We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

A backpack, a bear, and eight crates of vodka: a memoir

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2014
Language:
English
Description
A compelling memoir of two intertwined journeys: a Jewish refugee family in Ukraine fleeing persecution and a young man seeking to reclaim a shattered past. In the twilight of the Cold War (the late 1980s), nine-year old Lev Golinkin and his family cross the Soviet border, leaving Ukraine with only ten suitcases, $600, and the vague promise of help awaiting in Vienna. Years later, Lev, now an American adult, sets out to retrace his family's long trek, locate the strangers who fought for his freedom, and in the process, gain a future by understanding his past.

This is the vivid, darkly comic, and poignant story of Lev Golinkin in the confusing and often chilling final decade of the Soviet Union, and "of a Jewish family’s escape from oppression. . .whose drama, hope and heartache Mr. Golinkin captures brilliantly” (The New York Times). It's also the story of Lev Golinkin as an American man who finally confronts his buried past by returning to Austria and Eastern Europe to track down the strangers who made his escape possible. . .and say thank you.

Written with biting, acerbic wit and emotional honesty in the vein of Gary Shteyngart, Jonathan Safran Foer, and David Bezmozgis, Golinkin's search for personal identity set against the relentless currents of history is more than a memoir—it's a portrait of a lost era. This is a thrilling tale of escape and survival, a deeply personal look at the life of a Jewish child caught in the last gasp of the Soviet Union, and a provocative investigation into the power of hatred and the search for belonging. Lev Golinkin achieves an amazing feat—and it marks the debut of a fiercely intelligent, defiant, and unforgettable new voice.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9780385537773
9781481506977
9780385537780
9781481506915
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDf24fcc3f-47d3-d4e3-1519-5c8b01dae3f0
Grouping Titlebackpack a bear and eight crates of vodka
Grouping Authorlev golinkin
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2022-05-17 02:08:33AM
Last Indexed2022-05-16 02:50:37AM
Novelist Primary ISBN9781481506953

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
auth_author2Gamburg, Daniel
authorGolinkin, Lev
author2-roleBlackstone Audio, Inc
Gamburg, Daniel,narrator
author_displayGolinkin, Lev
available_at_catalogCentral
Elk Grove
McKinley
Valley Hi-North Laguna
detailed_location_catalogCentral
Elk Grove
McKinley
Sacramento Public Library Storage
Valley Hi-North Laguna
display_descriptionA compelling memoir of two intertwined journeys: a Jewish refugee family in Ukraine fleeing persecution and a young man seeking to reclaim a shattered past. In the twilight of the Cold War (the late 1980s), nine-year old Lev Golinkin and his family cross the Soviet border, leaving Ukraine with only ten suitcases, $600, and the vague promise of help awaiting in Vienna. Years later, Lev, now an American adult, sets out to retrace his family's long trek, locate the strangers who fought for his freedom, and in the process, gain a future by understanding his past.

This is the vivid, darkly comic, and poignant story of Lev Golinkin in the confusing and often chilling final decade of the Soviet Union, and "of a Jewish family’s escape from oppression. . .whose drama, hope and heartache Mr. Golinkin captures brilliantly” (The New York Times). It's also the story of Lev Golinkin as an American man who finally confronts his buried past by returning to Austria and Eastern Europe to track down the strangers who made his escape possible. . .and say thank you.

Written with biting, acerbic wit and emotional honesty in the vein of Gary Shteyngart, Jonathan Safran Foer, and David Bezmozgis, Golinkin's search for personal identity set against the relentless currents of history is more than a memoir—it's a portrait of a lost era. This is a thrilling tale of escape and survival, a deeply personal look at the life of a Jewish child caught in the last gasp of the Soviet Union, and a provocative investigation into the power of hatred and the search for belonging. Lev Golinkin achieves an amazing feat—and it marks the debut of a fiercely intelligent, defiant, and unforgettable new voice.
format_catalogBook
CD Audiobook
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_catalogAudio Books
Books
eBook
idf24fcc3f-47d3-d4e3-1519-5c8b01dae3f0
isbn9780385537773
9780385537780
9781481506915
9781481506977
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
ils:.b23470550.i71466794Sacramento Public Library StorageCD 947.004924 G626 20141falsefalseOn Shelfhotag
ils:.b23470550.i71466800Sacramento Public Library StorageCD 947.004924 G626 20141falsefalseOn Shelfhotag
ils:.b23470550.i71466782Valley Hi-North LagunaCD 947.004924 G626 20141falsefalseOn Shelfvalag
overdrive:909db103-9b75-4451-bd44-17fd7945dc2f-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
ils:.b23133600.i71049897McKinley947.004924 G626 20141falsefalseOn Shelfmckag
ils:.b23133600.i71049885Elk Grove947.004924 G626 20141falsefalseOn Shelfelkag
ils:.b23133600.i7104985xCentral947.004924 G626 20141falsefalseOn Shelfcenag
overdrive:14cbf950-3865-46c4-9331-d4b4a0c5a0fc-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
itype_catalogAdu CD/Spoken Word
Adult Book Non-Fiction
last_indexed2022-05-16T09:50:37.420Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formNon Fiction
literary_form_fullNon Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog947.004924 G626 2014
CD 947.004924 G626 2014
owning_library_catalogSacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalogCentral
Elk Grove
McKinley
Valley Hi-North Laguna
primary_isbn9780385537773
publishDate2014
publisherBlackstone Audio,
Blackstone Publishing
Doubleday,
Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
ils:.b23470550CD AudiobookAudio BooksEnglishBlackstone Audio20148 audio discs (9 hr., 30 min.) : digital, CD audio ; 4 3/4 in.
overdrive:909db103-9b75-4451-bd44-17fd7945dc2feBookeBookEnglishKnopf Doubleday Publishing Group2014
ils:.b23133600BookBooksFirst editionEnglishDoubleday2014ix, 307 pages ; 22 cm
overdrive:14cbf950-3865-46c4-9331-d4b4a0c5a0fceAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishBlackstone Publishing2014
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b23470550.i71466794On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b23470550.i71466800On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b23470550.i71466782On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
overdrive:909db103-9b75-4451-bd44-17fd7945dc2f-2Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b23133600.i71049897On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b23133600.i71049885On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b23133600.i7104985xOn ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
overdrive:14cbf950-3865-46c4-9331-d4b4a0c5a0fc-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
subject_facetGolinkin, Lev
Jewish refugees -- United States -- Biography
Jews, Russian -- Ukraine -- Kharkiv -- Biography
Jews, Russian -- United States -- Biography
title_displayA backpack, a bear, and eight crates of vodka : a memoir
title_fullA Backpack, a Bear, and Eight Crates of Vodka A Memoir
A backpack, a bear, and eight crates of vodka / by Lev Golinkin
A backpack, a bear, and eight crates of vodka : a memoir / Lev Golinkin
title_shortA backpack, a bear, and eight crates of vodka
title_suba memoir
topic_facetBiography & Autobiography
Golinkin, Lev
History
Jewish refugees
Jews, Russian
Nonfiction
Travel