Curbside pickup and returns now available at 26 locations. View updated hours of operations here.

Humboldt: life on America's marijuana frontier

Book Cover
Average Rating
Author:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2013.
Language:
English
Description
In the vein of Susan Orlean's The Orchid Thief and Deborah Feldman's Unorthodox, journalist Emily Brady journeys into a secretive subculture—one that marijuana built. Say the words "Humboldt County" to a stranger and you might receive a knowing grin. The name is infamous, and yet the place, and its inhabitants, have been nearly impenetrable. Until now. Humboldt is a narrative exploration of an insular community in Northern California, which for nearly 40 years has existed primarily on the cultivation and sale of marijuana. It's a place where business is done with thick wads of cash and savings are buried in the backyard. In Humboldt County, marijuana supports everything from fire departments to schools, but it comes with a heavy price. As legalization looms, the community stands at a crossroads and its inhabitants are deeply divided on the issue—some want to claim their rightful heritage as master growers and have their livelihood legitimized, others want to continue reaping the inflated profits of the black market. Emily Brady spent a year living with the highly secretive residents of Humboldt County, and her cast of eccentric, intimately drawn characters take us into a fascinating, alternate universe. It's the story of a small town that became dependent on a forbidden plant, and of how everything is changing as marijuana goes mainstream.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9781455506767
9781455579129
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDe7e913aa-ba0b-4808-4652-af8fbfdaa212
Grouping Titlehumboldt life on americas marijuana frontier
Grouping Authoremily brady
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2020-10-24 02:27:14AM
Last Indexed2020-10-24 02:52:26AM
Novelist Primary ISBN9781455506767

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorEmily Brady
author_displayBrady, Emily
available_at_catalogCarmichael
Central
North Highlands-Antelope
detailed_location_catalogCarmichael
Central
North Highlands-Antelope
display_descriptionIn the vein of Susan Orlean's The Orchid Thief and Deborah Feldman's Unorthodox, journalist Emily Brady journeys into a secretive subculture—one that marijuana built.
Say the words "Humboldt County" to a stranger and you might receive a knowing grin. The name is infamous, and yet the place, and its inhabitants, have been nearly impenetrable. Until now.
Humboldt is a narrative exploration of an insular community in Northern California, which for nearly 40 years has existed primarily on the cultivation and sale of marijuana. It's a place where business is done with thick wads of cash and savings are buried in the backyard. In Humboldt County, marijuana supports everything from fire departments to schools, but it comes with a heavy price. As legalization looms, the community stands at a crossroads and its inhabitants are deeply divided on the issue—some want to claim their rightful heritage as master growers and have their livelihood legitimized, others want to continue reaping the inflated profits of the black market.

Emily Brady spent a year living with the highly secretive residents of Humboldt County, and her cast of eccentric, intimately drawn characters take us into a fascinating, alternate universe. It's the story of a small town that became dependent on a forbidden plant, and of how everything is changing as marijuana goes mainstream.
format_catalogBook
eBook
format_category_catalogBooks
eBook
ide7e913aa-ba0b-4808-4652-af8fbfdaa212
isbn9781455506767
9781455579129
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:.b22198891.i67967516North Highlands-Antelope979.412 B182 20131falsefalseOn Shelfnhiag
ils:.b22198891.i67967474Carmichael979.412 B182 20131falsefalseOn Shelfcarag
ils:.b22198891.i67967462Central979.412 B182 20131falsefalseOn Shelfcenag
overdrive:25d9e9d6-8d09-4873-ad12-f567d9690ab3-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook7falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
itype_catalogAdult Book Non-Fiction
last_indexed2020-10-24T09:52:26.93Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formNon Fiction
literary_form_fullNon Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog979.412 B182 2013
owning_library_catalogSacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalogCarmichael
Central
North Highlands-Antelope
primary_isbn9781455506767
publishDate2013
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:.b22198891BookBooks1st ed.EnglishGrand Central Publishing, 2013.260 p. ; 22 cm.
overdrive:25d9e9d6-8d09-4873-ad12-f567d9690ab3eBookeBookEnglishGrand Central Publishing2013
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b22198891.i67967516On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b22198891.i67967474On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
ils:.b22198891.i67967462On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
overdrive:25d9e9d6-8d09-4873-ad12-f567d9690ab3-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
subject_facetDrug traffic -- Economic aspects -- California -- Humboldt County
Drug traffic -- Social aspects -- California -- Humboldt County
Marijuana industry -- Economic aspects -- California -- Humboldt County
Marijuana industry -- Social aspects -- California -- Humboldt County
title_displayHumboldt : life on America's marijuana frontier
title_fullHumboldt : life on America's marijuana frontier / Emily Brady
Humboldt Life on America's Marijuana Frontier
title_shortHumboldt
title_sublife on America's marijuana frontier
topic_facetBiography & Autobiography
Drug traffic
Economic aspects
History
Marijuana industry
Multi-Cultural
Nonfiction
Social aspects