We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

A deadly thaw

Book Cover
Your Rating: 0 stars
Star rating for A deadly thaw

NoveList Series:
In bitter chill volume 2.
Series:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Publication Date:
2016
Language:
English

Description

Lena Grey is found guilty of murdering her husband, who was found smothered in their bed. She offers no defense, and serves fourteen long years in prison. But within months of her release nearly two decades later, his body is found in a disused morgue, recently killed. Who was the man she killed before, and why did she lie about his identity?
Detective Inspector Francis Sadler and his Derbyshire team try to discover how such a well-orchestrated deception could have occurred. DC Connie Childs is convinced that something greater than marital strife caused the murders, but before Lena can be questioned further, she vanishes. Back in Lena's childhood home, her sister Kat, a therapist, is shocked by her sister's duplicity. When she begins to receive mysterious packages from a young man claiming to know her sister's location, Kat is drawn into her own investigation of her family's well-hidden secrets. As her inquiries begin to collide with the murder investigation, a link to the sisters' teenage lives emerges, and the line between victim and perpetrator becomes blurred in this tightly-plotted, compelling novel perfect for fans of Deborah Crombie and Sharon Bolton.

Also in This Series

More Like This

More Copies In LINK+

Loading LINK+ Copies...

More Details

ISBN:
9781250069184
9781466878099

Reviews from GoodReads

Loading GoodReads Reviews.

Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDede71d26-12ac-82b8-cdb3-24af5d95d6d0
Grouping Titledeadly thaw
Grouping Authorsarah ward
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2024-07-22 02:09:59AM
Last Indexed2024-07-22 02:21:15AM

Solr Fields

accelerated_reader_point_value
0
accelerated_reader_reading_level
0
author
Ward, Sarah (British author)
author_display
Ward, Sarah
available_at_catalog
Arcade
North Natomas
South Natomas
detailed_location_catalog
Arcade
North Natomas
South Natomas
display_description

Lena Grey is found guilty of murdering her husband, who was found smothered in their bed. She offers no defense, and serves fourteen long years in prison. But within months of her release nearly two decades later, his body is found in a disused morgue, recently killed. Who was the man she killed before, and why did she lie about his identity?
Detective Inspector Francis Sadler and his Derbyshire team try to discover how such a well-orchestrated deception could have occurred. DC Connie Childs is convinced that something greater than marital strife caused the murders, but before Lena can be questioned further, she vanishes. Back in Lena's childhood home, her sister Kat, a therapist, is shocked by her sister's duplicity. When she begins to receive mysterious packages from a young man claiming to know her sister's location, Kat is drawn into her own investigation of her family's well-hidden secrets. As her inquiries begin to collide with the murder investigation, a link to the sisters' teenage lives emerges, and the line between victim and perpetrator becomes blurred in this tightly-plotted, compelling novel perfect for fans of Deborah Crombie and Sharon Bolton.

format_catalog
Book
eBook
format_category_catalog
Books
eBook
id
ede71d26-12ac-82b8-cdb3-24af5d95d6d0
isbn
9781250069184
9781466878099
itype_catalog
Adult Fiction
last_indexed
2024-07-22T09:21:15.643Z
lexile_score
-1
literary_form
Fiction
literary_form_full
Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog
MYSTERY Ward, S.
owning_library_catalog
Sacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalog
Arcade
North Natomas
South Natomas
primary_isbn
9781250069184
publishDate
2016
publisher
Minotaur Books
St. Martin's Publishing Group
recordtype
grouped_work
series
In bitter chill
series_with_volume
In bitter chill|2
subject_facet
Family secrets -- Fiction
Missing persons -- Fiction
Murder -- Investigation -- Fiction
Mystery fiction
Sisters -- Fiction
Suspense fiction
title_display
A deadly thaw
title_full
A Deadly Thaw
A deadly thaw / Sarah Ward
title_short
A deadly thaw
topic_facet
Family secrets
Fiction
Investigation
Missing persons
Murder
Mystery
Sisters

Solr Details Tables

item_details

Bib IdItem IdShelf LocationCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
ils:.b24324930.i7462491xNorth NatomasMYSTERY Ward, S.1falsefalseOn Shelfnntag
ils:.b24324930.i74679788ArcadeMYSTERY Ward, S.1falsefalseOn Shelfarcag
ils:.b24324930.i74679764South NatomasMYSTERY Ward, S.1falsefalseOn Shelfnatag
overdrive:70c841ba-9c02-4e39-bd58-4471b273655f-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveChecked Out

record_details

Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
ils:.b24324930BookBooksFirst U.S. editionEnglishMinotaur Books2016377 pages ; 22 cm
overdrive:70c841ba-9c02-4e39-bd58-4471b273655feBookeBookEnglishSt. Martin's Publishing Group2016

scoping_details_catalog

Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b24324930.i7462491xOn ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 37, 38, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011
ils:.b24324930.i74679788On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 37, 38, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011
ils:.b24324930.i74679764On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 37, 38, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011
overdrive:70c841ba-9c02-4e39-bd58-4471b273655f-2Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse