We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

Unwifeable: a memoir

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Gallery Books
Pub. Date:
2018
Language:
English
Description
"From the popular, "fresh, funny, and highly readable" (Bustle) dating columnist for New York magazine and the New York Post comes a whirlwind memoir recounting countless failed romances and blackout nights, told with Mandy Stadtmiller's unflinching candor and brilliant wit. My story is not standalone. Single girl comes to New York; New York eats her alive. But what does stand out is my discovery that you can essentially live a life that appears to be a textbook manual for everything one can do wrong to find love--and still find Mr. Right. Mandy Stadtmiller came to Manhattan in 2005, newly divorced, thirty years old, with a job at the New York Post, ready to conquer the city and the industry in one fell swoop. Like a "real-life Carrie Bradshaw" (so called by Jenny McCarthy!), she proceeded to chronicle her fearless attempts for nearly a decade in the Post, New York magazine, and xoJane. But there was a darker side to the glitz and glamor threatening to surface. After countless failed romances and too many blackout nights, she gave up on love and came to terms with who she was: broken, hurting, and angry. So she got sober and regained control of her life. And on the very last day of her thirties, she got engaged on the steps of Times Square to a man who spoke red flag fluently who couldn't wait to make her his wife. Finally falling in love and getting married didn't magically somehow fix her--but it did represent a metamorphosis of spirit. Unwifeable is a New York fairytale brought to life--Sex and the City on acid. With hysterical insight, unabashed sexuality, and unprecedented levels of raw, honest pain, Unwifeable is a book that you can't help but respond and relate to--perfect for fans of Amy Schumer, Chelsea Handler, and Sarah Hepola"--
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9781501174032
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDe11c2ac2-6cb2-094e-6bdd-630359079cac
Grouping Titleunwifeable
Grouping Authormandy stadtmiller
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2022-05-28 06:09:43AM
Last Indexed2022-05-28 02:41:44AM
Novelist Primary ISBN9781501174032

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorStadtmiller, Mandy
author_displayStadtmiller, Mandy
available_at_catalogArcade
Central
McKinley
detailed_location_catalogArcade
Central
Colonial Heights
McKinley
display_description"From the popular, "fresh, funny, and highly readable" (Bustle) dating columnist for New York magazine and the New York Post comes a whirlwind memoir recounting countless failed romances and blackout nights, told with Mandy Stadtmiller's unflinching candor and brilliant wit. My story is not standalone. Single girl comes to New York; New York eats her alive. But what does stand out is my discovery that you can essentially live a life that appears to be a textbook manual for everything one can do wrong to find love--and still find Mr. Right. Mandy Stadtmiller came to Manhattan in 2005, newly divorced, thirty years old, with a job at the New York Post, ready to conquer the city and the industry in one fell swoop. Like a "real-life Carrie Bradshaw" (so called by Jenny McCarthy!), she proceeded to chronicle her fearless attempts for nearly a decade in the Post, New York magazine, and xoJane. But there was a darker side to the glitz and glamor threatening to surface. After countless failed romances and too many blackout nights, she gave up on love and came to terms with who she was: broken, hurting, and angry. So she got sober and regained control of her life. And on the very last day of her thirties, she got engaged on the steps of Times Square to a man who spoke red flag fluently who couldn't wait to make her his wife. Finally falling in love and getting married didn't magically somehow fix her--but it did represent a metamorphosis of spirit. Unwifeable is a New York fairytale brought to life--Sex and the City on acid. With hysterical insight, unabashed sexuality, and unprecedented levels of raw, honest pain, Unwifeable is a book that you can't help but respond and relate to--perfect for fans of Amy Schumer, Chelsea Handler, and Sarah Hepola"--
format_catalogBook
format_category_catalogBooks
ide11c2ac2-6cb2-094e-6bdd-630359079cac
isbn9781501174032
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
ils:.b25364674.i7778702xMcKinley306.7 S777 20181falsefalseOn Shelfmckag
ils:.b25364674.i77787031Colonial Heights306.7 S777 20181falsefalseDue May 31, 2022chsag
ils:.b25364674.i77787006Arcade306.7 S777 20181falsefalseOn Shelfarcag
ils:.b25364674.i77787018Central306.7 S777 20181falsefalseOn Shelfcenag
itype_catalogAdult Book Non-Fiction
last_indexed2022-05-28T09:41:44.895Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formNon Fiction
literary_form_fullNon Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog306.7 S777 2018
owning_library_catalogSacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalogArcade
Central
Colonial Heights
McKinley
primary_isbn9781501174032
publishDate2018
publisherGallery Books,
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
ils:.b25364674BookBooksFirst Gallery Books hardcover editionEnglishGallery Books2018321 pages ; 24 cm
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b25364674.i7778702xOn ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b25364674.i77787031Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b25364674.i77787006On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
ils:.b25364674.i77787018On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
subject_facetAdvice columnists -- United States -- Biography
Interpersonal relations -- United States
Stadtmiller, Mandy
Wit and humor
Women journalists -- United States -- Biography
title_displayUnwifeable : a memoir
title_fullUnwifeable : a memoir / Mandy Stadtmiller
title_shortUnwifeable
title_suba memoir
topic_facetAdvice columnists
Interpersonal relations
Stadtmiller, Mandy
Wit and humor
Women journalists