooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/11897646?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online
overdrive:5bab77fa-4e69-4db7-8196-c63995d3845b3Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
overdrive:5bab77fa-4e69-4db7-8196-c63995d3845b-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook4falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
overdrive:5bab77fa-4e69-4db7-8196-c63995d3845b5Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
overdrive:5bab77fa-4e69-4db7-8196-c63995d3845b4Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
overdrive:5bab77fa-4e69-4db7-8196-c63995d3845b-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook2falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
itype_catalogAdult Fiction
last_indexed2020-12-04T11:50:21.803Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
Novels
local_callnumber_catalogFICTION Kadish, R.
owning_library_catalogSacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalogBelle Cooledge
Central
Isleton
North Highlands-Antelope
primary_isbn9780544866461
publishDate2017
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
hoopla:MWT13254818eBookeBookEnglishHMH Books, 2017.1 online resource
overdrive:3787bf13-93ec-4eb0-ba1c-73863fcf12dfeAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishHighBridge2017
ils:.b24802128BookBooksEnglishHoughton Mifflin Harcourt, 2017.567 pages ; 24 cm
hoopla:MWT11897646eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridged.EnglishHighBridge, 2017.1 online resource (1 audio file (23hr., 25 min.)) : digital.
overdrive:5bab77fa-4e69-4db7-8196-c63995d3845beBookeBookEnglishHMH Books2017
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
hoopla:MWT13254818Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:3787bf13-93ec-4eb0-ba1c-73863fcf12df-2Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b24802128.i76165231On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b24802128.i7616522xOn ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b24802128.i82873471Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse9999
ils:.b24802128.i76165206On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b24802128.i7616519xOn ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b24802128.i81229264Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse9999
hoopla:MWT11897646Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:5bab77fa-4e69-4db7-8196-c63995d3845b-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
subject_facetElectronic books
Historical fiction
Jewish fiction
Jewish women -- Fiction
Women historians -- Fiction
title_displayThe weight of ink
title_fullThe Weight of Ink
The weight of ink / Rachel Kadish
The weight of ink [electronic resource] / Rachel Kadish
title_shortThe weight of ink
topic_facetElectronic books
Fiction
Historical Fiction
Jewish women
Literature
Women historians