We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

Unwifeable: a memoir

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Gallery Books
Pub. Date:
2018
Language:
English
Description
"From the popular, "fresh, funny, and highly readable" (Bustle) dating columnist for New York magazine and the New York Post comes a whirlwind memoir recounting countless failed romances and blackout nights, told with Mandy Stadtmiller's unflinching candor and brilliant wit. My story is not standalone. Single girl comes to New York; New York eats her alive. But what does stand out is my discovery that you can essentially live a life that appears to be a textbook manual for everything one can do wrong to find love--and still find Mr. Right. Mandy Stadtmiller came to Manhattan in 2005, newly divorced, thirty years old, with a job at the New York Post, ready to conquer the city and the industry in one fell swoop. Like a "real-life Carrie Bradshaw" (so called by Jenny McCarthy!), she proceeded to chronicle her fearless attempts for nearly a decade in the Post, New York magazine, and xoJane. But there was a darker side to the glitz and glamor threatening to surface. After countless failed romances and too many blackout nights, she gave up on love and came to terms with who she was: broken, hurting, and angry. So she got sober and regained control of her life. And on the very last day of her thirties, she got engaged on the steps of Times Square to a man who spoke red flag fluently who couldn't wait to make her his wife. Finally falling in love and getting married didn't magically somehow fix her--but it did represent a metamorphosis of spirit. Unwifeable is a New York fairytale brought to life--Sex and the City on acid. With hysterical insight, unabashed sexuality, and unprecedented levels of raw, honest pain, Unwifeable is a book that you can't help but respond and relate to--perfect for fans of Amy Schumer, Chelsea Handler, and Sarah Hepola"--
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9781501174032
9781501174056
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDe11c2ac2-6cb2-094e-6bdd-630359079cac
Grouping Titleunwifeable
Grouping Authormandy stadtmiller
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2024-05-25 02:14:20AM
Last Indexed2024-05-25 02:27:27AM

Solr Fields

accelerated_reader_point_value
0
accelerated_reader_reading_level
0
author
Stadtmiller, Mandy
author_display
Stadtmiller, Mandy
available_at_catalog
Arcade
Central
North Highlands-Antelope
Rancho Cordova
detailed_location_catalog
Arcade
Central
North Highlands-Antelope
Rancho Cordova
display_description
"From the popular, "fresh, funny, and highly readable" (Bustle) dating columnist for New York magazine and the New York Post comes a whirlwind memoir recounting countless failed romances and blackout nights, told with Mandy Stadtmiller's unflinching candor and brilliant wit. My story is not standalone. Single girl comes to New York; New York eats her alive. But what does stand out is my discovery that you can essentially live a life that appears to be a textbook manual for everything one can do wrong to find love--and still find Mr. Right. Mandy Stadtmiller came to Manhattan in 2005, newly divorced, thirty years old, with a job at the New York Post, ready to conquer the city and the industry in one fell swoop. Like a "real-life Carrie Bradshaw" (so called by Jenny McCarthy!), she proceeded to chronicle her fearless attempts for nearly a decade in the Post, New York magazine, and xoJane. But there was a darker side to the glitz and glamor threatening to surface. After countless failed romances and too many blackout nights, she gave up on love and came to terms with who she was: broken, hurting, and angry. So she got sober and regained control of her life. And on the very last day of her thirties, she got engaged on the steps of Times Square to a man who spoke red flag fluently who couldn't wait to make her his wife. Finally falling in love and getting married didn't magically somehow fix her--but it did represent a metamorphosis of spirit. Unwifeable is a New York fairytale brought to life--Sex and the City on acid. With hysterical insight, unabashed sexuality, and unprecedented levels of raw, honest pain, Unwifeable is a book that you can't help but respond and relate to--perfect for fans of Amy Schumer, Chelsea Handler, and Sarah Hepola"--
format_catalog
Book
eBook
format_category_catalog
Books
eBook
id
e11c2ac2-6cb2-094e-6bdd-630359079cac
isbn
9781501174032
9781501174056
itype_catalog
Adult Book Non-Fiction
last_indexed
2024-05-25T09:27:27.560Z
lexile_score
-1
literary_form
Non Fiction
literary_form_full
Non Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog
306.7 S777 2018
owning_library_catalog
Sacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalog
Arcade
Central
North Highlands-Antelope
Rancho Cordova
primary_isbn
9781501174032
publishDate
2018
publisher
Gallery Books
recordtype
grouped_work
subject_facet
Advice columnists -- United States -- Biography
Interpersonal relations -- United States
Stadtmiller, Mandy
Wit and humor
Women journalists -- United States -- Biography
title_display
Unwifeable : a memoir
title_full
Unwifeable : a memoir / Mandy Stadtmiller
Unwifeable A Memoir
title_short
Unwifeable
title_sub
a memoir
topic_facet
Advice columnists
Biography & Autobiography
Family & Relationships
Interpersonal relations
Nonfiction
Stadtmiller, Mandy
Wit and humor
Women journalists

Solr Details Tables

item_details

Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
overdrive:6db7343b-dcc6-4019-aaa1-35d5d3dfb1a2-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAvailable Online
ils:.b25364674.i77787031North Highlands-Antelope306.7 S777 20181falsefalseOn Shelfnhiag
ils:.b25364674.i77787018Central306.7 S777 20181falsefalseOn Shelfcenag
ils:.b25364674.i77787006Arcade306.7 S777 20181falsefalseOn Shelfarcag
ils:.b25364674.i7778702xRancho Cordova306.7 S777 20181falsefalseOn Shelfranag

record_details

Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
overdrive:6db7343b-dcc6-4019-aaa1-35d5d3dfb1a2eBookeBookEnglishGallery Books2018
ils:.b25364674BookBooksFirst Gallery Books hardcover editionEnglishGallery Books2018321 pages ; 24 cm

scoping_details_catalog

Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:6db7343b-dcc6-4019-aaa1-35d5d3dfb1a2-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b25364674.i77787031On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011
ils:.b25364674.i77787018On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011
ils:.b25364674.i77787006On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011
ils:.b25364674.i7778702xOn ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011