We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

Humboldt: life on America's marijuana frontier

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Grand Central Publishing
Pub. Date:
2013
Language:
English
Description
In the vein of Susan Orlean's The Orchid Thief and Deborah Feldman's Unorthodox, journalist Emily Brady journeys into a secretive subculture—one that marijuana built.
Say the words "Humboldt County" to a stranger and you might receive a knowing grin. The name is infamous, and yet the place, and its inhabitants, have been nearly impenetrable. Until now.
Humboldt is a narrative exploration of an insular community in Northern California, which for nearly 40 years has existed primarily on the cultivation and sale of marijuana. It's a place where business is done with thick wads of cash and savings are buried in the backyard. In Humboldt County, marijuana supports everything from fire departments to schools, but it comes with a heavy price. As legalization looms, the community stands at a crossroads and its inhabitants are deeply divided on the issue—some want to claim their rightful heritage as master growers and have their livelihood legitimized, others want to continue reaping the inflated profits of the black market.
Emily Brady spent a year living with the highly secretive residents of Humboldt County, and her cast of eccentric, intimately drawn characters take us into a fascinating, alternate universe. It's the story of a small town that became dependent on a forbidden plant, and of how everything is changing as marijuana goes mainstream.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9781455506767
9781455579129
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDe7e913aa-ba0b-4808-4652-af8fbfdaa212
Grouping Titlehumboldt life on americas marijuana frontier
Grouping Authoremily brady
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2022-09-24 16:31:02PM
Last Indexed2022-09-24 16:32:45PM

Solr Fields

accelerated_reader_point_value
0
accelerated_reader_reading_level
0
author
Brady, Emily (Emily E.)
author_display
Brady, Emily
available_at_catalog
Carmichael
North Highlands-Antelope
detailed_location_catalog
Carmichael
Central
North Highlands-Antelope
display_description
In the vein of Susan Orlean's The Orchid Thief and Deborah Feldman's Unorthodox, journalist Emily Brady journeys into a secretive subculture—one that marijuana built.
Say the words "Humboldt County" to a stranger and you might receive a knowing grin. The name is infamous, and yet the place, and its inhabitants, have been nearly impenetrable. Until now.
Humboldt is a narrative exploration of an insular community in Northern California, which for nearly 40 years has existed primarily on the cultivation and sale of marijuana. It's a place where business is done with thick wads of cash and savings are buried in the backyard. In Humboldt County, marijuana supports everything from fire departments to schools, but it comes with a heavy price. As legalization looms, the community stands at a crossroads and its inhabitants are deeply divided on the issue—some want to claim their rightful heritage as master growers and have their livelihood legitimized, others want to continue reaping the inflated profits of the black market.
Emily Brady spent a year living with the highly secretive residents of Humboldt County, and her cast of eccentric, intimately drawn characters take us into a fascinating, alternate universe. It's the story of a small town that became dependent on a forbidden plant, and of how everything is changing as marijuana goes mainstream.
format_catalog
Book
eBook
format_category_catalog
Books
eBook
id
e7e913aa-ba0b-4808-4652-af8fbfdaa212
isbn
9781455506767
9781455579129
itype_catalog
Adult Book Non-Fiction
last_indexed
2022-09-24T23:32:45.087Z
lexile_score
-1
literary_form
Non Fiction
literary_form_full
Non Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog
979.412 B182 2013
owning_library_catalog
Sacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalog
Carmichael
Central
North Highlands-Antelope
primary_isbn
9781455506767
publishDate
2013
publisher
Grand Central Publishing
recordtype
grouped_work
subject_facet
Drug traffic -- Economic aspects -- California -- Humboldt County
Drug traffic -- Social aspects -- California -- Humboldt County
Marijuana industry -- Economic aspects -- California -- Humboldt County
Marijuana industry -- Social aspects -- California -- Humboldt County
title_display
Humboldt : life on America's marijuana frontier
title_full
Humboldt : life on America's marijuana frontier / Emily Brady
Humboldt Life on America's Marijuana Frontier
title_short
Humboldt
title_sub
life on America's marijuana frontier
topic_facet
Biography & Autobiography
Drug traffic
Economic aspects
History
Marijuana industry
Multi-Cultural
Nonfiction
Social aspects

Solr Details Tables

item_details

Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
ils:.b22198891.i67967462Central979.412 B182 20131falsefalseIn Transitcenag
ils:.b22198891.i67967474Carmichael979.412 B182 20131falsefalseOn Shelfcarag
ils:.b22198891.i67967516North Highlands-Antelope979.412 B182 20131falsefalseOn Shelfnhiag
overdrive:25d9e9d6-8d09-4873-ad12-f567d9690ab3-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook7falsetrueOverDriveAvailable Online

record_details

Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
ils:.b22198891BookBooks1st edEnglishGrand Central Publishing2013260 p. ; 22 cm
overdrive:25d9e9d6-8d09-4873-ad12-f567d9690ab3eBookeBookEnglishGrand Central Publishing2013

scoping_details_catalog

Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b22198891.i67967462In TransitIn Transitfalsefalsetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b22198891.i67967474On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b22198891.i67967516On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
overdrive:25d9e9d6-8d09-4873-ad12-f567d9690ab3-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse