We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

The enchanted: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2014
Language:
English
Description

"The Enchanted wrapped its beautiful and terrible fingers around me from the first page and refused to let go after the last. A wondrous book that finds transcendence in the most unlikely of places. . . . So dark yet so exquisite." — Erin Morgenstern, author of The Night Circus

An astonishing and redemptive novel for readers of Alice Sebold and Toni Morrison, told from the point of view of a convict whose magical interpretations of prison life allow him to find absolute joy while isolated from the rest of humanity and a female investigator who experiences her own personal salvation in her work as a death penalty investigator.

This is an enchanted place. Others don't see it but I do.

The enchanted place is a high security prison and is relayed through the eyes of an inmate on death row who escapes his surroundings by immersing himself in books, and by re-imagining the world that surrounds him. Instead of focusing on the cloudy medical vines that snake across the floor, empty and waiting for the warden's finger to press the red buttons, our narrator sees golden horses as they run deep under the earth, heat flowing like molten metal from their backs.

A woman and fallen priest haunt the prison halls—an unnamed female investigator only known as the Lady who is known for discovering information relating to soon-to-be executed inmates' backgrounds that can be used to overturn their sentences. She is put on the case of a man named York and as she digs into his past, the experience brings up ghosts of her own and threatens to destroy everything that she has come to know about the enchanted place.

The Enchanted is a magical novel about redemption, the humanity that can lie within what is monstrous, and the human capacity to transcend and survive.

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9780062285508
9780062285522
9780062308917
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDdc60d21b-f3ef-94fb-e1b0-25bfcb175677
Grouping Titleenchanted
Grouping Authorrene denfeld
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2024-02-25 03:34:01AM
Last Indexed2024-02-25 03:48:56AM

Solr Fields

accelerated_reader_point_value
0
accelerated_reader_reading_level
0
auth_author2
Frangione, Jim
author
Denfeld, Rene
author2-role
Frangione, Jim,reader
hoopla digital
author_display
Denfeld, Rene
available_at_catalog
Elk Grove
Fair Oaks
Martin Luther King Jr.
detailed_location_catalog
Central
Elk Grove
Fair Oaks
Martin Luther King, Jr.
display_description

"The Enchanted wrapped its beautiful and terrible fingers around me from the first page and refused to let go after the last. A wondrous book that finds transcendence in the most unlikely of places. . . . So dark yet so exquisite." — Erin Morgenstern, author of The Night Circus

An astonishing and redemptive novel for readers of Alice Sebold and Toni Morrison, told from the point of view of a convict whose magical interpretations of prison life allow him to find absolute joy while isolated from the rest of humanity and a female investigator who experiences her own personal salvation in her work as a death penalty investigator.

This is an enchanted place. Others don't see it but I do.

The enchanted place is a high security prison and is relayed through the eyes of an inmate on death row who escapes his surroundings by immersing himself in books, and by re-imagining the world that surrounds him. Instead of focusing on the cloudy medical vines that snake across the floor, empty and waiting for the warden's finger to press the red buttons, our narrator sees golden horses as they run deep under the earth, heat flowing like molten metal from their backs.

A woman and fallen priest haunt the prison halls—an unnamed female investigator only known as the Lady who is known for discovering information relating to soon-to-be executed inmates' backgrounds that can be used to overturn their sentences. She is put on the case of a man named York and as she digs into his past, the experience brings up ghosts of her own and threatens to destroy everything that she has come to know about the enchanted place.

The Enchanted is a magical novel about redemption, the humanity that can lie within what is monstrous, and the human capacity to transcend and survive.

format_catalog
Book
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_catalog
Audio Books
Books
eBook
id
dc60d21b-f3ef-94fb-e1b0-25bfcb175677
isbn
9780062285508
9780062285522
9780062308917
itype_catalog
Adult Fiction
last_indexed
2024-02-25T11:48:56.694Z
lexile_score
-1
literary_form
Fiction
literary_form_full
Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog
FICTION Denfeld, R.
owning_library_catalog
Sacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalog
Central
Elk Grove
Fair Oaks
Martin Luther King Jr.
primary_isbn
9780062285508
publishDate
2014
publisher
Harper
HarperAudio
HarperCollins
HarperCollins Publishers
recordtype
grouped_work
subject_facet
Death row inmates -- Fiction
Electronic books
Fantasy fiction
Fiction
Literature -- Fiction
Magic realism (Literature) -- Fiction
Prisons -- Fiction
Psychological fiction -- Fiction
title_display
The enchanted : a novel
title_full
The Enchanted : a novel [electronic resource] / Rene Denfeld
The Enchanted A Novel
The Enchanted [electronic resource] / Rene Denfeld
The enchanted : a novel / Rene Denfeld
title_short
The enchanted
title_sub
a novel
topic_facet
Death row inmates
Electronic books
Fantasy
Fiction
Literature
Magic realism (Literature)
Prisons
Psychological fiction

Solr Details Tables

item_details

Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
ils:.b22713566.i69432594Fair OaksFICTION Denfeld, R.1falsefalseOn Shelffaiag
ils:.b22713566.i69407514Elk GroveFICTION Denfeld, R.1falsefalseOn Shelfelkag
ils:.b22713566.i69432570Martin Luther King, Jr.FICTION Denfeld, R.1falsefalseOn Shelfkinag
ils:.b22713566.i69432533CentralFICTION Denfeld, R.1falsefalseCheck Shelfcenag
hoopla:MWT12112260Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeBookeBook1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/12112260?utm_source=MARC&Lid=hh4435Available Online
overdrive:152adc46-4cfc-4de7-a54c-2c21b7d7b219-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueOverDriveChecked Out
overdrive:a779461f-b684-4aeb-9ed7-1d4936e3a92a-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook2falsetrueOverDriveAvailable Online
hoopla:MWT11587756Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/11587756?utm_source=MARC&Lid=hh4435Available Online

record_details

Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
ils:.b22713566BookBooksFirst editionEnglishHarper2014237 pages ; 22 cm
hoopla:MWT12112260eBookeBookEnglishHarperCollins Publishers20141 online resource (272 pages)
overdrive:152adc46-4cfc-4de7-a54c-2c21b7d7b219eAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishHarperAudio2014
overdrive:a779461f-b684-4aeb-9ed7-1d4936e3a92aeBookeBookEnglishHarperCollins2014
hoopla:MWT11587756eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridgedEnglishHarperAudio20141 online resource (1 audio file (7hr., 04 min.)) : digital.

scoping_details_catalog

Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b22713566.i69432594On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011
ils:.b22713566.i69407514On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011
ils:.b22713566.i69432570On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011
ils:.b22713566.i69432533Currently UnavailableCheck Shelffalsefalsetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 12011
hoopla:MWT12112260Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:152adc46-4cfc-4de7-a54c-2c21b7d7b219-2Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:a779461f-b684-4aeb-9ed7-1d4936e3a92a-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
hoopla:MWT11587756Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse