We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the library. Find a location near you.

Moving the palace

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(1)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
"At the dawn of the 20th century, a young Lebanese explorer leaves the Levant for the wilds of Africa, encountering an eccentric English colonel in Sudan and enlisting in his service. In this lush chronicle of far-flung adventure, the military recruit crosses paths with a compatriot who has dismantled a sumptuous palace in Tripoli and is transporting it across the continent on a camel caravan. The protagonist soon takes charge of this hoard or architectural fragments, ferrying the dismantled landmark through Sudan, Egypt and the Arabian Peninsula, attempting to return to his native Beirut with this moveable real estate. Along the way, he encounters skeptic sheikhs, suspicious tribal leaders, bountiful feasts, pilgrims bound for Mecca and T.E. Lawrence in a tent. This is a captivating modern-day Odyssey in the tradition of Bruce Chatwin and Paul Theroux." -- back cover.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In LINK+
Loading LINK+ Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9781939931467
9781538415078
9781939931481
9781982408046
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDdbb71fa1-f7c9-a390-7e4f-f3e7f3889482
Grouping Titlemoving the palace
Grouping Authorcharif majdalani
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2022-09-24 08:04:27AM
Last Indexed2022-09-24 08:06:49AM

Solr Fields

accelerated_reader_point_value
0
accelerated_reader_reading_level
0
auth_author2
Davis, Jonathan
Gauvin, Edward
author
Majdalani, Charif, 1960-
author2-role
Davis, Jonathan.|Narrator
Gauvin, Edward,translator
hoopla digital
author_display
Majdalani, Charif
available_at_catalog
Central
detailed_location_catalog
Central
display_description
"At the dawn of the 20th century, a young Lebanese explorer leaves the Levant for the wilds of Africa, encountering an eccentric English colonel in Sudan and enlisting in his service. In this lush chronicle of far-flung adventure, the military recruit crosses paths with a compatriot who has dismantled a sumptuous palace in Tripoli and is transporting it across the continent on a camel caravan. The protagonist soon takes charge of this hoard or architectural fragments, ferrying the dismantled landmark through Sudan, Egypt and the Arabian Peninsula, attempting to return to his native Beirut with this moveable real estate. Along the way, he encounters skeptic sheikhs, suspicious tribal leaders, bountiful feasts, pilgrims bound for Mecca and T.E. Lawrence in a tent. This is a captivating modern-day Odyssey in the tradition of Bruce Chatwin and Paul Theroux." -- back cover.
format_catalog
Book
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_catalog
Audio Books
Books
eBook
id
dbb71fa1-f7c9-a390-7e4f-f3e7f3889482
isbn
9781538415078
9781939931467
9781939931481
9781982408046
itype_catalog
Adult Fiction
last_indexed
2022-09-24T15:06:49.936Z
lexile_score
-1
literary_form
Fiction
literary_form_full
Fiction
Novels
local_callnumber_catalog
FICTION Majdalani, C.
owning_library_catalog
Sacramento Public Library
owning_location_catalog
Central
primary_isbn
9781939931467
publishDate
2007
2017
publisher
Blackstone Publishing
New Vessel Press
[Éditions du Seuil]
recordtype
grouped_work
subject_facet
Action and adventure fiction
Adventure stories
Electronic books
Fantasy fiction
Lebanon -- Fiction
Palaces -- Fiction
title_display
Moving the palace
title_full
Moving the Palace
Moving the palace / Charif Majdalani ; translated by Edward Gauvin
Moving the palace [electronic resource] / Charif Majdalani
title_short
Moving the palace
topic_facet
Adventure stories
Electronic books
Fantasy
Fantasy fiction
Fiction
Historical Fiction
Humor (Fiction)
Literature
Palaces

Solr Details Tables

item_details

Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
overdrive:c9c47e3d-6d93-4f56-83b0-a9d5ac8a2408-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAvailable Online
hoopla:MWT11801766Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/11801766?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online
hoopla:MWT12584845Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeBookeBook1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/12584845?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online
ils:.b24848906.i75956494CentralFICTION Majdalani, C.1falsefalseOn Shelfcenag
overdrive:f4fbab28-8940-43e8-a641-2a798f215a16-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueOverDriveAvailable Online

record_details

Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
overdrive:c9c47e3d-6d93-4f56-83b0-a9d5ac8a2408eBookeBookEnglishNew Vessel Press2017
hoopla:MWT11801766eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridgedEnglishBlackstone Publishing20171 online resource (1 audio file (5hr., 52 min.)) : digital.
hoopla:MWT12584845eBookeBookEnglishNew Vessel Press20171 online resource
ils:.b24848906BookBooks[English translation edition]EnglishNew Vessel Press[2007]198 pages ; 21 cm
overdrive:f4fbab28-8940-43e8-a641-2a798f215a16eAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishBlackstone Publishing2017

scoping_details_catalog

Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:c9c47e3d-6d93-4f56-83b0-a9d5ac8a2408-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
hoopla:MWT11801766Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
hoopla:MWT12584845Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b24848906.i75956494On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruetruefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 3911
overdrive:f4fbab28-8940-43e8-a641-2a798f215a16-2Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse