Curbside pickup and returns now available at 26 locations. View updated hours of operations here.

Moving the palace

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(1)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
"At the dawn of the 20th century, a young Lebanese explorer leaves the Levant for the wilds of Africa, encountering an eccentric English colonel in Sudan and enlisting in his service. In this lush chronicle of far-flung adventure, the military recruit crosses paths with a compatriot who has dismantled a sumptuous palace in Tripoli and is transporting it across the continent on a camel caravan. The protagonist soon takes charge of this hoard or architectural fragments, ferrying the dismantled landmark through Sudan, Egypt and the Arabian Peninsula, attempting to return to his native Beirut with this moveable real estate. Along the way, he encounters skeptic sheikhs, suspicious tribal leaders, bountiful feasts, pilgrims bound for Mecca and T.E. Lawrence in a tent. This is a captivating modern-day Odyssey in the tradition of Bruce Chatwin and Paul Theroux." -- back cover.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9781939931467
9781538415078
9781939931481
9781982408046
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDdbb71fa1-f7c9-a390-7e4f-f3e7f3889482
Grouping Titlemoving the palace
Grouping Authorcharif majdalani
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2020-10-21 02:28:23AM
Last Indexed2020-10-20 03:05:23AM
Novelist Primary ISBNnone

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
auth_author2Davis, Jonathan.
Gauvin, Edward,
authorMajdalani, Charif, 1960-
author2-roleDavis, Jonathan.|Narrator
Gauvin, Edward,translator.
hoopla digital.
author_displayMajdalani, Charif
available_at_catalogCentral
detailed_location_catalogCentral
display_description"At the dawn of the 20th century, a young Lebanese explorer leaves the Levant for the wilds of Africa, encountering an eccentric English colonel in Sudan and enlisting in his service. In this lush chronicle of far-flung adventure, the military recruit crosses paths with a compatriot who has dismantled a sumptuous palace in Tripoli and is transporting it across the continent on a camel caravan. The protagonist soon takes charge of this hoard or architectural fragments, ferrying the dismantled landmark through Sudan, Egypt and the Arabian Peninsula, attempting to return to his native Beirut with this moveable real estate. Along the way, he encounters skeptic sheikhs, suspicious tribal leaders, bountiful feasts, pilgrims bound for Mecca and T.E. Lawrence in a tent. This is a captivating modern-day Odyssey in the tradition of Bruce Chatwin and Paul Theroux." -- back cover.
format_catalogBook
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_catalogAudio Books
Books
eBook
iddbb71fa1-f7c9-a390-7e4f-f3e7f3889482
isbn9781538415078
9781939931467
9781939931481
9781982408046
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:c9c47e3d-6d93-4f56-83b0-a9d5ac8a2408-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
hoopla:MWT11801766Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetruehooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/11801766?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online
hoopla:MWT12584845Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeBookeBook1falsetruehooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/12584845?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online
ils:.b24848906.i75956494CentralFICTION Majdalani, C.1falsefalseOn Shelfcenag
overdrive:f4fbab28-8940-43e8-a641-2a798f215a16-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenChecked Out
itype_catalogAdult Fiction
last_indexed2020-10-20T10:05:23.587Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
Novels
local_callnumber_catalogFICTION Majdalani, C.
owning_library_catalogSacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalogCentral
primary_isbn9781939931467
publishDate2007
2017
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
overdrive:c9c47e3d-6d93-4f56-83b0-a9d5ac8a2408eBookeBookEnglishNew Vessel Press2017
hoopla:MWT11801766eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridged.EnglishBlackstone Publishing, 2017.1 online resource (1 audio file (5hr., 52 min.)) : digital.
hoopla:MWT12584845eBookeBookEnglishNew Vessel Press, 2017.1 online resource
ils:.b24848906BookBooks[English translation edition].EnglishNew Vessel Press, [2007]198 pages ; 21 cm.
overdrive:f4fbab28-8940-43e8-a641-2a798f215a16eAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishBlackstone Publishing2017
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:c9c47e3d-6d93-4f56-83b0-a9d5ac8a2408-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
hoopla:MWT11801766Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
hoopla:MWT12584845Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b24848906.i75956494On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39
overdrive:f4fbab28-8940-43e8-a641-2a798f215a16-2Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse
subject_facetAction and adventure fiction
Adventure stories
Electronic books
Fantasy fiction
Lebanon -- Fiction
Palaces -- Fiction
title_displayMoving the palace
title_fullMoving the Palace
Moving the palace / Charif Majdalani ; translated by Edward Gauvin
Moving the palace [electronic resource] / Charif Majdalani
title_shortMoving the palace
topic_facetAdventure stories
Electronic books
Fantasy
Fantasy fiction
Fiction
Historical Fiction
Humor (Fiction)
Literature
Palaces